CloudCannon background blur
CloudCannon logo
CloudCannon
Seamless Static Site Management
4.8
(45)
by CloudCannon Limited
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at CloudCannon?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

CloudCannon Reviews & Product Details

CloudCannon Overview
What is CloudCannon?

CloudCannon is a content management system (CMS) that offers a unique and efficient way to manage and publish websites. It supports a drag-and-drop interface, with a built-in custom code functionality, making it stand out from the competition. Additionally, CloudCannon has a collaborative team editing feature and integrated analytics, making it an all-in-one platform for website design, development, and management.

Company CloudCannon Limited
Year founded 2011
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Social Media
CloudCannon Categories on Findstack
CloudCannon Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
CloudCannon Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Asset Management
Rich Text Editor
Versioning
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Enterprise Scalability
API / Integrations
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
CloudCannon Media
CloudCannon 0
CloudCannon 1
CloudCannon 2
CloudCannon 3
CloudCannon Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 30, 2024
CloudCannon logo
45 CloudCannon Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GB
Gustavo B.
Cto
Share
"Amazing experience!!"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

The platform is just excellent. It seems that it was crafted with the tiniest details in mind to bring the best experience for developers and content managers. Besides that, the support level is superb. Always super fast and gracious.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

Nothing at all. We've been using CloudCannon for a few years now, and we simply don't have any complaints at all.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

All of our institutional web pages, app manuals and blogs are hosted and managed through CloudCannon. Until then, we needed tools like WordPress that constantly required maintenance and a team of developers dedicated to maintaining them. Today we no longer have this problem, as CloudCannon handles all technical difficulties. Today we are only concerned with creating and managing the content.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Healy J. avatar
Healy J.
Vice President Fp&A And Marketing
Share
"Great for non-tech marketing team"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

I'm a non-developer/technical marketing leader. This tool is basically made for me - I've got a solid web dev who can fully utilize all of his skills, but my team gets a very slick text and page editor that is just as easy to use as wordpress.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

You need to have real developers - which I don't mind, I actually think is a strenght. But you can't just fire this up as you can wordpress. So if you are committed to having a legit web team running your website, this is totally for you.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

I want a best in class website - including the best technology infrastructure. I get to have an amazing web dev dedicate his time to making this a reality, while I get to have a marketing team that can focus on great content, seo, CTAs, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DK
David K.
Ux Designer And Consultant
Share
"Infinitely flexible and powerful CMS"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

Using CloudCannon allows you to build the site you want the way you want without being hindered by the quirks and nuances of other, more rigid CMS solutions. Being a static site CMS means you get a super-performant site that is easy for clients to access and update as/when they want to.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

Very little - the lack of more friendly, custom snippets to add to inline content is something I've bought up with the team several times. It's a minor thing that I've managed to work around - but adding it would make the solution perfect!

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having a CMS that can be customised to a client's ability is a HUGE plus point. Most CMS solutions can be daunting and not very accessible to less technically-minded users. The Visual editor and the ability to make the CMS options as rigid or flexible as I require means less support calls and more power to the client when working on their own content. I had a client contact me to say how much they now enjoyed adding new content to their site using CloudCannon, which was fantastic feedback.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RN
Ryan N.
Chief Operations Office
Share
"Great platform for running Jekyll Websites in an Agency Environment"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

UI is clean. The content team finds it easy to use. Its automatic integration with source control makes it a pleasure to work with for our developers. When we have projects where page speed is a major point of emphasis, CloudCannon makes it easy for us to use static sites AND collaborate with non-technical team members.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

I've occasionally run into odd issues with DNS configuration, but the support team has always been helpful when I run into a snag.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

It allows us to deploy Jekyll sites with the benefit of 'CMS' style functionality for our non-technical team members. Blazing fast sites with the benefits of a CMS equals happy clients and productive team members.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BP
Bud P.
President
Share
"The Right Tool Backed by a Great Team"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

CloudCannon creates order around what often is a lot of complexity in our websites.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

We still have to wait for our sites to build. Overcoming that hurdle would be magic.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

CloudCannon allows us to use a superior method of maintaining complex content systems while giving our non-technical clients an interface that is easy to use and understand.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JV
Joost V.
Software Engineer
Share
"The best CMS for SSGs"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

It is a low config one-stop-shop. It works with multiple SSG's and has everything included you could wish for, like hosting on a CDN, form handling, statistics and more. They recently added support/developed a smart search solution. These guys know SSG's in and out.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

Nothing really... Amazing software! And they keep improving it! They recently added new SSG's and added DAM integration. Even their support is really good. The only negative point I can think of is that there are sometimes (small) bugs in the CMS editor because of their continuing development (which causes a bug every now and then).

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is a user friendly CMS for a SSG. With CloudCannon your clients/marketing department can update the content of an SSG website without programming knowledge. This is essential for agencies and programmers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Shovan S.
Director
Share
"Reliable hosting for headless CMS"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

I host over 100 websites on CloueCannon, they have never disappointed. These are what I like - Customer support - Product Relibility - Easy of use - Regular update - Seperating workspace per client and teams I have to say over the years CloudCannon has started supporting various headless CMS this has been great for me to explore and use just one platform to do the Build, management and deployment. Headless CMS either have no content editors or very complicated content editors. CloudCannon sits in the sweet spot, it's easy for our clients to up date content and easy for edirtos to make certain sections CMS editable.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

As headless platform it works great. I am keen to explore their API based deployment, that's one things that's missing right now.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

CloudCannon is one platform through which I can host all my headless CMS projects, regardless of the size. It's easy for developers to work with and it integrates well with GIT. It's also simple editable tools for the clients, this removes us as being a bottle neck.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CK
Candy K.
Co Founder
Share
"CloudCannon has made us very successful (financially)"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

It's really great being able to host unlimited websites. As an entrepreneur and web developer this is incredibly valuable.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

There is sooooo much we can do with CloudCannon, however learning about all the possibilities means reading through pages and pages of documents. This is extremely draining for people with reading disabilities. CloudCannon would go from 9/10 to 20/10 if there was an online course we could purchase that showed us step-by-step how to implement Bookshop, Jekyll, editable ecom templates, etc.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

They are always improving something... and I'm sure they will roll out with an online CloudCannon course in the future too.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AE
Andrew E.
Principal Engineer
Share
"CloudCannon is great. Can't recommend it enough."
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

CloudCannon gives quite a bit more control to stakeholders than a headless CMS would, but doesn't require that they learn HTML/CSS. It also lets devs write code using the tools they know best. It's great when you've got custom requirements, a team of reasonably capable stakeholders, and a good dev. Unless I were using a stock template and on a project with no special or custom requirements, I'd pick CloudCannon over any of the site builders or headless CMSs any day. The dev and support team are also super capable. Any time I ran into issues, they worked with me to resolve them quickly. I believe I was the first person to use AlpineJS with CloudCannon, so we got to investigate and solve some novel bugs together with that. I'm a huge fan of CloudCannon.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

Site building on file-save can be a little bit slow, especially when you're making a bunch of little changes. I think they're still coming into their own in terms of documentation and in terms of finding the balance between convention and configuration. I don't see any of these as meaningful impediments. The dev team has a really ambitious road map in front of them, and they do a great job of listening to and acting on feedback.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

CloudCannon provides a clickable WYSIWYG interface for editing static sites (e.g. those built with Hugo, Jekyll or Eleventy). It slots neatly between Wordpress/Squarespace (and other block-based site-builders) and tools like Ghost (or other headless CMSs), and lets stakeholders immediately see the effect of their changes, and lets devs go at full speed. There's also the Bookshop component framework, which enables some really dynamic page-building. I've found this is the sweet spot - my stakeholders can make changes to content (and sometimes layout) without needing to know coding, without needing to involve me, and without fear of breaking things. I can empower my stakeholders and focus on doing my best work. We have far, far less back-and-forth, I'm no longer a bottleneck, and things just work.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VB
V B.
Web Developer, Owner
Share
"CloudCannon is a an excellent platform for website development - the best in my experience by far."
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

The platform is undergoing constant development with workflow improvements and integration with more tools. The CloudCannon support is top-notch.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

No downsides or concerns for me in using CloudCannon.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using the static site generation approach makes my website development a lot simpler and faster and generally gives me more control over the whole process.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sil V. avatar
Sil V.
Full Stack Webdeveloper Ui/Ux Designer
Share
"Editing in CloudCannon is so easy, my clients just know how to work with it right away."
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

Amazing support, they always know what they're talking about. Rapid innovation, I keep getting surprised. Easy to use for clients, which saves a lot of time.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

None. Cloudcannon is for sure my favorite company in the web development industry.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

Making editing easy. This saves me time explaining things to clients. It's an all-in-one platform for Jamstack websites. This saves me time with the setup.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AR
Andry R.
Product Manager
Share
"Dynamic and easy to use"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

It helps me quickly, easily and efficiently instantiate web pages for the company's clients. It is an easy-to-use content manager for content managers and IT technicians for website maintenance.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

The learning curve is wide to integrate all the tools and scalability that the platform has. The content editor is slow. It takes a few seconds to save a post with no images. The editor seems to hog my CPU (it kills my Firefox–my go to browser). Uncomfortably similar to how Divi (popular WordPress page builder) can choke my computer resources. I ran some performance tests and discovered that the Divi page builder editor actually takes up less CPU than CloudCannon’s content editor. I didn’t think this was possible!

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

Transparency, I can see all the source HTML I need to see. Local Development Environment, my live CloudCannon sites, GitHub code repositories, development repositories, and development site are always in sync.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 16, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tom H. avatar
Tom H.
Developer
Share
"Ready, Aim, Fire. CloudCannon is that easy!"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

My favourite thing about CloudCannon is its ability to integrate fully with my git source control. Any changes I make on the CloudCannon app are pushed to my repository and vice-versa. This means my website is always up to date, and regardless of where I make changes or how my team grows, I can rely on CloudCannon to keep on top of everything. Additionally, the editor allows you to make changes easily and the selection of pre-made templates can get you up and running quickly with a very professional looking website.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

The only downside to CloudCannon's source control integration is the way it pushes every single change to your repository. This is useful when it comes to tracking changes and keeping a record of EVERYTHING, but as a fan of larger commits, I dislike how this feature has turned my commit history into a barrage of one-line code changes. This is literally my only issue with CloudCannon, so if you can get over a crowded commit history, this is the product for you!

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

One of my favourite problems to solve with CloudCannon is hosting a free personal github.io page. The integration with my github account means that any changes I make are instantly reflected on my external facing site, and using the CloudCannon web app I can easily make changes to my site, or add blog posts on the go.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RB
Rutvik B.
Founder
Share
"Manage and Host Your Static Website Content"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

It provides visual editing capability which I found one of the best features of it. It provides different content options which help to change and update the content on the website. It helps to create the form which is an awesome feature.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

I personally do not dislike anything in it.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps me to automate the website deployment and update the website content. It provides a collaboration feature that benefits my team member to work simultaneously. It provides good hosting for websites with CDN.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JK
Jonas K.
Founder
Share
"CMS for Hugo"
What do you like best about CloudCannon?

You are being met with a beautiful interface. There are a lot of features and a good helper getting from another static CMS. Fantastic support that helped me get from forestry.io to CloudCannon. Responsive company when given feedback on functionality.

What do you dislike about CloudCannon?

You will benefit from learning about cloudcannon.config.yml - it will make your editing experience a lot better. But it requires some learning. It would be nice with some examples of common UI elements like a gallery.

What problems is CloudCannon solving and how is that benefiting you?

We need a solution that doesn't require us to maintain and update a CMS every day, week, or month or be doomed. A CMS is easy to understand for everyone, no matter their background is a must.