HostPapa background blur
HostPapa logo
HostPapa
Your Business's Reliable Web Host
4.2
(143)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at HostPapa?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

HostPapa Reviews & Product Details

HostPapa Overview
What is HostPapa?

HostPapa is a one-stop shop for businesses that want to bring their business online with an online store builder. The platform is affordable which makes it very popular among smaller businesses. HostPapa servers are notably fast and reliable, with data centers located in very strategic locations. As expected, the entire platform is user-friendly with access to 24/7 support.

Company HostPapa Inc.
Year founded 2006
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Social Media
HostPapa Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about HostPapa
What HostPapa is best for?
How does HostPapa compare to dhosting?
What are the pros and cons of HostPapa?
HostPapa Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
HostPapa Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Servers are fast and reliable
  • Data centers are located in strategic locations
  • Excellent customer service support
  • User-friendly, especially for new users
Cons
  • Doesn’t offer a speed enhancing software
  • Doesn’t offer free automatic backups
  • Confusing and unreliable checkout process
HostPapa Features
Backup and Restore
Bandwidth Allocation
CDN Integration
CMS Integration
Caching Options
Control Panel Integration
Cron Job Scheduling
Custom Error Pages
Customer Support
DNS Management
Data Center Locations
Database Support
Developer Tools
Domain Registration
E-commerce Capabilities
Email Hosting
FTP Access
Multi-domain Hosting
Resource Monitoring
SSH Access
SSL Certificates
Scalability Options
Security Features
Server Configuration Options
Site Migration Assistance
Staging Environment
Storage Space
Subdomain Management
Uptime Guarantee
Website Builder
HostPapa Media
HostPapa 0
HostPapa 1
HostPapa 2
HostPapa 3
HostPapa 4
HostPapa Screenshots
HostPapa Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 22, 2024
HostPapa logo
143 HostPapa Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"reasonable service, but the salesperson tries to upsell aggressively"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

Good service, with a very accessible support team. Super easy to speak to a human.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

The sales team tries to sell expensive plans very aggressively. They offer plans worth 100$ for new WordPress websites!

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

The VPS service is very reasonable. Most of the hostings have the same service / technology these days. For novice users, HostPapa hasn't the best user interface, but they balance it by keeping the human touch.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Frustrated and disappointed"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

No Comment. Only had one experience that I was involved in and it was not a good one.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

It was very disappointing to have our account cancelled over $110 after being such a loyal customer. Trying to get it up and running again was frustrating and extremely lengthy - this impacted our business for multiple days which is really unacceptable. One would think an internet company would be able to get the web page and email working within minutes instead of days. Multiple people from our company had to make numerous calls in order to get our company up and working again. That is extremely frustrating and disappointing.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

N/A

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 17, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Mixed bag - steady state was mostly good, upgrades and transitions were terrible"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

Current service is quick response time and no issues. Sufficient memory, disk space, email hosting.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

I recently migrated from Basic service to Business service. At almost every step along the way, the technicians implementing the transition caused unnecessary outages and I had to spend a lot of time trying to guess what had happened and alert Lunar Pages support to it.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have a WooCommerce store with both a retail and wholesale websites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Time to move on"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

I have been a Lunarpages customer for over 10 years. I am a website designer and have recommended Lunarpages to many clients. The customer support is generally very good and the uptime is excellent.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

Basic Hosting is now a waste of money for content management systems (e.g. Wordpress). I moved two clients to a different hosts after trying to work with Lunarpages to resolve so-called "high resouce management" usage for both Wordpress sites. The sites are now operating incredibly well and loading very fast on another website hosting server. I will never use Lunarpages for WordPress sites again.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

Used to be good value for basic webhosting for small businesses and non-profits. It's still okay for static sites but that's about it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Terrible Service"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

There is really nothing to like about this company.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

Very poor customer service. Chat feature was very slow and could not answer questions. they told me to call customer service so I called. They didn't answer. I left a message and they didn't call me back.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting for a client. I would not use this company ever again.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Server was down for 4 days"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

I only used it for email. They have good support, they answer the phone right away.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

When stuff goes wrong, it takes forever to fix it and they don't seem to care.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

None

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 15, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Bad Support"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

The best thing about Lunarpages is that I no longer use them

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

Their dismissive technical support. They came up with every excuse in the book about why an issue that I was having was not their problem even though it was fairly easy to prove that it was happening on hardware under their control, not mine.

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

None anymore

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Time to ditch LunarPages!"
What do you like best about HostPapa?

Not much that I like about them at this point. I think they were better a few years ago, when my webmaster recommended them.

What do you dislike about HostPapa?

I had Lunarpages for my site, but when I went to upload new images, I found I could no longer upload basic images. The tech said that shouldn't be an issue, but he couldn't fix it. So he bumped it up to their admins. What a disaster! They just sent generic emails that made my (very experienced) webmaster laugh... and advise me to ditch Lunarpages asap!

What problems is HostPapa solving and how is that benefiting you?

none!

Visit website