Adobe InDesign background blur
Adobe InDesign logo
Adobe InDesign
4.6
(2,425)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Adobe InDesign?

Adobe InDesign Reviews & Product Details

Adobe InDesign Overview
What is Adobe InDesign?

InDesign is another component of the Adobe Creative Cloud ecosystem, available as part of the whole library or as an individual purchase. The software‘s features is specific to publishing and designing online publications, brochures, creating info sheets, and similar materials. Adobe InDesign provides extensive access to stock images, supports team collaboration with robust tools and features, supports a great range of formats, and has access to regular updates and design features.

Company Adobe
Year founded 1982
Company size 10,001+ employees
Headquarters San Jose, CA
Social Media
Adobe InDesign Product Details
Capabilities
AI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Adobe InDesign Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Simplicity: Adobe InDesign is much easier to use than other Adobe products like Photoshop. It’s easy to add a range of features to your publication, including tags, anchor text frames, tables, captions, and more.
  • HTML support: Adobe offers HTML exporting so you can easily share simple code with your colleagues during the web development process. You’ll also get functionality built into the app to assist with getting rid of DIV tags that aren’t necessary for your code.
  • Industry standard: The fact that this product is the industry standard for publishing means you can find plenty of forum support and help out there to get you started.
  • Connections to creative cloud: If you choose to do so, you can access InDesign and Photoshop at the same time, alongside other creative apps in the Creative Cloud.
Cons
  • This is a product designed for people who know how to build publications
  • Quite expensive compared to other products
  • PDF comment integration is a little clunky in places
Adobe InDesign Features
Templates
File Storage
Infographics
Publishing Formats
Asset Library
Mobile Access
Saved Preferences
Layout Editor
Adobe InDesign Media
Adobe InDesign 0
Adobe InDesign 1
Adobe InDesign 2
Adobe InDesign 3
Adobe InDesign Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 16, 2024
Adobe InDesign logo
2,425 Adobe InDesign Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
S1
Srinath S 1.
Share
"Best software for designing templates, presentations and media materials"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
Adobe Indesign is the best software for media layouts since it is easy to use. The UI/UX is easy for beginners and it is easy to implement stunning visuals and layouts in InDesign. Adobe has an excellent Customer Support backend. Adobe Indesign has a number of features which support easy implementation of Media Layouts. Designing of VMs and SELs are easily done using Adobe Indesign. It can also be easily integrated with other softwares.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
Nothing as of now, Adobe Indesign is the best software for easy and effective designing of VMs, SELs, etc.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
Various media designs and adverstiment materials can be easily designed with Adobe Indesign, VMs can be easily modeled with Adobe Indesign.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RK
Richelle K.
Share
"Most Used Design/Layout Software"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
So easy to use with just a little training. Most control over layouts for any software I've tried
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
Sometimes the updates jack up my preferences and I have to reset them.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy proposal layouts
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FN
Felix N.
Share
"Great app for creating PDFs and Ebooks"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
I really like the possibility of creating multiple Paragraphs styles and make them interactive while creating Table of Contents. This makes the document not only easy to navigate but also it maintains the style overall. I also like the integrations with Illustrator and Photoshop.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
Sometimes, the app crashes whether I have multiple files open or not. Also, the integration with Illustrator is still a work in progress, since the way InDesign handles vector graphics creation is different and limited from the way Illustrator does.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
InDesign is letting my team and I create and edit multiple files that will be linked in a book. The team is in multiples time zones and also uses Mac and Windows. In this aspect, InDesign has helped the team overcome multiple edits and revisions of a same file.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DC
Daniel C.
Creative Director
Share
"Adobe InDesign is the Gold Standard for Graphic Artists"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
The power of Adobe InDesign is really unrivaled. You can easily build out complex print projects like magazines and brochures to simple things like postcards and posters.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
I do think that sometimes it can be a bit of a challenge to navigate the interface. It can take a person unfamiliar with the product a while to figure out where all the tools are located, etc.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
Adobe InDesign is a Creative Director's dream, and really solves your graphic design needs. It helps me be more productive, improves the quality of my work, and professionalizes the whole process.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dharmendra G. avatar
Dharmendra G.
Senior Engineer (R&D Washing Machine)
Share
"Excellent and very convenion page layout design software applications"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
It is very convenion and beneficial tool for page layout design, creating books design, magazines etc. We use this tool for multiple documents design very easily. Also can do creative design with help of this tool.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
new per person can face some problem to use this tool. Some time it's took more time for page layout design.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the help of this tool we can design the layout very easily and very creative.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Mattia M.
Share
"Good tool to integrate with other Adobe products"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
the flexibility and discrete compatibility with multiple outputs
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
Hard to understand UI at the beginning, on first approaches. Especially colouring
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reducing the dimension of files I'm working on, compared to photoshop.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jessica M.
Share
"Have been using Adobe InDesign for 15 Years"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
Adobe InDesign allows me to create single page flyers/graphics up to multi-page layouts like magazines and annual reports. I have used it for over 15 years and always been happy with the user experience and capabilities of the program.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
I generally like everything about the program, but the one thing I am sometimes frustrated with is that the commands are just slightly different in InDesign vs. other Adobe Creative Suite programs. For instance, "Save As" and "Export" behave differently in InDesign than they do in Illustrator.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
InDesign allows me to easily lay out single page or multi-page publications and graphics for my organization. It lets me easily prepare files for print and export graphics for digital publication as well.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jedd Claurence L. avatar
Jedd Claurence L.
Rich Media Producer
Share
"Good use for Print medias"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
I love how it's better used for the exact print requirements
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
user interface looks exactly the same as illustrator and photoshop, as a designer using this I would recommend a better user interface that would align to the products it is used.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is giving more ease at designing with regards to print ad and many more.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ben P. avatar
Ben P.
Senior Client Success Manager / Head Of Design
Share
"CC is the best way to access the adobe suite"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
Ever since CC launched as a subscription service I've been with them, really happy with how the pricing now works gaining access to all of the adobe products, not just some. Adobe is the industry standard and for that reason there are other other options; however so far they're not as good.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
The price can be expensive at first in comparison to something like Canva - however there is really nothing quite the same and for that reason the pricing is attainable. If anything it would be awesome if it were slightly cheaper.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
High-end production of design and creative solitions for an array of tasks. Where other products simply offer templated solutions or allow it to be an open canvas without great UI - Adobe makes it really simple and easy to work out great ways to design things.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AT
Andrew T.
Technology Administrator
Share
"Adobe InDesign - It's Adobe, for better or worse"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
InDesign keeps things in line with the other products in the Adobe Suite. The interface is pretty familiar. As with any Adobe product there is a learning curve, but I feel InDesign is easier to pick up in that it is more focused on copy and content layout, not so much on content creation like Photoshop or Illustrator.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
While I don't use InDesign as much as I used to, I never really felt there was anything missing or things I didn't like.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
InDesign is best for layout, for me it is with projects like flyers/sell sheets, catalogs, and brochures. While Photoshop and Illustrator can handle these types of projects, InDesign manages them better.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RN
Ryan N.
Marketing Coordinator / Recruiting
Share
"InDesign is foundational software for any marketer/designer"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
InDesign is awesome for generating any sort of multi-page marketing material. We use it for compiling proposal PDFs and the endless features of formatting text, incorporating pictures, tables, graphics, and other visual elements is unparalleled. InDesign is such a powerful application and I feel like we only scratch the surface of all it's capabilities. If you are a marketer/designer, you have to utilize InDesign because it can do just about everything you need.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
Sometimes InDesign can be a little limited when trying to add effects to text or pictures. It is most effective for formatting large amounts of text compared to making a small, simple graphics. Also, at times things can be pretty tricky in trying to get the program to do what you want it to do. There is a definitely a big learning curve, but once you start to understand it, it can really be powerful.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
InDesign is our default program for compiling any sort of marketing material. We use it for resumes, project profiles, and proposals. Using the paragraph styles is a game changer and makes it easy to maintain consistency throughout any kind of document.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KM
Kevin M.
Senior Journalist
Share
"we have been using the adobe suite of products for 25 years and they just keep getting better"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
Integration among the adobe products creates an efficient workflow
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
very little. they continually integrate new tech in a smooth and seamless manner
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
work flow and innovation
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rich C. avatar
Rich C.
Content And Dam Evangelist
Share
"The gold standard"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
InDesign is the gold standard. I've been around since the Quark days, and nothing nothing has come along that can top the power flexibility and universality.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
If there is something to dislike it's the difficulty in working with files from different versions of ID. They limit you to two generations ago of software.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
All of our clients use it and so it is absolutely necessary that we understand it at a fundamental level.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EO
Ethan O.
Share
"One of the Most Useful Programs that I Have Ever Used"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
It works seamlessly with every other Adobe program. It is seamless to take a design from
Adobe Illustrator logo
Adobe Illustrator
and drag it into InDesign. The paragraph styles and character styles are fantastic.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
The share-for-review feature often malfunctions. It usually doesn't load and is not reliable. If there is a review of the document, I will always export it and review it outside of the InDesign review functionality.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
My documentation, with diagrams, photos, and information tables, can be highly complex. InDesign allows you to drag things around seamlessly so that you can depict the information in the exact way that you need for the audience you'll be sending the documents.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LD
Louis D.
Share
"InDesign Used to Make Activity Magazine"
What do you like best about Adobe InDesign?
You can make anything for print/visual media and it works seamlessly with Photoshop and Illustrator. Also, it makes very nice interactive PDF document files that you can place anywhere.
What do you dislike about Adobe InDesign?
There's a learning curve to using it. Once you understand it, the possibilities are endless. There are lots of tutorials that help you learn the program.
What problems is Adobe InDesign solving and how is that benefiting you?
It could create an interactive activities magazine published online with hyperlinks to videos. Also, it allows for unlimited creativeness because you can create any typr of document with it.
Visit website