GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Valadi K  J. avatar
Valadi K J.
Cto
Share
"Awesome Opensource image editing software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Very simple to use with beautiful plugins and a codebase that makes image manipulation and image editing an instant work of art. The software is unique in that most of its features can be unlocked from the massive list of add-ons that are available to make image manipulation and edit a tremendous effort.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Maybe there was an excellent way to adjust the screens and menu options and change the looks of GIMP with some perfect image screens.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gimp helps you convert, modify, vectorize or edit raster as well as vector images from different image formats. It helps to do color corrections, gaussian blur, apply filters and modify pictures with some cool effects to manipulate and edit as a piece of art.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GH
Graham H.
Student
Share
"Very user and beginner friendly, would highly recommend for those looking for an alternative to PS"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like that it is simple for the basic user to pick up. I originally started using gimp maybe a decade ago because of how much easier it was to compare it to competitors such as adobe photoshop. Additionally, it is also a free service to use instead of having to pay for services like photoshop. I did at one point use photoshop, and honestly wasn't impressed when I compare it to GIMP. GIMP just simplifies the layout giving a more user-friendly, especially for beginners, experience.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

There really isn't much to dislike about this program. Everything about it is likable.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am just using it for gigs, to make little flyers here and there, as well as sometimes my own personal fulfillment such as art and the such.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Abhishek B. avatar
Abhishek B.
Founder
Share
"Viable free alternative to photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is a free and open source image editing tool. It is extremely lightweight and doesn't eat up all system resources. It also works almost all popular formats. It's the best alternative to Photoshop.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP has a very opinionated and non standard UI that may not suit all users. When you launch the application, it brings up three windows, one for the editing viewport and main menu, and the other two for toolbars. It seems like a very unintuitive UI.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Since Photoshop is not available for Linux, I found GIMP to be a great replacement, and a very good one. It is feature complete and supports almost all file formats.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nithin J. avatar
Nithin J.
Software Engineer
Share
"GIMP Review"
What do you like best about GIMP?

What I like best is that GIMP is totally free to use and it's by far the best image editing software that you can get that acts as a huge upgrade from the default MS Paint that comes pre-installed with Windows. It contains more image editing tools compared to the basic ones of Paint while offering image scaling and cropping abilities without damaging the original quality. It allows easy conversions from one image format to another while retaining the original quality and also allows any compression to be removed so that the image comes out looking as you'd want. Not only can you work on images of any format with GIMP, you can also edit and create GIFs through the use of different layers.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The one thing I don't like about GIMP is that it isn't very intuitive when you want to crop an image by a small number of pixels. It's selection tool isn't very precise and often times you have to guess to find exactly how many pixels you're cropping out until the final image is of the size that you're looking for.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I rely on GIMP a lot for editing and rescaling the size of images. For the images that we use on our website, having to use HTML code to change the size of the image often makes them a little blurry or poor in quality. Even for our presentations, sometimes the cropping tool isn't particularly accurate and giving us satisfactory results. This is where GIMP has been of great help as it allows us to crop and scale down the size of images without changing the quality of the original image. Furthermore while making logos and backgrounds for presentations, it's incredibly helpful that we can create additional layers for the images. This allows editing to be done in an easier fashion for certain parts of the image and reduces any misplacement or any errors in the whole picture. The biggest benefit of GIMP is that it allows you to convert from one image format to another with ease.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tom P. avatar
Tom P.
Senior Data Scientist
Share
"Freeware alternative to photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Available as a free download for all common computer operating systems and as an Android app, GIMP is a full-featured image editing application that competes with the likes of Adobe Photoshop. With its intuitive interface and extensive documentation, it is straightforward for even a casual user to touch up photos and create graphical images.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

To create vector images, you will want to use a different application such as Adobe Illustrator or the freeware alternative, Inkscape.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's ideal for editing photos and graphical images, and graphical layout for single page documents. Although anything involving extensive textual layout you will probably prefer a desktop publishing application.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AR
Alain Jove R.
Beta Web/ App Reviewer
Share
"Best Photoshop Alternative"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like it because it is not heavy on the RAM usage, it packs majority of the necessary photo editing tools that the major product brands have including simple functions like cropping, skewing, and other transform tools. It has advanced features like image retouching, effects, text incorporation, background removal and other awesome renderings for your photo editing projects.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Sometimes when using transform tools, it leaves an 'after image' like effect even if you disable showing the layer being used, which bleeds through other layers. Although it can be removed by restarting the app.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP allowed me to use a free software with all the functionalities that PhotoShop or CorelDRaw can provide. Savings is very important as it allows me to channel those funds on other software for my multimedia editing endeavors.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 04, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CY
Chavele Y.
N
Share
"Best Image editing tool"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Its free easy to use and great! easily rivals photoshop with no effort.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

the selection tool could be a little more versatile at removing backgrounds.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Fixing coversheets and logos for my company.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
H. Lea S. avatar
H. Lea S.
Web Developer
Share
"GIMP is a learning curve but fairly easy to use"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Obviously the thing that I like best about GIMP is that it is free, after having a paid service denied me service after a decade of use. It is also nice that GIMP is opensource, allowing anyone to be able to enhance and improve upon the program. GIMP also has a lot of customization options as well as 3rd party plugins. GIMP makes converting images into different file types simple and hassle-free. GIMP has made creating and manipulating sprite images for website images and navigation menus a breeze.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

It takes some getting used to all of the menus and settings and the menus are easy to mess up and harder to revert it back to what you are used to seeing. When you paste an item to the project that you are working on it sets it as a floating item instead of as a new layer, so then you have to manual click on it and click to new layer to then be able to work with the newly pasted layer. When recoloring items it does not automatically set the image to the highest resolution so that colors are not true to their values and you have to go and manually change the image to rbg and precision to 32 bit, then go back to change the color of the image. GIMP is limited to the highest rgb precision at 32 bits. When working with layers you can not drag and drop images to their places, you have to edit the layer's properties and move it on the x and y axis which leads to a lot of trail and errors to get it placed just where you want it to be in the larger image.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

GIMP makes it somewhat easy to create logos, banners, ads, headers, footers, menus, background images, and other images for websites. GIMP also makes it easy to work with layers and transparent backgrounds to create more in-depth images. GIMP's image scaling is very smooth and true to form, making it easy to resize photos and images down to a smaller size to cut back on the file size.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kristopher L. avatar
Kristopher L.
Customer Service Representative
Share
"No Limp With Gimp"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Gimp is one of the few programs that i have found that maintain any level of competitiveness with the big dogs in the graphic arts industry. The array of tools, customizations, and flexibility make it a great system for everyone from the beginner to the industry captain.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

If I were to say gimp as one failing it would be the very steep learning curve. I've used gimp to do everything from create logos to coloring coloring book pages, and while the community for gimp is out there, the difficulty is sorting through the appropriate levels of different versions tools login configurations and finding the information you need to do the fancy effect you desire.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

While using gimp I've used it to entertain myself and create logos for companies. I realize that while I may not be charged for this program I am able to do the same skills and designs that I would with some of the larger more expensive programs. While this benefit is definitely a great thing. Compared to some of the other companies this one program being as inexpensive is it is being free, sets it above and beyond,

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 24, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VF
Vivienne F.
Founder
Share
"Essential and Convenient"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The program is free and has all of the features that I need for digital art and design. I use it to make designs for Redbubble and I've never had any issues with it.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I honestly can't think of anything I dislike about GIMP. For certain types of art I like to use a different program because it works better with my tablet, but when I'm not using my tablet GIMP is my go-to.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can use it without having to pay a high price for a program like Photoshop. As a student, it's been really helpful as I can't afford a monthly subscription or a high payment all at once.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BH
Brendon H.
Founder
Share
"A free alternative to Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Cost (free), features (really comprehensive) and with a useful range of plugins available.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The Save vs Export workflow. Save is for the internal GIMP format, and Export for all other file formats. Can't get this to stick in my head.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Image processing for websites and print media.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Simon C.
Director
Share
"Best free Photoshop alternative out there!"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It's like photoshop but 100% free there isn't much not to like. Very impressed for a free software. If you have used photoshop in the past you will be able to pick this up quickly.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Nothing really for free you cant really complain.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

We recommend it to clients all the time that cant afford Photoshop. They are super happy and cant believe its free.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sam A. avatar
Sam A.
Head Of Programmes
Share
"Open-source at its best. Feature-rich image editing."
What do you like best about GIMP?

GIMP is feature-rich. It does everything I need for photo and image editing. Basic changes such as cropping and recolouring. And I love working with the layers when making collages. And amazingly, it is free! I've used it for a good ten years now and it gets more powerful each version.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The layout and interface can feel cluttered. For example, the icons in the tool tray are a little small and it is hard for me to find what I'm looking for. Likewise, the menu options are not always intuitively placed.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I used GIMP for all personal and professional image editing. This includes photos and graphics for websites. Creating artwork for personal use. Preparing logos of different sizes. Converting files to different types. It is brilliant!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LK
Leanna K.
Founder
Share
"I'm a beginner and GIMP is easy for me to use."
What do you like best about GIMP?

I like that I am able to edit things out of images, resize images, crop, and make backgrounds on images transparent. I don't know how to do a lot on GIMP, but I know enough to get the job done and that's all that matters. I'm happy with GIMP and I love that it's free! I was using another program that had a monthly fee, but switched to GIMP because it can do the same thing as this other program, but for free!

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I feel like the overall look of GIMP looks a bit outdated -- however, it's free, so I really cannot complain. It gets the job done. I do feel like it's a bit difficult to navigate, but once you get it figured out it's not too bad.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to crop images, edit logos, make the background on logos transparent so that I can use them in marketing materials with a transparent background. I'm able to resize images to fit into my publications correctly. I often has businesses submit photos to me for my publications that are not at a high enough dpi, GIMP allows me to adjust the dpi up to 300 so that I'm able to use a clear image in my publications.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LC
Lela C.
Founder
Share
"GIMP is the head of a totally original project."
What do you like best about GIMP?

I can't do a project without the help of GIMP, it has many tools that I like and help me develop my experience every day making extremely creative designs. Their templates are well defined and clearly created under a unique concept. Their support helps me to make everything work as it should.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

I don't like that GIMP is a bit heavy, you need a good computer to work without any problem.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Attached images to make any creative invention, has given us an excellent capacity of creativity to achieve a more striking performance to social networks, blogs, publications and any type of visual project. The company works with many clients who are demanding and help to innovate my capabilities every day.