GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 18, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
William S. avatar
William S.
Tier Iii Network Engineer
Share
"GIMP is a great alternative to Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's free, works on windows, and other operating systems. It works great and is easy to use! A great alternative if you don't want to pay for Photoshop.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It's not quite as good as Photoshop but in my opinion it does almost just as good of a job. It's free so it honestly comes pretty close to Photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Image editing and improving image quality. Resizing of images.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 12, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Balamurugan S. avatar
Balamurugan S.
Content Writer | Branding | Vendor Management
Share
"Best alternative to Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The best part of GIMP is that its open source and has the features of photoshop. Before switching to Gimp, we're using photoshop which is quite expensive. When switched, I was surprised to see all tool sets in gimp. It's super lite and comes with all tools, effects and essentials one need to edit photos and create vectors. Also, one should speak about the performance it provides. It works well on 1gb ram powered pcs without any hassle and exports outputs without issues.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There are some bugs in exporting options. While saving the file as png or jpg, it fails to work. There is a bug in it. But other than that, the old school look of UI is something should be updated. Those are some cons to be solved. Other than GIMP is highly recommended for everyone.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

With Gimp, I've edited photos, created thumbnails, logos and other vectors needs of my company. It's open source and compatible on low end pcs. It's opensource and free. It's easy to install and work alike photoshop. Above all, the performance is much better than other tools like affinity. That's the plus.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 27, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Brian S.
Av Manager
Share
"GIMP - The unfortunately named but excellent free photo editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Did I mention Free? And it works well? The interface is a bit dense and the terminology can be daunting. However, for most photo editing tasks GIMP will do the job quite well and simple Google searches walk you through the steps. The developers keep it up to date and it has a very good selection of tools and sub-attributes like fonts, brushes and export options among many others. I find that most tools are not intuitively easy to use but there is an abundance of youtube videos available that help with any project.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The interface is crowded and if you do not know the terminology, it can be difficult to do simple tasks. It is not as easy for beginners as an application like Photoshop. The application's Help isn't easy for the novice user to read. I find I have to use Google to learn how to do new tasks. It is not intuitive and some tools are overly buried.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating custom images for marketing purposes, editing images for user guides and creating poster sized images. Also used to make GIF images for tutorials and virtual backgrounds for corporate purposes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AZ
Ama Z.
Founder
Share
"I prefer it to photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Best of all, it's FREE to use! Possibly one of the best open source alternative to a high end product that I've ever used.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Photoshop has some great filters/presets that professionals offer as packages (free or paid for), but you can't use these in GIMP. Also, if you know either GIMP or Photoshop, it's a little difficult to switch between them, because things are called something a little different or in a slightly different place. Not impossible though.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Whether a quick photo edit or a full-fledged graphic design project, it's a great tool. I mostly use it for creating/editing icons for presentations, or creating various version of logos.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 14, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Marco A. avatar
Marco A.
Mechanical Engineer
Share
"The perfect free software for image manipulation"
What do you like best about GIMP?

- It just works! It has plenty of tools to edit and improve the quality of your photos. - Its architecture allows the creation and use of plug-ins to do interesting things (like filters, automatized work-flow operations, etc). - It's free software, so you can download, install and use it with no worries about what the license allows and what doesn't. - It's multi-platform, so you can install and use it on Windows, MacOS X, GNU/Linux up to Sun OpenSolaris and FreeBSD. - It's lightweight and it's hardware requirements are not high.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

- It could look hard to use for non expert users, but it is not different from other famous (and proprietary) software. - Recent updates changed the way the software saves images. Now the "Save" command saves the file only in its own native .XCF format. If you want to save the file in one of the common image formats, such as .JPG or .PNG, you have to use the "export" command, while in the previous version the "save" command did the whole job. I liked the old behaviour...

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Everything related to image editing, from simple correction (like crop, rotation, perspective correction and light/color correction...) to advanced manipulation (like restoration of old photos from a scanner, photo-collages, addition of text, etc) GIMP can manage all image formats, and can import files even in non-raster formats (suche as PDF pages, as an example).

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 09, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
Dominique D.
Founder
Share
"Great open source image editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The best thing is obviously that GIMP is free. But still it is kept up to date, for example it supports the new image format AVIF that other competitors do not support. GIMP has lots of features and I did not found anything I could not do with it. The community is really big, so if there are some issues you've just to ask for help and someone is always there happy to help. Moreover you can install GIMP on your operating system of choice, since it is available on Windows, Mac and Linux.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The user interface takes a little time to get used to, but once you are accustomed to it, you begin to like it. If you are new to image manipulation you might take more time to begin to understand GIMP, but there are lots and lots of tutorials on the web.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basic image manipulation for Blog entries. Creating Logos for Websites, remove background on pictures.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 06, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Charles S. avatar
Charles S.
Technical Service Advisor Cementing Bp Deepwater
Share
"Edit professional-quality images with GIMP"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is an ally for image editing, generally in the company we must issue internal and external information flyers about our products and services, and for us to maintain our social networks with real but quality images. Therefore, our Project Management department, we all have this App on our cell phone, because every moment counts and if it is documented it must have the quality that is required.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP is a Software with a very simple and easy-to-use interface, you just have to let your previous knowledge direct you, I have never found anything negative in this software

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP is ideal for small businesses because it is free and they can also create quality logos and advertising with professional style easily and immediately, in addition to that you can save different extensions so you can play with the designs whenever you want, really to us It has made our lives easier, editing images has never been easier.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Sep 30, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Stella J. avatar
Stella J.
Software Engineer
Share
"An amazing Free Image Manipulator and Editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It is downloadable software designed for rich functions such as graphical editing, image composition, drawing, and other designing functions. It helps its user to enhance their productivity by allowing the user to create variants of icons, images, etc using various tools such as airbrush, pencil, erasers, different shapes and objects such as rectangle, square, circle etc, and color palettes with a wide range of colors. It also allows user to save their designs in various file formats including JPEG, GIF, TGA, PDF, etc. A user can install plug-ins for additional advanced tools.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Due to a vast range of tools and availability of complex menu and functions users are facing a lot of issues while using it as they are not able to understand it easily due to its complexity. If you are unfamiliar and new to it you have to find helpful stuff and tutorials for learning it.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

This open-source graphical editing environment is an easy user-interface where a user can compose graphical designs, and perform other functions like pixels adjustment for producing high-quality images, using advanced features like cloning, blur option, mask, etc and the user is allowed to suggest different customization to the software developers for its functional improvements. Windows MS, Mac, Open Solaris and Linux are its deployment targets, and it can support various computer programming languages including C++, CSS, HTML, PYTHON, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 30, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carlos H. avatar
Carlos H.
Social Media Strategist
Share
"Great alternative to expensive photo editors"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Gimp has most of the features of Photoshop and its completely free. This can be a lifesaver when you're working on projects and when you need to quickly edit a photo. I personally find that for someone who just needs basic features it solves my needs. I also like that the program supports numerous file types and makes it easy for me to convert files to formats that I need. It's also great for compressing images or resizing them down which tends to be an issue whenever I want to send an email or post something on a website. The software is really stable too and doesn't use up too much RAM which is nice.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

For my needs Gimp actually is really effective so I don't really have any dislikes about it. One thing it probably cannot do as simple as Photoshop is open as many files with some CPU slowdown, I remember having tons of files open on Photoshop at a time and sometimes Gimp might slow down if there is too many files open so I had to shift to focusing on the tasks at hand instead.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp helps me solve quick photo editing problems mainly for e-mail marketing and for social media purposes as well as blog posts and general photo editing needs. The many different tools available in the program saves me time from having to load multiple different programs or websites to edit files which I appreciate.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Samantha A. avatar
Samantha A.
Sales Representative/Territory Management
Share
"Open-source graphics manipulator and editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It offers several tools and functions not only for image editing and manipulation but also allows the user to create different drawings, icons, designs, logos, 3D objects, etc. it supports different image file formats such as JPEG, PCX, TGA, GIF, etc. it also supports multiple computer languages including C++, Pythons, etc and is available for MS Windows, Windows Vista, Mac OS, Linux, Sun OpenSolaris, etc.it allows multiple window modes with several dockable tabs of tools and menus.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The availability of so many tools and menus is complex and a lot of tools that a new user may be unfamiliar with, causes the user to learn stuff manually that costs him time. Although GIMP provides a lot of user guides and tutorials on its usability, it still lacks guides on some filters, effects, and color management. Its GUI lacks solid background and edges which may be disturbing and distinctive for a user while the full-screen mode is inactive.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is an open-source and free graphical editor that provides various tools for the purposes of graphical composition, editing, retouching, etc to create high-quality images with pixel manipulating tools. It is an easy interface that also allows users to put suggestions for improvements and customization. Along with all basic editing tools such as brushes, color palettes, pencil, erasers, and layer selection tools with different geometrical patterns, it also provides advanced manipulating tools such as effects and filters, blur, mask, cloning, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Alexa M.
Photographer
Share
"The Quality Alternative to Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love Gimp! I love that it's accessible to everyone for free so I was able to learn the basics on this program before smoothly transitioning to photoshop for my professional photography. It also has many of the same features, and the sun fare and firefly brushes are a bonus. This software is professional enough to use for paid photoshoots if you practice and know how to use the settings. I also love that you can do compositing and have layers to do so as well

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I think it's a lot "clunkier" than photoshop. It's the best free editing software I know of, but I feel as though some settings and color manipulation just didn't work as well as they should. Like photoshop, it can be very overwhelming at first because of all of the available options, so you really have to be dedicated when learning how to use the program. It's also slightly obscure, so there aren't many tutorials online to learn from, it's more of a trial and error thing.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

having the tools to be able to cut things out of a background quickly has been invaluable. Also for anyone looking to eventually transition to photoshop but not wanting to invest the money, this is a great software to test out whether or not you like photo manipulation and editing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rebekah A. avatar
Rebekah A.
Training And Procedure Analyst
Share
"Love this product!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I have been using GIMP for years. For a free product, the amount customization and functionality available is incredible, and it's actually much easier to learn quickly without much training, as opposed to Photoshop.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There's really nothing I don't like about GIMP!

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP is a quick and easy program to download and get started on, and for a free product you can't go wrong!

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
James R. avatar
James R.
Business Intelligence Lead
Share
"A workhorse for the professional image editor"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Every feature that I could possibly want when editing an image is available in GIMP and this is an open source/free product. Considering alternatives with this much ability are in the hundreds of dollars for a single license, this product is my first go-to.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Tutorials and documentation are present in the product but it's very text heavy. The interface is efficient, but because there's so many features, it can be overwhelming to learn. Frequently I grumble that the user experience is not always pleasant or user-friendly.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Image editing, layering, creation of images for a web-app, logo design and alterations.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RK
Rupa K.
Product Owner
Share
"Love it love it love it"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Like the various photo editing tools available. Like the layers option and there are tons of editing options for each layer.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Can be a bit complex to understand for a photo editing beginner

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wanted to edit a lot of landscape photos taken during different seasons. GIMP lets me highlight the seasons by touching up photos taken using my DSLR. There are also a lot of tutorials from the community on getting started with some tools so those are helpful as well.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 25, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Peter M. avatar
Peter M.
Founder
Share
"My review of GIMP"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Its advanced features for editing images, cropping pixels that are placed sideways and that would not be croppable with Paint by example. We can also rotate images, play around with saturation degrees, shades, layers, and other features. It can be used as an enhanced design tool! And it is a valuable option for my possible future tasks about image editing, although I am mainly a software developer. Also, GIMP provides large support for languages, various platforms (Linux and OS X users can benefit from it too), and even in Windows, people still being on Windows 7 can use it, it is not limited to Windows 10. So I would definitely recommend it to others for image processing.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I have not used it much for spotting defects in implementation and features. However, its default visual theme for Windows could use lighter colors instead of the dark-gray nuance. In my opinion, GIMP should be more popularized and used in web and graphic design.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was able to edit images; an example of a task - I needed to eliminate pixels from the edges of the image, meaning that I polished it; this is a technique that is not available in a common image editing tool like MS Paint. In the past, I needed GIMP at my former workplace (KEPLER-ROMINFO SA), the first time I used the program was in 2014 for an internal project that needed image manipulation, and it was helpful from the beginning.