SiteGround background blur
SiteGround logo
SiteGround
Reliable Web Hosting Solutions
4.3
(256)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

SiteGround Reviews & Product Details

SiteGround Overview
What is SiteGround?

SiteGround is the largest independent website hosting company that is trusted by over 2.8 million domains around the world. The platform is best known for its strong focus on web speed and security. SiteGround’s hosting service covers powerful website management tools and proprietary in-house solutions that allow them to run websites faster and safer. All this is offered with stellar customer service that makes SiteGround a popular choice among freelancers and small business owners. It’s also a recommended hosting provider by WordPress.

Company SiteGround Hosting Ltd.
Year founded 2004
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters Sofia, Bulgaria
Social Media
SiteGround Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about SiteGround
What SiteGround is best for?
How does SiteGround compare to dhosting?
What are the pros and cons of SiteGround?
SiteGround Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
SiteGround Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Fast server response times
  • Multiple datacenters across four contents
  • Reliable uptime
  • Great customer support, including 24/7 phone support
  • Free website migration service
Cons
  • Very expensive renewal price
SiteGround Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
SiteGround Features
Backup and Restore
Bandwidth Allocation
CDN Integration
CMS Integration
Caching Options
Control Panel Integration
Cron Job Scheduling
Custom Error Pages
Customer Support
DNS Management
Data Center Locations
Database Support
Developer Tools
Domain Registration
E-commerce Capabilities
Email Hosting
FTP Access
Multi-domain Hosting
Resource Monitoring
SSH Access
SSL Certificates
Scalability Options
Security Features
Server Configuration Options
Site Migration Assistance
Staging Environment
Storage Space
Subdomain Management
Uptime Guarantee
Website Builder
SiteGround Media
SiteGround 0
SiteGround 1
SiteGround 2
SiteGround 3
SiteGround 4
SiteGround Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
SiteGround logo
256 SiteGround Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Gaetano C. avatar
Gaetano C.
Product Strategy Consultant
Share
"Reliable Solution for Website Management"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Overall quality: SiteGround offers outstanding quality for all websites hosted on their Google Europe Server Farm. The performance is reliable and fast, ensuring a good user experience. Ease of use: SiteGround's proprietary interface and admin panel are intuitive and easy to navigate. Even less experienced users will be able to manage their websites without any issues. Customer support: SiteGround's customer support is of the highest quality. The live chat is available in Italian (although sometimes translated), providing immediate and professional responses to user inquiries. Value for money: SiteGround offers excellent value for money. Their rates are competitive and provide a range of valuable features and services, such as daily backups, staging, and easy and quick migrations. Easy installation: SiteGround's installation process is simple and fast, without any complex hurdles. Even less experienced individuals will be able to set up their website in a few steps.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

Limited storage space: With the most expensive subscription, the 40GB of space can be considered somewhat limited. It is necessary to closely monitor resources, such as Inodes and CPU load, to avoid slowdowns. No longer hosted in Italy: While SiteGround was previously hosted in Italian territory, this option is no longer available. However, the service remains reliable despite the absence of an Italian infrastructure.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Performance and Reliability: SiteGround's infrastructure and server setup are designed to deliver exceptional performance and reliability. By leveraging Google Cloud infrastructure and advanced caching technologies, SiteGround ensures that websites hosted on their platform load quickly and operate smoothly. This solves the problem of slow-loading websites and server downtime, providing a positive user experience for visitors and minimizing disruptions for website owners. Ease of Use: SiteGround offers an intuitive and user-friendly interface, making it easy for website owners to manage their sites. The proprietary control panel provides straightforward access to essential features, such as domain management, email accounts, backups, and security settings. SiteGround's user-friendly interface solves the problem of complex and confusing website management, allowing users to make changes and updates effortlessly. Customer Support: SiteGround is known for its exceptional customer support. Their team of experts is available 24/7 via various channels, including live chat, ticketing, and phone support. SiteGround's support team assists users with technical issues, server optimizations, and general website-related queries. By providing reliable and responsive customer support, SiteGround helps users overcome any challenges they may face, ensuring a smooth website management experience. Security and Backup: SiteGround prioritizes website security and offers robust measures to protect websites from threats. They provide a range of security features, including proactive monitoring, SSL certificates, and custom firewall rules. Additionally, SiteGround offers daily backups, ensuring that website owners have a reliable restore point in case of data loss or accidental changes. This solves the problem of potential security breaches and data loss, giving users peace of mind. Scalability and Growth: SiteGround's hosting plans cater to websites of all sizes, from small personal blogs to large e-commerce stores. Their infrastructure is designed to handle traffic spikes and provide scalable resources to accommodate growing websites. This solves the problem of limited resources and the need for seamless scalability, allowing users to expand their online presence without any constraints. By addressing these problems, SiteGround benefits its users by providing reliable performance, easy website management, robust security, responsive support, and the ability to scale their websites as needed. Ultimately, SiteGround allows users to focus on their core business or content creation, knowing that their website is in capable hands.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 24, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Luis Enrique S. avatar
Luis Enrique S.
Director
Share
"The experience I had with Siteground"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

In addition to the excellent quality of service, fast and secure servers, make many training videos, not only for the proper administration of the hosting service, but to get better performance on websites.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

What I liked the least, and in fact for that reason I changed supplier, is that they recently increased their rates, in my opinion, too high. One of the reasons why I purchased the service with them was precisely because of their very competitive price.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

For a year I had my websites hosted with them, during which time they did not present any availability or security flaws.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
BH
Brittany H.
Cfo
Share
"Moved from WP Engine to Siteground"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Pricing tiers are very reasonable. Sites seem to be very stable as well.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

It's a lot less user friendly than previous hosting companies that I have used.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed somewhere to host our sites, and as we acquired new clients, the pricing for our previous provider became too much. Siteground provides affordable hosting that is reliable.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
UR
Umar R.
Intern
Share
"it was good"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

its good fast responsive and is easy to use everything is self explanatory

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

it should give some custom options for developers .. i was trying to update php to use composer but putty doesnt let me becuase php was not updated although i updated the php for my subdomain in php manager

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

hosting

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
MF
Matt F.
President
Share
"SiteGround is Fine for Beginners"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

The price is good, and the fact that they have shared hosting (which WPMU does not) is a good thing. They are pretty reliable and I will say that the SG Optimizer plugin is pretty great for what it does to SiteGround hosted websites. It's a must.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

The support for SiteGround has taken an absolute nosedive over the years. Before they were very responsive and helpful with issues, but now you can't get a hold of someone and they make it very confusing to even try. This is TERRIBLE for beginners, so I can't recommend.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

I host some of our smaller websites with SiteGround. The shared hosting is a good value if you can get several websites on a single account. If you know what you're doing and how to manage things yourself when they break, you're in good shape.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
RG
Rishi G.
Freelance Software Developer
Share
"Overpriced hosting service"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Siteground provides you with some good features but you've to pay price for it. The best feature is the speed optimization. It really does wonder with increasing the page loading speed of a website. It provides integration with Cloudfare CDN which helps in loading a web page much faster. It also provides a free SSL certificate (it changes your URL from http://example.com to https://example.com). Basically, it improves the security of the website. Siteground provides it for free, but if you buy it from GoDaddy, it's usually expensive. It also provides an efficient cache policy to make the website load faster.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

It is really really expensive. It almost feels like it's overpriced. If you are just starting your business online, there is no way that you can afford to host your website on SiteGround unless you have some serious amount of money. The file manager looks like it can use an update because it is not that user friendly. If you're used to the file manager of CPanel, this is something that you won't like. There is almost no difference when you choose to buy subscription for a long duration like 1 to 2 years as compared to 1 month rate.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have published one of my client's website on Siteground since the client had fixated on it. Now the website does load faster than it used to before. The support tickets are also resolved within one or two days. But I personally feel like it is not worth it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AR
Alli R.
The One
Share
"I Loved Siteground...until full price kicked in..."
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Siteground provided a good and stable web hosting for my website. Consistent up time.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

I initially went with Siteground because of the sign up promo deals they run are great. I was paying less than $50 a year for two years, and loved them. But after being a customer for 2 years...I went to renew, and the only option was at full price. $175 per year. Price jump, ok...inflation, whatever. But THAT much of an increase sent me into the depths of google searching for a new web host service. I ended up going with Interserver, and I must say, I get the same level of service as I did with Siteground. The difference is this, Interserver's price is $15 every 3 months. Not each month, $15 total for 3 months. SOLD! It was adios Siteground, and yes I was nervous there would a lesser quality to my website. I'm a musician, and don't need a tons of add ons when it comes to hosting my site, but I was nervous cuz...change. But let me tell ya folks, I notice zero difference. Both run off Cpanel & have similar interfaces. My website's up 100% of the times I check. Navigates fast & smooth...just A LOT cheaper than Siteground was trying to charge me after being with them for two years.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Stable web hosting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 06, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
GJ
Gaurav J.
Co Founder
Share
"Not much satisfied"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Their Support and Turnaround Time is good, they sometimes help you in live chat itself

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

Siteground servers are not much effective, if you are having little big ecommerce website, Caching issue worst then any other servers.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Siteground was having really nice hosting but within few months whatever the reason, their server went worst. No doubt Siteground support is good, but we were having lot of issues with it. We are afiliate partner of siteground, and we have recommanded this hotsing to lot of our customers, but within few months, they started complaining. The major issue we were facing due to their caching system. Its really worst.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
BG
Brad G.
E Commerce Engineering
Share
"No WordPress Support means no Business"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

The cache seems to work. However, it does require the end user to correctly understand and configure those cache settings. If/When done incorrectly, cache settings have no -or even a negative- effect of the site and the end user experience.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

No WordPress support. When WordPress end users or WooCommerce Store Owners have questions, there simply MUST BE someone on the other end of the line to answer those questions. It has to be baked into the price of hosting. Making those prices so low, that SiteGround is now NOT providing any type of WordPress support is simply unacceptable.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

None. I am no longer using them nor recommending them to any WooCommerce store owner.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Alan M. avatar
Alan M.
Founder
Share
"Siteground hosting is expensive without any values"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Their online support agents reply a bit quicker than other cheaper providers, but I am not still convinced that benefit against huge costs they charge

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

My service expired more than a month ago, but I have been their customer for around 3 years. Since I had to spend a few weeks in the hospital, lockdowns, and other situations I could not renew it. When I reached out to them for retrieving at least my emails, they said, if the service is expired more than a month, they delete all of that despite I still have my log-in working on the site. What worries me is that I used their hosting for years paying higher costs compared to other cheaper providers. What value do I have by paying SiteGround higher prices, if they delete my emails who have been using their services for years? Despite this, I never got any notifications. I remember once during my active engagement with them, my site was completely down then I sent them an email, for which they replied after 2 days, even though I still used their services. There is no value for loyalty from these people, just charge more or leave type of service. I would advise anyone to consider different options.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was running my website using them, that's all.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Joseph S. K. avatar
Joseph S. K.
Chief Technical Officer And Director Of Seo Operations
Share
"Not very likely to recommend Site Ground based on my last migration experience"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

I like that it is easy to turn up test sites. I like how easy their Cpanel is to find the tools you need to manage your site. Everything about SiteGround is good on the front-end.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

So what is not good is their back-end and support. YOU ARE THE PROBLEM with them. Anything that goes wrong, they have an expert that points to you as the problem. During migration, they took no responsibility for the sites and their performance after the migration. They didn't help with the clean-up and only wanted to blame me, even though we were not participating. They wouldn't give a refund even with the sites having to be moved back at our expense.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am solving the problem of hosting my websites online.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
DB
Daniel B.
Chief Executive Officer
Share
"Started as a dream, ended as a nightmare"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

The only thing we liked about SiteGround is their entry level pricing. But if you plan to build a business— do not use SiteGround. We are tremendously disappointed with the service we received and their support team is experts in wasting their clients time and stalling issues.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

Their support staff is trained on upselling you. They have no interest or intention in selling you what you need, or being helpful. Their servers are slow and if you upgrade, like we did, they lock you in and hold your data hostage.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had a small website we wanted to host on their servers. They persuaded us to upgrade our servers so that they could scale faster with the promise that the cost would scale based on how many users were accessing the website. The result was that we ended up spending several thousand more than we needed, and when we tried downgrading the account, we were not able to. They essentially held us hostage for over a year, causing us to incur several thousand in fees.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 04, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
KV
Kaustubh V.
Lead Developer
Share
"Had difficulties setting up site ground"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Payment plans are flexible. Month to month

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

Their technical support is less knowledgeable. They don't have expertise with major content management systems.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building site up, Maintenance and theming..

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
Jens B. avatar
Jens B.
Business Coaching
Share
"Very expensive for existing customers and very restrictive"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

Easy to use. Good features. Fast. Good staging features.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

The promotion offer is 10% of the existing customer price, but can only be utilized by new customers, so you will have to change the platform (I changed to hostinger) and you cant control DNS email if you don't have a hosting plan.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy Wordpress hosting

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
MB
Megan B.
Ceo
Share
"I used to love it"
What do you like best about SiteGround?

The price isn't the most expensive in the market, the site tools interface looks nice.

What do you dislike about SiteGround?

I loved Siteground at the beginning, and would be the first to recommend them. I stayed with SiteGround through price increases because of their amazing customer service. They helped with any issue and if I had a problem, I knew I wouldn't have to worry. Now, their live chat feature can be turned on and off for users at their whim depending on past questions or issues. Recently, when my sites went down, I could not contact any one immediately because they had decided live chat was unavailable for me at that time. My sites have gotten progressively slower even though I've upgraded service, and I encounter 503 service unavailable errors constantly. These errors pop up so much now that is affecting my sites' SEO. They're just gotten rid of the Cpanel, and their Site Tools is now limited. I was not made aware that there would be changes with the SSL settings once Cpanel switched to their in-house site tools. Now all of the sites are experiencing SSL issues. Will be switching at the end of this month because I don't believe the service is worth the price anymore.

What problems is SiteGround solving and how is that benefiting you?

Site and wordpress managed hosting

Visit website