GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about GIMP
What GIMP is best for?
How does GIMP compare to Adobe Photoshop Elements?
What are the pros and cons of GIMP?
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 21, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Shanbagam T. avatar
Shanbagam T.
Manager Business Operations
Share
"GIMP you way to SNAPS"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Free Source Software, is available with enormous features equivalent to the professional, paid software that is available in the market. Initial difficulties are blown after we master the software. Ease of use is the major feature of the software. Editing requirements are met with GIMP at any level. We can do wonders with the software. Even for CAIE exams, we can use the free software.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Downsides are initial difficulties in finding the shortcuts of the software that make the navigation pretty tough. To get the grip it takes some time.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Collage, photo editing, adding new features in the snaps that create memory, crop, apply layer, and any available editing tools are the benefits of GIMP

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Marie-Claire P. avatar
Marie Claire P.
Digital Abstract Nft Artist
Share
"Fascinating!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love that GIMP offers a wide variety of tools and features that make the software very complete and effective, it is very useful for Digital Art, It's funcionalty exceeded my expectations. The software is easy to install, friendly to use, and offers tutorials as well. I use it almost every day for my 2D abstract works of art, and I am fascinated by it's features. The software can open files from other photo editing software, and that is very useful. And besides all of this goodies, the software is a free an open source product, so it is great for teaching art.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I dont have any bad feedback about this software, if I were to say something negative, it would be that you can not select many layers at once, but there are other creative strategies that can be used that work great too.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp is solving the issue that artists that have to pay a lot of money for digital art softwares, and the other ones that are free or less expensive are not as good as the ones that are more pricy, but GIMP, is the BEST free and open source software, that serves as substitute to the expenisve digital art software. Besides that, I use GIMP to teach digital art, because it is great for teaching due to its many features and because it is free and open source, and most students can not afford to purchase pricy digital art software. I LOVE GIMP :)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JD
Jackie D.
Founder
Share
"Yes it is really good for your image editing"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It is basically an Adobe Photoshop replacement. It does all the photo editing I need. It is great for resizing, saving in different file formats, and more.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It's a professional grade editor so you have to know what you are doing.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have a lot of dark and blurry photos. We have images we need a certain size and resolution.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Deepak M. avatar
Deepak M.
Communications Consultant
Share
"Review of GIMP"
What do you like best about GIMP?

For a free tool, GIMP is powerful enough for most raster image manipulation purposes. New features are added all the time, and there are plenty of tutorials available online for any image manipulation task one may wish to perform.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is a learning curve and those who may be used to Corel Photopaint may need to unlearn certain ways of doing things.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP helps in image manipulation such as background removal, image effects, lighting effects, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Malarkodi B.
Founder
Share
"GIMP - Starter for Image processing world."
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love the product UI, its so easy and understandable, crystal clear with its UI and flows

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP, they can allow to change the theme of background.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I don't have much knowledge to edit the photo, when starting with GIMP it had given me tools-tour, and how to use each tool in the toolbox, that is really helpful and to understand it better

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
OM
Olavo M.
Founder
Share
"A lightweight and free alternative to photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The similarity to Photoshop workflow. It is an almost seamless transition for the regular Adobe user.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It is somewhat limited in resources and document formats fidelity output

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp helps our workflow as we can have it installed in all of our collaborators machines for free and they can make quick edits on the images and graphics when needed.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JJ
Joseph J.
Seo Specialist
Share
"Free Tool with Tons of Features"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I'm not into heavy graphics editing but I've been using GIMP for some minor edits. Despite being free, it has tons of features that are beneficial for me. In fact, I like it even more than PS since it doesn't require a lot of RAM for you to use it.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I think none so far. I haven't been doing some heavy editing as of the moment so I have no complains about the tool so far. At least I am able to accomplish my photo editing tasks using it.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am using GIMP mainly for adjusting the photo dimensions without having to compromise its quality. I used to use paint for this one but the image quality is not too good when you do the resizing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Marianne G.
Feralartist, Artist
Share
"Gimp is for creating designs"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like the ease of creating layers with Gimp. There are also online tutorials on YouTube for easy access.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It appears to have it all. I am still learning the various aspects of designing my art worksheets.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I write up art lessons and need to create worksheets using type, photos and page layout.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Anjana P. avatar
Anjana P.
Software Engineer
Share
"Powerful and free image editing software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love that GIMP is free to use, making it easier for users and organizations to access and choose as an image editing software. GIMP's code is open-source, so software developers can improve and customize the software to suit their individual needs. It has an active community, so any bugs that appear are immediately reported and fixed quickly. I like that GIMP is cross-platform with available Windows, Mac, and Linux downloads. Whether on my laptop or my Linux system, I can easily use GIMP to edit images. Despite being free, GIMP is an excellent competitor to Adobe Photoshop. GIMP has pro features such as layers, masks, customizable brushes, color effects, etc., allowing you to perform in-depth image editing and manipulation seamlessly. Like most open-source applications, GIMP's features can be improved using plugins. You can enhance the functionality and download additional tools to manipulate and edit images better.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP lacks support for CMYK files. GIMP only uses RGB, so the accuracy and control for handling CMYK files are terrible in comparison. If you're working on images that require accurate color management for printing brochures, flyers, etc., GIMP is unsuitable.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP has been an excellent image editing tool for web development. It allows us to optimize and prepare images for website projects and provides features such as compressing, resizing, and optimizing images. These are crucial for decreasing load times and making the web design more efficient. GIMP is also essential for creating charts, diagrams, and other drawings for webinars, documents, and presentation slides. We also use GIMP vehemently for creating prototype interfaces for the software we're working on. It allows us to design and visualize how we want the UI to be with the help of layers. At the basic level, GIMP is excellent for editing images, such as cropping and resizing images, changing colors, removing backgrounds and adding alpha channels, and applying effects to sharpen or blur certain areas. GIMP has been the best implementation without making any monetary investment and allowed us to use the budget to improve other sites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NM
Nathan M.
Multimedia And Audio Visual Developer
Share
"Free But Mighty."
What do you like best about GIMP?

A robust alternative to Photoshop. The ease of use and powerful tools make even the most advanced Photoshop users right at home. It is fantastic for creative on a budget.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Everyone once in a while you might find something that has not quite been carried over from photoshop in terms of tools, or techniques and you have to find another way to do something.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps me with clients who need to open my photoshop files but don't have Photoshop to open them. That way they are able to see on a later by layer basis what changes are needed.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Treyanna B. avatar
Treyanna B.
Certified Pharmacy Technician
Share
"The Perfect Start for Beginners"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love the full suite of painting tools such as brush, pencil, and airbrush as I am a crafter who designs logos and svgs for customers. It makes life easy!

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It does become complicated to edit photos that are big and require more than two layers. Creating a good clean presentation can be challenging as well

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using fewer tools to design doesn't make it hard to create and bring out new ideas. It has helped me with learning within a short time frame.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Joel L. H.
Founder
Share
"It is the ultimate in OpenSource Image Manipulation software. Also it is cross platform"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The fact that it is Open Source and Cross Platform. I can share/use/update files on Linux, Windows and Android platforms.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I'm not aware of anything I dislike about GIMP

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Photo Editing for web use, copy use, and photo editing tasks.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ML
Manuel L.
Gis Specialist
Share
"Awesome Graphics editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is a well-rounded image manipulator. It's incredibly powerful, especially for freeware. I use it predominantly for use in ArcGIS. I often need to overlay historical maps, and GIMP helps me to clean up a lot of the noise. It also helps me convert between file types easily. I especially enjoy the ability to drag and drop a PDF and convert any page to a .tiff file. If your company is looking for a cheap and easy way to deal with images needing pre-processing, GIMP is a great choice. There are way more functions and uses akin to Photoshop but I am not well versed in that program to provide a comparison.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is a learning curve like any other powerful program. But a lot of functions are easy to use and very natural to use regardless of any experience with any other program.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I deal with many historical maps that are not always in the best digital condition. Often its scanned images or even just photos of a photo. I use these images as overlays to create maps of archaeological data. Often times these maps require some cleanup before they can be brought into ArcGIS. On the simpler side, I use GIMP to crop and adjust images. On the more complex side, I use tools like Despeckle and Threshold to clarify old maps. It's also very useful for converting between file formats. It can even maintain or remove projection files from USGS maps.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Saurabh M. avatar
Saurabh M.
Content Creator
Share
"One of the best image editors for professionals"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I use GIMP primarily for editing images and layer-wise correction of images. This tool has dramatically helped me to work with image processing for big and small needs.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

While GIMP is a great tool to work with, I find it a bit RAM-consuming, and my laptop functions a bit slower when it is running. This is probably a personal issue, but I would love it if there were a fix.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I work in the software industry, and in a more specific manner, I work with a tool that performs automated testing through image processing. I struggled a few days back with other image editing tools like Photopea, but this is the best.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Lenix L. avatar
Lenix L.
Research And Development Associate Engineer
Share
"My experience with using GIMP"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP provides a complete powerful image Manipulating toolkit as absolutely free. No hidden condition. The affordability makes it easier for new users and small business to leverage a high quality image editing tool without having to being caught up with subscriptions.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Since GIMP is free, it lacks in some places. Nothing extremely significant,but important features. Like for example, GIMP could improve the UI to accommodate new users.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I very frequenctly use GIMP in creating, editing and exporting high quality images for presentations and websites. Since I am not a full time designer, my usage with inages is sporadic, hence GIMP is perfect for me as I don't have to worry about subscribing everytime I have to use a image editor.