Skylum Luminar Neo background blur
Skylum Luminar Neo logo
Skylum Luminar Neo
4.3
(80)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Skylum Luminar Neo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Skylum Luminar Neo Reviews & Product Details

Skylum Luminar Neo Overview
What is Skylum Luminar Neo?

Skylum Liminar combines traditional photo editing tools with AI enhancements. The Skylum Luminar photo editing software lets users access AI enhancements to help them with things like atmospheric balance, structure, facial symmetry, skin enhancements, and so much more. Templates are also available to help bring life to images and offer extensive features that include cropping, adjustment, and retouching tools, background and filter settings, and image layer enhancements. It’s an excellent option for beginners and is available with no subscription cost

Company Skylum
Year founded 2009
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Bellevue, Washington, United States
Social Media
Skylum Luminar Neo Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Skylum Luminar Neo
What Skylum Luminar Neo is best for?
How does Skylum Luminar Neo compare to Adobe Photoshop Elements?
What are the pros and cons of Skylum Luminar Neo?
Skylum Luminar Neo Product Details
Capabilities
AI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
Skylum Luminar Neo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Endless AI enhancements for easier editing
  • Excellent ease of use for beginners
  • No subscription cost to worry about
  • Range of background and filter settings
  • Exclusive filters and image layer enhancements
Cons
  • Cloning tool can be problematic
  • Not the best for organization
Skylum Luminar Neo Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
Skylum Luminar Neo Media
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 19, 2024
Skylum Luminar Neo logo
80 Skylum Luminar Neo Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Ubaid N. avatar
Ubaid N.
Dynamics 365 Supply Chain Manager
Share
"Perfect for Editing Media"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Editing features are useful and friendly

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Performance issues sometime while using on mobile devices (iOS in my case)

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Media editing is a big hassle and requirement these days so it fits on my requirements

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Sa'ed B. avatar
Sa'ed B.
Freelance Architect
Share
"Fast & Smart"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Change the background in one click with best quality

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Some of tools needs to add professional editing parameters

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Change background of pics and fast editing to pics

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Alessandro S. avatar
Alessandro S.
Free Lance Translator
Share
"An excellent piece of software, but won't run well on Windows machines"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Excellent photo editing capabilities, good price

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Subpar performance on Windows machines, you need to wait

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm using the latest Luminar AI. It's an excellent software to edit images, apply various effect, and the likes, it does help you if you want to edit your pics at a professional level or even just if you want to impress your friends or your Instagram followers. It's a great software for purposes like posting images to a blog, or having fun with your vacation photos. A big plus is that it's available as a one-off payment, opposed to all today's subscriptions which I'm trying to eliminate as we all have too many of them. Unfortunately, the performance on Windows machine is subpar. I'm using a Samsung high-end notebook with 16GB of RAM, but the software is terribly slow in pretty much everything, especially on exporting photos, but at least you can have a sandwich while you wait for the export to be completed. I've read on the Luminar community forums that on Mac, the performance is much better, especially on the machines with the new Apple M1 chip, but as I'm a Windows user, I can't really confirm/deny this. It's certainly worth a try, but you need to be patient. I'm always short on time and sometimes it gets me frustrated with its slowness, but in general, I think it's a very good software and I haven't found a better product yet which is not Adobe Lightroom, which is however too costy for my use (amateur). For a pro, it's probably better to stick with Adobe products, they are more costy, but they work better, at least on Windows.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
surya k. avatar
Surya K.
Assistant Professor Of English
Share
"A blessing for amateur photographers"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Not provided

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Not provided

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 27, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Ronstadt N. avatar
Ronstadt N.
Research Librarian
Share
"A necessary editing tool"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar has the features that I like which is its user interface which is user friendly and I'm able to customize it to my preference and also according to easy accesibility to my favourite tools. One preset whereby I'm able to fine tune photos easily using already made presets that can bring a big difference to the photos. A wide variety of formats are supported by this product whereby I'm able to get my raw photos in different formats and without conversions I'm able to work easily and quickly.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

It requires a lot of storage so that it requires a very powerful processing computer with a lot of RAM.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Luminar's one preset makes work easier and faster. It is very easy to bring out the best of a picture and it saves time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 19, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Siddhesh K. avatar
Siddhesh K.
Project Engineer
Share
"Good for beginners ."
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The interface is very user-friendly. It makes photo editing very easy and fast for unskilled users . AI feature is also quite helpful. It is the savior for beginners like me. it has a lot to offer than anyone needs for basic oprations. as a amature I would definitely recommend my colleaues to use this.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Everything is okay but sometimes I find the eraser tool is hard to use. Mobile version should be there. It seems to use a lot your computer memory. somtimes the software is also sluggish and lacks responsiveness, so it takes a few seconds to perform required command every time you change anything. Definitely this increases project time.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can edit photos faster, which in turn saves time. Luminar is the complete package, so one doesn't need other software to crop, shade & render . It is pretty helpful for portraits and landscapes. also, it plays a vital role in wedding photography

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 14, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
WJ
Winfield J.
Manager
Share
"A nice program for quick and easy editing"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I can make quick edits with only a few clicks and get a great looking result. I like the templates and the fact that I can quickly change them.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I have had issues with the content aware removal of extraneous things if there are too many of them. When I have had these issues, I can go into Photoshop and quickly remove them without the issues I ah having with Luminar. I also like that I only get the privilege to use it on one computer, unlike the multi computer license that earlier versions came with.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Many of the templates allow me to quickly edit a photo to make it look great.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 09, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Ralf T. avatar
Ralf T.
Webdeveloper And Owner
Share
"Easy to use photo editing software at an affordable price for beginners and enthusiasts"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar is very easy to use and within a few minutes you get great results. It offers ready made looks or presets that transform most photos instantly. With some easy slider changes you can change the result quickly. If you need more control it offer advanced setting that will satisfy even a experienced photo editor.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The worst bit is the slow library module. If you have folders with 100 or more photos the app comes to almost a total stand still. If you are a professional with large folders you can only use this as a plugin from either lightroom or photoshop.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use the plugin function and manage my photos in Lightroom and export them for editing into Luminar. The editing is so much easier then in Lightroom. The portraits editing features in Luminar 4 are outstanding.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
TE
Tufan Emre E.
Ux Designer
Share
"functionally it's great, but I can't say the same for its interface."
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

AI support is very good. It can handle a lot of work with one click. It also gives consistent output.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I think it failed in terms of user interface and user experience.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Doing editing work quickly thanks to AI.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
RT
Richard T.
Director & Editor
Share
"Fun software for personal use and creatives"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

It's really user-friendly, and within minutes you can "enhance" your photos with just a few clicks. It doesn't require a lot of technical knowhow and can turn a basic photo in to something quite eyecatching.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

It isn't as professional in terms of quality and features as Adobe Lightroom or Photoshop but is more for the amateur or semi-pro. Several add-ons require additional purchase.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Quickly and effortlessly replacing poorly exposed or dull sky and enhancing uninteresting photos. Creating fun personal artwork for personal use. Works great with M1 Mac.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Bryan S. avatar
Bryan S.
Photographer
Share
"Luminar: Good for editing but a little slow"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

It can automatically retouch portraits by detecting the faces. It even slims bodies.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Overall, the program is slow. Every time I make an adjustment it has to render the image, making me wait.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted editing software that could do things for me automatically so I wouldn't have to go to Photoshop. It does keep me from having to go into Photoshop, but I don't know if it's any faster.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Cameron N. avatar
Cameron N.
Professional Photographer
Share
"Great Capability, Annoying Update/Feature Schedule"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar is a very capable and robust product that allows for some great editing capability. I've really enjoyed the application of AI to the editing flow nad what it has made possible and the time saved for some tasks.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar has gotten in the habit of making pretty regular new product releases that should really be updates to existing software. They will include one or two new features and charge an entirely new premium as though it's a ground breaking new product.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Luminar has allowed for significant time saving with some editing tasks via the use of AI. These tasks include things like sky replacement and over-all "one click" AI image editing. While not perfect, it's great for quick fixes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 06, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Josh U. avatar
Josh U.
Senior Developer
Share
"Quick and dirty- just not very quick"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar provides a simplified workflow that enables unskilled users to quickly process raw photographs. When I want to edit a single image in a few clicks, I open Luminar instead of Lightroom.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar's main drawback is its speed. It can take seconds to switch images (a 46 MP NEF, for example), so a lot of time is spent just waiting for the UI to catch up. This adds up to a lot of wasted time. Then when it comes time to export, you'll be waiting once again- and far longer than you would with Lightroom.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can teach Luminar to novices a lot faster than I can teach them effective Lightroom. However, I find that novices also gravitate toward Luminar's more irritating features like sky replacement. Suddenly, everyone's photos have the exact same fake skies, milky ways, etc. Tacky, tacky, tacky!!!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Colin M. avatar
Colin M.
Limited Spectrum Design
Share
"Beautiful results, *if* you can run it on your PC."
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Easy interface and great editing tools for almost any type of photography, in addition to a one-time payment instead of a subscription plan.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Awful performance on Windows PCs, and no "undo" when in the "erase" tool. With Intel i5, Nvidia 1050ti 4gb, 500gb m.2, and 32gb RAM, the application would take several seconds for any effect to render after touching any slider. The erase tool is it's own module inside Luminar 4, opening it's own dialog box to work in. Entering the erase tool takes my PC about a minute, and panning the image causes pixelation and lag, forcing you to stop and wait for the image to load so you can see what you're doing. After all your erasing (basically spot healing tool with a content aware fill function), saving the results will take at least a minute before the module closes and brings you back to the main Luminar interface, creating it's own layer. But there is no "undo" ability in the erase tool, so if that content aware algorithm messes up a spot, you have to cancel and start over.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Excellent raw processor/photo editor with a clean, modern interface, helps put that extra polish on all your photography. Especially useful for portraits and landscapes, there's a variety of adjustments that easily add that extra pop to your images. Simple sliders can manipulate effects to your liking, including some that would take multiple steps in Photoshop, such as eye/teeth whitening, skin smoothing, eye enlarging, orton effect, and sky replacement.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 30, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
NM
Naasirah M.
Ceo
Share
"Luminar was not for me"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The overall aspects of the app was good, and other peoples results using this app looked well

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

when I tried using this app, it was very difficult to actually get the results that I wanted out of it.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I couldn't really solve my photo editing issues with this product. Had to switch to Lightroom

Visit website