WordPress.com background blur
WordPress.com Logo
WordPress.com
4.4
(2,501)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.com Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.com Overview
What is WordPress.com?

Powering more than 43% of all active websites globally, WordPress is arguably the most popular and widely used CMS and website builder used by businesses of all sizes across all industries – from solopreneurs, startups, SMBs, and big Fortune 500 enterprises. Both novice users with no coding knowledge and highly experienced web developers can benefit from WordPress’ long list of features including ready-made yet customizable templates, thousands of easy-to-install add-ons and plugins, built-in and custom-made functionalities, and robust content management features. Highly flexible, WordPress promises its users that they will never outgrow their website built on its ecosystem as it’s easily adaptable as their business needs grow and evolve. WordPress is also downloadable as an app and available to both Android and iOS users enabling marketers and content creators to manage their websites across all devices. WordPress is arguably one of the biggest website builders today. With WordPress, users have the option to use their web host or install WordPress’ own hosting. The latter lets users design and build their blog or online store, and access the Jetpack plugin for improved SEO, as well as security and analytics. Depending on your needs, it’s fairly easy to set up your WordPress site, and maintaining it is even simpler on this platform. You also have the option to install third-party plugins to add more features to your website and boost functionality. WordPress offers a free plan for anyone who wants to try out the service first, but if you want to subscribe, plans start as low as $4 a month for the basic plan. 

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
Managed by:
KD
Kristina Dahl Hesthaven
Personal Trainer Coach
WordPress.com Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about WordPress.com
What WordPress.com is best for?
How does WordPress.com compare to Jimdo?
What are the pros and cons of WordPress.com?
WordPress.com Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.com Pros and Cons
Pros
  • There is a free plan available
  • You don’t need to maintain or install anything
  • It comes with customer support
  • Good for e-commerce sites
Cons
  • It’s not super intuitive
  • There aren’t a lot of features
  • You can’t use e-commerce features using the free version
WordPress.com Features
24/7 Customer Support
A/B Testing
Analytics and Reporting
Blog Integration
Contact Management
Custom CSS and HTML Editing
Custom Domain Support
Customizable Templates
Drag-and-Drop Editor
E-commerce Functionality
Email Marketing Tools
Event Management
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Hosting Services
Image and Video Galleries
Live Chat Support
Membership Sites
Mobile Optimization
Multi-language Support
One-Click Publishing
Online Booking Tools
Responsive Design
SEO Tools
SSL Certification
Social Media Integration
Template Selection
Third-Party App Integrations
User Permissions
Website Backup
WordPress.com Media
WordPress.com 0
WordPress.com 1
WordPress.com 2
WordPress.com 3
WordPress.com Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 13, 2024
WordPress.com Logo
2,501 WordPress.com Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 31, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CR
Cesar R.
Founder
Share
"Excelente CMS, muy versátil, fácil de usar y altamente personalizable para todo tipo de paginas web"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Es un CMS de codigo abierto que ofrece muchas posibilidades para la creación y diseño web, además la amplia biblioteca de plugins permite construir practicamente cualquier tipo de página web, usualmente lo utilizo para la creación de tiendas viertuales y su integración con woocommerce es perfecta.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

al ser el CMS más usado es muy vulnerable a ataques de piratas informaticos, pese a que hay constante actualización de su Core, debes estar muy atento/a ya que cuelquier pequeña brecha que pueda tener la página es aprovechada para que la pirateen.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

Mantienen constantes actualizaciones para que el CMS sea estable con los cambios de php y tambien a nivel de brechas de seguridad que puedan ir detectando, esto permite tener confianza y tranquilidad a la hora de desplegar sitios, eso si tener una buena capa de seguridad siempre es necesario.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NT
Noemi Ruth T.
Managing Editor
Share
"The best free CMS"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

One can set up a professional-looking website without deep technical knowledge and for free.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

There is a limited number of free themes that stand out.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress allows me to create free websites for personal purposes, or projects that do not justify investing money on custom URLs and hosting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Y.
Yashsvi .
Founder
Share
"NO CODE" just Drag and Drop!!!"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Wordpress is the best tool for website creation .It is useful for people who have less knowledge in coding and best thing is it is easy to implement .We can easily create websites using this tool .Lots of features are available . We can add plugins ,themes . We can easily sell and add products on the site.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

For me ,sometimes wordpress sites are complex like it takes time to load the site because of a lot of plugins and themes added but the best thing is we do not need coding to create a beautiful site just by using simple features of wordpress we can easily create in a small amount of time .

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

This tool is benefiting me alot .One Thing i like the most is we do not need coding skills to create a website . i have created a lot of ecommerce websites for my clients using wordpress and it takes less time to create as compared to other platforms.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David M. avatar
David M.
Financial Services Associate
Share
"Wordpress for my financial services/insurance blog"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

very informative and helpful for business, good graphics, etc.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

no downside to Wordpress at all, great tool.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

My Blog about insurance and financial services

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Munavvar M.
Founder
Share
"Today I have a website just because of wordpress"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Jungle of plugins out there to extend the functionality of the website. And too many themes to choose from.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Some market leaders in no codes website builders are paid, just like elementor and divi and no free plugins have that functionality, so without coding knowledge you lack some features. And with too much plugins website will became slow. You can't build production ready website just in no time, it may take months to years sometime.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helps to create website without coding knowledge.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Adrian C. avatar
Adrian C.
Desarrollador Pl/Sql
Share
"Wordpres para posicionar webs con google adsense"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

La facilidad de crear webs sin la necesidad de programar nada o casi nada

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

El peso de la web en el servidor y la velocidad de la misma

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

Permite crear webs de forma rapida y sencilla generando semillas

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sharoz I. avatar
Sharoz I.
Founder
Share
"Amazing for first time blogger"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

It's Free and Easy to use, as beginner i like it

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Limited feature and price is high for starters

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is easy and helps get started blogging plus i like how i can create layouts

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Melissa C. avatar
Melissa C.
Social Media Influencre & Author
Share
"The Easy & Perfect Way To Build A Professional Website"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Wordpress is by far the best option for anyone looking to build a website. Wordpress makes building a site a breeze and very easy to do..... seriotusly if I coul ddo it anyone can! I love all of the templates available via Wordpress as well....with some themes being easier than others to build upon. They have a vast vairiety of features top make your site unique and one of a kind and they also have the best customer service in the evebnt you may need it. It is also the preferred website option for the many brands that I work with. In short... Wordpress is the way to go if you wnat to build a new site. They have a top notch platform that makes running and creating via Wordpress a breeze.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

I do hate some of the changes that Wordpress creates when they do upgrades to the back office of wordpress.....as it can take some time for me to get used to the chnages BUT it happens rarely and they do provide support and education to help with any changes that they make....I just never feel I have time to learn something new and am always just trying to get my work done. It is really not a negative to Wordpress.... honestly more for myself. I would not use anythign oethr than Wordpress as it is the best!

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

They have made the process of publishing and SEO much easier as compared to when I started 11 years ago. They have made the process of coding easier too.....when it comes to marking content as sponsored, etc.... and also when making links do follow or no folllow. In the past I had to go into the coding section to make links do follow or no follow myself by adding the needed code to my content..... but now they have streamlined it with the click of a button which makes it much easier for newcomers to website building and designing. They also updte regularly to ensure that my site is running safely and soundly. I would never use any other platform for my website needs and only recommend Wordpress to anyone new.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Bijay S. avatar
Bijay S.
Senior Creative Designer
Share
"Wordpress CMS for my portfolio and blogs"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Worpress is opensource and free to use. I can use free worpress themes for my portfolio and blogs. With all free plugins and themes we can create beautiful websites. Easy to customize and huge community. I can easily integrate it in cpanel and host the registered domain. You don't need to learn code to build website. Easy to implement and you can build your website very fast.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Some needed themes and plugins we need to spend some for it. limited free themes and plugins.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

I don't need to learn code to build website. Easy to implement and time saving.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gauri  B. avatar
Gauri B.
Internal Comms Business Partner
Share
"Perfect for new bloggers"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Simple and easy to understand. Does not have too many things happening together, so makes it easy on the eyes.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Less layout options. Can do better. Themes are sometimes rigid and cannot be customised.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

Makes my job as a blogger easy, and I do not need to have any tech knowledge before modifying my blog layout. I do not have to pay for a domain name if I don't want to (although some cheap domain options are available on this platform now, which is great)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AF
Asna F.
Writer
Share
"WordPress is a versatile web development platform !"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

I like the versatility of WordPress as it can power a wide range of websites from blogs and small businesses sites to e- commerce platforms and large enterprise websites. It's SEO plugins help users improve their website search. Many of it's themes are mobile responsive and function well on various devices. It works seamlessly with various third party services making it versatile for online marketing. The platform also provide accessibility to individuals with disabilities.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Sometimes there is complexity for beginners especially when customizing themes or using advanced features. Here users are responsible for their site’s security, backups and troubleshooting issues which can be a hurdle for non technical users.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress eliminates the need for extensive coding skills or hosting knowledge and further allows to focus on online content. With the variety of themes, plugins and support it simplifies the website creation process. It benefits me in offering an easy to use hosted platform for building a professional website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GS
Gaurav S.
Playbook Ai
Share
"Best Tool For Building Websites"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

It is one of the best or i would say the best to build responsive website with great graphics. It has various template which i use which helps me save time and be more focus on my content rather than focusing on designs. Plugins also helps a lot to create dynamics pages, SEO-friendly posts. I personally use elementor plugin for templates and to handle frontend.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

The only drawback i faced is i need a lot of plugins for additional features. Even if is something small i need a plugin for it like drag and drop etc. it is heavly reliance on plugins. which in turns make the website a little slow and plugins takes a lot of memory space.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

By using it, it definitely saves time and provides variaty of templates which makes it easy to build web design and by using raw math handling SEO is pretty easy. So i can focus more on my content of the website rather than website itself.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ankit S. avatar
Ankit S.
Tech Lead & Senior Software Engineering
Share
"Easy to start anything in any field"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

The theme for any website on any segment is available from cost zero to paid. Any user can work on this. easy to install. quick understanding of functionality. no need for any developer if you have a little bit of knowledge of server setup.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

As a web developer, I don't like the coverage of extra space on the server because there are much-unwanted content consume the space and bandwidth when we use the website.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have fixed the theme design but implemented custom code in the theme editor functionality. no need for coding. quick installation. easy to understand how to use plugins for everything

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EX
Eduardo X.
Marketing
Share
"Ótima plataforma para edição sites"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

Plataforma muito boa edição de sites, com muitas ferramentas e plugins agradáveis e de várias utilidades, utilizamos para muitos clientes, é uma referência em editor de sites.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Talvez melhor a aparência da plataforma, seria bacana para poder ficar mais visual e bonito.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

Ajudando a facilitar o desenvolvimento de sites e as edições dos mesmos, de forma prática e intuitiva.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PD
Pardeep D.
Ceo
Share
"Easy to use best CMS in the market"
What do you like best about WordPress.com?

You can host it for free or very little cost. Super easy to manage.

What do you dislike about WordPress.com?

Its easy to publish plugins in wordpress and there are lots of useless plugins out there. Should follow a good standard while submitting plugins to community.

What problems is WordPress.com solving and how is that benefiting you?

My company website is on wordpress and its super easy to manage. I never needed any support or google search to figure out how to any change in wordpress its interface is super friendly.

Visit website