Basecamp background blur
Basecamp Logo
Basecamp
Streamlined project management.
4.1
(5,257)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Basecamp Reviews & Product Details

Basecamp Overview
What is Basecamp?

Basecamp has evolved as a project management platform since its launch in 2004 but its mission to help remote teams stay organized, productive, and efficient remains. One new feature that Basecamp recently added is called Basecamp Hill – a visual representation that divides the component of a project into a phase of uncertainty, unknowns, and problem-solving (uphill) and a phase of certainty, confidence, and execution (downhill). This is on top of Basecamp’s core features which include a Message Board, To-dos, Calendar, Documents and Files, Group Chat, and Automated Check-ins. It’s a top-down and bottom-up platform for everyone in a business or organization – from proprietors and C-level executives to project managers and individual team members.

Company Basecamp, LLC
Year founded 1999
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Chicago, Illinois, United States
Social Media
Basecamp Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Basecamp
What Basecamp is best for?
How does Basecamp compare to Asana?
What are the pros and cons of Basecamp?
Basecamp Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Basecamp Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Excellent for schedule and to-do list management
  • Automatic check-ins and group chat for remote work
  • Helpful message board
  • Useful for finding crucial documents
  • Easy and customizable environment
Cons
  • Requires third-party integration for time tracking
  • Features need to be a bit more flexible to achieve better functionality
Basecamp Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Basecamp Media
Basecamp 0
Basecamp 1
Basecamp 2
Basecamp 3
Basecamp 4
Basecamp 5
Basecamp Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 12, 2024
Basecamp Logo
5,257 Basecamp Reviews
4.1 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mauro P. avatar
Mauro P.
Campanhas Latam & North America Prestação De Serviços
Share
"The best! Complete and limitless."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

I have used Basecamp in my company for over a decade and love it. A complete tool with powerful add-ons where we put all the processes and tasks from the company in: from projects organization to HR announcements, training and procedures. Today I manage more than 100 projects in parallel using Basecamp in a very organized way. It's great that the plan does not charge for every new user or project, it's limitless! For the volume of projects we have, it would be unviable to pay for each project or user (because we are a small company with lots of projects). Everything you need on a simple license and that's simply great.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

Some suggestions for the future of Basecamp from a daily user who loves the tool: The Campfire tool might be improved to accept audio and GIFs, especially for quick audio sent on a mobile phone. Also, it would be great to have a tab of all active Campfires (just like Whatsapp Web), where you can easily focus the conversations in one single browser window. Today, I can't fully substitute Whatsapp or Slack with Campfire (and it would be great if possible, in case of Campfire became more robust as a tool). Maybe even having a separated mobile app for Campfire, with usability focused on chat (as whatsapp), but integrated with the Basecamp projects, so we can keep all the corporate conversations on a unique tool. That would be perfect. The new kanban tool is pretty cool but might be better integrated with to-do lists (like the Tracked Add-ons), instead of having each card not connected to the task-list (or you use one or another). Also, Tracked has the tagging system that is very useful and for sure could be implemented on native Basecamp. When the native tool was launched, I thought I would be able to substitute Tracked add-on, but I could not. Also, it would be great if time tracking could be a native tool, without the need of hiring expensive add-ons (charged per user) to do the project's time tracking. Also, a native Gantt chart tool would be nice! :)

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Organization and project management.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rakesh B. avatar
Rakesh B.
Project Manager
Share
"A versatile tool for Project Management"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Base camp is a versatile product for collaboration, project management and its planning. The interface of Basecamp is so easy to navigate. My favorite thing about this product is automation with Zapier. It automates task progress tracking and creating documents record, which helps me save a lot of time. Assigning tasks to any onboard user is easy.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

There is not much customization option in the dashboard to design them according to specific projects.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our project planning and execution have become unified by using Basecamp as it helps us to create a roadmap for our projects. Additionally, it has allowed us to collaborate and work more productively while working outside the office. Using the profile search ability I'm able to assign tasks to coworkers directly from the dashboard.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Raavi M. avatar
Raavi M.
Hr Manager
Share
"Simple, Clean and Best Project Management Tool out there"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Quick to create a project and add the required team members through invites without having too many people around. I love how I can schedule and set a reminder and sync my Google account Working in an advertising agency is exhausting, but a project management tool like Basecamp is beneficial with so many clients. I love how quickly I can share and notify the project updates out of my organization.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

There are sometimes too many notifications flooding in my inbox, and after the due date, it daily reminds. But overall, I have no significant dislikes

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

The Basecamp app is one of the best ways to keep track of and update all projects we're working with. It allows us access through boards and a calendar view, which helps provide visibility for changes happening within our product and keeps employees informed about any updates or new information coming out related. We are relying heavily upon this tool because it enables efficient management over each team member's task list within these various types/projects they may have been assigned -you'll never miss out again if your company needs some fresh ideas or just wants better communication between teams members

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nicholas D. avatar
Nicholas D.
Marketing
Share
"Amazing Product Management Tool"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Super easy to use and navigate. The API that we have integrated with has a lot of benefits that really help us manage our workloads across multiple teams. We've tried using other platforms such as Trello - which is good, but it has a very steep learning curve for the team and does require a lot of patience to get going

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

For the price, there are too few features that other competitors have. When a new feature is announced, it typically takes a long time for it actually to be implemented.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

The first is project management and organization. We are using this to help increase productivity between our teams. The second is for client approval - Basecamp has really good feature to allow for client approval/comments

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 30, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PD
Piper D.
Ict Infrastructure Administrator
Share
"Excellent customer support and a great tool to manage projects."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Basecamp a is fully featured application that allow the company to develop projects, assign task and share them in real time. It's helps to keep all communication in one central place. Customer support is excellent and they are available on major online platforms.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

We have only experienced minor outages so far . No big issues reported and the one we have experienced the support team has been able to sort them.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basecamp is flexible tool for team collaboration. Able to track and monitor tasks and manage multiple projects. Reliable support team and their payment plan is very flexible.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Clover M.
Investment Analyst
Share
"Basecamp offers solid features for effective project management."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Multiple projects can be created and monitored using this application. Teams can easily collobarate on different projects very easily and aslo it offers seamless communication between team members and clients. Reports can be easily be analyzed and aslo they have a good support team.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

They should add videos conferencing feature for effective communication.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basecamp has been reliable in our projects management either simple or complex. We are able to customize it to fit in our projects requirements and aslo it's easy create and assign tasks.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MD
Mudasir D.
Recruitment Team Lead
Share
"Basecamp- the project management tool"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Basecamp is a one stop shop for organizations, we can use basecamp for different project managments, chatting with our team members, add to do tasks and monitor the regular activities, check in s and check out etc

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

on Basecamp we cannot essentially add new team members to our existing chat threads

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basecamp provides all tools at the organizational level. It acts as task management, project management, tracking system and internal chatting and lean project creations

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CF
C F.
Assistant To Head Of Marketing And Head Of Artist Development
Share
"A great source for cataloguing and tracking projects for yourself and a larger team"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

I love the flexibility that is offered within the software. I am able to easily toggle between projects and track the progress made.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

There could be potential for a "docking option". It would be nice to set some things I am working on off to the side (but not out of view) while looking at other pages.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves several organizational issues and keeps various tasks streamlined. I also love the ability to interact with colleagues on projects and provide feedback.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LH
Lewis H.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Great Tools For Both Collaboration and Project Management!"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Currently, I use Basecamp to plan out my monthly tasks and mark off the things I have completed. A live spreadsheet that several users may update in real time is also helpful. I like how the dashboard provide a summary of the data. The system is well-organized and user-friendly; you may filter and see information based on your search criteria.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

Subtasks, time tracking, and global visibility across numerous projects are among the fundamental characteristics that are not present. Additional integrations are required to meet conventional project management criteria.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

It enables me to keep track of the project's progress on a daily basis and categorize it into various sub-categories that aid in project organization at various stages.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HS
Harper S.
Accounts Clerk
Share
"Easy to use and comprehensive project management platform."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Basecamp is a flexible program with a distinctive design. The ability to collaborate with colleagues in a particular project is a great feature. Team members can communicate in real time either on chat or post a message on board. It aslo offer the best pricing model out there

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

The application has so much to offer. It's has not disappointed us so far. No dislike.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basecamp is very effective tool for project management. Their pricing is very good. Easy to collaborate on projects and aslo to share tasks. Aslo we are able to track the history of each project very well.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 30, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VS
Vishvjit S.
Web Developer
Share
"Best tool for project management and also for team communication."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

The thing about basecamp is that when you start using it you don't need any guidance on how to use it, basecamp provides the best UI/UX. it's very useful to organize my work while I am working on different projects. also very useful to communicate with your colleagues.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

The only thing that I dislike about basecamp is that in the android basecamp application sometimes it doesn't give me a notification everything except that is top-notch for me.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Every day it helps me to keep track of what I have to do and also helped a lot with managing my work-related data it makes my whole team more productive and boosted my efficiency.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FK
Filip K.
Project Manager
Share
"Best project managament tool"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

It is easy to use and flexible - I can cooperate with my clients in one app.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

Lack of polish language. It would be easier for my clients to switch language.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basecamp is the proper managament tool for several projects, it can be a messenger, todo list, knowledge base in one.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Annabeth M. avatar
Annabeth M.
Co Founder
Share
"Excellent platform for great work management"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Basecamp is everything I needed to make my work experience much more enjoyable, it simplifies various procedures through its simple functions, I have tried similar tools and they do not make the workflow easier, but much more complicated. I like its interface, it's intuitive, simple, safe, and easy to use. Configuring and adapting the functions of the right tools to what I need for my work is essential and Basecamp certainly offers me this. It is totally flexible, and I can access it from wherever I want with easy access. It allows me to classify the tasks and build a guide with various details, which offers me the possibility of being bold enough in labor management and facilitating the entire process of projects and teamwork.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

So far Basecamp is a tool that flows perfectly and has served us as I have needed it, if there is something that I cannot solve, customer support is there to help solve it.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

One of the best benefits that we have obtained from Basecamp has been the best teamwork and optimization in the workflow, where labor productivity has increased and has helped us to better converge in the projects and increase our success rate always from a collaborative perspective. Basecamp is the perfect guide that we use every day to follow our commercial objectives and follow commercial tasks to the letter.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mogadala T. avatar
Mogadala T.
Tech Analyst
Share
"Excellent Tool for Task Management & Project Coordination"
What do you like best about Basecamp?

Basecamp is one of the best tools for Project Management. It help is managing the tasks inside each project and assign the task to all my team members along with the due date.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

Due to some technical reason, the basecamp will down without any notice, which will be difficult for us to manage the tasks which are in pipeline.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps in tracking the tasks inside the projects with all my team members along with the due date. We can even get daily emails on the task which we need to perform today along with due dates. Even it shows the due date for some of the tasks before the deadline which helps us to align the deadlines inside the Projects.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PJ
Priyanka J.
Web Developer
Share
"Easy to track all the tasks, very helpful in managing work."
What do you like best about Basecamp?

I like the listing of Activities it is very helpful to check the task status at the end of the.

What do you dislike about Basecamp?

Everything is fine but the membership plan is high.

What problems is Basecamp solving and how is that benefiting you?

While working on multiple projects keeping track of everything is difficult, basecamp is very helpful to track.