GreenGeeks background blur
GreenGeeks logo
GreenGeeks
4.0
(19)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GreenGeeks Reviews & Product Details

GreenGeeks Overview
What is GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks takes an environmentally friendly approach to host, putting its ability to provide service at forefront of its vision. The company offsets its carbon footprint by around 300% by utilizing eco-friendly energy sources. This arguably makes GreenGeeks the most sustainable hosting provider available today. The platform also offers free site migration, with built-in caching, unlimited database and bandwidth, and a 30-day money-back guarantee with every package.

Company GreenGeeks, LLC
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Agoura Hills, California, United States
Social Media
GreenGeeks Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about GreenGeeks
What GreenGeeks is best for?
How does GreenGeeks compare to dhosting?
What are the pros and cons of GreenGeeks?
GreenGeeks Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
GreenGeeks Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Greenest, most environmentally friendly hosting provider
  • Free site migration
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Consciously makes an effort to minimize their carbon footprint
  • Reliable 99.9% uptime
Cons
  • Only one free backup per month
  • Cam gets a bit expensive after initial discounts
  • No round-the-clock phone support
  • No long-term discounts
  • No free domain or backups
GreenGeeks Features
Backup and Restore
Bandwidth Allocation
CDN Integration
CMS Integration
Caching Options
Control Panel Integration
Cron Job Scheduling
Custom Error Pages
Customer Support
DNS Management
Data Center Locations
Database Support
Developer Tools
Domain Registration
E-commerce Capabilities
Email Hosting
FTP Access
Multi-domain Hosting
Resource Monitoring
SSH Access
SSL Certificates
Scalability Options
Security Features
Server Configuration Options
Site Migration Assistance
Staging Environment
Storage Space
Subdomain Management
Uptime Guarantee
Website Builder
GreenGeeks Media
GreenGeeks 0
GreenGeeks 1
GreenGeeks 2
GreenGeeks 3
GreenGeeks 4
GreenGeeks Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
GreenGeeks logo
19 GreenGeeks Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nivina J. avatar
Nivina J.
Owner
Share
"My new go-to web hosting provider"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

I love their excellent customer support, never experienced a long wait. Their reliable uptime is also a great benefit for me. Their dashboard and other interfaces are super easy to use.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

They need to offer more plans specificly for high-demand hosting needs.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

A hosting provides that is environmental conscious. and also provides datacenters based in Canada

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Laura E. avatar
Laura E.
Independent Entrepreneur
Share
"Great Webhosting Service!"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

Customer service is always incredibly quick. They've even solved issues I had with my website in the middle of the night! They are also as eco-friendly as possible, which I love.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

I don't dislike anything about GreenGeeks.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have a website using GreenGeeks webhosting that is as eco-friendly as possible, with quick and efficient customer service. My website has never been down for more than a few minutes, for reasons that were addressed and corrected immediately (often before I even knew anything was going on!)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CB
Charles B.
Web Developer
Share
"Excellent customer service!"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

The customer service with greengeeks was outstanding. They had my reseller account up within 2 minutes and I was already making money!

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

Software deployment could have been a little easier to use. Wasnt hard to use though.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use greengeeks personally for my reseller account to get my clients up and running faster. This is the best way to make money.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 18, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CW
Chris W.
Web Developer
Share
"Great customer service and uptime"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

The hosting is fast. Every time I have needed support I have received nearly instant response from the chat agent. The bandwith and resource allocation work great for most sites using wordpress and drupal. Email setup through cpanel works great and is really nice to have unlimited storage on the primary domain on my reseller account.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

The firewall and IP blocking rules are a little strict for shared and reseller hosting. One of my clients needed to access their web app simultaneously with about 12-15 users. There was no performance issues with the hosting, but the firewall kept blocking their ip address. Greengeeks was not able to lift this rule for this client on reseller hosting. I noticed that on the new plans for reseller hosting they have changed from limited storage space and unlimited cpanel accounts to a new model. The new model allows for unlimited storage space but the plan pricing is based on number of cpanel accounts. I don't forsee any issues with this model for things like prototyping, but I believe it will increase costs for the reseller as new clients come on board.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Instant cpanel creation for prototyping websites and web apps. I'm able to have nearly unlimited projects in different stages of development with reseller hosting. We have been using email through the reseller hosting for our company, as well as some of our clients. I think that the ability to set up email without any additional monthly costs is great

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 24, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Chel M.
Human Resources Assistant
Share
"Environmentally Responsible Hosting"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

We strive to be environmentally conscious and sustainability was one of the things we wanted in our website hosting.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

I've seen the website down for no reason at all... the only reason I noticed was Google actually sent me an alert. It only happened once and they fixed the problem quickly when I contacted them, but I don't know how many potential visitors were turned away.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

A website host is a basic necessity, but the bonus of being environmentally-friendly helps maintain our integrity by showing that we make an effort to stand by our green values.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
QS
Quang S.
Nau
Share
"Solid hosting and great support"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

Cheap price, nice quality and very good service. I have used many host and i feel this is one of the best.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

Sometime, i get some errors about payment

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm always looking for a good hosting because i want to make the best website and GreenGeeks is so suitable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 24, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
DS
Dave S.
Owner
Share
"Great host for small to medium sizes business"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

They have a good solid support, online chat as well as phone support that you can contact at all hours.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

They no longer have a managed VPS solution. They recently removed it. It was not all their fault, based on the price changes by cpanel which is 3rd party server management software.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use greengeeks for a shared hosting solution for most of my clients. Easy to use, solid pricing and phone support for my clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Laurie S. avatar
Laurie S.
Sole Proprietor
Share
"Green Geeks is a "Diamond in the Rough" for VPS Servers and Web Hosting"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

The support personnel at Green Geeks is extraordinary! Most marketers I know don't really want to completely comprehend the ins and outs of setting up a VPS Server, adding Cnames and redirecting domains, etc. We have other things to do. I was really confused when I was told that the mass emailer software I just purchased needed a VPS. A V what?? Support at GreenGeeks helped me with every detail, every step to ensure I had a quality, stable server for my mailer. They couldn't have been more professional, kind, and patient with me. And when I wanted to expand my hosting needs for a website, that was already covered under the monthly fee I was paying.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

This may seem trivial, but when time matters (and we all know it does), I had to search high and low on Green Geeks website for the Sign up/ Sign in links. I finally just googled "Green Geeks signup page." I mean, come on web designers...if you lose a customer or two to a competitor because you make it too difficult to locate the most important step to access your services, then I think it's your own darn fault ;). That's why I chose an 8 instead of a 10.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I purchased this inexpensive mass mailer/autoresponder software, but afterwards found out I needed a VPS Server to host it on the web. They recommended Green Geeks so they solved this cruciap piece for me. I realized that Green Geeks had excellent support as well as being a full service hosting site w8th everything from domain registration to integration with Wordpress for web design. I am not currently using Green Geeks only because I don't currently use the mailer I purchased and decided against the website I was planning to build.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Jeremy B. avatar
Jeremy B.
Myrtle Beach Realtor®
Share
"Ok For Hosting"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

Easy to use platform for creating Wordpress sites. Performance is Ok, but not the best.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

The performance isn't as good as some of the comparable companies out there for hosting.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I like that their servers are running on a green energy and are better for the environment.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
JC
Jason C.
Independent Designer And Developer
Share
"Environmentally Responsible Hosting"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks has competitive pricing for the service they offer. The Ecosite Starter starts at $3.95 a month triennially and comes with unlimited web space, unlimited data transfer, a free domain, and various application support such as WordPress. If you are a beginner, they offer starter site builder which you can request for free.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

Although GreenGeeks advertise themselves as a Canadian hosting service with servers in Toronto, they do not have Canadian pricing and charge all plans in USD. The file manager in cPanel only allows selection of files and lacks a method of uploading whole folders at once. FTP account setup and connection is required for better file management which is fine but adds to the number of interfaces I have to work with when managing my sites. There are also hidden clauses not apparent when looking at their plans such as their excessive usage policy: "A hosting account is considered using "Excessive amounts of resources" when it consumes 100% of 1 CPU core, and/or 1 GB Memory, 20 concurrent connections and/or 75,000 files also known as "Computing Resources", and/or "Resources", and/or "Resource Usage"."

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have a startup company that needs reliable web hosting and GreenGeeks offers great uptime and nightly backups.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
CA
Charles A.
Ceo
Share
"Reasonable pricing--limited payment options--overall A+"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

The ease of checking and availability and registering a domain and relative process experience

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

The payment options and ability to use the host for evaluation purposes prior to signup

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Overall simple hosting for smaller company business, we did however move to another platform

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AD
Aline D.
Business Owner
Share
"GreenGeeks is just ok"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

At first, I liked Green Geeks and did not have much to complain about.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

I found that when I needed assistance, I was provided with a link to an article to read and fix the issue by myself.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am no longer using GreenGeeks so nothing is to my benefit.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
ND
Nishan D.
Founder
Share
"Great for starters but not so if your site is scaling"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

GreenGeeks is a reliable host. If you're just starting out with your website, you can get a reliable host for a great price. There customer support is amazing and I have not had any issues in the past.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

If you're scaling, suddenly the amount you have to pay is going to be very high. And you can get a higher plan from a better service provider such as Cloudways.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted a cheap but reliable host to get started with WordPress. For that purpose, GreenGeeks hosting was great. Initially, I had multiple sites in the same account, including a WooCommerce website. They allowed me to keep it for a long time without limiting the resources.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"The best web hosting choice for Canadian users"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

Support is amazing. Server performance is much much better. choice of Canadian data centres.

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

The pricing is kind of pricier than other web hosting companies, but their service makes up for the price.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Data reside problems, privacy concerns. fast website performance.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Web Hosting Platform at it's best"
What do you like best about GreenGeeks?

I originally started using GoDaddy for web hosting until I switched because of a promo that they had. I prefer GreenGeeks over any web hosting sites. They have excellent customer service and it is super fast and easy to begin. My favorite thing they do is they help reroute all domains for you instead of the tedious work that I would have had to do on the back end. And a plus, they are a green company!

What do you dislike about GreenGeeks?

The only issue that ever occurred was a kick back on my payment. I'm not sure if it was something on my end or on their servers. I called customer service and it was taken care of quickly.

What problems is GreenGeeks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was using GreenGeeks for web hosting services and wordpress hosting.

Visit website