Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Paymo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Paymo
What Paymo is best for?
How does Paymo compare to nTask?
What are the pros and cons of Paymo?
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 20, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NL
Natalie L.
Owner/Chief Design Officer
Share
"Time Tracking & Invoicing Savior. My business would not thrive without this tool."
What do you like best about Paymo?

I am constantly changing what projects I am working on throughout my day. I will start and stop my time for different clients as I switch from project to project. This software helps me keep it organized without having to think and at the end of the month I can look at how much time I have spent on each client and invoice for that time. I love making specialized reports as well. My business depends on this software. I also have to mention the support team! They are amazing and get right back to you.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The only thing I do not like is not having the option to include my project notes (or time stamp notes) within the invoice itself. It may be possible, but I just haven't found it yet.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am a sole proprietor so this software helps me bill out my time to my clients without having to hire an employee to take care of my finances. Its brilliant.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FC
Fields C.
Developer
Share
"Since becoming a full time freelancer it has helped me professionally manage my time and clients"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The dashboard time graph, tracking time on individual tasks, and the timesheet page.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There is not responsive design for the web app.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Being able to manage time for multiple projects and clients at the same time. Keeps everything organized.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PR
Paula R.
Creative Director
Share
"Great PM Software"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've used Paymo for years, I use the Project Management side of things and time everything! The report tools are great for sharing time records and costings with customers too.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I personally don't need the invoicing side of the software but I don't dislike anything.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time spent in each project on each task is critical for us as a business to get pricing right. I also like the dashboard for a quick overview on what time has been spent of, that week and month.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Facundo L. avatar
Facundo L.
Gestión De Comunicación Online
Share
"An indispensable ally"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo orders me, helps me to prioritize, to value my work, to structure my day, to manage my accounts, my time on projects, in short, is my assistant in all areas that need to cover as a freelancer. Every month is becoming more important.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would like to optimize the automation of some customized periodic reports.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

As I said, for my work it is very important to control how many hours I'm dedicating to each project, I solve the administrative issue and management reports that I introduce you to my clients monthly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
Danielle D.
Owner
Share
"A fantastic project management resource for small businesses!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I was attracted to Paymo because it's web-based, so I don't have to worry about working on-site at a location where I can't bring my business laptop, and has a user-friendly UI. It's turned out to be a massively helpful resource that I use to manage and organize all of my consulting contracts. Additionally the Kanban board option for prioritizing and managing tasks is one of my favorite new features--I use it (literally) every day.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Since I started using Paymo when it was free, I was less happy when they began charging for it, but given the site upgrades they've been pushing out, I understand and respect the apparent need for it. I only use about half the features on a regular basis, since I'm a REALLY small business, so it was annoying that my left navigation bar was always junked up with features I didn't utilize. However, now that the site supports a "grooming" of the nav bar so I can add or remove from viewing the things I want/don't want, I'm happier with it.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

This site solve my issues with project and task organization and accurately tracking my time. Once I started getting contracts on a regular basis and began working multiple companies' projects in one day, I really needed something to make it easy for me to switch from tracking time on one project to tracking time on another.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TN
Teele N.
Landscape Architect/Planner
Share
"Affordable and sufficient management with Paymo"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I like that Paymo helps me have a good overview of my projects and the tasks ahead or completed and at the same time give me information about used time.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I dislike that I can't see a kind of gantt chart which could show me all my project and their progress and milestones at the same time.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I do project management concerning plannings. I have seen that with Paymo it s much easier to give the tasks to my team and see how they are carried out and see that everything gets done.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Josh S.
Policy Analyst
Share
"Useful tracking service for hours"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo offers an intuitive service for tracking hours employees work. I have largely used Paymo as an employee, so I have spent most of my time logging hours on the website. You can track hours as you go by inputting hours directly or starting a timer that you stop when you have stopped working on that task.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The mobile app is not as easy to use or intuitive as the desktop site. I almost entirely use the website from my laptop instead, though I do have the app on my phone. I have rarely used the app because it is much easier to use the website outright.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I believe Paymo is used to track hours and maintain a record for payroll as well as simply to track the time employees spend on each task they are assigned. It offers a way for people to determine if someone is working too slowly on some areas of her/his job or if she or he is claiming more hours than seems reasonable. This is an area of Paymo I am, however, less familiar with as I mainly only track my own hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Emma R. avatar
Emma R.
Sr Accounting Manager
Share
"Switch to Paymo"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo is a very easy to use platform for time keeping services. It's user friendly, can be accessed from a smart phone when necessary, the ability to customize the time keeping reports are great. And the ability for the users to add notes to the tasks are even better. We are currently using this program for household staff time keeping and are looking to transition our business employees over to the program next.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

It would be great if they had a app for the smartphones. We worked around that by bookmarking the web address to the smart phones directly, but an app seems like the next logical step. Or maybe they have one and I just haven't found it yet.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time keeping for employees that are not all located in the same place. We need to recognize employees time while off premises running errands. And at times those errands are finished away from our business, this program allows users to track time without being tied to a time clock. Remote access was key for us.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HR
Howard V R.
President
Share
"Paymo Great for Our Consulting Business"
What do you like best about Paymo?

We have been using Paymo for more than 5 years in our electronic engineering consulting business. We love the way we can set up multiple projects with multiple tasks per project and track time per project and task, and then use the invoicing system to invoice our clients. We often work on multiple projects simultaneously and without it we would not be able to work as effectively or track our time as accurately. It also allows us to analyze our effectiveness and enables us to more accurately quote on future projects. Intuitive interface and easy to use

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Nothing to dislike about Paymo. Fulfills all our requirements

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Accurate time tracking Good project management Effective team collaboration

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DR
Delvair R.
Founder / Ceo
Share
"Everything works well"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo allow me to control each project adding custom or pre-configured task-lists and tasks. I use zanier to connect with my CRM, so everything works fine and integrated.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Pre scheduled cronograms would improve my capacity to preview future exceeded hours budget.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

With Paymo I can analyze my entire company performance and analyze inside project progress.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PA
Pelayo A.
Consultant
Share
"Great tool for independent contractors"
What do you like best about Paymo?

easy to learn, easy to use, great features

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I believe that the android version could be improved but the product is great

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can keep track of my hours, tasks and invoices and generate reports.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Sara C.
Freelance Web Designer & Developer
Share
"So useful, easy, complete"
What do you like best about Paymo?

It's easy to use, it comes with widget for your Mac or PC and with a mobile app, it does everything I needed for my freelancing business.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I had to switch back to the old version of the widget because the upgraded one wasn't so intuitive.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking work time for billing every worked minute to my clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CF
Chris F.
Multimedia Designer
Share
"Fast & accurate modern way of timekeeping for any contractor / freelancer"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The desktop app makes paymo easy to use across multiple computers and makes time keeping for multiple projects very easy to do. I like how I can easily add up all my time on a project which allows me to better estimate my pricing for future projects and clients, speeding up my proposal process.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Honestly, there is not very much to dislike... I could say I wish it was free or cheaper but knowing that someone is working just like I am on something they enjoy that provides a service for others would be an insult to myself.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can easily track time for small tasks which I never would have before since I was previously using pencil and paper for the most part to record my hours. With the desktop app its easy to make a new task and better forecast my time and therefore cost for my clients. I have realized how to utilize my time as a small business owner as well as my clients time more effectively.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Cortney M.
Operations Manager
Share
"Easy to use and highly effective "
What do you like best about Paymo?

The dashboard is easy and simple to navigate. The level of detail and depth that the users are able to assign in each project is amazing. With this program, we have been able to become completely paperless without any interruption to the high quality of service our customers have come to expect.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Sometimes there are too many options within a task and it can get a little too complicated...if you let it.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have been able to move our office to a paperless system using Paymo. In addition, assigning and keeping track of tasks for direct reports, is much smoother and requires less dialogue or follow-up, which can interrupt people's workflow. Being able to manage and keep track of our time has been priceless. When discussing performance reviews with employees, it's hard for them to argue with reports and charts as opposed to their manager's opinion of how efficiently they're working.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TE
Tamas E.
3 D Artist
Share
"Perfect for an artist"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Seeing the overall period of time. How i spent the day and how the month goes. With the downloaded app I can track my day without thinking about it. It helped me to see when I've spent too much time with unimportant things (social media or inspiration) With the desktop app every morning I just start the timer and ready to go :) Later the day I can finetune the tracked time if something wasn't tracked properly. Its nice to see if I was away from the computer and I can decide if i like to count that time for a project or not.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Because of the local law I can't use Paymo invoicing, with that everything could be solved in one place. Sometimes I feel the navigation between the projects is not the best, when I like to add time later for a project I need to switch to the desktop app, but this is minor thing.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Interesting to see how a project is divided to the inspirational - sketch - production - and final changes states, I'm learning from it every time I'm finishing a project! I realized I'm underestimating some projects and now I'm able to provide detailed statistics how different versions progressed and if clients should count with additional charge for the extra work I've made.