GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 13, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DT
Diksha T.
Software Developer
Share
"Best open source image editing tool"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The best thing about GIMP is it is open source and lots of tools are available to edit graphics. Very easy to use, light weight and cross platform availability.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There are no such big things to dislike this awesome product but there are dew things which can be improved like the tools are not properly approachable under the toolbox. We have to go to the category.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use this software for the image editing for various web applications, removal of background of the image, logo designing etc,. It is very lightweight and machine friendly.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MJ
Maurice J.
Director, Safety
Share
"Community Involved Open Source"
What do you like best about GIMP?

This is a great open source program for those unable to afford the more costly programs such as Adobe Photoshop and their Master Suite counterparts. Although there is a learning curve, the ability to do everything that these other software (i.e. Adobe PhotoShop) can do is unbelievable.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

In all honesty, there is very little to dislike about the software provided by GIMP.org. The fact it was created in an open source volunteer environment with very knowledgeable persons just mesmerizes the crap out of me. I could never achieve such feats.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP has helped me create some wonderful images for friends, family, and even work. The wealth of knowledge on the internet in the form of blogs, forums and YouTube videos is a melting pot of lessons to be learned. The end results for a novice graphics person such as myself are wonderful.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 11, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nitin B. avatar
Nitin B.
System Engineer
Share
"Best Image Manipulation Software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is simply the best Image Manipulation Software available for free, and it is entirely open-source. It is pretty easy to use and is my go-to software for image editing.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is nothing to dislike once you get friendly with the interface, but it might come as a very overwhelming tool for absolute beginners, given that there is too much to explore.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

As the name suggests, GIMP is for image editing. It provides various tools within the software, which come in handy in situations like merging and stacking multiple images. If you are a photographer and need to blur/sharpen something, flatten the image, manipulate hue/saturation, and whatnot, you can do it all with this.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alex T. avatar
Alex T.
Creator
Share
"You Don't Need Photoshop, You've Got GIMP!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is a free photo editing software that does everything Photoshop does, or at least it does everything I've ever used Photoshop for. It gives me a wide range of options for editing and creating artwork, and saving it in various formats and ways.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It can be a little tricky to learn how to do certain things, especially if you are used to using Photoshop, but that just takes learning, and Googling will always provide answers to what others did.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Editing photos and artwork, as well as creating new images and artwork, and it's helping me do all the things I would need a Photoshop subscription to be doing. It's made things a lot easier for me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MW
Mike W.
Ceo
Share
"A great way to edit photos if you don't have a budget for Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The software is free and has amazing capabilities. I utilize many of the basic editing tools because I am still a novice when it comes to editing photos. However, I also use some of the plugins that have been developed. For example, I use a plugin that allows me to batch-edit many photos at one time. This comes in handy when you have to apply the same filters and sizing options to more than just a couple of photos. I was using it to edit multiple photos for a real estate agency that had 20-50 photos of each house. I would auto-color correct and resize them using the batching program. Then, I would manually fix the couple of images that we liked and wanted to touch up afterward.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The program can be a little confusing until you get your bearings. If I could make one recommendation, it would be to make the program a little more intuitive. Many times I have had to go watch a YouTube video to learn how to use the program.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use GIMP when I need to make the same edits to several photos at one time. The batch editor plugin makes editing multiple photos quick and easy. I can run the plugin to edit a handful of photos, then go manually to edit the ones that need a little more attention. The other thing I use GIMP for, a lot, is to remove backgrounds from images. It is really easy to open GIMP and throw up a picture to remove a background. Once you remove the background, you can export the image in a PNG format and have a very good-quality image that has the background removed.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Steven D. avatar
Steven D.
Pastor
Share
"Wonderful open source graphic design program"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like the wide range of extensions available for GIMP and the community of users that makes finding information a breeze. It is a powerful graphic design program that rivals paid options.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is a sharp learning curve for this program. Some of the menu locations do not seem to be intuitive, so it would be nice if one could reorganize where items are in different menus.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use gimp to design graphics for presentations and use them on social media. It has saved a lot of time in creating graphics for my church. It has templates that meet all my needs in those area.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CW
Catherine W.
Rn
Share
"Powerful and intuitive"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's easy to transition from Photoshop to Gimp. Gimp is also a powerful and versatile tool that produces professional looking results.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Since it's open source it's not always as easy to find support for specific issues.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp is open source so I didn't have to ask my company for access to an expensive software package to meet my needs. I am able to produce professional looking products for a newsletter and pamphlets that I design.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Mark B.
P
Share
"Gimp Photo Manupulation"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's abialt yto work with layers and alpha channels.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Floating layer selections and how menues seem to flip sides of the screen and disappear.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use gimpt o adjust photo booth templates in the field. I have GImp installed on my laptops. When there's an issue so be solved with a template.....Gimp saves me everytime.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Mark H.
Vice President Operations
Share
"Great open source image editing program"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Powerful and free. Supports most common file types.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Not super intuitive but worth it to support the open source community.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I don't need image manipulation on a regular basis so paying a high price for the most popular software doesn't make sense. GIMP lets me make pretty technical alterations for free.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SW
Stephi W.
Copywriter And Editor
Share
"Easy and free photo editing"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like that it makes it easy and free to edit photos using features usually found on paid platforms

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is definitely a learning curve at times and i've had to look on youtube to find solutions on how to do specific tasks that are unclear in the software itself.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have solved the need for advanced photo editing without paying for a software like photoshop. This has benefitted myself and others greatly as we've been able to save money without skimping on necessary tools.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VT
Vishal T.
Software Developer
Share
"GIMP is best opensource alternative of PhotoShop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

All of the tools are available, which are there in photoshop and easy to use. The best thing is it is open source.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Locatability of tools is sometimes very difficult; else, all things are okay with GIMP

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating designs and editing pictures for my client's websites/projects

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jacob Marvin R. avatar
Jacob Marvin R.
Senior Content Specialist
Share
"A fantastic Photoshop alternative"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The interface is intuitive and easy to pick up fast. Layer management is also easy, and the blending tools are responsive. I've been without Photoshop access on machines in the past, and Gimp is a terrific alternative. The export features are also robust -- I've been able to save to variety of formats without issue.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

More filter features would be great, and more refined pixel/color selection tools would be a plus. Sometimes it's difficult to get clean selections when using the base lasso and wand tools. I should note however that I've encountered performance issues with large scale images for print (10,000 px+), though this is also attributable to the limitations of my machine. Keyboard shortcuts and right-click functionality has been better in recent versions, but that's another point where I prefer Photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

When I need to make training images or rasterized web assets for work, Gimp is a great resource. The export features are great. Exporting at 2x and 3x for screens is a breeze. These graphics have been used for menu icons, web graphics, information graphics, and even team t-shirt designs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KM
Kfir M.
Journalist
Share
"GIMP has all what you usually look for when searching for popular software alternatives"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Every feature, either simple or complicated has perfect documentation and many tutorials, both official and by users. Also, it feels like it perfoms better than the highly priced software.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The menus may get lost between multiple monitors, and the constant disconnection between the main window and the toolbars is somewhat misleading and hard to get used to, especially if you close one of them.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use it for any graphical edition I need to perform - in my case - removing the background and creating transparent PNGs. Also, I use it for making some funny photo editions for personal use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RF
Richard F.
Network Security Analyst
Share
"Opensource and great to use"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The ability to make the backgrounds of images transparent is one of my favorite features to use in GIMP. I also use the resizing tool within it to resize pictures for my requirements. What I have found useful when working with complex images is that you can set each of its component on a different layer where they can be worked on individually. Best of all it is free to download and use.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Sometimes to layering and cropping of images to content or selection can be confusing. I also dont like that when images which were created in a different tool change colour when imported into gimp. It would be nice if it could keep the same colour.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Image editing problems go away when I use gimp. Whether you want to resize, shade, blend areas of an image, then gimp is a beautiful tool to have. It is not as complicated as other tools and does not require too many hours of use to finish your image editing projects. Also if you are low on funds, dont worry because its free to use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nacess C. avatar
Nacess C.
Artist
Share
"Gimp is open source!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love using Gimp because it is open source! There are always updates to make the program better and plenty of free resources made by the those within the Gimp community.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I dislike that there is limited support in trouble shooting the program. I also have issues connecting my tablet to draw on the computer. I hope that there is a tablet app in the future.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp is a powerful resource for creatives. I can create logos, digital drawings, fliers, documents, and edit photos all in one place. It is the best program to use for digital graphics.