Gusto background blur
Gusto logo
Gusto
Effortless Payroll & Benefits
4.5
(1,876)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Gusto?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Gusto Reviews & Product Details

Gusto Overview
What is Gusto?

One of the most preferred payroll platforms on the web today, Gusto is a great tool for all-around HR management that can handle everything from automatic year-end tax form filing to new-hire form filing, and managing employee benefits. It easily integrates with numerous accounting and business tools, as well as collaboration platforms such as Asana and Autobooks. The platform is well known for its exceptional customer support and delivers great insights and reporting.

Company Gusto
Year founded 2011
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Gusto Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone
Training Documentation
Languages English
Gusto Features
Automated Payroll Processing
Automatic Updates
Benefits Management
Compliance management
Customizable Pay Stubs
Data Security
Deduction Management
Direct Deposit
Employee Database
Employee Self-Service Portal
Expense Management
Garnishment Management
Integration with Accounting Software
International Payroll
Labor Cost Reporting
Mobile Access
Multi-State Payroll
Multiple Pay Rates
Off-Cycle Payroll
Onboarding
Overtime Calculation
PTO and Leave Tracking
Payroll Deductions
Payroll Reporting
Salary Planning
Tax Filing
Third-party Integrations
Time and Attendance Tracking
Wage Garnishment
Year-End Tax Forms
Gusto Media
Gusto 0
Gusto 1
Gusto 2
Gusto 3
Gusto 4
Gusto Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
Gusto logo
1,876 Gusto Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 05, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nabil E. avatar
Nabil E.
Thought Leadership
Share
"Easy to use for an independent practitioner"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Gusto is great for pay statements and seeing paystubs.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

Nothing I dislike about Gusto. I'm a very satisfied customer.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paying me as a W-2 employee of my business

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CS
Cherie S.
Founder
Share
"Best app available for both employees and employers"
What do you like best about Gusto?

My child could use this app. It's so easy and so convenient! I can easily keep track of all my hours, my pay, my paystubs, EVERYTHING! There is even a notes section.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I honestly can't think of anything!!!!!!

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Before gusto we were using time sheets. It was a total headache. Gusto has freed up so much time and taken a load off of me!

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 31, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LT
Levon T.
Principal Engineer
Share
"HR and payroll management in Gusto is second to none"
What do you like best about Gusto?

We are able to automate operations, comply with regulations and improve the experience thanks to the software's incredibly attractive and fast user interface, which simplifies and centralizes HR and payroll management. By automating calculations, withholdings and deposits, I have streamlined the payroll process. Gusto's support is always available and responds to users within seconds.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

So far, so good, I have been able to learn useful information about time benefits and payroll from my company.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

The company uses it for payroll and human resources. It helps with time worked tracking and benefits administration, among other important HR tasks. It provides the resources needed to comply with regulations and keep the company running smoothly. Its well-designed user interface makes it very easy to use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 31, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Meaghan H.
Life Insurance Specialist
Share
"Easy platform"
What do you like best about Gusto?

I can go in and be done in less the 5 mins. The customer service is easy and fast you get an answer right way. I use this app every week to everyday with no problems at all. Gusto has alot of features as well I cant wait to use more. It was so easy to change to Gusto And intergrate it into our company.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

Nothing at this time, gusto is working at its best for me.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

1,2,3 Easy as pie to get payroll done.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 31, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michael B. avatar
Michael B.
Owner
Share
"Easy as it gets"
What do you like best about Gusto?

I don't have to do a thing. Our payroll is on autopilot, works flawlessly.I can't think of a single thing I don't like.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

Absolutely nothing that I dislike. Never had any issues.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

I don't have to worry about any quarterly payments or reports. All handled automatically.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 30, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Janene S.
Founder
Share
"10 years - Still my favorite"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Gusto has truly streamlined our payroll process, with its straightforward system making running payroll and making corrections a hassle-free experience. The comprehensive reporting tools are user-friendly and offer a variety of options to access the exact information we need. Moreover, on the rare occasions when we've reached out for support, the team at Gusto has been not only knowledgeable but also extremely helpful. Their expertise and prompt assistance is much appreciated, and it's reassuring to know that such reliable support is just a call away.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I'm missing the sweet spot in the pricing tiers. The Simple plan works almost perfectly for us. However, it only includes one PTO Policy. You can track sick but not vacation or you vacation but not sick. My employees get both and I would really like to be able to indepenantly track them both with their payroll. In order to track both through Gusto, I would need to move to the higher package which doubles the price. There are a lot of really nice features with the Plus Plan that would benefit most typical businesses. Unfortunately, my industry isn't typical so most of the added features either don't apply or are redundant when matched with our industry-specific scheduling software. I want one more feature but don't want to double my cost.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gusto's payroll functions are easy to administer - easy to see, to understand, to enter. Our employees love the app. I have yet to find an employee who could not access the app and handle their own banking, W-2, etc. (I can't say that about the other guy.) In almost 10 years, I have never had an employee not get their paycheck directly deposited into their bank account.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 29, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Alina H.
Founder
Share
"Excellent"
What do you like best about Gusto?

I love all the information that it gives me. It's not just about my pay. It breaks everything down and I can review it.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I really don't see any downsides. I get an email and everything when I have a new information.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Just information at my fingertips about my income

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 29, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LG
Leah G.
Founder
Share
"Gusto is great for nonprofits!"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Gusto is simple to use. It was easy to get started onboarding employees and contractors. Anytime I had a question, customer suppport was easy to contact. We use Gusto multiple times a week to make payments. In addition, it is simple to run the reports I need when I submit grant paperwork.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I haven't found any downsides to using Gusto.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

We don't have to hire a payroll company, which saves us lots of money.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 29, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dr. Krystalyn L. avatar
Dr. Krystalyn L.
Functional Medicine Provider ◊ Women's Wellness ◊ Owner/Doctor At Navigate Wellness
Share
"Highly recommend Gusto - have used others in the past, Gusto is best in class!"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Gusto's exceptional customer service is the main reason I love them, but of course their offerings are important. They offer and execute with excellence on everything my business needs. Even during my leave of absence, I maintained my subscription, confident in their ability to handle everything seamlessly. Upon return, the service team's kindness and expertise reinforced my decision, making me feel supported every step of the way. I wholeheartedly recommend Gusto for their top-notch support and give them a solid 5-star rating. They've earned my trust and recommendation - I tell all my colleagues and business associates to use Gusto. I have used multiple other companies/competitors in the past and none of them are even close to as good as Gusto! It was easy to implement, has a lot of features that many different size businesses will need and doesn't require a lot of work/loggin in on our end.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I honestly haven't found one yet, and this is the third company/vendor that we have used like this. My other two experiences were mediocre and terrible. I've had zero issues with Gusto, it is easy to use and the customer service is phenomenal.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gusto makes it super easy to onboard a new hire, stay complaint, get payroll run quickly as well as accurately, manage any state payments that need to go out without me having to calculate or think about any of it and keeps us compliant - what's not to love? It has solved many headaches for me and I never plan to leave - I recommend Gusto to everyone who asks about payroll or is setting up a new business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 28, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Atenas G.
Founder
Share
"Love this company"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Most helpful thing about gusto is just how easily their customer navigation portal is and just how I can just get all my documents and all the information that I need off of the website without having to ask for an email or just being forwarded to another website.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I don't have anything that I dislike about gusto

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Right now it's just been solving the ability for me to be able to access all of my hours and all of my PTO in due time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 24, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Shawn B. avatar
Shawn B.
Lead Pastor
Share
"Gusto is worth a try"
What do you like best about Gusto?

I like the friendly customer support team.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

There is nothing I dislike about Gusto. They are worth the try.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to track my employees clocking in and out via the app. This gives me freedom to be on the move while working in and out of the office.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 22, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HH
Heather H.
Founder
Share
"Very user friendly app and easy payroll tasks."
What do you like best about Gusto?

It reminds me when I'm getting paid. The app is super easy to use. I can't say enough great things about Gusto. It's exceeded my expectations compared to ADP.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

No downsides and nothing to dislike. Literally very easy to use and very likeable.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gusto helps me create payroll for my employees and it makes it easy for me to pay some employees once a months and others bi-weekly. I set everything up and Gusto takes care of the rest.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rachel R. avatar
Rachel R.
Head Of Operations
Share
"Super Intuitive & Excellent Support"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Gusto is by far my favorite administrative tool I've used to date. Their platform is extremely user-friendly, but best of all their customer support is as good as it gets.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

No dislikes at all. If anything I'd say just keep on building so that I can use Gusto for even more as our company grows.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gusto makes it super simple to set up and manage benefits for your company. They are very clear on what's your responsibility verses what's theirs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NB
Nicole B.
Founder
Share
"Gusto makes payroll so easy"
What do you like best about Gusto?

Auto-payroll feature and the ability to integrate with Aplos software so I don't have to mannually enter payroll transactions on our GL

What do you dislike about Gusto?

I wish that saved reports templates could auto-update with new date frames for each pay-period.

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gusto solves our payroll tasks, so that our staff can spend their time on other financial and adminsitrative duties.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 17, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Robert D. avatar
Robert D.
Founder & Ceo
Share
"Reliable and Simple Payroll Processing"
What do you like best about Gusto?

The simplicity of its processes and how reliable it is.

What do you dislike about Gusto?

wish they provided more assistance with government business credits

What problems is Gusto solving and how is that benefiting you?

Calculating Payroll taxes and Automating employee payments

Visit website