WP Engine background blur
WP Engine logo
WP Engine
Premium WordPress Hosting Solutions
4.6
(283)
by WP Engine, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WP Engine?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WP Engine Reviews & Product Details

WP Engine Overview
What is WP Engine?

WP Engine is the go-to name for hassle-free, WordPress hosting. It provides companies across different platforms the flexibility, agility, and intelligence to drive their businesses forward. Offering multiple integrations, it supports organizational growth and scalability and is trusted by over 120,000 users across 150 countries around the world. It also offers premium managed hosting services at accessible price points.

Company WP Engine, Inc.
Year founded 2010
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Austin, Texas, United States
Social Media
WP Engine Categories on Findstack
WP Engine Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WP Engine Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Impressive page speeds
  • Extensive support–reliable phone support and access to tutorials and how-tos
  • Great backup and version control features
  • Easy to use team mamangement tools
Cons
  • LImited to WordPress users
  • Has visitor limits
WP Engine Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
WP Engine Media
WP Engine 0
WP Engine 1
WP Engine 2
WP Engine 3
WP Engine Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
WP Engine logo
283 WP Engine Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LZ
Lorenzo Z.
Share
"We use WPE for all of our (non Cpanel required) projects"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

The support is ideal for a hosting company but having 3 enviornments fresh out the box is awesome.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

We wish it had Cpanel for file mgmt. Its the only reason we dont use it on 100% of all of our client projects. We would use it 100% of the time if it did have that option.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

The accelartion of 0 to 60. The start of a project is super fun because we can get it going asap with WPE. No BS just hit the ground running. Love that!!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DM
Dr. Simon M.
Fopunder
Share
"Outta the park"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

Seamless. intuitive, rewarding, and the learning curve took me 10 minutes.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

It took me too long to find them. Should have had them years ago.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

Redundancy, updates. It's just a no brainer. Support is excellent.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WK
Warren K.
Share
"Save Yourself the Headaches"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

1) The account dashboard is super easy to use (tasks like backing up, restoring, copying to Staging, etc) 2) You can reach Customer Support by phone 3) CSRs actually have technical skills (or can get you in touch with tech support) 4) Integration with Local development is seamless

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

It is pricier than budget, web-hosting options

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

WP Engine provides us an easy, secure, reliable web hosting option for us to provide our WP clients.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Justo D. avatar
Justo D.
Web Content Manager
Share
"Support is key"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

The 24 hour support is essential. Support is the number one reason I chose WP Engine.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

Any time the inteface changes, it's difficult to find tools. The tools are not always in a logical place.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having all the websites I create on one platform is super helpful. The interface allows me to transfer sites from my development space into client spaces.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DB
Daniel B.
Share
"WP Engine is excellent"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

WP Engine provides very helpful support for a number of issues.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

n/a I like most everything about WP Engine.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

WP Engine has helped me with formatting issues with articles, CDN issues

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tudor S. avatar
Tudor S.
Front End Developer
Share
"A Stress-Free, User-Friendly Hosting Solution"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

I like that WPEngine backs up everyting for you every day, that you can back it up manually at any time, the fact that you can restore and feel safe about having it restored to any point. The support is amazing as well, as good as the Apple Support. The research as well. I participated in two research video calls and I was more than happy to give my input and experience.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

There is not much to dislike about it. The design is good but it is not as responsive as you might think. The confusion between Flywheel and WpEngine. I know they merged, but that is still going on.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves everything. Hosting, backing up, restoring. It's all handled by WpEngine so you don't have to worry about it. Buying from random host and trying to mix the hosts would be a nightmare, but WpEngine makes it easy.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RM
Rodrigo M.
Share
"Excellent Support and Servers"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

Their team is incredibly responsive and always goes above and beyond to meet our needs. We have been delighted with our experience and highly recommend WP Engine to any business looking for a reliable and supportive web hosting partner. Ease of use and excellent service, and great migration tools.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

They need to offer email services. It's an expensive hosting, and you need to pay for additional email service with another email vendor.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

The Managed Hosting service it's super convenient as they are very knowledgeable. They are always able to solve any issues with your site. They have monitoring tools that alert you if a plugin has a vulnerability to upgrade it or even remove it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TJ
Thayer J.
Project Manager
Share
"WP Engine is by far the best solution I have found in this space."
What do you like best about WP Engine?

Automatic updates and backups, Content delivery networks, Security Features, 24/7 customer support and technical support and migration

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

Nothing. Really. I have yet to find something I haven't liked. Kudos!

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

Backups for websites. Also keeping websites secure. All very important for my business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BP
Bobby P.
Share
"Easy operation for beginners and experts"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

One of my favorite things is the ability to clone staging and dev environments to test new ideas.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

The thing I dislike most is that I can't access the file manager unless I use Sftp client. I'm sure it's for a reason but it just adds another step in my workflow that I don't use naturally

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

In my past hosting we would have crashing issues on big launch days with lots of traffic. I don't have that experience anymore

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GK
Gopal K.
Technical Manager, Products
Share
"The best Managed WordPress hosting service available"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

They have one of the cleanest UIs, are loaded with many features, and the best thing about them is their customer support.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

Nothing much to dislike in WP Engine. They take customer feedback seriously and frequently update their product to eliminate loose ends.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are a company hosting multiple websites (all on WordPress), and WP Engine provides a single portal to create, manage and access all our sites. Not just that, they provide additional staging and development environments for each site that can be used to test new features/content on the site before they are made live. WP Engine also provides various other capabilities like seamless switching of PHP environments, domain mapping, CDN, SSL, caching, etc. It's a one-stop solution for all your managed WordPress hosting needs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Charles F. avatar
Charles F.
Director Of Product Development
Share
"Top-notch hosting for WordPress"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

Fast servers and easy to manage backend. The backups are automatic and straightforward, plus extremely easy to create a staging environment to test changes before they go live.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

It's expensive, but you get what you pay for. Having hosted my own WordPress instances on my own before, I would much rather have everything managed like this than have to deal with the Apache server UI.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

The amount of time we save from not having to self-manage our WordPress installs more than pays for itself. It's much easier to deal with the WPEngine backend than the alternative.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ST
Stephen T.
Share
"Best managed WordPress hosting available!"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

I've used WPEngine as both a direct customer and an agency partner. Speed and uptime are always top notch and the 1-click staging feature is clutch.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

Pricing can be expensive for multiple websites.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

Staging + working with partners

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PS
Phil S.
Founder And President And Chief Oil & Gas Accounting Simplifier
Share
"The fastest and most reliable WordPress Hosting"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

The WP Engine support team is top-notch. They are quick and very responsive. In my experience they answer support chats in under a minute. Everything with WP Engine is top-notch.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

The cost is more than what you pay for other services. But you have to keep reminding yourself. "You get what you pay for." What you pay for WP Engine is well worth it.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

They do a great job of managing WordPress sites. We don't have to worry about WordPress configuration issues. Everything just works.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JB
Jon B.
Share
"Client Support is Top Notch"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

The support team at WP Engine is top-notch. They've assisted on multiple projects and are consistently fast, friendly and able to answer questions quickly.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

If I had to nitpick, I'd say the ChatBot feature could use some fine-tuning. Still, it has proven helpful on most queries after minimal mining for answers.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

WP Engine provides a streamlined process for web hosting and support. Their platform and team have saved our small agency many hours.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LW
Logan W.
Share
"Enjoyable experience all the way around"
What do you like best about WP Engine?

The platform is robust and easy to navigate. The functionality is strong and I feel like it is an incredibly strong tool.

What do you dislike about WP Engine?

I wish, strongly, that if a site was created on a legacy version of WP Engine, that you were able to merge it to a new version with all the new functionality.

What problems is WP Engine solving and how is that benefiting you?

WP Engine offers a robust ecosystem to host all of our site editors. It is extremely beneficial to have all of our sites powered by the same platform. It creates a very efficient workflow.

Visit website