Litmus background blur
Litmus logo
Litmus
4.6
(382)
by Litmus Software, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Litmus?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Litmus Reviews & Product Details

Litmus Overview
What is Litmus?

Litmus is a preferred email personalization, optimization, and collaboration software among marketers designed to maximize your ROI. From pre-send campaign development, testing, and AI-driven content recommendations Litmus can deliver the tools you need and help facilitate better creativity to ensure optimized content.

Company Litmus Software, Inc.
Year founded 2005
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Social Media
Litmus Categories on Findstack
Litmus Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Litmus Features
Performance
Email and Mobile Preview
Building and Personalizing Emails
Manage Email Deliverability
Basic Reporting
Open Rate
Spam Filter Testing
Deliverability Testing
Multi-User Account
Dashboard
Analytics
Content
Time to Open
Editing Platform
Design Testing
Litmus Media
Litmus 0
Litmus 1
Litmus 2
Litmus 3
Litmus Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
Litmus logo
382 Litmus Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 11, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KO
Kim O.
Marketing Operations Manager
Share
"Great email review tool!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I really enjoy working In Litmus. The product is easy to use and had a great user experience. It's very useful for coding HTML for emails and previewing your email experience on multiple email clients. It is the best email testing platform on the market. Not only does Litmus generate screenshots for all major email clients, they are quick to update when things change or new features become available for certain clients (e.g. Dark Mode). from testing all major platforms, Litmus. Litmus comes with many options to improve your email marketing and improve productivity. Their visual editor is great and helps with writing efficient emails with drag and drop feature. Their insights also help you do in depth analysis of campaigns. Integration with other apps and services is another great feature as it saves time to switch between apps and finish efficiently. This is the second company I have worked at where I advocated to incorporate Litmus into their email process. It seamlessly integrates with Salesforce Marketing Cloud and makes collaborating with multiple teams and the UAT process a dream. The browser previews of devices and additional analytics are the key features I leverage for every email. It is the surest way to double check your email will render beautifully for your subscribers.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Nothing really. Minor thing - not seeing folders on the main window.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building emails, Troubleshooting in different email clients, analytics that my ESP cannot provide.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 27, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SK
Shannah K.
Marketing Operations Manager
Share
"All encompassing render software"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I love that Litmus has so many devices to render from.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Sometimes it takes a few weeks for new OS systems to be available.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Render QA testing for our email campaigns

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Robert D. avatar
Robert D.
Email Marketing Specialist
Share
"The best email testing platform out there, and then some."
What do you like best about Litmus?

It is the best email testing platform on the market. Not only does Litmus generate screenshots for all major email clients, they are quick to update when things change or new features become available for certain clients (e.g. Dark Mode). from testing all major platforms, Litmus

What do you dislike about Litmus?

It is so feature rich that it can take some time to figure out the right workflow for your process.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus eliminates the need for manual quality assurance on email campaigns and has improved our review/approval process with its built in tools and shareable tests.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jake C. avatar
Jake C.
Lifecycle Marketing Manager
Share
"Litmus makes my job 10x easier!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I absolutely LOVE the HTML editor. It is miles above anything else on the market and allows me to quickly design new templates with minimal code adjustments and optimize them for all email clients.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Would love to have faster email client previews (or live changes in previews), better Salesforce Marketing Cloud Integration, support for AMPscript, and more information in spam tests.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our emails were terrible before Litmus, specifically in Outlook. Now our emails are flawless!

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 27, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eric M. avatar
Eric M.
In House Lead Creative
Share
"Litmus has created the bar by which all email should be measured. They continue to raise it daily!"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Everything! Litmus is the Go-to, State of the Art platform that anyone who is even remotely related to sending out bulk HTML/CSS based email should use. The metrics are great, the testing abilities are great. I couldn't possibly ask for more.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

None that I can think of. Apparently I need some characters here to make this accept my answer.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Making sure emails are device/platform/operating system compliant, seeing which devices/platforms/OSs are most used. Seeing the regional breakdown. We use an EMS that isn't terribly sophisticated in metrics, so the benefits of using Litmus in tandem is really impressive.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ryan S. avatar
Ryan S.
Motion Graphic Specialist
Share
"A Great Email Tool"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Being able to see how an email will render across various platforms and all the analytics that are available. I love how many different platforms you can view your email on (both new and old) to make sure everything is coming across as it should.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Not having our ESP listed in the available options for analytics. As a result, our tracking data is often incomplete or some stats aren't available.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are able to see how our new email layouts and templates will render across all the various platforms out there. As a result, we are able to better design emails and content.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Josh P. avatar
Josh P.
Digital Developer, Email
Share
"Litmus is my friend."
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus, at every angle and opportunity has felt to me like interacting with a good friend or colleague with whom you have unprecedented rapport.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Surprisingly nothing. I whine alot about business practices and how people have forgotten the nature of win-win business models. Litmus is in it to win it though, not just extract whatever they can from you. They are focused on delivering the highest quality UX and developing their relationship with you. Their data collection and marketing practices are industry best and demonstrate their rare, but much welcomed integrity. Just like a breath of deep, fresh forest air. My testing process used to be completely manual while developing cross-browser, cross-client, multi-lingual (70+), mobile-first PWAs for a very, very big company 3M. You can probably imagine how much of a miracle adding Litmus to my UI/UX armory felt. It was like Goku going Super Saiyan for the first time, or that time Fatal1ty looked directly at me (sitting next to me) at CPL and said, "damn bro, you're good at this game." Pure bliss.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Dissolving world hunger. Achieving world peace. Enabling space colonization while protecting the planet at the same time. Saving the Romulans from their own self destruction. Oh, and maximizing results in our Email Marketing Team.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Doug M. avatar
Doug M.
Art Director
Share
"The Premiere Email Design and Testing Platform"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Reliable rendering across platforms and devices. I can be sure of what will be sent.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The loss of of some features I relied on. Like being able to more quickly, switch between emails within a folder.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Progressive enhancement and finding solves that will work or fallback gracefully.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MK
Michael K.
Head Of Demand Gen
Share
"A must have for email marketers"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Seeing your email rendered in a huge set of clients. I tested thew spam feature too, but couldn't get the budget.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

I wish there were Grammarly-like tools to spell/grammar check.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had emails that were not rendering on various mobile devices well. We fixed this issue and our responses rates went up.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sally G. avatar
Sally G.
Marketing Automation Strategist
Share
"Industry leader in email compatibility and community involvement"
What do you like best about Litmus?

The app itself is a user-friendly tool to help manage your email testing processes, with all the major email browsers available for testing. The new version is much more cohesive, fully integrating the build, proofing, and testing processes. The implementation of email templates is very flexible, and integration with all major email systems is a godsend. the functionality that allows you to resend an email for a follow-up test is very simple, and it's great that you can "stack" multiple versions of the dame email for retesting. They are very quick to add new email clients, and integration with putsmail.com is very useful. In addition to that, they are community leaders, providing an excellent resource for email designers and developers, from their discussion pages to their blog, to their annual global email design conferences.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The analytics could be more in depth, and it would be useful to auto-file test emails based on rules - or even users - so that it's not one big list to manage. However these are small points relative to the utility it provides. The clever retest functionality unfortunately ends up filling my email system with many one-off email addresses, which I have to periodically remove. It's irritating, but not the end of the world. The most recent conference was much more top level than I had come to expect, being best suited to marketers and non-technical people, which was disappointing. However, I fed this back to the team and they were very responsive. I look forward to seeing the agenda for 2020.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus is a required part of our email send process, and has greatly improved the quality of emails being sent by non-technical members of the marketing team. It has enabled a broader set of people to manage their own email testing process. We are currently working on developing a new "modular" email template for use by the marketing team using the built in templating capabilities which are much more flexible than other systems available to us.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 11, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Savannah K. avatar
Savannah K.
Crm Manager
Share
"Industry Leader in All Things Email"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus isn't just a fantastic tool for making sure your email code will render the way you want it too, they are leading the email industry in trends, information, tips, data, etc. I often refer to data Litmus has collected and shared to support my statements about email best practice and trends.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Be mindful when you select your plan that number of tests is not counted as how many times you hit the "retest" button, it's how many windows you are viewing each time you push the button.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Manually sending email tests to different email addresses, devices, and people to try to cover all of your bases is not really practical, especially when you're a small or one-person team. Testing through Litmus gives you the confidence in your code before you schedule your emails.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ryan F. avatar
Ryan F.
Email Marketing Specialist
Share
"Must-have software for any #emailgeek"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus is great in provide fast renderings of our email campaigns, which helps us quickly solve rendering issues with specific email clients.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

The analytics are great, but it would be awesome if we were able to combine and download analytics data in one file.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Litmus helps me ensure that our campaigns render as good as possible in the email clients that our customers use. It also helps in targeting our customers in different regions, allowing us to deliver the most relevant content to them.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 20, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NT
Napoleon T.
Sr. Marketing Specialist
Share
"Fairly reliable email QA must have"
What do you like best about Litmus?

I like that Litmus saves me a lot of rendering headaches so I can focus more on our automation platform. It's a reliable platform to ensure that your email is read by your intended audience. My job requires me to be very concise and accurate with email builds. Making a slight mistake would cause a fire drill in my organization.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Only if Litmus builder is as easy as drag-drop with source editing it's almost perfect for every marketing email, but of course, we can't have it all so if there is a way to send an enhancement it will be great.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Most of the rendering problems I always look at is for Microsoft email clients that that has the most common rendering issue.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 19, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JW
Jayson W.
Marketing Operations Manager
Share
"Awesome program to add to your martech stack"
What do you like best about Litmus?

Litmus is super easy to use, diagnose issues across email platforms through their emulators, and send some solid emails themselves.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

Overall, it's a great platform, but the emulators are not 100% accurate. They are mostly reliable though and we use them all the time.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We don't have to send email to all the ESP to test. We can do it all in one location. Even following basic HTML coding guidelines won't always reveal possible mistakes, so checking it every time is worth it.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 03, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ML
Matt L.
Senior Email Developer
Share
"Best in Class Email Testing"
What do you like best about Litmus?

The ability to easily test/QA emails.

What do you dislike about Litmus?

There aren't any noticeable downsides.

What problems is Litmus solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to easily QA emails against multiple email clients in a fast and easy to use platform.