Ghost background blur
Ghost logo
Ghost
4.1
(38)
by Ghost Foundation
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Ghost?

Ghost Reviews & Product Details

Ghost Overview
What is Ghost?

Ghost is a powerful app built for new media creators to help them share, publish, and grow their businesses. The platform leverages the users' ability to build original content and comes with a slew of functional tools and features that let users build websites, publish content, send newsletters, and facilitate paid subscriptions to members.

Company Ghost Foundation
Year founded 2013
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Singapore
Social Media
Ghost Categories on Findstack
Ghost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Ghost Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Versioning
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Enterprise Scalability
API / Integrations
User Community
Ghost Media
Ghost 0
Ghost 1
Ghost 2
Ghost 3
Ghost 4
Ghost Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 17, 2024
Ghost logo
38 Ghost Reviews
4.1 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TV
Thomas V.
Cto
Share
"Clean and powerful blogging platform"
What do you like best about Ghost?
Very clean editor to write posts with lots of embeddable content blocks. Powerful Admin panel with a clean overview of scheduled, published and drafted articles that work well across both mobile and web browsers. The theme gallery, both free and paid, includes some really clean templates
What do you dislike about Ghost?
There is no mobile app, and there is no built-in analytics on page visits or user behaviour since it's focussed on email. The themes look great but I'd love to be able to embed content on every page like a text-blog, embedded video or image.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a low-maintenance environment to write a blog and gather a following of readers both paid and free. The fact that I only need to worry about writing and not about uptime, updates or performance is awesome.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Miguel A. avatar
Miguel A.
Ingeniero De Soporte
Share
"CMS para tener tu blog rapidamente"
What do you like best about Ghost?
Lo que mas me gusta de Ghost es la facilidad con la que puedes crear un blog y un sitio de membresia para monetizar lo que escribes sin complicaciones de implementacion.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
Lo que menos me gusta de Ghost es que esta orientado a un publico de habla inglesa. Es posible traducir el tema pero la parte del portal y las plantillas de email no se pueden traducir facilmente.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
Me resuelve el problema de implementacion de un blog personal que comence hace poco. Con clientes y amigos he implementado, otros sitios web con ghost, estos ultimos para blogs tematicos.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JB
Jonathan B.
Executive Director
Share
"Loving Ghost for over three years :)"
What do you like best about Ghost?
It is super streamlined and efficient and looks simply amazing in every web browser no matter what template we use.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
Image control and sizing could be functionality that would be appreciated.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
Taking the difficulty out of web site administration is a breeze with Ghost.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ahaan P. avatar
Ahaan P.
Head Of Customer Success
Share
"Ghost! Best CSM to create a paid community"
What do you like best about Ghost?
1. Easy setup and maintenance 2. Really good uptime 3. Speed is super fast 4. Email Newsletters are inbuilt 5. Can customize and create plans from Ghost itself! Not no need to create it on Stripe anymore! 6. Code changes are super easy, integrations even easier!
What do you dislike about Ghost?
1. Some of the plans feel limited. 1000 member plan includes paid and unpaid ( Having different numbers for paid and unpaid would be good!) 2. If your card gets declined, you are blocked out of the site. You can't even get onto the admin dashboard to make the payment.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Create a paid newsletter+ website 2. Create a community for people interested in my content 3. Collect and manage payments received from the community 4. Send them emails when a new blog goes live!
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carolina Elizabeth H. avatar
Carolina Elizabeth H.
Senior Devops Engineer
Share
"Easy to setup and modify it"
What do you like best about Ghost?
It is very simple to manage. I was able to install in one day.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
It should have more free templates. To do not have the certificate renewal setup by default.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating a webpage in simple steps. I was able to create my own website without being a developer
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 11, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Robert B. avatar
Robert B.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Great Blogging Solution"
What do you like best about Ghost?
Ghost has a great number of themes to choose from. Making the site look visually appearing is extremely easy with Ghost.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
Some research through the FAQ or blogs are sometimes required to make changes that aren't self explanatory.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows us to host a much better blog site that is already optimized for SEO.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 20, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Rohit S.
Head Of Digital Media
Share
"Ghost is a powerful publishing platform"
What do you like best about Ghost?
I have been using ghost for more than a year and I really like this CMS. It is an awesome blogging platform. We can simply create pages and publish it. We can edit content in HTML also with this tool. As compared to the other CMS, it is lightweight and have immense plugins that makes it one of the best CMS
What do you dislike about Ghost?
It is hard for beginners to understand all the features of this tool
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
This software has helped us in saving time by easily creating and publishing blogs. Moreover, we can easily customize blog according to our need and add plugins. Also, it is good for SEO
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 05, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jacob M.
Lead It
Share
"Next Generation Blogging Platform"
What do you like best about Ghost?
Ghost is a super fast next generation blogging platform, it's ease of use and amazing team behind it cause it to be absolutely amazing. Bloggers new and old will know exactly what to do with it.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
The setup is obviously going to be rough for some users, but other than that, no issues with it.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
A simple solution to solve our cms needs.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Ajay R. avatar
Ajay R.
Content Manager
Share
"Best Open Source Platform, Blogging and Paid Newsletter subscriptions"
What do you like best about Ghost?
Ghost CMS is the best alternative for WordPress. I love their modern UI. Admin dashboard is very minimal and easy to manage. Ideal for news or blogging site. Ghost also gives some popular services integration like Zapier, Slack, AMP, Disqus, Google Analytics, Typeform, Buffer, Codepen, Github, Paypal, Stripe, and more. Installation and configuration are very minimal and very simple to use and manage users. I love Ghost CMS features.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
In my opinion, there is nothing to dislike, because I used blogging and I enjoy it. Perhaps, If someone using a WordPress alternative and want to use WordPress, then It not completely possible. You won't find any plugins for Ghost CMS like WordPress has its own directory, Ghost CMS has custom integration features but for that, you have built your own integration, and you will need coding to knowledge.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Ghost CMS for our blog, we don't have to customize from scratch, and Ghost is a perfectly built Blogging platform, Managing Newsletter is way more easier than other CMS platform.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
PB
Pavel B.
Share
"I found Ghost to be the best platform for my professional blog!"
What do you like best about Ghost?
I have started with a 14-day free trial and then turned to become a paid customer. I like the editor, its minimalistic yet powerful design. I love integrations and the speed of my Ghost blog (it's insane either on web browser or mobile). Ghost CMS is easier to understand compared to Wordpress and the overall experience feels smoother.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
I have nothing to complain about at the moment.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ghost to build my personal portfolio website and feature my work on the web and social media.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 13, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Dana R. avatar
Dana R.
Chief Photographer
Share
"Clean, Powerful and Fast"
What do you like best about Ghost?
The interface is clean and uncluttered and the ability to use markdown is beautiful and drool-worthy (even though I just learned it for the sake of trying Ghost). Their new membership option in V.3 is equally as wonderful. If you'd like to setup a basic membership blog without a lot of drama, they've made it extremely easy to do so - like you can set it up in less than 20 minutes and start blogging within the hour.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
Ghost can be a very simple, easy-to-use platform if you are content with it straight out of the box, which I'm usually not. I like to dig deep into the software I use - if possible - and while Ghost makes that extremely easy, I'm not well-versed in Handlebars and JS as of yet so that limited my creative freedom. That's purely on me, however. There's a decent-sized repository of themes (free and premium) to choose from if you'd prefer that as well. Coming from the ease of flexibility Wordpress, Ghost is super simplistic in every way. With that said, it's definitely not as flexible. Little things like editing authors or categories requires that you open up each post to do so. Wordpress made that easy with the quick edit option in the dashboard. The native navigation bar is limited - not allowing dropdrowns - and you'll have to be able to edit a Handlebar (.hbs) file in order to change the footer links and/or remove their branding. Even so, Ghost is still far superior so it's worth forgoing some of the little things for Ghost's platform. Oh, and Ghost also doesn't have a way to store or access previously used media; that's probably one of the biggest downfalls to ease of use and flexibility.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
It saves a lot of time! I was able to import my blog from Wordpress and then format my posts/pages as needed to fit Ghost's structure. Once you get a hang of the flow, it's super easy and fast. And loading times are legit amazing - like 98-100% super speed.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 18, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RS
Rohit S.
Community Manager
Share
"Ghost is an excellent blogging platform"
What do you like best about Ghost?
I like ghost because of its clear and easy to use Interface. The best thing about this platform is that I can add a lot of plugins in this tool. And this tool is so lightweight and easy to create static pages on this platform. Also, I like its feature of assigning different roles to the different team members.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
No issues with this tool, I really like this tool
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
This tool saves a lot of time in managing the blogging & content of our blog. We have seen the traffic & SEO of our website has improved since we started using this tool
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 14, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
PJ
Paul J.
Pathways Operations Manager
Share
"The clone of the hard disk"
What do you like best about Ghost?
How easy it is to use The price The size of the software on the hard disk
What do you dislike about Ghost?
Only digital software Not suitable for small companies
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to provide a laptop with the exact same content for each employee
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Kaushal R. avatar
Kaushal R.
Graduate Structural Engineer
Share
"Ghost Reviews"
What do you like best about Ghost?
The app lets you be free and open about your ventures.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
The app should be publicized more for the usage.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
It lets our firm to work to utilise the resources quite effectively
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AE
Andrew E.
Principal Engineer
Share
"Ghost is great, though wasn't quite the fit for our needs"
What do you like best about Ghost?
The UI was pretty straightforward, as was the ability to build pages. As a headless CMS, it worked reasonably well. Pricing was reasonable too. Of the headless CMS options, I liked Ghost the best. The headless CMS API integration was pretty straightforward (I used Eleventy.js). It appears that Ghost as a site-builder also works pretty well, particularly for people who want something relatively stock instead of highly customized.
What do you dislike about Ghost?
We used Ghost as the headless CMS back-end to a static site. I wanted the ability to create more types of custom content (my client had testimonials and a number of different types of articles, as well as staff bios) with fixed fields. We were able to sort of hack our way through it with clever use of tags, but it wasn't ideal. This is not Ghost-specific, but in general with headless CMSs on a static site there's a disjunct between editing content and building the site itself -- you make the content changes in the CMS, and then you wait for the static site to rebuild, then go check your work. It's not awful, but it's an extra step. There was also some confusion on the part of my client where they expected to be able to edit the entire static site, rather than just the small number of identified dynamic pieces (testimonials, types of articles, etc.). This was a training issue, but the fact that the UI existed (and couldn't be turned off that I saw) meant it was a source of perpetual confusion.
What problems is Ghost solving and how is that benefiting you?
As we used Ghost, it would've given us a little interface with which to create articles which would then be added to the site. My client had much more specific needs (had I been on the project much earlier in the design process I would've argued for removing complexity from the design, which I think would've benefited the project significantly). I would use Ghost again, particularly if there were a team of content-writers who are churning out blog posts or articles and who wanted to be able to do that work largely autonomously (especially if they already had a really clear styleguide). The content editor is slick. I would also suggest Ghost as an alternative to Wordpress for folks who just need a place to put their site and stream of articles, especially if they're not interested in managing their own hosting.