WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Amruta R. avatar
Amruta R.
Digital Marketing Executive
Share
"A User-Friendly and Flexible Website Builder"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

One of the best things about WordPress is its user-friendly interface. Even those with no coding experience can quickly get the hang of it and create a professional-looking website. There are also thousands of free and premium themes available to choose from, which means that your website can look great without a huge amount of effort or investment. Another great feature of WordPress is its flexibility. It is an open-source platform, which means that there is a massive community of developers creating new plugins and add-ons that can help you customize your site to your needs. Whether you want to add e-commerce functionality, social media integration, or a booking system, there is likely a plugin available that can help.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

One area where WordPress may fall short is in its customer support. While there is a massive community of users and developers creating resources and answering questions, the official support is only available for paying customers. This means that those on the free version of WordPress may have a harder time getting assistance when they need it. Overall, WordPress is an excellent website builder that is suitable for businesses, bloggers, and anyone looking to create a website. Its user-friendly interface, flexibility, and SEO-friendly features make it a top choice for many, and its massive community of users and developers means that there is always help available if you need it.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress is an SEO-friendly platform, which is essential for those who want their website to rank well in search engine results pages. It offers a range of features and plugins that can help optimize your website for search engines, such as customizable permalinks, image optimization, and sitemaps.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AP
Anuradha P.
Information Technology Expert
Share
"Amazing CMS!!!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

First thing I love about this is it is FREE. It is easy to use and I have been using this CMS for the last 10 years. This is very powerful CMS with support for custom themes and plug-ins. Most of the plug-ins and themes are free and if you want more features you can buy premium versions. This required minimum training and most of the contributors to our website used it with an ease. If your team has a technical guy with some knowledge in installing the this CMS, it will save money for you. It is easy to learn the administration and installation of this CMS.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

This is a wonderful product, my only complaint about this product is when we use plug-ins with the CMS, it may slow down your website. If there is a mechanism to solve this issue, this would be a very good product.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have been using this CMS for the last ten years to publish archaeology.lk website. It has helped us to save lots of money and time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ailyn K. avatar
Ailyn K.
Pharmacist
Share
"Useful blogging platform"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Freedom of plugins and themes that are available to make my blog look pretty and functional. There is a lot of information to self- learn how to use

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Plugins are sometimes not updated but not removed. I think WordPress should remove outdated plugins that don't work with them

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosted blogging platforms have many rules. Wordpress.org is self-hosted so there's many things I can do like run ads in the blog page

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chelsea C. avatar
Chelsea C.
Assistant
Share
"WordPress is the best"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is amazing I'm on this website every day. I created my blog not too long ago. I love the way you get to view and analyze every thing.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

WordPress, there is nothing to not like .

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I honestly haven't had any problems yet.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Marcos R. avatar
Marcos R.
Share
"plataforma para crear paginas web"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Hay mucho soporte e información externa que puedes encontrar para encontrar soluciones

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Esta bastante bien. Por poner una pega, es necesario formarse antes de usarla.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

creacion de paginas web

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EP
Emma P.
Share
"WordPress Website Capabilities"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

We love using wordpress to host our website and use as an editing platform. I have worked with other platforms like GoDaddy and Wix and none provide ease of use like WordPress.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes edits have to be redone if they don't save properly. That can be annoying but isn't the worst issue to have when working on the backend of a website.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress allows us to have a great website with ease of use for both the administrator and the user viewing the site from the front end. We're very happy with the traffic we receive to our site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Daniel O. avatar
Daniel O.
Solutions Architect
Share
"Wordpress e-commerce review"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The easy way it helps to create an e-commerce website with the use of very simple plugin called elementor, with elementor u can create a very beautiful e-commerce website that make the customization very straightforward

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I dislike the aspect of theme installation from the begin, bacause u have to follow the theme installation documentation to understand how the theme would start working properly.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress has made it very easy to just twike an existing theme without writing any line of code and it helps to create a website with in few days with out any glichies.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brandon S. avatar
Brandon S.
Share
"I always use Wordpress!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy to use, highly customizable, and easy to explain to clients how use and they always appreciate the ease of use. I can hard code websites but I almost always prefer to use WordPress.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

When I first started I thought WordPress was a cookie-cutter situation but as I grew with it I learned more about and figured out how things work and different ways to use it. Not many negatives with it from my perspective.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

ease of use, easy to explain to to clients and other web developers. So many plugins and options to use to help other people jump on board with it. Learned this fast!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sourav  K. avatar
Sourav K.
Founder
Share
"Helped me become a good Tech blogger."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

One of the things I like best about WordPress.org is its simplicity and ease of use. With a few clicks, I can set up a WordPress website and start blogging, creating content, and managing your online presence.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There can be a learning curve associated with using WordPress.org, as it can take some time to understand all of the features and settings available. Additionally, the platform can be slow and prone to crashing, particularly when many plugins and themes are installed.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress.org is solving the problem of website creation and management for users who are not experienced in web development or coding. It is benefiting users by allowing them to create and manage their own websites with minimal effort, cost, and technical knowledge. WordPress.org also offers a large library of plugins and themes that can be used to customize websites to the user’s exact needs and preferences. Additionally, because WordPress.org is a free and open source platform, users can access the source code and modify it to their own needs. In this way, users have access to a powerful and versatile website creation platform with minimal effort and cost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CL
Christina L.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Great CMS for Most Website Needs"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I've used Wordpress as the CMS for my past two companies when building websites for small but growing brands. Wordpress allowed me to build simple but customizable websites that looked professional.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Wordpress websites need a updating fairly frequently-be sure to build that into whatever maintenance contract you decide on with your web design firm. There are some limitations to customization but for most companies this is a great CMS.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I used Wordpress as the web content management service for the websites for two of the previous organizations I worked for. It allowed me to easily make promotional updates to the sites without contacting a web developer.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SR
Sumant R.
Software Engineer
Share
"The most complete and customizable web publishing platform"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress.org is hands down, the best platform for creating websites. What I like most is its flexibility and ease of use. I also like the fact that it has a wide variety of plug-ins that help us customize websites according to the needs, plus the wide variety of templates available makes it easy to find one that fits the current aesthetic needs. I also liked it in terms of security, as it is one of the safest platforms available to create a website; it offers constant updates to protect websites against security threats, in addition to already having many security plug-ins available.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Due to the wide variety of options and configurations, the platform becomes a bit overwhelming at first; new users may feel a bit disoriented at first; however, there is an excellent and large online community that can be very helpful in understanding and getting the most out of this tool.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

The most significant benefit we find in using this tool is the creation and maintenance of websites. It is so easy to use and intuitive that no matter if we are beginners or experts in the field, we can do a great job and get the best custom websites in a matter of minutes. It has a wide range of functions, features and integrated resources that save significant time, effort and money in creating websites for the organization. Another advantage is its large community; it is easy to find help in the forums and tutorials available.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ashley T. avatar
Ashley T.
Director Of International Branding And Marketing
Share
"Fool Proof Website/Content Management"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is like the advanced version of a website builder. There are significantly more options than GoDaddy alone. As a novice website builder, someone not adept in coding, Wordpress makes it possible to create extremely visually pleasing, easy to navigate, productive websites. Additionally, the popularity of the platform makes it easy to locate online self help videos that enable you to learn and grow your knowledge.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I do not enjoy the fact that I have to create a secondary website for mobile phone viewing. While I understand the reasoning behind it, for the novice user it would be extremely helpful to have a "standard" option where wordpress automatically converts it like the other website builders do.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Removes the expensive need for you to hire a website designer and allows the user to roll what funds they would spend on website building back into their business. It frees up time and capital by making it simple to design and manage your own website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ammar a. avatar
Ammar A.
Marketing Consultant
Share
"The Best Platform To Build Websites Fast With Zero Coding Experience"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

With wordpress.org, the sky is the limit. Whether you're an experienced programmer or a complete novice, you can build the website of your dreams. WordPress makes web design easy; by choosing a theme, you have a website. Now, after you are done with your theme, you can enhance the functionality of your website to meet your needs using plugins. If you want to collect emails, there is a plugin. If you want to customize the look and feel of your website, there is a plugin for that. If you want to track website visitors, there is a plugin. If you want to do anything on your website, with a few clicks, you'll find a plugin that does just so. The best thing about WordPress is its reliability of it. An excellent framework for website builders. The learning curve is short. Millions of resources teach the ins and outs of WordPress. Best software ever for website creation.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Everything a web developer needs can be achieved through WordPress. There is nothing wrong to say about it. And that is the bottom line. Lots of support and lots of resources to learn from.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Anytime I want to build a website fast, I use WordPress as my first choice. With WordPress, I can build an entire website that matches my needs exactly as I want it, in less than two hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RM
Ray M.
Product Team Lead
Share
"Great option for creating websites without too much coding skills"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The sheer amount of plugins. Plugins allow the basic WordPress framework do additional things and using these you can create a massive variety of different type of sites. My recent favorite plugin is Elementor - it essentially allows you to visually drag and drop elements to build webpages in a very easy way.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

As a popular option for creating websites, it has become a target for hackers etc. Luckily they keep the software updated and there's also other plugins which you can use to secure your websites. Other than that, some of the account roles was confusing to me for a while.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can quickly build, design and deploy a website. This is great especially if you're creating landing pages to validate a business idea / product or working with clients who need custom website designs and features. Some hosting companies have "one click install" which makes it extremely quick to get up and running.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tasawer K. avatar
Tasawer K.
Web Developer (Shopify, Word Press)
Share
"Excellent Multipurpose plateform with excellent community"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is multipurpose so you can make many types of websites and manage many content types. Lessons learnt can be used in variety of systems.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It can get complicated because of its multipurpose nature that tries to support many diverse requirements.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress helps create websites easily and quickly. It has many plugins to support almost all requirements of different websites. It has many themes so you can change the style of the website in minutes. It has a great user and developer community, so you never feel lost.

Visit website