Litmus background blur
Litmus logo
Litmus
4.6
(382)
by Litmus Software, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Litmus?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Litmus Reviews & Product Details

Litmus Overview
What is Litmus?

Litmus is a preferred email personalization, optimization, and collaboration software among marketers designed to maximize your ROI. From pre-send campaign development, testing, and AI-driven content recommendations Litmus can deliver the tools you need and help facilitate better creativity to ensure optimized content.

Company Litmus Software, Inc.
Year founded 2005
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Social Media
Litmus Categories on Findstack
Litmus Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Litmus Features
Performance
Email and Mobile Preview
Building and Personalizing Emails
Manage Email Deliverability
Basic Reporting
Open Rate
Spam Filter Testing
Deliverability Testing
Multi-User Account
Dashboard
Analytics
Content
Time to Open
Editing Platform
Design Testing
Litmus Media
Litmus 0
Litmus 1
Litmus 2
Litmus 3
Litmus Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 19, 2024
Litmus logo
382 Litmus Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AS
Alexandra S.
Partner Relationship Manager
Share
"Easy way to share and approve emails"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I really like that I can click on any part of the email, or highlight a passage of copy and leave a comment. This makes the amends process really easy as without it I am having to waste time describing what is to be changed over email. I like that I can share the email proof and tag different approvers with ease which then sends an email reminder too. I also like that the email creator can sort emails into folders so that I can see which emails are part of which campaigns easily. Finally, I love that I can preview what the email will look like on a phone as well as a desktop - this is great for checking if an email is too long, or if the graphics or titles are rendering correctly in the mobile version.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I would love to be able to have a search function for the emails that I have been sent to approve so that I can go back and see them at a later date, incase any updates need to be made.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

* mobile view - emails that we were sending previously were too long in this view and we now yield better click rates by addressing this * saving time on the approvals process * having a documented approval system so that I can prove that someone has signed an email off to be sent

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Donnell D. avatar
Donnell D.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Share
"Invaluable tool for email marketers"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Everything that I need to build, proof, and create emails and email campaigns in one platform

What do you dislike about Litmus?

i don't really dislike anything about the platform. Maybe being able to run Salesforce ampscript personalization within the litmus builder itself? not that big of a deal though since there is litmus integration in salesforce.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Saving a bunch of time with their design library, and proofing tools. Also being able to create a design system within litmus.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Arshad S. avatar
Arshad S.
Senior Executive
Share
"A very handy and Effective Software for Email Marketing"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus is an effective tool for email marketing with a very high speed. There are various features that are included for effective execution of my work.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The price is a single dislike that I see about Litmus. May be the price could be affordable for the users.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

From the entire experience, Litmus enables me to boost my productivity and upgrade my overall performance. Its user interface is extremely simple to operate and it's speed is also flawless.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chris Z. avatar
Chris Z.
Practice Director, Marketing Cloud
Share
"Email's Best Friend"
What do you like best about Litmus?

My favorite thing about Litmus is how it simplifies and speeds up testing my content. It doesn't matter what email tool I'm using. I can leverage Litmus to render and preview my emails before sending them.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I would like to have the ability to seamlessly update my content in Litmus when making changes after previewing it there. I have to switch to the email tool where the email lives or copy and paste if I edit the content in Litmus. This would be a great enhancement.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It saves me time and simplifies testing. Instead of managing multiple test email accounts and related test email lists I would send tests to, I can focus on identifying issues uncovered by Litmus and applying the corresponding fix in my content. This saves hours and centralizes my testing process.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Simon I. avatar
Simon I.
Head Of It Operations
Share
"A full 360 service for building and ensuring deliverability of your communications"
What do you like best about Litmus?

We love Litmus for the ability to see the specific reasons why an email may fail to deliver, from time taken to load an image and accessibility to real world processing into inboxes, tracking each of the main play spam filters. The email building tools are top-notch and really do take the pain out of the building and visualising how your code will render in every email client.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

While not Litmus' fault and because I have to dislike something, it would be advantageous to have more options for integrating mail platforms into the spam tests. Currently, we have to save a CSV of email addresses from Litmus, import them into our system, and send the campaign. Email addresses changing for each spam test, this can become a barrier.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email deliverability scores and improving reputation with first class email builds.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Angela J. avatar
Angela J.
Email Services Specialist
Share
"Awesome company"
What do you like best about Litmus?

They have such valuable and fun newsletters to read and webinars that they put on. The customer service is stellar. They get back to you quickly. I'm always discovering new tools that they come out with.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

It seems like when I zoom into the previews, they come up in a different order than they are in the smaller view and then I kind of lose my place.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

I mostly use it to resolve rendering issues which Litmus is fantastic for. They also provide so many helpful tools and tips just generally about email.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Mark H.
M
Share
"Flexible Email Updating & Testing Tool"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus can show how your email will render across countless email clients. Renderings can be so different and finicky across email providers that this is a marketers dream. No more making two dozen fake email accounts to see how emails will look...

What do you dislike about Litmus?

It's great for basic editing and html updates but there is no WYSIWYG editor for building emails from scratch.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Being able to test across multiple email clients at once is worth it's weight in gold. Html edits are also easier because it let's us highlight regions we need to update.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Holly E. avatar
Holly E.
Server
Share
"Litmus is so user-friendly and has great customer service!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I love how I can add a client to Litmus, share an email with them, and I don't even have to walk them through it. It's so easy to use and is excellent for multiple clients.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I haven't found anything I don't like about Litmus.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email proofing, it is easy to add clients to single emails or folders, depending on creating one or several emails. I love how specific you can make the edits as well. Most proofing systems are not this simple to use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 11, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HA
Hasin A.
Designer
Share
"The QA tool for email developers in the market."
What do you like best about Litmus?

The browser and devices options available for testing.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The interface is slightly difficult to navigate with all the options.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Delivering better emails to users and reducing errors.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 06, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DR
Derek R.
Senior Crm Manager
Share
"A tool to help give visibility without breaking the bank"
What do you like best about Litmus?

The ability to easily pass email proofs for review over. The high res images that are created of the proofs has been really helpful to pass along.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The insights could be a little more helpful. It would be great to be more explicit when your email may be falling into a spam trap.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email proofs - updating templates, submitting proofs for review internally for approval.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Stacey S.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Litmus is time saver"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus saves lots of time for us, is simple to use, and we can check different email clients, Easy integration.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Nothing that we feel is not up to the mark.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We check for several email clients. Also ensure our emails go through without any restriction.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nick W. avatar
Nick W.
Manager, Cloud Platform Marketing
Share
"Ensure Visibility Everywhere!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

The ability to quickly scroll through all browsers and devices and look at your email to make sure it's displaying properly.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Nothing really. I think Litmus' platform does exactly what we're paying for.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

- The ability to view my email in multiple browsers and devices that I don't have access to - Saves large amounts of time by loading all previews at once

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 20, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EB
Edwin B.
Senior Manager, Marketing Automation
Share
"Best In Class"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus is the most straightforward and user-friendly email testing service I have used. The ability to pick and choose which email clients and browsers you want to see is beneficial, and Litmus is constantly staying on top of developing email trends and features.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Maybe it's user error, but my team and I still haven't found a good workflow for testing and reviewing emails sent to Litmus. That would be a gamechanger for us - the ability to provide feedback at different levels and consider the diverse backgrounds and skillsets of everyone on our team (from copywriter to developer, etc.).

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

The biggest problem we've recently solved using Litmus was in our transition of email marketing systems. We've used Litmus and ensured our emails rendered precisely how we wanted at every step - from IP Warming to running our day-to-day campaigns. Now that we've been using our new platform, we're thinking ahead to refining and coding better designs for things dark mode and the various devices our subscribers use most often.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 20, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jason M. avatar
Jason M.
E Crm Manager
Share
"Build, test and even create a workflow"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus provides an easy way to build great emails quickly and, for me, one of the best features is the ability to share a link to proof your creations that can be shared - the coolest thing is that you control what they can see. You select the inboxes you want to show and the mobile devices to use. The approver sees what they need to.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The folder tree is a bit tricky. Sometimes when you have lots of folders, you can't scroll down to lower folders, so you need to get inventive about how you get there. It's not a huge inconvenience, but it can be frustrating if you're in a hurry

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Inbox previews are the biggest win for me. Litmus has a ton of features now, but its core purpose of proofing is what keeps me coming back. I use it as a standalone product (where I log in to the Litmus platform) and as an integrated part of Marketing Cloud; it's pretty versatile.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Juliana A. avatar
Juliana A.
Email Designer & Developer
Share
"Best testing tool ever"
What do you like best about Litmus?

How close to the email community the Litmus team is. That makes a big difference when implementing new features

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The platform is always changing and sometimes I don't even know where to find my things. I would recommend sharing a timeline of the new features so we can be aware of when the changes will come.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Masking sure all my email templates are rendering as they should. As a repo for my development team to build things and share links with the MKT stakeholder for approval