Surfshark VPN background blur
Surfshark VPN Logo
Surfshark VPN
3.9
(13)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Surfshark VPN Reviews & Product Details

Surfshark VPN Overview
What is Surfshark VPN?

A top-rated VPN by major tech publications like TechRadar and CNET, Surfshark is an award-winning solution that is known for being a secure and affordable VPN service. It offers unlimited connections that can be used on any device, including smartphones, smart TVs, desktops, and other mobile devices. The Surfshark VPN offers a simple and clean interface, with features like “Quick Connect”, so you don’t have to worry about a learning curve. There’s a new protocol called WireGuard built into the OpenVPN, and Surfshark also has a private DNS, along with a double VPN to ensure safety.

Company Surfshark Ltd.
Year founded 2018
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Sliema, Malta
Social Media
Surfshark VPN Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Surfshark VPN
What Surfshark VPN is best for?
How does Surfshark VPN compare to GoodAccess?
What are the pros and cons of Surfshark VPN?
Surfshark VPN Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Surfshark VPN Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Excellent for avoiding surveillance alliances
  • Unlimited access to device connections with each subscription
  • Very affordable pricing
  • 30-day trial period
  • Quick connect and simple interface
Cons
  • Could be faster
  • No phone support available
Surfshark VPN Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
Surfshark VPN Features
24/7 Customer Support
AES-256 Encryption
Ad Blocking
Automatic Server Selection
Bandwidth Throttling Prevention
Browser Extensions
Customizable Protocols
DNS Leak Protection
Dedicated IP
Global Server Coverage
High-Speed Servers
IKEv2 Support
IP Leak Protection
Kill Switch
L2TP/IPsec Support
Malware Protection
Mobile Apps
Multi-Hop VPN
Multi-device Support
No-Log Policy
Obfuscation
OpenVPN Support
P2P Support
PPTP Support
Server Load Balancing
Smart DNS
Split Tunneling
Unlimited Bandwidth
User-friendly Interface
WireGuard Support
Surfshark VPN Media
Surfshark VPN 0
Surfshark VPN 1
Surfshark VPN 2
Surfshark VPN 3
Surfshark VPN Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 20, 2024
Surfshark VPN Logo
13 Surfshark VPN Reviews
3.9 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dwayne S. avatar
Dwayne S.
Principal Consultant
Share
"Simple to use and great speeds"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

Super easy to use. Loads of locations and great speaks. Also like that you can have a dedicated IP address.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

To be able to install it onto the router.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Protect my identity when online on unknown networks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ME
Mohammad E.
Information Technology And Services
Share
"Surfshark is the best VPN I ever used."
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

I love all the things about Surfshark, specially the MultiHop. the ease of use is very great I used it frequently. And it is for unlimited users with one subscribtion.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

I haven't seen any donwside to Surfshark yet.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps me protect my identity when I am browsing the web.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AO
Alberto O.
Founder/President
Share
"Extremely fast and dependable VPN at an incredible price"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

I have never once had an issue with Surfshark. It always connects and has super high speeds. Also it is great to have unlimited connections with unlimited devices. It really is a VPN that I have yet to see be beat. There are a huge list of countries to choose from and multiple cities all over the US.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

There is honestly very little to dislike. This is the first 10/10 review I have given.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Surfshark allows our entire team to have a more safe connection to the internet when accessing sensitive information. The ability to have multiple simultaneous connections on multiple devices at once is hard to beat.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SN
Sudhish N.
Sales And Marketing Head
Share
"best for traellers who travel a lot"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

it is very easy to use and give a lot of options to choose from

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

nothing to dislike but the price can be considered.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

I travel a lot and it fixes the problem of accessing specific contents in all the countries.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
David B. avatar
David B.
Information Technology Systems Administrator
Share
"Not cheap, but neither is the quality"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

Speed of the VPN connection from AUS to Japan, Singapore, USA & Canada. The stability of the connection enables the ability to access services without lag. Multi-Hopping option gives you a little more obfuscation to the 3rd party you are connecting to.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Windows App occasionally not notifying users of updates. The browser plugin does not seem to be stable on Brave broswer.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Ability to access sites & services that are geo-blocked. Accessing server locations with the best route possible.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Pranshu J. avatar
Pranshu J.
Consultant
Share
"Good for security not so much for geolocation"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

Easy interface. Competitive pricing when compared to other comparable players in the market. Great for small businesses and individuals.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Speeds are not so great for most location based servers

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Secure connection at a great price and a easy to use and administer solution

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
SS
Sachin S.
Founder
Share
"Easy to Use , Multiple regions VPN support"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

Its user interface is very simplistic. Also show the connection is secure or not

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Some time take longer time than usual to connect mostly to US lications

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Manly use to login on the Sites which are US based

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Georgette F. avatar
Georgette F.
Business Owner
Share
"Great then a Pain"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

I did like being able to conect in various regions that allowed me to unlock certain features and benefits in my business and personal life. The sense of security while surfing the web was also a plus.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

The downside is Surfsharks interferance with certain apps and websites. Some websites refused to load while Suffshark was active. Customer support had recommendations for a fix but that was a waste of time.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Surfshark was providing antivirus and a secure VPN connection for my business to operate online with minimal issues with attacks while accessing various regions.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
BM
Bryan M.
Training Assistant
Share
"Blazing Speeds and Torrent Blues"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

Surfshark is not easy to use for beginners. It gives me an speedy connection but not allowing me to download and share files without any disruptions. Their customer support is not cooperative and able to provide suggestions to resolve any issues.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Surfshark is not making it the perfect VPN, for my torrenting needs. Surfshark lacks convenience as it requires updates checks. Moreover its location related problems are not extraordinary when compared to VPN services.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Surfshark unable to monitor the issue of unreliable internet connections. It does not provides a reliable VPN at an incredible price point. This system is not good for our business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Sergey R. avatar
Sergey R.
Demo Infrastructure Specialist
Share
"Unreliable"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

decent speed, not too many issues in the first few months. Apps are easy to get and use. Customer support is quick and responsive.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Surfshark decided to disable its servers in the location I needed most, without a warning or compensation. When asked, their support only quoted the ToS stating they can do whatever they want since we were past the 30-day moneyback period.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

standard location-related issues. Nothing special compared to other vpn services.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 03, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Easy to use and comprehensive"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

The fact you can have unlimited devices connected

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

It can sometimes crash on my firestick :(

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

It means that I can pretend to be in another country and also protect any anonymity

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 02, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Surfshark"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

We like that it includes features of both a VPN & protection in one

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

Sometimes it just ats u; a bit, but overall, no complaints.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have a rather remote staff, so knowing that our data is protected everywhere is very important to us.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"A feature packed vpn that's cost effective, but lacks ipV6 support and has qbittorrent ip leak"
What do you like best about Surfshark VPN?

First, what's promised: The app is available for all major platforms. Unlimited logins with 2 year subscription that's much cheaper than expressvpn (at the time I purchased it) Strict no-log policy with RAM-only servers. Military grade encryption. Wireguard, IKEv2, openvpn protocols available. Tons of server locations. Not all of them work all the time, but way better than Nord. Unlimited bandwidth. No limit to user logins. Live chat support. Supports torrenting on all servers (but no dedicated, named ones) My experience: The best part of it was the live chat support. They were so good at walking me through how to use it, how to install it and even how to uninstall it properly if things go wrong. They let me know that proper ipv6 support is not available and so it'd be better to unsubscribe and wait for the support to arrive if my primary use centred around ipv6. Usualy they coerce you into buying the product, but these guys were genuinely helpful. About the product itself. I found it was extremely competent compared to a lot of vpns out there. I have used a lot of them. Cyberghost, expressvpn, Nord vpn , hotspot shield etc. And it was faster than all but Expressvpn. The UI is great... On all platforms.. Even the chrome extension. The implementation is just so good, professional. I tried on ipv6 as well, the ip check showed an ipv4 address. But still it masked the ip. Streaming worked smoothly as advertised. No issues. I did not need to change any protocol to properly use it at any point of time. The real problem came when I was using qbittorrent. It just leaked the ip. The customer care walked me through a workaround, but it still has some fixing to do. It works natively with nordvpn and expressvpn and even minor players like fastestvpn and bulletvpn. There's a chrome extension that integrates well to the chrome environment if you don't want to install the full fat version on whatever OS you're uaing. I'd say except for the issue with qbittorrent, the integration is great.. I'd say it's a good everyday vpn but not if your primary use is torrenting. On Android, you also get gps spoofing. Sadly I never got it to work. Other features include static ip, multihop and dedicated ip. There's an option to rotate your ip while keeping the location the same. (Rotating ip). You can also get a rough idea about the expected speeds without connecting to a server because of the polished UI.

What do you dislike about Surfshark VPN?

I use torrents rather frequently, mostly on qbittorrent. But surfshark needs so workaround, and still has some issues. GPS spoofing is a gimmick that doesn't work.(at least for me). No official ipv6 support. Hard to set up for router which I gave up on.

What problems is Surfshark VPN solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing right now. I unsubscribed after discussing about pros and cons for my use with the customer care.

Visit website