Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
by Paymo
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Paymo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Role
Creation & Assignment
Electronic Payments
Reporting
Performance and Reliability
Mobile User Support
Ease of Completing Timesheets
Tracking Time to Project/Task
Billable Time Rate Management
Invoice Creation and Delivery
Time Tracking
Internationalization
Project Accounting / Revenue Recognition
APIs / Integration
Offline
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 13, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LC
Lisa C.
Owner, Website And Graphic Designer
Share
"I could not do my job without Paymo"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I'm a self employed graphic and website designer and I have over 50 clients on the books. In a typical week I'll be working on at least 10 different jobs. Because of the nature of the work I often have to wait for a client to respond to a question before I can move onto the next stage. This means that in any given day I am working for at least 4 clients, usually more. To make things more complicated I charge depending on the work with 2 or 3 different payscales per job. Without Paymo I'd have to do this all by hand, or guess what projects I had spent time on. With Paymo I can easily just move from client to client or to a different project for the same client at the click of a button. At the end of the month it's easy to generate invoices and the clients can pay online. Honestly, if someone took Paymo away from me I'd sit down and cry. It is vital to the way I run my business and it frees me up to get more work done, and be paid accurately for it.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There is very little to dislike. It would be nice if the system automatically generated invoices for me at the end of the month but it only takes half an hour to do them manually.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm solving the problem of juggling multiple clients with multiple rates of pay. If I had to do this by hand it wold take an insane amount of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ralf T. avatar
Ralf T.
Webdeveloper And Owner
Share
"Great timing tracker for my projects"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Easy to use, runs on all my devices, Great report functionality to issue invoices at the end of the month.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There is nothing that I don't like about this.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am creating all my monthly invoices based on the timing results of this great app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 24, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CD
Cecille D.
Crm And Social Media Marketing Specialist
Share
"The best time tracking app I've tried"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Its ease of use and the ability to generate billable hours.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Available payment option - doesn't accept Paypal

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

It eliminates the time spent on manual time tracking (of course) and be able to generate a branded time tracking report.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 10, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LJ
Lexi J.
Social Media / Pr Coordinator
Share
"Quick, Effective, Useful"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love the simplicity of this tool! I just have to select the project and task and the time will track until I stop it. I can add notes to my tasks to keep track of exactly what I'm doing. I also can go back and add time I forgot to track, like a meeting that came up for example.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I dislike that the iOS app doesn't sync with the desktop version to show I'm currently tracking a project. For example, sometimes I have a meeting before I even get to my desk, so I track that on my phone, when I get to my desktop, however, it doesn't show that I'm currently tracking. I have to wait until I stop the clock before it shows on the desktop.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have been able to track exactly how long we are spending on each brand in our company and that helps us plan for future projects and budgets.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 05, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BC
Brett C.
Business Owner
Share
"Affordable all-in-one project management, time tracking, and invoicing solution"
What do you like best about Paymo?

* All-in-one solution for small projects -- no need for separate apps for time tracking, project management, billing, etc * Client portal for reports, invoices, and payment * Desktop and mobile time tracking options * Affordable price point

What do you dislike about Paymo?

* One of the two desktop apps (Paymo Plus) is a little awkward to use * Some areas of the interface could use more polish, feels "clunky" at times (it does work though)

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking, invoicing, project management, lightweight contact management for projects, collaboration. Have solved all of the above using the product.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 04, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ER
Elena R.
Freelance Artist And Designer
Share
"Great online tool for project management, time tracking, invoicing, and team collaboration."
What do you like best about Paymo?

project organization, bar charts to show earnings, invoicing system.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

would be great if there was a gantt chart function. It would also be nice to have a calendar function in the dashboard to have an overview of all the deadlines and longterm project plans. Currently you need to go into each individual project to see the deadlines and notes. It would be more convenient to have an overall view of ALL projects deadlines to have a larger scope view of the current workloads and productivity.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

organizing small projects, invoicing, keeping track of hours and productivity.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 03, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DM
David M.
Designer Creative
Share
"A must have for every small company!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

- Paymo comes with a nice desktop widget Paymo Timer (I'm using Paymo on mac) and another app called Paymo Plus which is really awesome. You can monitor absolutely everything you do with your computer and easily organise each task by drag&drop to each different project. - Their subscription plans are really affordable.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I might not have used Paymo long enough to maybe have something I could complain about. We've been using Paymo for only 2 months now.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We were using Google Drive with a shared sheet to write down the time spend on our daily tasks. After a few months it was quite messy and not flexible at all. We've been looking for an online app with a nice overview on each project or an overall preview. Since we're a small company we didn't want to put too much budget for an app like that and Paymo is really affordable. Timetracking is now easier than ever.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 26, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AN
Adam N.
Worker
Share
"Paymo - Competitive Pricing / Packed with Features"
What do you like best about Paymo?

For my line of work the desktop app, which precisely tracks time entries, and allows me to easy filter and allocate the results, ranks #1. After that, I really like the invoicing and CRM portions of the online site. It's quite amazing, and I was using Chrometa before Paymo, and I'm much happier with Paymo for what I do. The User Interface at Paymo, seems really well thought out. It works fast over the internet, and I don't spend a lot of time hunting down functions. The support staff is quick to reply if I ever get stuck, and they do so right through the main interface, so I don't have to hunt down replies either!

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There's not much to dislike about Paymo. From the customer support to the myriad features Paymo, ranks #1 in my book. One thing, I'd like to see is and extra level of reporting to impress clients with the amount of work that gets done, like lists and charts that show just how much work you accomplished. Right now the invoices are just simple clean corporate invoices, which works just fine.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

When you're juggling over a dozen projects, you don't need any extra distractions. Paymo is almost like having a bookkeeper watching over your shoulder. You can easily create filters, and if you name your files with your project tag, then you can easily take care of billing in a short time whenever you like. That keeps you focused on work.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 23, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Cristina M.
Petrophysicist
Share
"Excellent tool for our company"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Easy to use, user friendly and good/fast customer service.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Nothing at this moment. I'm very happy with the software.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Project generation and tracking, time registration, invoicing, statistics.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 12, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JD
Jan D.
Chief Technology Officer
Share
"Best project management tool for freelancers"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Simple and intuitive Time tracking Client and project management Different rates per task or project

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Cannot mark certain amount as invoiced Missing text editor and file upload for notes

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm freelancer creating websites and I was looking for perfect project management and time tracking solution. I've tried almost 30 different tools but none of them was good enough for me. So I've decided to use Paymo. It's simple and intuitive, you can track time, manage your projects and clients and create invoices. It's the only project management tool which has most of the features I need for managing my projects.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 12, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MS
Michael S.
Vice President / Graphic Designer
Share
"Paymo is a great service for Graphic Designers"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo is a great online service that easily tracks the time I spend on each project.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Nothing. I just really like the service. One thing that I would add as an optional option is screen shot progress. Maybe every 5 minutes while working on a project, the application could take a screen shot of the project progress. That would give customers that want to see how much time it takes to complete the project a great visual representation of my design process.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Before Paymo, we used to track our projects manually and it was not as accurate and customers had to believe that is how much time the project took to complete. Now, I can easily go on my Paymo account and show them my online timesheet.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DG
David I. G.
Principal
Share
"User friendly invoicing software"
What do you like best about Paymo?

adding clients and projects and entering time provide data I need to easily create an invoice

What do you dislike about Paymo?

suggest feature to allow snapshot of work in progress for client

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I practiced law in large firm with time and billing software and this gives me same capability as solo practicitioner

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 07, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JE
Jeremy E.
Share
"Paymo is cool"
What do you like best about Paymo?

It's got all the things I need - time tracking, invoicing, reports and project management - for my small business. I find it easy to use and it doesn't cost much.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I wish there was an automatic time tracker for Linux.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Paymo to keep track of project tasks and invoicing. We get a better record of how time is spent, and we spend less time on invoicing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 04, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ST
Stephen T.
Cfo
Share
"Paymo - best time tracking app I've found"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've tried at least five different time tracking apps and I've found Paymo to be the most effective for me. I use it to keep track of my billable hours as well as other daily activities. It has always been stable. At the current pricing it is a real bargain. Support is great.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I'm having difficulty thinking of something I dislike about the app.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

It has helped me track my billable hours and organize invoicing.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 03, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IM
Inti M.
Teacher Healthcare Technology
Share
"Best online tool for tracking project time!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love it even from its beta version! The fact that you can track multiple projects and clients, and the well-designed interface that lets you focus on just what you are doing at that time. If you are on a tight budget to spend on administration and accounting for your business, then this tool offers a great help for start-ups. I use it also to track my total hours annually, as the revenue services in my country requires this information. The team is also very friendly and this gives Paymo a personal human touch.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would like to suggest to raise the minimum of the free project to 5 instead of 3.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

projects, project activities and clients are part of what I need to track. I also use it sometimes to plan my day if it is very busy. It is easy to give myself time slots to finish certain tasks. Also my annual report on projects and time.