GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 13, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CA
Cory A.
Marketing Manager
Share
"One of the best free graphics programs out there!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

As a free program, this software is great. Great features and enables great photo editing.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Limited features but for a free service it is awesome.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

A marketing manager who does a great deal of content creation this is a great photo editing tool.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nancy T. avatar
Nancy T.
Software Engineer
Share
"Best free substitute for Photoshop!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is a free and open-source image editing software available for any OS. It's the best free substitute for Adobe Photoshop as it's free and contains advanced image-editing features unavailable in Paint. You can add and work with multiple layers for an image, making editing and adding new content easier. GIMP has easy tools to resize images without losing much quality and scale images up or down. GIMP allows you to rotate pictures or layers with ease. The best part of GIMP is the transparency layer, where you can draw anything with an alpha background. You can remove borders from images and crop the image to the content efficiently. You can recolor any part or the entire image seamlessly through features such as recolor, highlights-shadows, hue-lightness-saturation, etc. GIMP is a universal image editor that supports any format. You can save the images you work on as PNG, JPG, TIFF, GIF, etc. GIMP can also be used to open WebP images in the editor. Compared to Photoshop, which now requires a $20 subscription every month, GIMP is the next best solution for any new or novice designer looking for the best alternative.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP's boot time is slow. It takes a few seconds after you right-click on an image file and select Open with GIMP for it to open the editor finally. The only downside to GIMP is that you cannot build a career with it. The design industry heavily prefers Photoshop and those well-experienced in it as it's the standard. While GIMP is excellent for beginners, it has no scope outside personal use.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP has been my go-to image editing solution for well over a decade. Converting from PNG to JPG or other file formats has been relatively easy, thanks to GIMP. When I save images from Chrome, they're always saved under the WebP format, which the default image viewer or Paint on Windows cannot open. Using GIMP, I can conveniently open the images to edit or save them as JPG or PNG for less hassle. GIMP is very handy for web designing projects where we use the image editor to make layouts and banners we embed on the website using CSS. I also use GIMP to help create slides for presentations wherever an image or a banner is required to make the presentation more visually appealing. As someone who previously used Photoshop and switched to GIMP since it was free, there's not a single feature I miss in Photoshop, as GIMP covers everything.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Joseph H.
Real Estate Broker
Share
"Easy to use Image program"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The ease that I can manipulate images taken by any type of camera. From an old pocket digital to my cell phone I can use just about ANY photo using the tools in the program. It can make any picture better. In my business I sometimes get photos that are too dark or slightly out of focus, this software makes it so I don't have to go and take the photos again and again.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The software interface can be a little intimidating, and the User's Manual can be a bit unclear at times. It is written more for a person with a graphic arts background, and non-specialists will have some problem interpreting the meaning of some of the terms used.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

One of the most complex parts of listing a home is getting the marketing photos right. Before I started using GIMP, there were times that I had to make two or three trips to houses. When those houses are 30 or 40 minutes away, it can make for wasted time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JG
Joe G.
Head Of Marketing
Share
"Such a good photo editor you wont believe its free"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Great selection of tools that are as good as premium editors you pay a lot for monthly.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Nothing so far love it! We recommend it to friends and clients.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

We need to edit a large random of graphics before we laser engrave them on chopping boards and slate. This software does a great job every time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 11, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Arnaldo Ariel A. avatar
Arnaldo Ariel A.
Linux Sysadmin
Share
"Great photo editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It has a lot of features, enough from amateurs up to pro photographers and illustrators.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Sometimes, when you need a quick edition on a photo, its amount of options is overwhelming.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having full-featured photo editing software at zero cost. Another: being a Linux user, the paid competitor (Photoshop) is not available.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kiersten L. avatar
Kiersten L.
Technical Lead
Share
"GIMP is an Awesome Image Retouching tool 😍"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I have used GIMP for Image Retouching projects. I can easily adjust image color, crop images, customize brushes and adjust the gradient seamlessly. It helps me to remove background images pr background color easily. I love how I can customize its menu, toolbar and side panels according to my needs. And the awesome thing is it also supports pdf format. It's free and open-source software; it doesn't require a commercial license. Its a cross-platform software. I have installed it on my Linux system and on my windows system. It uses less resources as compared to other image editing tools.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The only thing is its complex software it requires hands-on practice to work smoothly. Other than this, it has almost all the features that photoshop has. It's a powerful tool, and there is nothing to dislike about it.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP helps me to do image editing, post creation, logos, banner and much more. It's free, so I don't have to spend extra money on a license. It's a life savor tool for me; it helps me to do image editing easily and complete the client's projects on time

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 06, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Vanshika T. avatar
Vanshika T.
Software Engineer
Share
"Powerful free and open source editing software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP gives us lots of tools to express our creativity in the editing field. It is a free, open-source tool with enough features to manipulate any image. It is small in size and easy to install. It has a customizable interface. It allows retouching the photo and making a new photo with professional results.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I feel some lag issue on editing large size 4k photos. I feel it for a few seconds in starting, but it works perfectly after a few seconds. There is no issue in GIMP I have found.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use GIMP for making logos and editing photos. The layering feature helps in editing more productively and professionally. It is a free tool and the best alternative of Photoshop, and we do not need to buy any costly software for graphics and editing content.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Lorenzo S. avatar
Lorenzo S.
Maestro
Share
"Alternativa profesional a Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Lo que más me agrada del Software Gimp, es que cuenta con todas las herramientas básicas para editar fotografías de manera profesional. Recorte, exposición, trabajo con capas, modificación de tamaño de elementos, etc.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Es algo complicado de utilizar en un principio, además de que suele colgarse (congelarse) algunas veces cuando trabajo con fotografías de gran tamaño.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Solucionó el problema de licenciamiento que teniamos con Adobe Photoshop, puesto que tenemos varias computadoras en la sque trabajamos y era complicado adquirir varias licencias d eun mismo software. Por ello recurrimos a un software de código abierto.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Steve C. avatar
Steve C.
Web Designer
Share
"Unbelievable that this software is free and just keeps on improving"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Powerful features that you would expect with expensive photo editing software that are here for free!

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Nothing so far really pleased with GIMP and I'm long term user.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

As web designers we hand over websites to our clients once completed. Our clients then need to update their own websites making graphics and adding content. They don't want to buy expensive photo editing software and this is what we recommend for free.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Mohika G.
System Engineer
Share
"All Round Image Editing Tool For Cross Platform"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is one of the best image editing tool I have ever used on Linux OS. I use GIMP almost everyday to do my daily task in Job. Its an easy to use but powerful tool. It has almost all features I want. I can easily manipulate image, remove image background, add filters. It helps me to export images in different file format and different size and aspect ratio without any image quality loose issue.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There is nothing to dislike in GIMP it is the only software available for LINX with that much of features. Its a most Powerful image editing free and open source tool.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP helps to to edit images for Web Sites and Social Media Posts. I can easily edit images add filter and resize image for both Website and social media accounts. Most of the time I used it to crop and image background feature

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Pablo José R. avatar
Pablo José R.
Single Point Of Contact (Spoc)
Share
"Perfect replacement for Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The learning curve coming from Photoshop is very flat. Allowing you to start to work inmediatly.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Sometimes customised toolbars lose their position, so you have to arrange them again.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Reducing the cost of licences without losing options.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ST
Silvio T.
Commercial
Share
"best graphic software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

it's easy to use, it's free and have a lot of usefull features

What do you dislike about GIMP?

nothing! i love Gimp. It's like 10 years that i use gimp and all is good

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

can use it for graphic project, and it's free!

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NR
Namrita R.
Digital Marketer And Developer
Share
"My Experience With Awesome Image Editor: GIMP"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I have been using GIMP for years and did almost all types of image editing work smoothly. I often use it for creating Blog Post Images, Image Retouching, and Changing Sizes and Resolutions. It's a free and open-source powerful tool. That saves the cost of the Software license. I have installed GIMP on all my devices, Linux, Windows and Mac. Easy to work on image layers. I used it to create images, icons, vector images for websites, and different-sized images for different social media posts. Easy to remove and change image background. That's a free, powerful, and feature-rich tool.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I have never felt like it is lacking somewhere. It perfectly did all my jobs. Its UI is outdated, but most free and open-source tools look the same, so it's OK for me. I am used to it.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am using GIMP to complete my day-to-day micro jobs, which helps me achieve them perfectly, like image retouching, cropping, resizing, and background removal. The most significant benefit of GIMP is it is free and the best alternative to Photoshop.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michael J. avatar
Michael J.
Line Technician
Share
"Gimp image editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's a full feature image editing software that's free and it's as powerful if not more so than Photoshop

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It's a little difficult to understand all the tools and options however they do offer a manual online just not alot of tutorials that I know of

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's a great program if you're a photographer or web designer

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GS
Gareth S.
Head Designer
Share
"Amazing graphic editing software that you won't believe is free"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Has almost all the features of software that costs hundreds of pounds a year in subscriptions.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Works well i havent founds anything to dislike so far if i am honest.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are a laser engraving and cutting business we use gimp to edit and make our designs without the large pricetags that other software companies charge.