MindGenius background blur
MindGenius Logo
MindGenius
Visualize Your Ideas Effectively
4.8
(20)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MindGenius Reviews & Product Details

MindGenius Overview
What is MindGenius?

MindGenius is a project management software that is built for both personal and team use with a strong focus on organizational effectiveness and development. With MindGenius, users can boost personal productivity and organization efficiency, by giving users access to tools that they already use every day.

Company MindGenius Ltd.
Year founded 2001
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters East Kilbride, Scotland, UK
Social Media
MindGenius Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about MindGenius
What MindGenius is best for?
How does MindGenius compare to Asana?
What are the pros and cons of MindGenius?
MindGenius Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
MindGenius Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
MindGenius Media
MindGenius 0
MindGenius 1
MindGenius 2
MindGenius 3
MindGenius 4
MindGenius Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 25, 2024
MindGenius Logo
20 MindGenius Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Emilia-Kate R. avatar
Emilia Kate R.
Marketing And Communication
Share
"A practical project management Platform."
What do you like best about MindGenius?

MindGenius has been demonstrated profitable for a ton of undertakings to do and frequently used to end up putting post-it notes all over yet since moving to this piece of programming the venture the executive’s highlights take into consideration me to sit and concoct a conclusive arrangement which I would then be able to impart to others on when various errands should be finished. Particularly when in the approach GSCE's the point at which each second of time should be used well. Likewise, being a Mac client the capacity to get to the product through an internet browser implies I can work whenever without requiring my organizer and so forth to complete stuff.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

The past rendition of MindGenius stage was not as undertaking detailing amicable as current variants and it took a touch of experimentation to get the correct configurations for announcing especially on financials. While assets and time distributions are basic, we actually need to send out the activities to all the more costing driven programming items to get exact costings and following on costings for projects. No big deal as the similarity is acceptable.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

At first, we utilized MindGenius to catch and make organized web arrangements from gatherings. We utilized the note-taking, dismantling of contemplations, and re-development of brain guides to in a real sense make outlines and wireframes not long after gathering ends. At that point utilizing the guides to move straightforwardly to costing and undertaking plans was unfathomable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SP
Steve P.
Science Teacher
Share
"Good mindmap and day to day planning software"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Due to my work I have a lot of tasks to do and often used to find myself putting post-it notes everywhere but since moving to this bit of software the project management features allow for me to sit and come up with a decisive plan which I can then share with others on when different tasks need to be done. Especially when in the run up to GSCE's when every second of time needs to be utilised well. Also being a Mac user the ability to access the software through a web-browser means I can work anytime without needing my planner etc to get stuff done

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

It did take me a while to get used to the format and controls of the program but using the help section and a little googling all the issues I was facing got easily solved.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

I found when I was trying to co-ordinate my team and keep on top of the tasks I needed to do I was making lots of note and scribbling in a diary and then loosing pages of crossing things out repeatedly, by removing the paper aspect of my work I have also reduced the large amount of emails going back and forth as the work is easily found and with others being able to update it as they complete tasks, there is a easy obvious way to see the progress of the work being done.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 09, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FD
François D.
Founder
Share
"Be analytic or be imaginative, you will love it !"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

MindGenius 2018 is definitely improved to a high level of user friendlyness, making also easy to export content to software such as the Microsoft Office suite ones, and last but not least having easy to use analytical capabilities and reporting functions. As it is really easy tu use, it also enables quickly collaboration between cross-functional teams or between remote locations.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

I have been using the 3 latest versions of MindGenius and now I have very little if no issues using this product.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use primarily MindGenius 2018 to manage my ideas and structure brainstorming activities, either in small groups or in larger teams. It appears that the product saves time and thus money in a lot of collaborative sessions. By setting standard ways to work and standard ways to represent the results, it enables also work between cross-cultural teams. In large teams (> 10 people), it reduces to 1-2 hours the lead time to being operational in large work sessions or dedicated workshops.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
John C. avatar
John C.
Managing Director
Share
"Invaluable tool"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Mind Genius is easy to use, easy to change and easy to export to a range of other software such as PowerPoint, Word, pdf etc I have used it for many years and rolled it out to colleagues and even to consultants working for me. It has amazing flexibility from the suite of templates or from using it free-hand, which is what I normally do. it saves time & money but above all it delivers solutions which may not have been apparent at the beginning of a project

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

As Mind Genius has developed over the years, the "dislikes" have disappeared and Mind genius 2018 is a now a well developed tool for any business

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've used this primarily in approaching business efficiency exercises but also when dealing with expansive operations projects as the software captures the issues and they can be easily linked to better understand the "big picture"

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Stephen H. avatar
Stephen H.
Director Client Services
Share
"Thoughts Become Things ( We work in creative industries) "
What do you like best about MindGenius?

What I like is that we can take clients from initial meeting - to project brief - to costing and project planning - to simulations - to sign off - and production. And then we can report - manage the project - handle exceptions - stay on track - modify - keep everyone up to date . And frankly - MindGenius gives us a creative to practical edge with all "Thoughts Becoming Things" projects with excellent integration and collaboration at all times.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

Earlier versions were not as project reporting friendly as current versions and it took a bit of trial and error to get the right formats for reporting particularly on financials. Whilst resources and time allocations are simple , we still have to export the projects to more costing centric software products to get accurate costings and tracking on costings for projects. No biggie as compatibility is good.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

Initially we used MindGenius to capture and create structured web solutions from meetings. We used the note taking, disassembly of thoughts and re construction of mind maps to literally create blue prints and wire frames within hours of meeting conclusions. Then using the maps to move directly to costing and project plans was unbelievable. Literally saving us tens of thousand of dollars in man hours and more importantly helping us create products faster and better than we could have imagined.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RH
Richard H.
Founder
Share
"Mindgenius and Barvas"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Mind Genuis/BARVAS have struck the right balance between complexity and practicality. They have a product which facilitates effective Project Management from Project Planning through to Execution and Project Closure. Barvas allows a Project Manger to co-operatively work throught the more abstract planning and definition stages bringing structure to the project, generate a baseline schedule then allow management and tracking of project tasks and deliverables through easy to manage and maintain lists.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

As a general statement I do not have any issues with this product

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

Most Project Managerment products provide complex tools which try to do everything. Mind Genuis/Barvas has provided a pragmmaintains easy to use drag and drop and menu driven interface.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andy M. avatar
Andy M.
Senior Director, Corporate, Marketing & Sales Systems, Quality And It Pmo
Share
"Fantastic tool for planning scope, developing high level time line and gathering requirements"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

MindGenius has a lot of mind mapping capabilities that are applicable to project management. The team has also implemented several smart features that improve overall usability including the Map Explorer and the ability to create a new node just by typing. The tool is very helpful in brainstorming project scope and organizing project teams. The tool can be used to develop project scope statement, organization charts, project charter outline as well as represent project status in a mind map view. As the mind map grows, the Map Explorer can be used to easily traverse the map. I also had a chance to review the software at https://www.tacticalprojectmanagement.com/mindgenius-2018-mind-mapping-software/

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

When editing a schedule in the Gantt Chart view, I have to double click on a cell to enter the value. It's not a show stopper but just a small usability nuance.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

1. Improved scope definition 2. Better brainstorming sessions 3. Communicate high level timing 4. Leveraging one mind mapping format and then exporting to different Office formats

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Peter F. avatar
Peter F.
Director Of Mba Programmes
Share
"MindGenius - one of the first and the best mind mapping products on the market"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

I have been a long time user and advocate of MindGenius since first discovering mind mapping in the early 90's. I have used MindGenius extensively in the higher education sector with a range of student cohorts, undergraduate and postgraduate. I have found it can really transform a students ability to synthesise and structure their understanding of a range of topics and it works particularly well with students struggling to get started with their assignments.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

Nothing really - this is a well tested and robust product.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have used MindGenius to structure and resource new projects and plan new educational programmes I have also used it to solve messy problems - it is particularly useful for group brainstorming as ideas and solutions can be put on the screen as the brainstorming takes place, then re-arranged, prioritised, people allocated to tasks and then the complete map can be exported to a document, presentation, project software etc.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 15, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Anissa H.
Tutor Coordinator/Associate Professor
Share
"Planning--Start to Finish!"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Mind Genius is a user friendly tool that provides a scaffolding for any planner. Whether a novice or experienced project planner or a junior high student completing a science fair project, this tool has templates and visuals to map out the path for the journey.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

I struggled to intuitively use the keystrokes to create child or sibling level bubbles on the mind map. Instructions were provided but they just didn't stick well in my mind. I am also overly visual and had to spend more time than I should have in changing the color scheme and defining the styles I wanted to use on the individual levels of my mind map. Although there are preset templates that are ready to go, I needed to deviate from the model and I spent too much time changing details like font size or style etc. I am sure there is an easier way than the way I did it, but I couldn't find instructions.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am a person that has multiple on-going projects simultaneously. The mind maps are a method for me to organize my ideas and steps so that they are also shareable. For example, I was in charge of analyzing faculty data sets on curriculum improvement plans. I aggregated the data and used the mind map to show the facets of the problem. I was able to then export this visual and share it with our Provost. He then actually requested I make him other mind maps that he could use as visuals in Deans and other leadership meetings/conferences. It is a wonderful tool for identifying missing steps, links, or in just sorting through seemingly unrelated information. I guess I have used it a lot for data analysis without realizing that's what I was doing. :)

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Samuel-Borris J. avatar
Samuel Borris J.
Digital Support Officer
Share
"A practical solution to enhance productivity and effectiveness."
What do you like best about MindGenius?

MindGenius is a software that we are using for quite some time and it resulted in enhancing the caliber of our work and helped us in managing our projects on daily basis. It has the capacity to export files easily to other software like office and PowerPoint and has made our work very quick and prompt. MindGenius is also serving us with its exceptional features in the costing and planning of projects. We are now capable of keeping our clients up to date as it helped us in seeing everything related to a project and the same we can show to our clients and project creating and project collaboration is very easy with this.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

All I don’t like about it is its cost which is pretty high and makes it highly unaffordable for us. Software like MindGenius should be available at a reasonable price because they are needed by all businesses.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

MindGenius, a nextgen software supporting us in managing our projects with much effectiveness and helped us in enhancing our productivity. Its integration with Microsoft office is highly appreciative and its features like costing and project planning are very much beneficial for us .by using it our relation with our clients has become very transparent and we can keep them up to date related to project progress. Its price is the only thing I would consider as its demerit otherwise apart from hat there isn’t anything to mind about it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RL
Roberta L.
Founder
Share
"Proper Preparation Prevents Poor Performance!"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Loved how we were able to keep all of our projects in line and flowing well at the one place. Not only were we able to see where everything was at at any given but, we were also able to show our clients the same thing making them aware what was happening and were it was going. Some of our clients loved the system so much that they then also started using it themselves.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

There was not much to dislike as this was an easy and helpful system.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping tasks on track was something we solved as with this system we can always tell where everything is at. The benefit we realized we have with this is also being able to share statuses with clients and invite them to contribute to projects by adding them to a project.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
MG
Miguel G.
Founder
Share
"Mindgenius has a very easy to use interface"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

one of the things that I like the most about mindgenius is that it has a fairly easy-to-use interface, since it allows us to use it without many problems.In addition, it has integrations with Microsoft Office, which is something very excellent since it simplifies the process. since office is used in all departments of the company The creation of maps has no complications since it is simple, powerful and easy to use. mindgenius also has a wide variety of predesigned templates that allow us to adapt our work in a simple and creative way

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

the only thing I would like to improve about mindgenius is that it be multiplatform and thus being able to connect from any device, be it a tablet, cell phone or Mac, is something that would help us to work or modify some work on the fly

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

mindgenius has allowed us to develop all kinds of projects within the company, generating a number of ideas to apply to all our projects so that in this way it would be something new, innovative and original

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 06, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Linda D. avatar
Linda D.
Director, Analytics
Share
"It is a useful tool, ideal for your personal plans and projects."
What do you like best about MindGenius?

A tool to better manage your projects, you can use it both personally and personally, and thus organize your assigned tasks and activities on a daily basis. It is a tool that allows you to work in three stages to carry out your project, the first is to set the objectives to be treated and brainstorm ideas, points of view and opinions to know if there is any change or modification; the second assemble as a kind of template or diagram stating the objectives and what will be carried out; and finally start the project execution.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

It is a tool that despite its multiple and favorable functions, its interface is a bit confusing and not very intuitive for users, at the moment of getting on it it delays activities a bit.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is a very useful tool in our organization, which is why we implement it in almost all departments of the organization. Through this tool we manage all our projects that we want to implement, MindGenius allows us to manage from the moment we have the idea to the ideas and strategies that must be applied for it to be completed. With this tool the organization can plan meetings between the members of a team to give opinions and points of view that they wish to carry out or to make some change, modification of strategies to achieve the development of the project together.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 06, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"A product with many uses"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

Our office consists of departments with very different needs from MindGenius, from Project Management, and mind maps to tracking tasks and we need a versatile piece of software to do it. I liked the fact that MindGenius despite all the things it can do is still straight forward and easy to use.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

The one thing I have so far come across is moving a Mind Genius account to another work station. I fully understand that the software copy protection needs to identify where it is to stop multiple copies being made, but the process of sorting this out is rather long.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

As I work in Marketing but also have projects to oversee, the ability to clearly see the different tasks I have and their current state makes my ability to prioritise much easier.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Mindgenius : An excellent tool for note taking and organizing"
What do you like best about MindGenius?

I like mind mapping. I take notes using mind mapping. I run meetings using mind mapping. I run simple projects using mind mapping. I have tried many different mind mapping softwares. Mindgenius suits my needs best because it has a simple and easy to use "no-frills" interface. I find it especially useful to be able to type a thought and then simply hit return to start with the next thought. Most other mind mapping softwares require a conscious effort to click on a little tab on the selected box in order to generate another box - too time consuming. I also find the export functions, especially to Powerpoint and Word useful and simple to use.

What do you dislike about MindGenius?

The iPad app could be improved. Several other mind mapping softwares do the iPad app better. I would also like to see an iPhone app. I use the iPhone 7 plus and the screen is big enough to work on mind maps.

What problems is MindGenius solving and how is that benefiting you?

The teams I lead are mostly Chinese with limited English ability. I find it very useful to run project meetings with Mindgenius projected on to a big screen. It is very easy for the participants to see the overall structure of the issues and the tasks which are assigned to themselves and to the other team members. Since I started using this technique some years ago, efficiency has increased dramatically.