SonicWall VPN Clients background blur
SonicWall VPN Clients logo
SonicWall VPN Clients
4.2
(143)
by SonicWall, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at SonicWall VPN Clients?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

SonicWall VPN Clients Reviews & Product Details

SonicWall VPN Clients Overview
What is SonicWall VPN Clients?

The SonicWall Global VPN Client provides user-level VPN access from any Windows-based device. The platform supports multiple profiles confused and saved for easy and speedy access to various remote sites across numerous network configurations. The SonicWall Global VPN can also be set up to run on the start-up of Windows so that it automatically connects to a VPN connection for faster access.

Company SonicWall, Inc.
Year founded 1991
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Milpitas, California, United States
Social Media
SonicWall VPN Clients Categories on Findstack
SonicWall VPN Clients Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
SonicWall VPN Clients Features
Dashboard
Firewall
Antivirus
Content Filtering
Whitelists
Web Filtering
Antispam Filtering
Reports & Analytics
Logging and Reporting
Concurrent Sessions
Policy Management
Continuous Analysis
Intrusion Detection
URL Filtering
Availability
SonicWall VPN Clients Media
SonicWall VPN Clients 0
SonicWall VPN Clients 1
SonicWall VPN Clients 2
SonicWall VPN Clients 3
SonicWall VPN Clients Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
SonicWall VPN Clients logo
143 SonicWall VPN Clients Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great firewall - hard to configure"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Sonicwall is an extremely powerful firewall. The level of customization is almost without limit. The feature that I mostly use everyday is setting up static IPs and dynamic IPs. I also use the deep packet inspection because it work beautifully and it allows me to control all the traffic and it also helped me troubleshoot some port issues.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The level of customization being without limit makes it also extremely complex for simple tasks. I had to set up port forwarding and opening ports, and it was a real nightmare to find what I was looking for.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it to prevent any unauthorized access to our data and also use the VPN feature that works beautifully. We very rarely encounter issues with our users not being able to access our network remotely.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"No complaints"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Easy remote access when I need to check my work email

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Sometimes doesn’t load properly the first time

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

I just use it as a login portal to my Remote Desktop

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 12, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Dell SonicWall is a pretty good VPN solution"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

I use Dell SonicWall NetExtender and SonicWALL Global VPN. In my current role, I need to connect to dozens of different customers using multiple VPN clients. What I like about SonicWall is that it "plays nicely" with my other VPNs. There are some VPN clients I use that require me to disconnect for all other VPNs which is not practical for me. SonicWall allows me to connect and stay connected even when connecting and disconnecting from others. That's a big plus for me.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

I dislike that many times after disconnecting from the VPN, it doesn't always release the connection or it tries to reconnect automatically. When it gets like that, the only solution for me is to reboot. Releasing the IP or flushing the DNS has no impact.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using the SonicWall VPN has solved connectivity issues to some of my customers. Before the VPN solution was enabled, I needed to do a WebEx with the customer when I needed to connect but was not able to make an ODBC connection to their site via WebEx. With the SonicWall VPN, I can connect to my customer's SQL Server via ODBC and take care of their issue.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 28, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Decent small to medium sized business"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

VPN functionality is pretty good. Throughput is decent on this device, does not slow internet down significantly. IPS and logging are great Site to Site VPN (IPSEC) Stable Firmware can auto update Backup settings are reliable Device is pretty easy to setup, I like the way the networks are setup, intuitive interface for multiple WAN connections.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The vpn should have web interface to log in by now. Product should have a little more of a security dashboard available. I would like a dash board that shows number of threats blocked per service, IPS, gateway anti virus and malware protection. Show me that the device is providing some ROI Subscription is a little expensive for a small business for all of the services. Renewal should have some way to email me like 90 days out so I'd know to plan to renew services. It seems like we find out too late to get renewal ready.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Site to site connectivity has been achived IPSEC dial up VPN has been helpful. Remote administration has complete interface.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Very odd way of setting up rules. If you forget to add a specific object, you need to redo the rule."
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Cheaper option compared to other brands. Reliable way to do certain content filtering.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

If you forget to add a specific object, be it an address object or service object, you need to close the rule creator, add the object and start creating the rule from scratch again.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

It does basic firewalling stuff well. Content filtering, NATting, IPSec, and it has a local netflow collector to monitor the top talkers and top sites.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Ok Firewall, does what it is supposed to"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Relatively cheap appliance for most uses, easy port listing

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Management interface could be better, note I have not used SonicOS 7 yet, but the 6.x versions are difficult for me to use

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

A good firewall and gateway appliance with decent content filtering. Stops what needs stopped

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Long on Features, low on ease of use"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The two sonicwall firewall/security appliances my institution has used have both had some exceptional features and capabilities for their price range. We had some very astonishing experiences using these devices in terms of the safety and convenience that is offered by Sonicwall appliances.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Customer service from the Sonicwall technical support staff has been lacking since day 1, especially when utilizing their customer sales support staff recommendation for a replacement device when our first appliance failed in the middle of service year 7.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Sonicwall appliances offer a wide array of very functional and useful security features for network administration and subdivision, as well as a comprehensive filter, firewall, and other services for administering networks.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"SonicWall hasn't been the same since Dell bought them"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

SonicWall device performs well to distribute our network load for our office over 2 upstream providers.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

SonicWall used to be lean and mean - since being purchased by Dell it hasn't seem to be moving as quickly.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Given that most websites are moving to HTTPS, the content protection afforded by the SonicWall is mostly useless unless you turn on DPI-SSL -- and that brings with it other issues (cpu load, deploying the local RootCA, etc)