Prismic background blur
Prismic logo
Prismic
4.3
(153)
by Prismic.io
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Prismic?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Prismic Reviews & Product Details

Prismic Overview
What is Prismic?

Prismic.io is a CMS platform that allows you to create and manage your website or application's content, and make it available through a RESTful API for your developers to retrieve and display. Featuring a customizable content repository, an intuitive editor, and versioning to track changes to your content, the software lets you can improve your content's consistency, increase efficiency in your team's workflow, and gain more control over your digital presence.

Company Prismic.io
Year founded 2013
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Prismic Categories on Findstack
Prismic Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Prismic Media
Prismic 0
Prismic 1
Prismic 2
Prismic 3
Prismic Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
Prismic logo
153 Prismic Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Gil P. avatar
Gil P.
Freelance
Share
"Good enough in most of cases"
What do you like best about Prismic?

It is easy to learn and you can find good documentation for any popular framework.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

SDK is not customizable enough and no granular permissions

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Structure content, hosted CMS, internationalization, publication system, API

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AP
Ali P.
Share
"Best hosted CMS with excellent developer experience"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Everything just works out of the box with the latest SDK updates and clients find it very easy to use. I particularly love the dynamic slices and their invention that is called 'slice zone'. You put a single component inside your file, pass it data coming from Prismic and it take care of rendering each single component you've built and hooked to Prismic data. The slice machine also comes with a whole developer app that lets you do content modelling and mocking all in one place. Pretty much everything you need in one CMS.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Their client facing UI could definitely do with some overhaul. As much as it is simple (just table documents), as soon as the data complexity grows (think nested documents or related documents) it's very hard for non technical users to figure out how to add content to the cms. If there was a new view in the UI that let's you edit nested or related documents from a single parent that would be perfect.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves the problem content versioning and hosting. Once I develop a content model for a project or website, Prismic takes care of serving me the data all from one place. I even used it as a mini database for a learning management system to host my course and programme content then used document relationships to build internal links within the app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
JA
Juan Francisco A.
Web Developer
Share
"Building Websites with a CMS like Prismic is a great experience"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Prismic gives you the tools to compose your content seamlessly. It's one of the best headless CMS experiences you can have; if you love developing outside the monolith, using tools like Next, or Nuxt, you'll even have workflows that will allow you to build your Website with a component-in-mind paradigm.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

I think there's still missing a feature for clients to make their own components or page editions; and for some clients and editors, this is a must. In WordPress, we could say that this is existing by default, but, as Prismic is a headless CMS, it seems that the editors will always have to ask the developers to make even the minimal changes to customize the presentation features.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm offering clients to build their Website using Prismic, as It's helping me to get rid of cluttered platforms like WordPress. Since I can build decoupled solutions with Prismic, I'm free to find the frontend tools and other parts of the Website outside of a framework, which helps me to solve issues faster and without compromising the other parts of the Website, including the data related to the CMS.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
JC
Jb C.
Share
"I can build my app with quality"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Prismic helps me to build my app with the standards of quality of today. Typescript, nextjs last version, testing... The second point which is essential to me is the reactivity of the support team to answer questions and/or fix the tooling. Frequently, new features are announced, and that s makes me confident for the future.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

As a team, it is very complicated for us to have a workflow where multiple pages are developed simultaneously. When syncing the slice machine, the only option is to override the work of the other developers.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Prismic helps us to create a website for our company, that will be updated by the marketing department without a developer assisting them. The web site is in different languages and must be really fast.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Ahmed G. avatar
Ahmed G.
Developpeur Web
Share
"Solid Headless CMS with only what you need."
What do you like best about Prismic?

Slices are my favorite feature. Composable web pages is the direction we need to follow. Simple to use, to re use. I've been selling these Modular Page template to clients, making working on a website less time consuming, working on components that the client will use to build any page type they need to tell their stories. The workflow is great also, mainly the releases in order to prevent many deploy. Programming a release is also very cool.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Some features on basic plan are not available, like dataset dump, import or being able to switch between preprod, prod dataset would be great. Batch edit would be cool too. Like changing tags for a set of custom type all at once.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

The quality of the ux my clients experience is great, clean, simple. Fast to setup, I have some json for slices that I reuse all the time. So convenient.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 22, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AH
Alex H.
Share
"Great platform, some room for improvement"
What do you like best about Prismic?

It's free to get started, and even when you have more users the plans are pretty cheap. It's always quick in production and provides a really flexible and powerful solution to manage all of our content.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Organisation of documents is a bit tricky, and our repo has turned into a bit of a mess because the lack of file structuring options in the platform. The search feature is not ideal, and finding images and other assets is challenging if they weren't uploaded recently. It would really benefit from structuring documents and files better in the UI.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have a lot of content in our product, and it's not developers who are writing it. Prismic allows us to host our content separately from our code, giving our content writers the flexibility to edit and write content whenever they want even if developers are busy.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 10, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Brent M. avatar
Brent M.
Information Architect
Share
"An excellent headless CMS but overall lacking some key features to make it really shine."
What do you like best about Prismic?

Schema creation, 100x easier than expected, actually enjoyable to use slice machine is a clever way to handle inserting content blocks publishing in named releases looks very useful preview functionality is great pretty good documentation Good editor experience while editing a piece of content excellent free tier limits

What do you dislike about Prismic?

No write API No mobile version of CMS (this wouldn’t be a problem if there was a write API) Not enough variation with each content block. If you want a block with say, text on the left and an image on the right. And you want a version with it flipped, that’s a whole other slice. For the fairly minimal content needs of my site I guessed I needed like 15 separate slices to handle what was like 6 unique content blocks with a slight variations. Dashboard experience for managing pages isn’t always great Creating tags and categories is clunky, if you need to insert a new category for products, you have to add the category before you edit the edit product Integration with imgix is largely undocumented, or at least not nearly enough. I was having to dig through old forum posts or imgix documentation to figure out what my query strings needed to be Authentication process does not work on gitpod (not without an annoying amount of manual work every single time)

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Allowed me to design custom schemas, have a somewhat visual ACF-style block-based editor in slices, would integrate with my workflow of publishing to netlify, could handle both content pages, products and really anything.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 09, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Louis R. avatar
Louis R.
Software Development Engineer
Share
"Prismic offers freedom and flexibility"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Its interface is minimalist and simple: it's focused on content management, and users aren't lost with a multitude of options. It's up to the developer whether or not to allow content modification. We are using it a lot. The Prismic team (customer support) is listening to feedback to make future versions even better.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

The interface could be improved though, with new features. Implementation / integration not really easy in some particular cases.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Be more flexible than Wordpress, for example

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
ML
Mouloud L.
Share
"my love hate relation with prismic"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Easy and intuitive to use slice-machine great idea very well suited for simple websites

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Prismic team don 't listen to prismic developer and it's very frustrating. semantic tags support is critical within richtext . adding folder structure within prismic media limitations are very frustrating especially against other headless cms , example strapi, sanity: no role permission, no backup for free plan, no crud,, also I scratch my head about what page builder builder bring to the table..

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

a centrilized place where i store my data

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AB
Adam B.
H
Share
"Not bad for Startups"
What do you like best about Prismic?

The functionality that allows business users to reuse components - once build by the engineers, this means we are free to build what we need.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

The media library is awful, this would be once reason to change platform because of how bad this is.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Good for building components and features to allow business users to be free of engineering support, however limited ability to scale and a terrible media library

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
TW
Tom W.
Vp Product
Share
"Flexible tool used widely in our business"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Flexibility - we have a unique ecommerce offering with a complex product > add to cart funnel and have managed to scale a significant number of unique journeys through content management.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Asset search capability could be better. It's hard to find and reuse assets through the search feature.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have a unique ecommerce 'middle' funnel, where products can be highly personalised. Most of our products have different types of personalisation. In order to scale more journeys across the site, prismic has afforded some flexibility.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
MO
M O.
Share
"Prismic is easy to use"
What do you like best about Prismic?

The integration was quick and low in effort. The drag and drop functionality is very easy to use and understand.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

The image library and lacking ability to split projects into separate groups

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We were looking for a low cost low maintenance CMS that enabled us to quickly launch content for our webshop and other Marketing related content pages, Prismic was the right tool for it.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
ST
Sivaji T.
Programmer
Share
"Opt for Headless CMS (small scale apps)"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Cloud service of managing the content and users management. No need to worry about the storage cost of the assets. Deployment slots kind of environments and easy for swapping

What do you dislike about Prismic?

It is a bit costly when compared to the other CMS providers. Lack of study material and best practices for beginners to dive in. Merging the environments needs to be simplified

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Like the service they are offering, of course managing all the assets, contents, releases, feature flags, users management everything in the cloud. Benefits we are getting is the site build time is drastically reduced after we migrated to Prismic with gatsby.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 03, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
PM
Paul M.
Engineering Manager
Share
"A Frontend Developer Perspective on Prismic"
What do you like best about Prismic?

Prismic has helped us craft unique content sitewide, powered by our content team and not developers. Being able to use prismic for wiki data, blog posts, FAQs, terms/privacy policies, marketing pages, etc has been a huge benefit to our team. Being able to create content types, with custom fields organized how I need them, has been a huge reason I've stuck with Prismic.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

The strong nature of resistance I've received from support when discussing issues with them. Seem often to brush us off, instead of work with us to solve problems. The entire way media is handled is frustrating. Being able to upload, browse media, and assign meta details to each item... and then using it in a post is fantastic. But if you make changes to the item after using it, it doesn't propagate. Same with thumbnails, if you add a new page/style/design to your site, you need to manually go to each and every post and reapply the image, to generate a new round of thumbnails. It's incredibly tedious, and support has offered no better way insisting that is the option.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Giving our marketing/content full controller of what they're creating, and when they're creating it has been vital. We've created custom inserts in Prismic Slices, that build as our own vue components in the blog post. They have a ton of control on how they build their posts.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
GS
George S.
Share
"Any platform you like, as long as it's Javascript"
What do you like best about Prismic?

The original product design was fantastic - a headless CMS that is platform agnostic and importantly does not serialise content as HTML but structured JSON objects. The API is performant and the writing room is a pleasant experience for content writers. Integration is pretty painless and it is still my go-to CMS. Media assets served from a CDN is great feature, and generally, customer support is reasonably responsive via in-app chat.

What do you dislike about Prismic?

Prismic have effectively abanonded users that don't write everything in Javascript. All of the new and interesting features are effectively not available without using specific JS based frontend/backend technologies and the focus on JS increases to the point where other technologies are no longer even mentioned in documentation. Simple features such as a feasible way of representing tabular content, or linking to in-page anchors have gone ignored for years in the quest for ever more javascript bells and whistles and integration with the latest hot framework.

What problems is Prismic solving and how is that benefiting you?

- Robust, reliable and performant headless CMS - Global CDN for assets - Single content source, multiple clients - Re-purposing content for multiple outputs - Releases for batch updates - Scheduling content releases