PostHog background blur
PostHog logo
PostHog
Product analytics, session replay, feature flags, A/B testing, data warehouse, CDP, surveys. PostHog does that.
4.4
(416)
by PostHog
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at PostHog?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PostHog Reviews & Product Details

PostHog Overview
What is PostHog?

PostHog is an open-source analytics platform designed to help software teams understand user behavior, improve products, and drive growth. It offers a suite of tools for event tracking, heatmaps, session recording, and feature flags, enabling developers and product managers to gain insights into how users interact with their applications.

Company PostHog
Year founded 2020
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
PostHog Categories on Findstack
PostHog Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, On-Premise Linux
Training Documentation
Languages English
PostHog Media
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
PostHog logo
416 PostHog Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 04, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DS
Desmond S.
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about PostHog?

After using MixPanel, migrating to Posthog has been one of the easiest ways of collecting analytics. Session replays are awesome

What do you dislike about PostHog?

No mobile app for me to set up alerts for certain actions

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Posthog helps me see how features are doing on the site and if they're causing users to fall off

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 03, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Henry K. avatar
Henry K.
Advisor
Share
"My Go-To for Geeky Analytics Fun"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Jumping into PostHog was like finding my tribe. It's got this vibe that's just... for devs, you know? The docs are a game-changer—clear, concise, and they actually make sense (a rare find in the dev world). It's like they've got your back before you even know you need it. And the people? Haven't jumped deep into the community pool yet, but the few splashes I've made? Super responsive. Feels good knowing there's help around the corner if you hit a snag.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

It's not all smooth sailing—hit a few bumps here and there. Nothing that made me want to jump ship, though. The crew behind PostHog seems to be on it, patching holes even before they become real problems. More specifically, had some issues with their feature flags. So I implemented my own instead.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

PostHog has been like finding a secret weapon in my coding arsenal. Before, understanding user interactions felt like guesswork, but now it's like having X-ray vision into how users engage with my projects. It cuts through the clutter, giving me crystal-clear insights that guide my decisions. No more piecing together analytics from different sources; PostHog brings it all under one roof, making my life a heck of a lot easier. It's not just about avoiding mistakes; it's about doubling down on what works, refining my approach, and delivering features that users actually want. This isn't just data for the sake of data; it's actionable intelligence that's supercharged my development process, saving me time, and boosting my confidence in every update I roll out. With PostHog, I'm not just coding; I'm creating with purpose, and that's been a game-changer.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CP
Clément P.
Share
"Posthog enjoyer"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Very easy to set up and to very good at identifying users in multiples sessions. I had a good experience with customer support after having an issue, submiting a bug and it being fixed in less than 24h.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

I had a few issues related to cohorts and analytics. I know my user fit the criteria but it was not being shown in the dashboard

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Knowing what our users do on the platform and how they interact. Rageclicks have shown to be a really usefull metrics. Session replays are also very good and easy to use

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 29, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Brandon S.
Share
"Indepth tool that's easy to get going"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Custom event capture system as a developer adds next level ability to track all sorts of events

What do you dislike about PostHog?

data pipelines system could be expanded, looks a little emtpy and unprofessional

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Help us understand how users use the UI instead of guessing or asking them question in a survey

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 14, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Hasan Hüseyin H. avatar
Hasan Hüseyin H.
Share
"The best all-in-one Analytics Tool"
What do you like best about PostHog?

I think the best about is Posthog is easy setup and fast dashboard setup. I saw the sessions in a minute. That was crazy

What do you dislike about PostHog?

The only thing I can complain about is website design. The righ suggestion panel is useful bot I dont like it show it opened everytime I login the posthog.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

We used to using 3 different tools but now we are only using posthog. Also, the free tier is great!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 03, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
D.
Devesh .
Share
"PostHog Review: Best Analytics tool"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Probably one of the best analytics tools out there, it automatically creates events if I didn't manually create any, based on the buttons on the webpage. Not just creating events but also gives insights right out of the box without any configuration on the dashboard. Integration just can be done with single line of code. The other best thing is Referring domain, I don't have to add UTM parameters manually it automatically detects the referring domain and gives a dashboard based on it. The session replays are also good to understand the user behaviour and know the edge cases that we might have missed while building. The toolbar is the best thing, let's us know which button has been pressed the most, is the CTA working or not also let's us A/B test using this. Last but not least, the free tier is just very generous and I love it.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

A bit overwhelming at the start, moving from google analytics it's not just very intuitive, but now that I've used it for a while I love it

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've been using Google Analytics and Clevertap for a while and having two different dashboards for doing the same thing(understand user behaviour) was a bit painful, we found two options posthog and one more similar but posthog was best for our use case as we need session replays as well because we had a lot of edge cases and we knew we were missing out on lot of users because of the error cases.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IM
Ian M.
Share
"Incredibly accessible for small projects"
What do you like best about PostHog?

I wanted something similar to Amplitude, which I've used professionally. I'm a big fan, and I'm glad to have found PostHog. It does the same things, plus more. The interface is intuitive. API and docs are well designed. I don't feel limited on the base plan.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Honestly, I can't find any downsides as of yet. I'm not working with it at scale just yet, and it meets my needs as a single-handed business.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Mainly, I wanted to know how my ads were funneling in customers, and what their actions were on my app. With PostHog I was able to identify breakages in my email system, and prioritize my feature roadmap, using real data.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TJ
Tom J.
Share
"Really like it, absolute dream to use coming over from Google Analytics"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Super easy to integrate, server side compatibiity and the screen recording and A/B features are a bonus.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Not much! I did get caught out a few times with the dashboards though and having to click the reload button to get the latest data, that wasn't obvious and it be nice if it reloaded when I come to the page. Especially when I created a real time dashboard, that'd be great if updated in actual real time. Other than that so far so good!

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easily capture all our analytics, quickly and easily on both front and back end. Saves dev time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DM
Daniel M.
Share
"Major Boost in Development Accuracy"
What do you like best about PostHog?

The amount of tools to measure user behavior, and also the overall friendliness towards modern web development tools and languages.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

the lack of dark mode and the steep learning curve for new users that are maybe less tech-savy users.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Utilizing Posthog for my product's analytics has been a game-changer. It's like having a crystal ball that reveals exactly what my users want and how they interact with each feature. Every click, every navigation path, and every user preference is captured, analyzed, and transformed into actionable insights. This has empowered me to make each update more user-centric than ever. The session replay feature is like a window into the user's world, showing me where they struggle and thrive. It’s a bit like being a digital detective, piecing together clues to perfect the user experience. A/B testing used to be a shot in the dark, but now, with Posthog, it's a strategic tool that lets me experiment with confidence, knowing that I'm basing decisions on solid data. The result? My product has evolved into something that not only meets but anticipates user needs, making every feature release feel like a hit. It’s more than just analytics; it's a roadmap to user satisfaction.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cosi L. avatar
Cosi L.
Founder
Share
"Finally a friendly and feature-filled analytics platform"
What do you like best about PostHog?

I love the session replay to debug user workflows, I love how much data it collects

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Dashboards and graphs are a nightmare to make, it's difficult to understand how to wire everything up

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed a comprehensive suite of web analytics that wasn't Google Analytics

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DB
Derrick B.
Share
"I've used PostHog for a bit and I can see myself using it for every future project when I can"
What do you like best about PostHog?

I really like that PostHog is developer friendly. Everything about it makes me love using it. It's very very easy to integrate in my projects and the documentations are top notch.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Hmm, I think there's a lot of features that I haven't had the time to explore them fully.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

We really wanted a way to track different aspects about our users including if they accomplish various tasks or events.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Benoît E. avatar
Benoît E.
Investisseur
Share
"My go-to tool for analytics"
What do you like best about PostHog?

First I love the features the tool offer. Then, the simplicity of implementations and integrate with other tools. And the ability to create custom insights based on a lot of properties is crazy! Great tool

What do you dislike about PostHog?

I would like to see the heatmap without going to the live page.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Thanks to Posthog I do not need 10 tools to make : analytics, heatmap, AB tests & dashboarding. Just one (and great) tool.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AZ
Amit Z.
Software Engineer
Share
"Intuitive tool which assist multiple roles"
What do you like best about PostHog?

The intuitive it is built The JS npm package which made it easy to integrate The Slack channel we have with the PH team that provides fast help and support The fast development of the product (for example surveys feature)

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Replays sometimes appear broken Managing multiple projects causes links to break

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

First of all, using the A/B testing we are using it as sort of a CMS. This enables multiple roles to collaborate and ship product changes without needing developers. Second of all, we create product charts there to measure features' effectiveness after rollout and make decisions based on that Third, We are also using it to troubleshoot issues with the Sentry integration

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LM
Luke M.
Software Engineer
Share
"The missing link between your product and your users"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Onboarding and setting up my PostHog instance was a piece of cake. Configuring my application to identify users and provide contextually relevant information to PostHog about the actions they were performing in my app went smoothly. I really love the session replay feature. It's honestly incredible to see exactly what my users are seeing, and to get feedback within the app with the new surveys feature. I'm confident that PostHog will 10x our customer support as well as they try and help users who run into issues.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

It's pretty hard to dislike anything about the tool, at this point. If I have to provide critique, it seems like most of the dashboard templates and default insights are only relevant to SaaS companies, not companies building internal tooling for their employees.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

Consistently, we've had internal issues bridging the gap between engineering and our end-users. Additionally, we have not equipped our support team with the tools they need to make a maximum impact on addressing issues. PostHog offers a solution to both. We can now see with granular detail exactly how our users are using our products, what they like and don't like about it, and track all of it over time. And, our support team has a place to go and consult when something goes unexpectedly for a user.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ryan N. avatar
Ryan N.
Staff Engineer
Share
"Posthog has been a valuable and cost effective tool"
What do you like best about PostHog?

Generous limits and features on the free tier.

What do you dislike about PostHog?

Some areas are overwhelming. The documentation is robust though.

What problems is PostHog solving and how is that benefiting you?

They provide me valuable analytic and replay information.