Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
by Paymo
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Paymo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Role
Creation & Assignment
Electronic Payments
Reporting
Performance and Reliability
Mobile User Support
Ease of Completing Timesheets
Tracking Time to Project/Task
Billable Time Rate Management
Invoice Creation and Delivery
Time Tracking
Internationalization
Project Accounting / Revenue Recognition
APIs / Integration
Offline
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 22, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tessa K. avatar
Tessa K.
Freelance Packaging Designer & Owner
Share
"Paymo has saved me countless hours"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love that Paymo doesn't just solve the issue of project management. It offers so much more relevant functionality that other productivity and project management apps don't offer. As a freelancer I can estimate straight from the app, bill directly from time sheets and automatically chase payments which has saved me countless hours of administration. I love that it has a desktop timer that I can easily switch between jobs on. I can see my monthly productivity and billings at a glance and keep my projects on budget. It is one of the easiest productivity apps I have ever had to learn. The interface is visually pleasing and beautifully simple and intuitive and they are always improving on it, which I love. To top it off, the customer service is fantastic and they actively try to accommodate user needs by offering forums where new app tools can be suggested and upvoted for implementation. I have tried all the other major apps (Asana, Monday, trello etc) and all had a steep learning curve, tons of superfluous (to me) functions and Paymo was the only one that had just what I wanted. Nothing more, nothing less.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I have been a Paymo user for over a year now and there is honestly nothing about it that I dislike. I look forward to seeing even more functionality in the future and will continue to enthusiastically recommend it to others.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am saving hours and hours that I used to spend manually tracking time with written time sheets and setting up invoices. I also now can see at a glance what invoices are outstanding so no unpaid bills ever slip through the cracks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 22, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Samuele C. avatar
Samuele C.
Freelance
Share
"All i need for time track, reports for my customers and so on."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Years ago i was looking to a time tracker that has a timesheet to track time. For my personal use this is a must have. Then it has customer management, reports that i use very often to calculate costs of projects.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Basically nothing. Maybe the app can be better... but personally i don't use.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking very easy. Reports for my customers is very simple. In my case i simplified my life (before i was using excel file shared with customers).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IG
Ilan G.
Ux. Ui. Motion. Design. Development.
Share
"Paymo day-to-day tasks software I use for years as an individual"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I use Paymo to manage: time, tasks, projects, clients, create time reports, look at my week/month/year statistics. It works great with RTL language. During the day I use a desktop app timer, that counts time spent for all my tasks. When I work outside the office I use a mobile app. Everything is completely synchronized, thus I never loose time.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Paymo has important features I could find useful for me like the Gantt Chart, but for extra money. I prefer not to pay since I don't find it necessary right now.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Since I started to use Paymo, it helps me see improvements in my management. I can see it through time reports, where I see time spent for each task. I can see it by most paying client who I can give more attention, gifts. I don't worry if I've forgotten to assign a time for some time, because I can simply include it by the end of the day, and when it's time to send the report to my client and receive payment.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MW
Marcus W.
Share
"A solution that help much more than it takes energy."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo balances well the need for input in relation to the output you need. It helps us save a lot of time and still keep track of the key parameters. We can plan our projects very efficiently!

What do you dislike about Paymo?

We miss the possibility to use the invoices and expenses, digitally connected to a bookkeeping system such as Fort Knox.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Preparing projects at an early stage so that we can send out quotations with a small effort. Keeping track of expenses related to projects. Invoicing. Planning time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LD
Larry D.
Share
"A Trusted Service that We've Relied on for Years"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo works well for our small business. It is reliable, easy to use and produces great reports and invoices. It makes time tracking a breeze and our detailed time reports means clients know exactly what we are billing for.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

In general, you do have to be disciplined to remember to "clock in" and "clock out" if you want to keep accurate records. But they make it quite easy (we use Macs for all our work). Monthly billing could be more automated -- but that's more of a wish than a dislike.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We bill by the hour (actually by the minute). Paymo makes it frictionless to enter our time as we do tasks throughout the day. The benefit is that when it is time to bill clients, there's no argument about how we spent our time -- it's all there for them to see. And we don't miss those "a few minutes here, a few minutes there" kind of tasks that can really add up over a month.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 18, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BW
Brian W.
Share
"A Game Changer"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo allows us to track time easily and provide monthly reports to clients, as well as include PayPal functionality for invoices. The Paymo team is quick to communicate when we have issues or feedback. Other similar products have tried to sell themselves to us but we tell them we’re 100% happy with Paymo.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The only improvement right now I’d like would be to convert monthly time reports into invoices for our clients who we invoice monthly for our hours.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Timekeeping. We’re able to look back at past projects to see the real time we invested in them to help make our new estimates as realistic as possible.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 18, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jack Joseph B. avatar
Jack Joseph B.
Founder And Owner
Share
"Easy. Organized. Effective."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo's seamless design makes project management easy. With a simple menu sideline, it is easy to access all that your business needs to run in an organized and efficient manner. It is easy to add users, manage your subscription plan, view and add clients. Paymo's project tab is where you can view, manage, and assign projects and tasks to any user. Collaboration is EASY. And I love Paymo's Accounting tab also. Invoicing, expense input, estimates, and even recurring invoicing has never been simpler. I like how I was able to start with the free plan, then once my business grew I was able to easily switch to a more expansive plan.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I wish that I could have used more invoices in the free plan, just to grow my business a little bit more before spending more, but I am loving the subscription plan I am on at the moment.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

With the project tab I am able to see all of my projects, whether they be complete, inactive, archived, etc. I am also able to view tasks and task lists in different ways that allow me to effectively organize and plan my work day. Invoicing has become easier, as I am able to assign a client to an invoice and have it sent directly to the client's email address. Since my business is mostly run by rates, Paymo's time tracking feature along with the app helps me effectively track my time to charge my clients with the most accurate price. This also helps me with time sheets and time reporting, allowing me to plan for future clients to completely maximize profit.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jonathan S.
Freelance Artist & Designer
Share
"Have been searching for something like Paymo for a long time, it has fit my needs perfectly."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Excellent Time tracking facilities, Project Management features & Quickbooks integration.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

No current external user access for projects. Mobile app whilst excellent could do with a little more functionality to bring it inline with the website experience, but as a simple time tracking application works flawlessly.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was looking for a solution like Paymo for a very long time. Prior to this I was using at least 3 services for project managment, time tracking & invoicing. Paymo's app, interface & the way it all integrates into one product is perfect for myself as a freelance Graphic Designer. I also use Quickbooks for invoicing and Paymo's integration with that is as seamless as can be. Support has been outstanding. The one remaining feature I am in need of is being able to grant external access for clients to view project progress/deliver links to proofs. I contacted support early on and was advised this feature is coming. In the few short months I have used Paymo there have already been several updates to the interface that have streamlined the experience further. Invaluable tool for me right now and couldn't recommend it enough.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LC
Luc C.
Share
"Using it since 2016 and every update makes me happier"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've been using this product since 2016 and did so in several ways. Every time an update is implemented it's surprises me on it's effectiveness. It just keeps running smoother and smoother. Besides that the tools in the app are nicely designed an clearly structured i like the (multiple) supporting apps to track time very useful. Also nicely integrated with other apps through API. It's just a great product.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

None really... I'm finding more and more ways to implement other workflows in there. My Getting things done method and trello (kanban) are easy to implement. Maybe a notetaking system to implement Zettelkasten (knowledgebase) in there aswell.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keep all data and info for a project in one place. But also keep it structured and clean.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RD
Robin D.
Designer & Front End Developer
Share
"I've relied on Paymo for years"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo manages to be fully featured and yet simple to use. It has also steadily evolved since the early days and I never have to worry that it's going to simply disappear on me one day. The support team is responsive and knowledgeable and their feature set perfectly meets my time tracking needs.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I wish there was a more robust reporting option for income and invoicing. Right now I don't use the invoicing feature at all because I find it's too clunky.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Paymo for tracking my time spent on various web design projects. I love that I can use it on multiple computers, that it just seamlessly tallies up everything I do and provides great stats to help me understand where my time is going. The desktop app has the invaluable "idle stop" feature, so that it notices if you wander off and forget to turn the timer off first. I just can't say enough good things about this service.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KE
Kate E.
Editor
Share
"Fantastic time tracker"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The widget almost never stops working, even if my internet cuts out, and when it does (which is not even once a month, and I use Paymo practically every day of the week), it is easy to restart or log off and on again to fix.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

It used to be the widget would indicate how many hours I had worked this week and they took that away and there's no way to restore it. However, there are a lot of far more important features.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping track of my time and how much has accumulated. When I had a virtual assistant, I could set up a report for her and it was easy for her to create bills with it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NK
Narender K.
Share
"Exactly what i needed!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo gives this with ease of use and great design. I highly recommend Paymo over any other project management programs, it is worth it! Project, Team and Invoice management and you can accept online payments using Stripe, PayPal and Payoneer

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Currency conversion is not available in invoices.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can generate invoice based on client and projects and can accept online payments.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Karolina Schilling - U. avatar
Karolina Schilling U.
Business Designer & Digital Consultant
Share
"I love Paymo, because..."
What do you like best about Paymo?

That I have a combination of time tracking AND invoicing. I've been looking long enough for such a tool and I wasn't satisfied with any of the others. But Paymo offers exactly this feature: best for freelancers.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The mobile app. Could have less features and better UX.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking AND invoicing. No export, same tool. Great!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BM
Breno M.
Share
"Excellent app for time tracking and much more"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Its interface is clean and intuitive. They always listen to costumers for support and suggestions. Its always evolving.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The billing is only in dollars, which is no good for user in other countries.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking is my main use, and it does it very well, even with many other amazing features.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chris O. avatar
Chris O.
Vice President Of Operations
Share
"Perfect for our CyberSecurity Consulting Firm"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo has the perfect amount of complexity for us. Not too much, not too little... it's just right. I love that I can assign projects and then view my resource allocation in the Team Scheduler. I also love that I can easily see the exact status of all our projects (by project lead or any number of things) and then drill into each project, each task, and as much detail as I'd like. I also like that, as a manager, I can use Paymo during my one on one meetings so that I can coach my team members effectively.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There is very little to dislike, but if I were nitpicking, there are only two user types... Admins and Users. Sometimes we need a bit more visibility for our managers but not so much visibility that they are admins. But, there are workarounds and for the price, Paymo is amazing.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Initially, we used Paymo for timekeeping but it morphed into our full project management system and our project resource allocation platform. Paymo has helped us track every aspect of our project efficiencies including saving us thousands of dollars on projects where we had underestimated the time that it was taking to complete fixed-price contracts.