Mixpanel background blur
Mixpanel logo
Mixpanel
Advanced User Analytics Simplified
4.6
(1,091)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Mixpanel?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Mixpanel Reviews & Product Details

Mixpanel Overview
What is Mixpanel?

Mixpanel is an analytics platform used by companies to improve user engagement and boost retention through features such as behavior tracking, funnel analysis, and A/B testing with the intent of streamlining the user experience.

Company Mixpanel, Inc.
Year founded 2009
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, CA, USA
Social Media
Managed by:
NS
Nilan Saha
Founder
Mixpanel Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Mixpanel
What Mixpanel is best for?
How does Mixpanel compare to Kissmetrics?
What are the pros and cons of Mixpanel?
Mixpanel Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Training Documentation
Languages English
Mixpanel Features
A/B Testing
API Access
Anomaly detection
Automated Insights
Behavioral Analytics
Churn Analysis
Cohort Analysis
Conversion Tracking
Cross-device Tracking
Custom Dashboards
Custom Event Creation
Data Import/Export
Data Visualization
Event Tracking
Funnel Analysis
Goal Tracking
Heatmaps
Integrations
Mobile Analytics
Multi-Channel Attribution
Predictive Analytics
Real-Time Analytics
Reporting and Data Export
Retention Analysis
SQL Querying
Segmentation
User Feedback Collection
User Journey Mapping
User Profiles
User Tracking
Mixpanel Media
Mixpanel 0
Mixpanel 1
Mixpanel 2
Mixpanel 3
Mixpanel Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 20, 2024
Mixpanel logo
1,091 Mixpanel Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Mixpanel is a great addition to our analytics stack"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

We have an internal tool that collects user action data but it can't chart. By sending our data to Mixpanel, I can easily chart our data, make comparisons, set up dashboards, trigger alerts, etc.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

The learning curve at the beginning was a bit high, but once that was figured out (thanks to help docs and support team), we were good to go.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

The problem that we're solving with Mixpanel is getting a better, more holistic view of what our users are doing as a part of various cohorts. Having this data allows us to make better, more strategically focused decisions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Modular and simply customisable - The perfect board for a data-driven product team!"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

The modularity of data visualisation is pretty exceptional. It is easy to work with our technical team, and then even easier to pull the right metrics for our products if you aren't familar with SQL.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

There is nothing I actively dislike about Mixpanel, it is a pretty solid experience and everything worked as it should. I think generating filter sets could be an area of the UX to improve.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Visualising of Product metrics across multiple product teams without SQL or Techincal dependency. Helping us keep up as we grow into being a data-driven product culture.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"all recent updates made Mixpanel very user friendly"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

The panel on the left hand side while creating graphs

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

I think I'm still somewhat limited in the visualization of data and the creation of dashboards.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Usage related insights of our app and web platform. Helping the dev team with backlog idea's

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"A must have for product analytics"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

As a developer, I find it easy to use Mixpanel for collecting events. Viewing the collected events on their web app is also a very good experience. They handle large amounts of data quite well. Really like how easy it is to filter the events too!

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Sometimes, and this is very minor/nitpicky, it takes a few minutes to see the events collected on the web app. In other words, if an event has just occurred and I refresh the events list, mostly it appears within seconds but I've seen it take a couple of minutes too occasionally. But I don't think that would bother most people.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Product analytics mainly, find out how a certain feature is being used, whether it's helpful or not, things like that. Helps us make decisions based on the data collected.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"It provides detailed analysis but at times difficult to plot visualisations"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

detailed user journey & analysis of product

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

takes time to understand how to use vs tools like GA

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

trying to get user insights & product analytics. helped us understand the behaviour of or user

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"MixPanel review"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

The event stream raw data is insightful. The +X -X steps in the flow report

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Its not trivial to associate MixPanel with user-defined events.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Usability issues. Identify flows in the App that doesn't work

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Mixpanel is an excellent Analytics tool. In most cases it would be my first choice"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

Very intuitive, easy to use. Yet includes a ton of advanced features ava capabilities for expect analysts.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Not good at tracking time between events

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use it to track an analysts user behavior for websites and apps

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"A Handy Dashboard"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

Dashboard making is fun with this tool, especially when it loads fast and provides real-time data for making any business decisions. The UI is excellent, and the chart visualizations are decent. It also gives you the functionalities to define your metric by writing SQL queries which can be further added to the dashboards.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

The support system seems to be weak, and sometimes data discrepancies happen in the mixpanel and the own data warehouse. Sometimes it can be prolonged with large datasets for generating reports.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

The reports and visual dashboard are very helpful in taking daily decisions and it helps in funnel tracking and user behaviour very easy through this.It is helping the startups like us in taking data driven decisions at every point and running the business efficiently. It has reduced the effort in making any dashboard for decision purpose and is very easy to integrate into application.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"I use Mixpanel almost everyday to perform my job as a PM. It was really easy to learn how to use it."
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

Easy to learn how to use. I can create limitless boards and reports.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

It doesn't have an automatic cluster feature: detect similar usage patterns and cluster users with similar behaviors together.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Track and analyze user behavior. We also use it to obtain our KPRs.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"I like the user interface, I like the way it looks and it's pretty easy to use..."
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

Smooth UX, colors look good, all your data is centralised and you can filter by several properties.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Some words are hard to understand especially when built by other team members but this is not MP's fault...

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gathering data across our platform and making sure it's shared across teams.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Ease of understanding my users!"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

My work involves understanding customer behavior and how users are using my product. The analytics feature is what benefits the most.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

A little better UI for web app could go a long way. In today's world, we have various product-based SaaS companies that have very impressive and intuitive UI.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

I perform various analyses of the users using our products. This analysis helps our product team in doing a better/effective outreach with our latest releases.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"A Great Web Analytics Tool"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

Mixpanel has a very simple UX which makes it easy to use for beginners. It provides a lot of useful insights about the user visiting your website like where they are located, which browser they are using to access the website, number of sessions per day, length of each user session. It also provides some very useful reports like user retention reports, frquency reports and much more. Overall a great product for web analytics.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Nothing at the moment. Does eveything that it's supposed to do perfectly.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using it for tracking user sessions and user flows across the product. Also helps in troubleshooting errors.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Easy-to-create dashboards"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

It's super easy to create reports and add them to a dashboard to share relevant product insights. Developers have even used it to detect bugs!

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

It takes a decent amount of time to implement the hooks. However, all tracking tools require this. I wish we could track more than the interaction on the page (e.g. tie in user info from another product)

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

With Mixpanel, we don't need to pull data manually from a large database. It saves significant time

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Mixpanel Review"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

I like how straightforward it is to set up dashboards and specific event analytics. It's a very intuitive process for the most part, and the variety of report options give a good breadth of things to analyze.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

I'm still somewhat confused about different types of properties -- user, event, superproperties, etc... Would be nice to have more clarity on what types of properties should be used for different situations.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are trying to get more clarity on typical user interactions with our products by implementing analytics for different stages of the user flow. It's given us more insight into areas where we need to focus more resources.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Valuable Tool for Customer Success Teams"
What do you like best about Mixpanel?

The UX/UI of Mixpanel is very intuitive. Various departments are able to access user event data without any knowledge of the backend configuration. My Customer Success team has saved reports to easily access event metrics that are critical to our health scoring model.

What do you dislike about Mixpanel?

Although Mixpanel is great for viewing event data in aggregate, it does not provide an easy way to view user data within a given session. Other analytics tools are better at identifying an individual user and viewing the paths/events by session.

What problems is Mixpanel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Developing event-based metrics to analyze user activation. Influence product roadmap based on usage analysis. Share valuable insight of user behavior in product marketing comms.