Litmus background blur
Litmus logo
Litmus
4.6
(382)
by Litmus Software, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Litmus?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Litmus Reviews & Product Details

Litmus Overview
What is Litmus?

Litmus is a preferred email personalization, optimization, and collaboration software among marketers designed to maximize your ROI. From pre-send campaign development, testing, and AI-driven content recommendations Litmus can deliver the tools you need and help facilitate better creativity to ensure optimized content.

Company Litmus Software, Inc.
Year founded 2005
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Social Media
Litmus Categories on Findstack
Litmus Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Litmus Features
Performance
Email and Mobile Preview
Building and Personalizing Emails
Manage Email Deliverability
Basic Reporting
Open Rate
Spam Filter Testing
Deliverability Testing
Multi-User Account
Dashboard
Analytics
Content
Time to Open
Editing Platform
Design Testing
Litmus Media
Litmus 0
Litmus 1
Litmus 2
Litmus 3
Litmus Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 19, 2024
Litmus logo
382 Litmus Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JK
Jessica K.
Share
"I am not an email coder, and it has made it so easy for me to learn email HTML."
What do you like best about Litmus?

I love the snippets. Our lead coder can create them and I can use them, knowing my email will be on brand

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Not much! I like it a lot. Maybe the testing could be faster?? But really it is fast enough.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It makes it easy to create emails out of our branded templates. I can design them very quickly and then test them right away. I would day my busness preformabce is better than before.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
OE
Ojoma E.
Computer Engineer
Share
"A go to solution to review emails on multiple email clients"
What do you like best about Litmus?

The Preview Interface is really good, and the fact that you can toggle off images just to see how your email looks without them is pretty great.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I haven't had a bad experience with Litmus so far, so I don't have anything I dislike.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Some customers complain their images do not load in some newsletters they send to different ISPs. We use litmus to check if it's an email client specific issue or a general Issue. Litmus has been pretty accurate thus far.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LT
Lyne T.
Marketing Communications
Share
"Great and easy to use platform"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus is a must-have tool to review all your emails. It helps with design and testing so you can optimize your email campaigns. You can add comments and check past communications all in a very collaborative way.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I would love to be able to send actual emails from Litmus and not only stay in the testing environment. When we have a lot of emails to review, we find it difficult to name the versions without affecting the subject line.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It really facilitates exchanges between the different stakeholders. It also is a very good library of all our work.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LB
Lindsey B.
Share
"The perfect addition to your CRM portfolio!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus provides the security any email marketer is looking for. With Litmus, you'll see how your email renders across many different platforms, providing ease of mind with your email designs.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The only downside to Litmus is it can be overwhelming to review all the provided platforms. It's a pretty great problem to have! But I wish there was a smaller list of suggested providers that is easier to manage but still comprehensive!

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It allows me to test my emails past the platforms I have access to. Plus, it shortens the time it takes to check my email designs! This allows for our team to be smaller and more agile!

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VR
Venu R.
Product Marketing Manager
Share
"Litmus - Great for Email Marketers!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I like how Litmus allows users to review and post comments which makes sure that all finer details are taken care of before release.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I love it so far. Helps me in my marketing function .

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus gives me a very real-life kind of preview of my emails which helps in putting myself in my end-user's shoes and read my content. It always helps to see how your creation and final deliverable looks before hitting the send button.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Srikanth S.
Consultant
Share
"Litmus Review"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus gives an easy option to choose the clients with which we want to preview our email. This helps us to consider if the email is visually appealing and renders as expected. There is also an option where we can update the code in the builder and make adjustments to see what works best.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

One drawback would be selecting the email clients, which I see now we have the option to create our list. Another would be if we make changes in the code within the litmus builder and update the preview and QA tab, it would be considered a new set of emails which reduces the usage. It would be good to have at least one preview after the code has been updated.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus helps in providing solid evidence to the clients and other members on how the email was built and rendered. If in case some one changes the code and says the email is not rendering, litmus would provide proof of how it was rendered when it was built.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KY
Katherine Y.
Lifecycle Marketing Specialist
Share
"Really appreciate Litmus as an email marketer!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Testing on different devices in order to ensure rendering and compatibility, the ease of leaving feedback, being able to go back to previous versions of a proof for comparison, the ability to make proofs public

What do you dislike about Litmus?

On the homepage, all the proofs from different team members are displayed. It would be nice if the default home page showed proofs from your account, with the ability to filter to see the whole team. When multiple people from the same team send proofs, it can be a bit time-consuming to search for yours.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email compatibility on various devices benefits me by giving me insight into devices outside my own. Consolidated feedback in 1 central proof helps me by having a main source of truth (versus some feedback on Slack, some on google docs, etc.)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CL
Carmen L.
Director, Quality Assurance
Share
"Director, Quality Assurance"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Being able to view all the email clients in one view

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The plan between basic (2,000 views) and the next step is a huge jump financially, and I prefer to be able to pay on a monthly basis

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Being able to view all the email clients in one view - saves a lot of time

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KJ
Kelsey J.
Email Marketing Specialist
Share
"Top email tool for developers and excellent thought leadership"
What do you like best about Litmus?

A cross-browser previewer is in the toolbox of any email developer, which is what I get the most out of with Litmus. Above that, when you have a bug, search for it in the Litmus Community feature, and you'll likely get an answer or at least a hint from other developers. Additionally, one of my most significant achievements in email development was conquering dark mode, strongly guided by Litmus' how-to articles and guides.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Cross-browser previews are static screenshots where it would be ideal to see live experiences in the case of interactive email.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus commenting and status features provide an email review process for our teams. Additionally, the ability to sync Litmus Builder to email service providers saves us unnecessary implementation steps and streamlining between teams.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KC
Kaden C.
Email Marketing Manager
Share
"A necessity for email markers"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I have worked for multiple companies and the only consistent peice of software is Litmus. It has become a necessity for creating emails, testing them, and making sure everyone get's the same experience.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I would like to be able to go back and revert to old versions within the testing tool. Maybe even having Litmus recongnize the same email being testing and keep them in a folder?

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves the problem of how our customers and propsects recieve emails. Just because you build an email in a tool, doesn't mean it always looks that way. Litmus helps you create a good solution for all.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jim S.
Pro Hacker
Share
"Email Builder and Personalization Master"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus help me spend less time creating, testing and personalizing marketing emails via automation.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I don't have any aspect that I dislike, if there could be I would have been rectified rapidly by vendor technical team.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Previewing and analyzing marketing emails to ensure they are error-free prior to any send.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brondon F. avatar
Brondon F.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Its a great tool for email marketing solution."
What do you like best about Litmus?

We use Litmus to send large volume of emails, it makes every time we need to send such campaign in order to make sure that the user gets the email as intended in the first place. Testing emails for consistency. Analyzing potential threats. Addressing relevant issues to email marketing faces. The ability to share email test renders does improve the workflow. Boost Collaboration. The support team is great.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Tests can be slow to load. Needs to improve on two factor authentication.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it to test emails we build for our clients before they are sent to ensure that the email list receipts are able to view the email as expected regardless of their device. We code production emails for our clients and use it to test our emails before deployment.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AS
Aj S.
Email Developer
Share
"A must-have tool for email marketing teams"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Coding requires trial and error... lots of it. I'm able to identify emails with rendering issues before deployment. I also like how stakeholders are able to view proofs and easily write edit requests or approve emails.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

When incorporating GIFs or videos, screenshots are often taken while the file loads. Also, I'm not a fan of the 30 days expiration on proofs. Lastly, there's no way to delete proof versions.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

I take pride in ensuring emails I code look good so by being able to preview them, I'm confident nothing embarrassing will show up in inboxes. Being able to collaborate with stakeholders at the Proof level makes the entire process easier for me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DK
Demetri K.
Managing Director
Share
"The Leader in responsive email testing"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Incredibly intuitive and simple to use while being extremely powerful

What do you dislike about Litmus?

At this point, there is nothing we dislike about the software

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Litmus to test HTML emails on a variety of different clients.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AK
Allie K.
Global Director, Email, App, & Crm
Share
"My team could not function without Litmus"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus provides my team an easy and efficient way to share proofs with stakeholders, collect feedback, and easily allow us to implement any changes.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

There isn't much to dislike about Litmus. My only recommendation would be an easier way to make it more apparent how you toggle between versions.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're a global company with stakeholders across numerous departments, and Litmus allows us an organized, efficient way to collect all of their feedback in one place.