Help Scout background blur
Help Scout Logo
Help Scout
Customer Support Made Simple
4.4
(401)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Help Scout Reviews & Product Details

Help Scout Overview
What is Help Scout?

Help Scout gives growing businesses everything they need to deliver world class customer support in one simple, scalable platform.

Company Help Scout Inc.
Year founded 2011
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Boston, MA, USA
Social Media
Help Scout Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Help Scout
What Help Scout is best for?
How does Help Scout compare to Zendesk Support Suite?
What are the pros and cons of Help Scout?
Help Scout Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Help Scout Features
Asset Management
Audit Logs
Automated Routing
Canned Responses
Change Management
Collaboration Tools
Custom Fields
Customer Feedback
Customizable Branding
Email Integration
Escalation Management
Incident Management
Knowledge Base
Live Chat
Macros/Automations
Mobile Access
Multi-channel Communication
Prioritization
Problem Management
Queue Management
Reporting and Analytics
Role-Based Permissions
SLA Management
Self-service Portal
Surveys and Feedback
Task Management
Third-party Integrations
Ticket Management
Time Tracking
User Management
Help Scout Media
Help Scout 0
Help Scout 1
Help Scout 2
Help Scout 3
Help Scout 4
Help Scout Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 24, 2024
Help Scout Logo
401 Help Scout Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Rahul S.
Director Cx
Share
"Great email management tool for your company"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Smooth UI/UX, ability to set up automatic and manual workflows

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Can get buggy at times, reports may have caching issues

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helps us track emails that come to our support inbox which means that we do not have to use our default email suite and instead can track and collaborate on HS. Business has certainly been impacted positively.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SJ
Sharon J.
Ceo
Share
"Best way to provide support"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Helpscout is the primary platform we use for our clients, most of our clients need knowledgebase for their businesses, also the live chat support. So, we set up a Knowledge base using Helpscout for them, and also enable the live chat option. The main use case is to provide self service support to the users without asking support person, and it is working great so far.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

There is only one knowledgebase template/design is available, it will be great if we have different templates to choose from, also the interface of the platform, mainly the inbox UI can be improved a lot for better experience.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Helpscout to set up knowledge bases for our client's businesses and provide them with a live chat and self-service support widget. But it is only possible to create one knowledgebase per subscription, the Helpscout team can consider enabling multiple knowledge bases per workspace, so we don't need to have multiple subscriptions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PK
Pradeep K.
Founder
Share
"Customer support is the key"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

The affordability of helpscout when comparing to the high priced competitors. We are using help scout as our Live Chat Support channel, and for our knowledgebase. When our team is not available to provide support, there we have our Knowledgebase integrated with the Live Chat widget, which helps us to reduce the support requests.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

The interface is still seems to be old to me, it can be improved with easy navigation like other tools.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

We can able to chat with our users in a real time to resolve their issues, answer sales questions, and guiding users with the knowledgebase.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CP
Chandu P.
Senior Associate
Share
"Helpscout is very CX user friendly for handling emails"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

I feel helpscout is a best tool compared to all other competitors who are still in the learning stage of email management. The number of workspaces, modifications, feature rich tool helps in effective management of all inbound customer emails.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

The thin line between switching between auto and manual workflow, which can trigger 1000's of responses to closed emails is a problem, there needs to be a dialog box warning users the result of action while setting up a workflow. Ive triggered 2000 email responses for already closed email just because of 1 toggle switch, which I did not notice until some other person reported.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helpscout is solving all email support issues at our organization. We have 6 email workspaces on helpscout all for various entry points of email queries. HS is helping us effectively manage all the emails on our platform.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Stephanie C.
Founder
Share
"So easy to use, absolutely love it"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

the team at helpscout obviously spoke to customer service agents to understand how they work and what they need to make work easier. the layout is intuitive (much better compared to traditional enterprise solutions) and allows all the most important app integrations

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

honestly nothing. i love being in the app using it. it has made tickets so much more enjoyable. plus the team at help scout are just lovely and provide such quick and great assistance with any issue i have

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

helpscout is for us a central solution for all agents, all tickets, and all knowledge. it makes it easy for me as an administrator to keep track of how my team is doing and where they are stuck. reports are very useful too and it's just wonderful that the knowledge base is there too.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Rahul S.
Founder
Share
"Great email management tool"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Helpscout has a pleasing UI that most email management tools lack. It comes with really cool features such as setting up manual/auto workflows that can really impact your work.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Sometimes there are indexing issues with the emails in the list which can cause erroneous data in reports but it's rare. Some new features could also be added such as AI/AGI-aided responses.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking emails in a single place, ability to combine threads and maintain historical records of a particular user, ability to add notes & collaborate with your team members.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AB
Arnette B.
Founder
Share
"Awesome tool that takes customer service to the next level"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

HelpScout is a game-changer for customer support! Their user-friendly interface and robust features make managing customer inquiries a breeze. The automation and collaboration tools streamline workflows, improving response times and customer satisfaction. With HelpScout, you'll experience top-notch support and efficient communication that takes your customer service to the next level.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

The reporting and analytics features could be more robust, lacking advanced customization options.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

improved response times and customer satisfaction

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CK
Collin K.
Founder
Share
"Product Support made easy!"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Help Scout helps to keep tickets organized and front of mind when serving customers.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

After adding a note to a ticket, HelpScout navigates you to a different page.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Help Scout gives us a previously non-existent organization to our support desk and has revolutionized our support to our clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Geoff T. avatar
Geoff T.
Celigo Integration Developer
Share
"I recommend this whenever I hear a CX team is using Gmail"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

When I was in a team of two CX agents trying to share one Gmail account and effectively address customer emails, adopting Help Scout was huge for us. It led to way fewer duplicated efforts and prevented us from even looking at the same email. Previously we had wasted time drafting and even sending different replies to the same email.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Nothing, I really didn't dislike anything because I was grateful to be using it.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Previously we had wasted time/productivity drafting and even sending different replies to the same email.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ME
Maria E.
Client Success Specialist
Share
"Support and Services"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

We can easily support our clients, provide a knowledge base article library, and manage tickets.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

I wish there were more advanced integrations to our CRM and a way to take calls and record calls within Help Scout.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're able to support end users and clients. Reporting on this activity has helped us understand how much support each product needs as well as predict high traffic seasons.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SN
Savannah N.
Solutions Specialist
Share
"Like the "Big Name" software you already know, but more straight forward."
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Help Scout offers all the features you want, but doesn't nickle and dime you for it like the bigger names do. (Integrations, custom reporting, Help Desk/FAQ Center, CSAT, etc.)

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Once you've been working in other software for a while, it can be slightly challenging to find where everything is. BUT I feel like their terminology is easier to jump into out-of-the-box so the learning curve is not steep.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Most of my clients are startups and smaller businesses, and these businesses need more features and integrations each year as they hone in on their processes and goals. The bigger-name software escalates in pricing for various features so quickly that it just doesn't make sense for a small business where every dollar really counts. Help Scout offers most of the functionality my clients need, even at the lower tiered subscription, and it doesn't feel like settling for less. Help Scout is more geared toward smaller companies with their offerings and pricing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LP
Luke P.
Founder
Share
"Helpful tool for helping others"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Clean interface Easy to manage tickets Great support team

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Mobile app could be better Docs could use an overhaul Multiple people assigned to a ticket would be nice

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

Help Scout makes answering emails and helping customers incredibly easy. Easy collaboration with other team members, comprehensive notifications, and built in live chat/docs features makes a customer support agent's life much easier!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Mike G.
Head Of Customer Success
Share
"Straightforward and powerful"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

Help Scout's overall user interface and navigation is extremely straightforward — it's clear what needs to be taken care of. Compared to other products, the end-user customer experience is also pleasant.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

No complaints — Help Scout works well for us! Would love to see some further integrations with Customer Success platforms, but the API has allowed us to build what we need.

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've used Help Scout for many years and at different companies and the experience has always been consistent and predictable. Help Scout allows us to quickly surface and resolves customer issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Slumber S.
Customer Service Manager
Share
"Kyle Long"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

At first I was lost and not used to asking for help. But after talking to kyle and realizing how helpful and knowledgeable he is, I felt much more comfy. I am a stickler for plus 1 customer service and boy did he deliver. I thought HelpScout may not be the right fit for what I need but Kyle quickly showed me how to organize my tickets, answered all my questions, and showed me some awesome features Help scout has to offer. Whatever you're paying the kid, double it because you just don't find good people like that anymore.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

I am still learning and getting to used to everything so i do not have any critiques yet

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

When using my gmail acount i was getting email threads with dozens of people in them asking questions along with emails coming at me from several different sources, not just customers, i quickly realized more people than necessary were falling through the cracks and I do not operate that way. I asked my Chief of Staff Kristen for help and she found me the platform with you guys! Everything comes in seperately by time, ticket number, and human being, so i can focus on one person at time in order and make sure EVERYONE is taken care of.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KM
Katie M.
Network Partner Coordinator
Share
"Optimization at Every Facet - More Than Just a Comms Desk"
What do you like best about Help Scout?

This is an incredible help desk U.I., and absolutely NO ONE beats HS's own customer care approach and attention to detail. Instead of slapping together a help desk service for the sole sake of offering a product (like some)-- HelpScout is a care desk that has been made by amazing professionals already in the customer care space-- a service BY support teams FOR support teams. This tool is developed with optimization in mind at every step. It is NOT one of the comms services that sits idle with intermittent bug fixes that are so common to find today, but rather a tool that is constantly being developed and improved with new features that serve current industry needs as they change with the world. A tool that can be brought on to any company scale and proves itself with metric improvements rapidly. Any new HelpScout end-user will notice the signs of this last point immediately: HS has gathered a team of brilliant, kind, and diverse humans for itself-- and it shows at every step.

What do you dislike about Help Scout?

Any elements that would fall here are less about big-picture team performance and more about individual customization-- basically into the developer weeds of "this would be amazing to have". (Though consistency has shown that HS constantly finds and implements improvements like that-- already 3 within the year I have used this tool.) I wish I could say there isn't an immediate and thoughtful response to any support questions. I wish I could say the tool is hard to train, or that they don't have one of Australia's best writers at the helm of their newsletters. Because then HS would be closer to most services. But I cannot. (I have never come across a system that satisfies so wholly-- except several Siemens PLM tools!)

What problems is Help Scout solving and how is that benefiting you?

1) Ticket workflow optimization. | Cutting down on the wasted minutes (that add up quickly) that any support team has to deal with: i.e. sifting information, keeping the whole team on one page for a particular ticket, etc, which results in immediate metric improvements surrounding ticket resolution and timelines. 2) Internal support team communication. | Tagging, workflows, and notes-- all are HS features that come together to allow excellent team accessories. (EX: Person A can come back from X weeks away and within seconds will understand the current state of any ticket that Persons B, C, and D have been assisting with.) 3) Integrated data collection. | HelpScout does this in *many* ways, but two that we use constantly are the in-ticket quick reviews and metric reports. Their user-friendly data integration allows us to gain useful, simple satisfaction "ratings" from a customer the moment they are feeling it-- resulting in more accurate responses and /more/ responses in general. We also use HelpScout to handle internal tickets-- and love that the in-ticket review feature is toggle-able. 4) Getting crucial information/answers to customers in a discrete and digestible way. | HelpScout'Is "Beacon" tool is the box of chocolate turtles nestled between the incredible Harry and David pears. It can be used to serve any user-facing needs, regardless of the needs or the user. We use it to give marketing information, offer quick-reference documentation, and provide live chatting with the support team. All nestled into an appropriately-designed button added to any page you use (via API). 5) Customer care analytics and insight that can only come from a company dedicated to its craft. There are more, but those are five that come to mind immediately.

Visit website