WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 01, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brijesh J. avatar
Brijesh J.
Founder
Share
"Easy-to-use, open source CMS with tons of free and paid themes and plugins"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Being open source and the most popular CMS, there are tons of free and paid themes and plugins. Though initially started as a blogging platform, there are almost all kind of applications be it ecommerce shop or business directory that can be launched on WordPress today.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Based on PHP programming language, some developers might complain that it is not the best programming language. Indeed there are some specific applications say in advanced scientific fields that are not suitable in PHP and WordPress.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our two corporate websites one dealing with providing finanical services and other with web development and internet marketing services are on WordPress. Armed with plugins like WooCommerce for shopping capabilities, we are very much satisfied.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Justin S. avatar
Justin S.
Cio / Lead Developer
Share
"The #1 CMS, worldwide."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

An Open Source community consisting of hundreds of millions of users and administrators. WordPress is the premier content management system, worldwide and is more extensible than any other system like it.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

A vibrant community of extensions (plugins), support and knowledge base.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress provides a sustainable path to web publishing unlike any other out there, with enterprise features and development from zero cost to low cost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Peter E. avatar
Peter E.
Advisor
Share
"Solid Content Management System and great community"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

After a short training, WordPress is an easy-to-use and operate CMS. Whenever you face an issue, you do a quick search, and due to the huge community, you will quickly find a solution for your problem. The implementation was very easy, and we integrated it with our shop system. The number of features and available modules/extensions is perfect and helps us to get a solid and professional shop.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes, and especially after updates, you need to manually check if everything is still working as expected. Due to the huge number of modules and, in our case, extensions, this is a bit time-consuming and can cause trouble in daily operations.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We build a shop system for one of our clients and operate the shop on a daily basis. Besides the shop functionality, we publish content and articles for the shop community.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eva  E. avatar
Eva E.
Geschäftsführer
Share
"Very flexible and easy to learn CMS"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Besides the easy implementation and setup, I like that the CMS is clearly the category leader, and therefore, a lot of content and learning material is available.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

To get more functionality, you need to work with modules/extensions, which makes it more costly and complex to operate.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building websites and shops for my companies. As it is easy to use and operate, we don´t need an agency or designer to set up a useful and modern webpage.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ÖK
ömer K.
Founder, Digital Marketing Manager
Share
"Wordpress for everything"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

My favorite aspect of WordPress.org is its empowerment through choice. It's incredibly easy to use, even for beginners, with a smooth installation process and an intuitive interface. The vast number of features and constant updates ensure I can do anything I dream of, from basic blogs to complex ecommerce sites. Plus, the open-source nature provides unmatched ease of integration with countless plugins and themes, tailoring the platform to my unique needs. Customer support is readily available through the vibrant community forum, where I always find friendly help and inspiration. In essence, WordPress.org isn't just software; it's a powerful platform for building precisely what I envision, with the freedom and support to make it truly my own

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

As an open-source platform, it relies on users to actively manage security updates and plugin compatibility, which can be overwhelming for beginners. Unlike hosted WordPress versions, there's no official customer support team. However, the vibrant community forum usually provides excellent help.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress.org tackles the biggest problem of all: locking you into a restrictive, one-size-fits-all website builder. It empowers you with unbridled creative control and flexibility to build precisely the website you envision, whether it's a simple blog, a dynamic portfolio, or a bustling online store.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CJ
Clint J.
Share
"Great opensource platform to meet almost any web based need."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress.org creates an extensible open-source platform that is easy to set up. They make available a huge selection of free and premium plugins along with great documentation to be able to build anything you need.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The base wordpress.org framework is lightweight and intended to be customized to any need. I appreciate that they do not include a lot of features that aren't necessary but believe they could add more builtin features to login security.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use multiple WordPress.org instances to meet various needs within our organization. From our public-facing website to various internal processes. Updating and modifying multiple instances with the same base framework is a simple and automatable process.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mohamed I. avatar
Mohamed I.
Cad Designer
Share
"very nice experience to create websites"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

flexibility and ease of use to create everything

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

some blocks in new versions are not flexible in running

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

creating content for visitors and purchasing website

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Pablo P. avatar
Pablo P.
Seo Specialist
Share
"Ideal para quien esté empezando en el mundo del blogging"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Es una opción rápida, fácil de configurar y económica para principiantes en el mundo del blogging.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Existen ciertas limitaciones, especialmente a nivel de desarrollo de soluciones a medida. En estos casos es preferible contar con una instalación de WordPress propia.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Permite realizar blogs y webs corporativas sencillas de manera rápida e intuitiva.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JN
Jim N.
Chief Administrator
Share
"WordPress id Best CMS for Any Business"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The best thing about WordPress is the unlmitted possiblilites it presents for developing any website. The customization options are endless using numerous free and premium themes and plugins.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

WordPress is claimed by many to have lacking security in comparison to other website development tools. There are, however, many plugins and thrid party solutions to solve this matter.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

The WordPress multisite functionality enables me to easily manage and automate onboarding members of our niche community hosting more that 2000 memebr blogs with one installation. Similarly, as a website developer and consultant I offer my clients quck and cost effective deployment of websites to meet their various needs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Michael B.
Share
"Wordpress is a full functioning CMS that is easily to customize"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The solution is a very easy to use CMS for non technical users. Having had a background with Magento, the solution is far more straightforward to run and maintain. I would definately suggest a managed wordpress hosting provider such as Kinsta. Managed hosting handles all of the techincal details so that you can focus on running your business. I very much suggest keeping the number of extensions to a minimum and pickig a light weight theme so that you can achieve a fast loading website. It was easy to implement and we use it daily for managing our site https://softwareoasis.com/ If you need support, be sure that you have installed extensions and themes that include customer support as wordpress.org does not offer support except community support.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Lack of support options directly from WordPress. Overall the solution works well and is updated often.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Website presence.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Farhan A. avatar
Farhan A.
Senior Web Developer
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy to use, easy to code and best for e-commerce website with woocommerce

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

All we need to do for extras install plugins for all and they should redesign there UI or interface for modern look or easy to use and code files for everything

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

It should redesigned there UI and give all file access for easy use

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MF
Maxwell Kwadwo F.
Digital Engagement & It Manager
Share
"WordPress.org has given our organizational website a new look with flexibility and scalability"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The flexibility of handling WordPress makes it a suitable CMS for our non-profit business. We use internal staff to develop and maintain our corporate website and WordPress makes it easy for this to happen without engaging any vendor

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The numerous plugins that keep getting pricy

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress is the primary CMS used to build our corporate website with numerous functionalities from creating stunning UI to creating a digital fundraising experience. It also gives us value for money and cost us minimally.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IR
Ivan R.
Share
"Gran CMS, definitivamente no lo cambio por nada"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Su facilidad de uso ademas de la enrome cantidad de posibilidades que ofrece, tanto si se tiene experiencia en codificación como si no, he creado paginas web de todo tipo y siempre el grado de satisfacción ha sido enorme

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

las vulnerabilidades en seguridad son un punto critico, sin embargo con una buena configuración y gestión de los complementos, esto se mitiga en un 99%

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Constantemente realizan actualizaciones en su codigo para ofrecer mejoras en seguridad y rendimiento, esto se traduce en sitios web seguros y paginas más rapidas cada día, ademas su tienda de plugins es increible, se encuentra de todo para crear paginas funcionales y atractivas.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AC
Atul C.
Share
"4 yrs of experience: great tool for building website, business, and sharing content. Best CMS."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I really like the customization control and the liberty it gives to me to fine tune my website as per my taste and needs. It opens up endless possibilities about the things that I can do for my business and customers. The plugins it offers has allowed me to rank higher easily on seo, I have integrated chatgpt, CRMs and social media platforms. Moreover the data analytics things make it easy for me to make decision and supervise. I feel it is super friendly for users, the learning curve is steep for all. It literally took me less than 4 hrs to get started. It offers a great control over budget, profitability and more..

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

For those who are not tech savvy it could be a problem for them to get a hang of wordpress. The platform is not that robust and you might need a tech team for maintenance and all. I have felt some security issues and i have been at target of many hackers. It is not actually free as you need to spend on hosting and other stuff.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress is helping me scale my business, attract and nurture customers, target potential customers, and turn my idea into cash generating business. It is a platform for me to build my community, showcase my products (e-commerce) and promote it to them,

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aditya S. avatar
Aditya S.
Associate Software Engineer
Share
"Wordpress genuine review after using from 6+ years"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is very much useful if u want to have ur business online without much tention..

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Security!! Many hacker used to hack website using swl injection, or brute force or via some plugin..please do daily scan

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have my online business with wordpress..now its easy for me to sell my products online, without having knowledge of code

Visit website