GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 13, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Josh C. avatar
Josh C.
Co Owner
Share
"Great Free Option for image editing"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's totally free! There is a great community that has made tons of free mods. For something open source like this it is amazing how often they update it! If you use Photoshop it shouldn't be hard to change over to GIMP and save some money. It can open most psd files to edit. Your learning curve will depend on how much you know about image editing. I am more of a beginner and I can still figure it out with some youtube videos.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Not as popular as Adobe Products so not as many resources though there are videos on Youtube about it. Decently long learning curve but that is with any type of image editing software.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

The problems you solve with photoshop can be solved with GIMP so image editing is great with it. You can make logos, cut out people from images and make transparent backgrounds.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Wadah F. avatar
Wadah F.
التسويق والمبيعات
Share
"GIMP is full of tutorials and there is a lot of help to be found"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Waht I liked most about Easy. It was eas easy to discover everything.In terms of drawing tools, it is very easy to buy a tablet with a screen with the difference in pressure applied to the screen.”

What do you dislike about GIMP?

This makes it difficult to check these boxes". "In terms of drawing tools is very simple. Another thing I didn't like is that Gimp

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It was very useful to me in my work as I was able to deal with it quickly

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JB
Jenny B.
Bookkeeper
Share
"I'm a huge fan of Adobe, but this took the crown."
What do you like best about GIMP?

The best part about gimp is it's always allowed it's user to make custom brushes, custom patterns and do be honest that's the words that's important. They allow for you to to customize nearly every single feature there is or upload something that another user has created. It's give me the ability to be more artistically creative.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Oh the learning curve after updates. Awful, just awful. No in software tutorial to assist. It's another go online to their website and read, watch videos and figure it all out all over again. Drives me crazy.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's solving the gap that adobe left. That artist to developer conversation that adobe I feel doesn't do, gimp does. They listen, they give free creativity and not only that a free software. It benefits my artistic abilities and my pocketbook.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AK
Akash K.
Seo Specialist
Share
"Great free and open-source tool for photo editing"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The best thing is it's free and open-source which means we can save licensing costs. It can almost perform all the things that photoshop can do. I have been using GIMP for years for making social media posts and graphics design it helps me to do photo editing with ease. Mostly use background removal tool and retouching tool for phot editing. Everything performs well. Easy to export the photos in different formats.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It sometimes crash when working on large size images. It performance is not good it works slow and consumes more resources. If you are a beginner you need to spend lots of time to learn it. The interface is not that much intuitive like photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps me edit the images for social media. Our organization uses GIMP for all types of photo editing, social media post-editing or graphic design work. I use GIMP most of the time to remove the background. It's the best alternative to photoshop. It is free to use and saves licensing costs. GIMP helps us to create a cover design, social media posts, enhancing photos and much more. The best part is it exports the photos in high quality and resolutions.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jay C. avatar
Jay C.
Secondary Science, Chemistry, Physics And Biology Teacher
Share
"Great image editing tool for education"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The software is easy to use and easy to master

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I would prefer that there is a more comprehensive manual for beginners on how to use the tools

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Editing images that can be used in the classroom. The features on the platform are great to obtain the right width and height for my diagrams

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EB
Elisabeth B.
Implementation Specialist
Share
"Excellent open source image editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

- Opensource software - lots of support and resources available (for free!) - Interface is similar to other image editors, making it easy to convert skills - Functionality sufficient for all basic image editing needs I have had, from goofy picture edits to serious image manipulation for marketing and web purposes

What do you dislike about GIMP?

- Menus include many options, which means the one you need may be buried under a few levels. This can make it cumbersome to pick up and require Googling to find the options you need. - It's a very full-featured program, which means it's pretty complex and detailed. It's not an easy one to learn your way around quickly.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use GIMP any time that I need to do image manipulation work. This is a quick solution to edit the proportions of someone's profile photo for a team website page, or change colors to match current branding, or add a wizard hat as part of a custom thank-you to a coworker whose wizardly solutions you're thankful for. GIMP, in short, lets you take an image and tweak it in minor ways that make it fill your needs best.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DJ
Dhruv J.
Manager It
Share
"GIMP - The Opensource Wondertool"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is free, Free as in Air !! It is the most powerful free open-source Image manipulation tool on the market yet. It can deal with all popular image formats and some unpopular ones as well. GIMP is a bundle of plugins, scripts and tools with make it a great Image editor.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP is a bit bulky and the interface does pose challenges sometimes. Tools are organised well but sometimes one needs to refer to the User Manual for better clarity.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP helps save on licencing costs for Image editing software. We constantly work with complex SVG / PNG files which require dedicated editing software. GIMP helps convert / export to many different formats as we require.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JW
Jerome W.
Head Of Web Development
Share
"A good FREE alternative to Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Of course I like the fact that it's free, but it is a viable solution to not wanting to pay a monthly subscription yet needing to get your hands on some feature-rich photo editing software. It gives you many of the major features that Photoshop offers.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It's not identical to PS, so you will have your quirks here and there. But you do get the backing of an online community that works to make it better. I think a one-for-one comparison is hard to reach, but stability of the existing features is key.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I love being able to do more demanding photo editing work without the commitment of a monthly subscription.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LD
Laura D.
Treatment Coordinator
Share
"Easy to use and easy on the wallet"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love that gimp has all of the features that i need for graphic design.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It does have a slight learning curve to or, if you are used to using other software.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

This program has allowed me to create graphics for my company without having to purchase expensive software.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JC
Jade C.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Great open resource for graphic design."
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is a wonderful resource for a free graphic design program. It is not always very intuitive, but it is fantastic once you know how to use it. Installation is easy and program is quick to boot up.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The program is not always very intuitive and sometimes completing basic graphic design tasks can require more steps than one would assume. It does not have as many features as Photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP is a great solution for those needing a free graphic design program which is pretty easy to learn and has enough features to make a good end product. Can add brushes/fonts and import projects easily.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MP
Marv P.
Founder
Share
"Gimp - An Effective Replacemen to for Most Everyone For Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Easily expandable, Packed with features and tools, Opens almost any image file

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The interface is a little crowded, could be streamlined, or better options for menu customization

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Graphic art creation, photo image manipulation, also the ability to create fake currency - or parody currency - photoshop freaks out on this.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
sandeep v. avatar
Sandeep V.
Business Analyst
Share
"Awesome Photo editor tool for Designers"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I used this tool for designing it have features like bucket fill, pencil, paintbrush, eraser, Airbrush many more similar features like the photoshop the only difference is its available for free

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I don't dislike anything about this software its great software with great features

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am a regular user of photoshop but I have to pay money for the features then I found this great software its available for free

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ridham S. avatar
Ridham S.
Business Owner
Share
"GIMP: Powerful & Versatile Free Image Editing Software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The below features that I like most in GIMP: 1. It is completely free to use. 2. Image editing facilities like color correction, color tone, and noise control. 3. User-friendly dashboard and easy to navigate.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The below features or things that I don't like very much in GIMP: 1. Batch processing is not available in GIMP. 2. Sometimes crashes while editing on a larger image file. 3. I can't select multiple layers at a time which is frustrating sometimes while editing.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves the below problems of my business: 1. It helps me to edit images easily very quickly. 2. It also helps me to correct the noise level in images very quickly in one click. 3. It saves a lot of money because it is free and open-source software.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ysmael R. avatar
Ysmael R.
Data Analyst
Share
"Looking for both a powerful and Free Photo Editor - use Gimp!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP stands for a GNU Image Manipulation Program, a powerful image editing tool. It is open-source software - meaning it is free. Also, multi-platform is available in Windows, Mac, and Linux operating systems. If you are looking for a software that is at par with commercial software - try GIMP!

What do you dislike about GIMP?

If you are looking for software you could use professionally for editing images, GIMP is just suitable for you. But if you are a publisher for printing presses, you need to consider commercial software. GIMP has no color separator feature that breaks down the colors to Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black in preparation for publishing. Nevertheless, GIMP is a fantastic product you should consider first!

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

One prominent feature of this product is it is at par with commercial equivalents. Most of all, Free! You do not need to spend. You can save a lot and divert your expenses elsewhere.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Maryse G.
Operational Security Analyst
Share
"Effective and easy tool to edit my image files"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like the ease of use to get a professional result with a free open source software. I say ease because, even if I don't know how to do a specefic task, there is plenty of documentation, either from their knowledge base or from other sources on Internet.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The software can freeze sometimes and the only way out that I found yet is to shut down. Gimp. If I didn't save my work in a while, I lose everything. So I took the habit of saving often. For me this happened mostly when I try resizing a large image by a too big scale at once. So I do smaller increments and save at each increment.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Overall, I am very satisfied with Gimp as a free tool because as an artist painter, I'm using it to edit image files of my paintings taken by a pro photographer. I edit my images to make custom adjustment to fit as a beautiful print on different merchandise to sell on my website. I am very pleased with the quality and result I get. I need to finish with a crisp high resolution image because I would not accept a blurry result for print. I get excellent quality with Gimp without having to pay an expensive subscription and I always find easily how to do anything. It is perfect for my needs.