Grasshopper background blur
Grasshopper logo
Grasshopper
4.0
(146)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Grasshopper?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Grasshopper Reviews & Product Details

Grasshopper Overview
What is Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is a convenient tool that empowers businesses with a complete virtual phone system. The solution helps keep costs as low as possible, which is why the platform is preferred by freelancers and solopreneurs. Grasshopper also allows users to choose from various phone number options. With Grasshopper, users can save money on communication while ensuring that you’re backed by professional and sophisticated communication technology that helps boost your brand.

Company LogMeIn, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Boston, MA, United States
Social Media
Grasshopper Categories on Findstack
Grasshopper Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Grasshopper Features
Browser Extension
Phone Calls
VOiP Number
Individual Download
Desk-to-Desk Calls
Hold Music
Automated Attendants
Software Pairing
Grasshopper Media
Grasshopper 0
Grasshopper 1
Grasshopper 2
Grasshopper 3
Grasshopper 4
Grasshopper 5
Grasshopper Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 19, 2024
Grasshopper logo
146 Grasshopper Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
RK
Robert K.
Share
"Grasshopper was ok"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It was easy to sign up and get the phone number forwarded.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

When switching numbers, there was a huge delay in when the forwarding would actually become active. Features to ring certain numbers at certain times was confusing and time intensive.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

There was no resolution.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
Mike L. avatar
Mike L.
Founder
Share
"Grasshopper truly is the Entrepreneurs Phone System! But not once you start growing."
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

We like how easy it was to get up and going and how easily you can manage your users, extensions and settings.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I do not like how there many times is high latency that causes a delay in talking with users on the system.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

It did allow us to have a PBX system in a very short period of time and was very cost effective.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 09, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
Lydia B. avatar
Lydia B.
Coo & Lead Photography Teacher
Share
"Glitchy app"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Ability to use a different number than my own.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

The app is glitchy. Some text messages get archived before I've read them. The mobile app doesn't sync properly with the website.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having a business phone number that isn't my cell number.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
JB
Jesika B.
Owner
Share
"Not a fan"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It has a fair amount of flexibility once you learn how to use it. You can record your own messages or use their editor. It's fairly easy to make your own greeting.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Not great customer support, it's rather expensive, and it offers nothing unique. My one experience with support was less than stellar as the woman sounded like she was 12 and had zero knowledge of the system. It was incredibly frustrating.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

We actually just switched from Grasshopper to RingCentral, so we are bundling our need for individual numbers for VOIP with web demo software, thus replacing both Grasshopper and gotomeeting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 17, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Steve W. avatar
Steve W.
Director
Share
"Seems to be a little left behind in the race."
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It works... mostly, and once setup is easy to just carry on using. It does what it says on the tin, but it's a small tin.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Functionality is lacking compared to competitors and the interface has room for improvement. Help documentation is lacking and support is embarrassingly slow.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using Grasshopper as a Virtual PBX to route calls to staff in multiple locations.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
Dennis . avatar
Dennis .
Pilot
Share
"Poor Tech Support. Inbox not always accurate!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Very affordable. I like that they have an app that you can use to access your voicemails and texts.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Accuracy of the Inbox is VERY poor. Their tech support has told me that the app will log out automatically after not using for a while. The problem is there is no indication to the user. When they open up the app again, it shows several voicemails in the Inbox, but they are not all really there! This is very confusing to my users. Every other app that I have will automatically update the Inbox upon opening, or refreshing. Grasshopper does not. I strongly dislike this aspect! I may look for an alternative to this service.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

More graphical interface than calling in to retrieve audio voicemails.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 09, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
CS
Caspar S.
Managing Director & General Counsel
Share
"Unable to sign in to android mobile app; support useless"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Looks simple and easy to administer online

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Numerous attempts to make mobile app work failed despite three different solutions proposed by help desk. The mobile app is required to make outgoing calls on the number so the system is useless to me without it.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Trying to direct incoming calls to a central number and distribute them to people with various mobile numbers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Greg P. avatar
Greg P.
Share
"NO SECURITY CHANGE SERVICE IMMEDIATELY!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Adequate service. Most companies require some level of security to change primary information... Not this company.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

No Security. All anyone needs to steal your account and phone number is your credit card information. They will not return the service or business phone number back to you without a court order.They send an email to inform you that your information and account email was changed, but never sent one prior to authorization. Move your number while you can!

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

NONE!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Dan L. avatar
Dan L.
Programmer
Share
"Lied about refund!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is a great service ... until you cancel. Then ... not so much!

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I cancelled my account and requested a refund as they withdrew $464.78 from my account on June 25th, 2022. I called on that date and they confirmed a refund. Fast forward to July 02, 2022, and the rep had no record of a refund OR a cancelled account. He stated he would process the cancellation and refund and confirmed this would all be sent via email. No email came. Grasshopper owes me almost half a grand. Called twice and was told both times a refund would be issued. I am now going to file a chargeback against them in order to reclaim the money they very clearly stole.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

None. They lied to me twice.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 03, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Robert R. avatar
Robert R.
Owner
Share
"Horrible service"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I paid for an annual account with them for less than 30 days. The account was opened on March 5th, i called today (April 3rd) to cancel my account because grasshopper lacks the features I need to operate my business. The rep on the phone asked why i wanted to cancel and after I told her i went with one of their competitors (ringcentral) she said refunds are not authorized. When asked to speak with a supervisor she said noone was available at the moment and hung up on me. This is the worst customer service!!

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Poor customer service - representative hung up on me

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

no

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great for Small Businesses"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is cost effective and easy to use.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I wish it would show the caller ID and allow us to transfer calls to different extensions.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use grasshopper for call forwarding and texting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Perfect phone solution for the very small company!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Ease of set up and maintaining, changing settings.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Lack of scalability and user interface - does not grow easily with company needs.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Very responsive customer service team and very diligent in solving problems and answering questions.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 20, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Robust Rhino Plugin"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper has a very wide range of capabilities. It take a Rhino workflow to the next level and allows users to realize nearly any modeling imaginable.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I dislike the way Grasshopper manages files. It would nice for a .gh file to be integrated into a rhino file so that you don't have to worry about coordinating multiple files.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Grasshopper helps me to accurately and effectively model desired geometries for architectural designs.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Very please with Grasshopper"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Ease of use for setting up company extensions

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Unreliability of mobile phone app could be improved

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Setting up individual extensions for all employees via our company number

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Trustworthy and easy to use"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I am confident in the confidentiality system of Grasshopper and have never had any problems. Super convenient to make confidential phone calls from a personal phone routed through your work number!

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I wish it could be automatically linked to our practice software so that the client numbers we needed were accessible from within the app.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Confidential communication with clients over the phone is a consistently crucial part of the job as a therapist, so it is very helpful to have an easy and reliable program to contact clients or insurance companies from anywhere.

Visit website