Squarespace background blur
Squarespace logo
Squarespace
Create Your Online Presence
4.4
(1,050)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Squarespace?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Squarespace Reviews & Product Details

Squarespace Overview
What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a versatile all-in-one platform with a long list of functionalities that enables businesses to sell products and services, showcase their portfolio, and publish content. It offers templates created by a team of professional designers that are customizable to fit any brand aesthetics, support all content types, compatible with modern browsers and all devices, and utilize up-to-date HTML, Javascript, and CSS coding practices. Fully e-commerce-ready, businesses can manage inventory, orders, and fulfillment, run discounts and promotions, sell services, subscriptions, and digital content, and collect and analyze sales data within the system. It also offers powerful integration with third-party services, social selling, automated email sequences, appointment setting and calendar syncing, and other sales and marketing capabilities. Squarespace users can also download its equivalent mobile app (both for Android and iOs) empowering them to create, update, manage, and track their website on the go.

Company Squarespace, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Squarespace Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Squarespace
What Squarespace is best for?
How does Squarespace compare to Jimdo?
What are the pros and cons of Squarespace?
Squarespace Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Squarespace Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Great-looking templates on this platform
  • Comes with blogging features
  • You get terrific 24/7 customer support
  • Edit pages through mobile apps
  • Ready-made templates to choose from
Cons
  • It does cost more than your average site builder
  • There’s only a single sub-navigation
  • Page speed isn’t that good
  • No phone support
  • More expensive than average competitors
Squarespace Features
24/7 Customer Support
A/B Testing
Analytics and Reporting
Blog Integration
Contact Management
Custom CSS and HTML Editing
Custom Domain Support
Customizable Templates
Drag-and-Drop Editor
E-commerce Functionality
Email Marketing Tools
Event Management
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Hosting Services
Image and Video Galleries
Live Chat Support
Membership Sites
Mobile Optimization
Multi-language Support
One-Click Publishing
Online Booking Tools
Responsive Design
SEO Tools
SSL Certification
Social Media Integration
Template Selection
Third-Party App Integrations
User Permissions
Website Backup
Squarespace Media
Squarespace 0
Squarespace 1
Squarespace 2
Squarespace 3
Squarespace Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 21, 2024
Squarespace logo
1,050 Squarespace Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Shawneda C. avatar
Shawneda C.
Communications Consultant | Author
Share
"Better than Wordpress and a Better Fit if You Can Afford More Than Blogger"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like the mobile responsive feature as well as the immediate previews as I work and ability to change templates without making an entirely new website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Dislike the unnecessary clicks to design the different pages and other things that need to be moved around. Still like it better than Wordpress.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Content creation and strategic communications consulting and management. Benefit is to have an online home on the web that is mobile responsive and secured website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 19, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GD
Grace D.
Junior Floral Designer And Marketing Strategist
Share
"Fantastic program for all tech levels"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

There are many formats/layouts to choose from and everything is customizable. Squarespace is easy to use (suitable for all skill levels from beginning to advanced). I am exceptionally pleased with my website and how quick and simple it is to make edits.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There is not an option to change your font color/type. It is programmed with the selected template.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have created my own website that I am proud to show off to family, friends, and employers!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 19, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ashlen O. avatar
Ashlen O.
Interim House Director
Share
"Squarespace is relatively easy "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

My personal website looks exactly how I want it too. Has the right functionality and feel.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

It's hard to find a template that fits what you need. Example: it took me a few hours to finally find a good portfolio template that could professionally display what I wanted while also having complete customization of almost everything on the page.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace allows me to easily be contacted by interested customers while allowing me to quickly add or change things on my website at the click of a button. It's made it super easy to optimize per the users request.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 11, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DT
Delena T.
Senior Account Associate
Share
"Great and easy to use. "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Square space is great and easy to use as some one who is not knowledges able about UX and web design.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Very limited with the layout options so it can only look so different.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

In order to easily provide information on our website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Holly V. avatar
Holly V.
Owner/ Photographer
Share
"Perfect website platform for both the tech savvy and tech challenged"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I liked the simplicity of building a site that would show of my images and brand well as a photographer. I love that I can easily update and customize various aspects of my site. I also love that I can easily hand it off to a web designer for tricker updates and they have the ability to write in the code that they need.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There were some tricky things when first developing the site because my domain name was owned by a different company and I had to switch everything, but their customer support search engine is pretty on point with it's helpfulness.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've really enjoyed the ability to have contact forms also send to a google drive spread sheet to make sure I don't miss anyone. I also like that I can schedule out my blog posts ahead of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Karli B. avatar
Karli B.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Easy way to make a beautiful site. "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like how easy Squarespace is. Web design can be very difficult, and Squarespace makes it easy for even the person with no web design experience. I like how it walks you through steps. There are a lot of pre made templates that are so beautiful, but you can also customize it to make it your own. It is nice that there are options to do so. I am happy to have any help since I am not as good at web design. So having a template is very helpful for me. I like that I can create a beautiful website in just a few hours.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I wish that Squarespace would come out with some more templates. Especially with protfolio templates. I think that a lot of people have very similar web layouts, and a lot of time it's easy to tell that it is Squarespace. One thing that I also dislike is that it seems they have upped the price by 4 dollars, which is always a bummer.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I like having the option to put my portfolio online, and to make a blog as well. The versatility of it is very nice. Its a good and cheap way to get your stuff out there, in a good looking way.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jamie L. avatar
Jamie L.
Ceo & Founder
Share
"Great"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love he easy to use builder, easy to connect to other software and very sleek

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Over branding (obviously a Squarespace site) and lack of integration with major sites

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Good for product testing and landing pages

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CA
Caitlin A.
Owner, Photographer, Videographer
Share
"I love squarespace! Generally speaking, I think it is fantastic."
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love the design versatility of Squarespace. I've been using it for 4ish years for my photography business and I've tried all sorts of templates that allow me to feature my work. I like that the design options are cutting edge and up-to-date, while still offering a variety of styles for a variety of preferences.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I wish that the capabilities of each template could be offered in all templates. One frustrations I've run into time and time again, is finding a template that suits my design preference/needs but then doesn't offer the blog/archive/photo display/etc capabilities that I desire. I appreciate that different templates offer a different look, but I do wish that they would offer more options within the templates. I always end up having to prioritize what I want, and it would be awesome if I could have it all. :)

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've created an online portfolio for my work, a place for customers to look and see what I'm all about, to contact me, and I also use hidden pages to present bids, custom quotes, etc in an aesthetically beautiful way.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 03, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LW
Lauren W.
Social Media Marketing Associate
Share
"Easy site for freelancers"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It was super easy for me to set up a professional-looking website in order to display my writing portfolio and gain more freelance copywriting and digital marketing clients.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There were some aspects of the design I wish I could control more, such as changing the font in certain sections and veering away from the set templates.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed to have a quick way to give my writing portfolio to people. I've created a simple list of links to my work that I can easily send to potential clients now.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ER
Erica R.
Marketing Coordinator Ii
Share
"The simplicity of "Facebook" in Website Design Tool"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like being able to drag and drop new sections and buttons to each page after choose a layout for each page. I also have no coding experience and have been able to create some beautiful sites. The site requires very little training once you figure out the basics of the navigation.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There are a few kinks with some templates that prevent you from making a picture or text box stretch the entire page. I generally find a way round this by stacking two items side by side. Sometimes when adding code the website, there can be a learning curve.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace provides a drag and drop platform for building nice-looking sites. It's especially beneficial when I create a site for a business who will then have to go in and make updates on their own. It's easy to add widgets to pages, add social media links, and add lead generation forms.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WJ
William J.
Manager
Share
"Easy to use, great for small businesses. Highly recommend this product. "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Square space is a super to easy use website if you have no idea how to build websites. I used it for my business (restaurant) and was able to have it up and running in hours. It has a low monthly cost and is easy to make adjustments. It looks good on all different screens (iPhone, laptop, iPad)

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I honestly can't think of much I don't like about it. I would say make it free but that's not realistic. Possibly a way that they could open their own hosting where you could buy domains that aren't .squarespace like a GoDaddy. Would pay more to not have my hosting paid through another company.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Before we only had a facebook business page, it is great because when people search our business on google it is the first selection. Our traffic on it is very high and it was easy to put the coding in to allow our customers to order online.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CT
Caitlin T.
Licensed Massage Therapist
Share
"Excellent website design- very user friendly!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love how simple it is to use. You don't need to know anything about codes to make a beautiful and well designed website. I'm self employed as a massage therapist so it's just me, myself, and I. When it became clear that a website would be essential to my business, Squarespace was recommended by a friend. I'm so glad that I didn't waste time with any other website building company. I've even been able to make a new client intake form that sends all the information to my email, completely eliminating the need to keep up with paper files, which is amazing! I'll be using Squarespace as long as I have my business!

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

My only complaint- and it's really so so minor- is that they don't use Square for payment processing (for gift certificates and such). You have to use Stripe (in their defense, this has the same details as Square as far as being free and charges per transaction). I ended up getting Acuity Scheduling (which does use Square for their GCs) so it ended up working out just fine.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

My website is used for general information about myself and massage, scheduling appointments, and buying gift certificates. It's been great to be able to direct clients to my website to fill out their forms and gather any additional information they might need.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EP
Eric P.
Project Lead And Photographer
Share
"Best portfolio website. "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that the website has modern, easily changeable templates to keep your portfolio looking fresh.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I dislike the fact that they're unwilling to let my 2nd site have the same price my first site has.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Portfolio management. Easy updating. And the biggest problem, mobile. All their sites look good on mobile.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KU
Katie U.
Director Of Marketing & Education
Share
"The Easiest Way to Build a Website that Does Everything You Need"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

drag and drop design, easy commerce system, mobile responsiveness, updating content is very easy, eye-catching templates, password protected page capabilities

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

When I set up my organization's shop, it was unclear that payments would be processing through Stripe. Also, turning on PayPal and making the store live was a bit unclear. I wish there was an easier way to add CSS changes.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace makes it easy to accept donations and sell tickets without sending users off site. We've also enjoyed being able to password protect certain pages to disseminate information to clients and students. It's so much more efficient than keeping track of a bunch of email threads.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HP
Haley P.
Project Coordinator
Share
"Easy and quick web design with class"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love how easy the editor is - I can build a wordpress site from scratch, but sometimes I don't want to run through the gamut of steps you have to take to push a site live the right way. With Squarespace everything is intuitive and easy to use. You can customize anything you want to, but you definitely don't need to. If you're looking for a platform that you don't have to worry about coding - Squarespace is the answer.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Hooking up some external integrations is more complicated than I would like it to be, but it's not a deal breaker by any means.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I got my personal website up and running in a couple hours and was able to do it without too much trouble. The agility and speed of the platform really helped me pivot quickly when circumstances changed on me. It was a lifesaver in a stressful time.

Visit website