Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Paymo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Michael B.
Vpr&D
Share
"Ably fills an important need"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The Windows widget and its syncing with the site.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The widget GUI, while good, could be better. Switching between tasks, for instance, could not require both a project and an activity selection, at least for the most frequently used.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I bill hourly, so that should be obvious.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CS
Christina S.
Instructional Design & Learning Consultant
Share
"Best project management solution we could find! So simple to use!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

This is the only solution I could find that let's me dig deep into my project and clearly label the client, project and project tasks. This helps immensely when providing future estimates.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Nothing! I think this is a great product.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Paymo to track my time and provide estimates for future projects. It's easy to use and very reliable! It's the only solution I've used since I started freelancing in 2012.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GI
Gary I.
Vice President
Share
"We've used Paymo for three years"
What do you like best about Paymo?

We have a small staff working remotely and paymo enables us to keep very specific record of time spent on each project. It has all the features than we need and more. Time can be recorded either in browser or with the desktop app. Reporting can be daily, weekly, monthly, as you prefer.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Can't think of anything but I've got to have 40 characters so here you are.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping track of project times with staff working remotely.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aaron F. avatar
Aaron F.
Managing Partner
Share
"I could not run my business without it."
What do you like best about Paymo?

The ability to record all of my tasks, computer related or otherwise through my laptop, tablet or phone and then accurately bill my clients either through Paymo's invoice and billing interface or our integrated accounting software.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Because for some clients I have to bill in a separate accounting tool, to 'bulk' flag tasks as billed.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking our time is essential for accurate client billing and reporting. Clients like to see evidence of activity when one is billing on a time and materials basis.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LC
Liz C.
Business Development Manager
Share
"Intuitive and Easy"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The time tracking options are great. I can either set a timer when I sit down to do client work, or I can update the timesheet manually. It's super easy to create and track invoices too!

What do you dislike about Paymo?

My only complaint is when I used up all the free project and invoices and would need to upgrade -- which took awhile, so this isn't even really a complaint.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paymo is great for tracking time on multiple freelance projects. It's also really helped me keep my invoices tracked and organized.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RR
Ronnie R.
Art Director
Share
"Awesome. Consistently improving all the time. "
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've used Paymo for over 4 years and I really appreciate the attention to detail and constant improvements they make. Notes, invoices and the way projects are setup is all so easy. Managing team projects is a breeze.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would like to be able to automatically create an invoice from an estimate. Once an estimate is approved then I'd like a one click to convert to estimate and send to customer for a down payment.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Web design and software industry so I'm designing and building online applications for other businesses. My time tracking is essential to my income and Paymo helps me keep track of all the details.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LF
Lorelei F.
President
Share
"App and Website offer amazing value!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo helps make sure my estimates and billing are based on actual use of time. I love being able to pull reports for clients with online links so they can see the detail.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would love to see Paymo send me reminders every hour when it's not tracking, because usually I've forgotten to track my work.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I feel more confident in my estimates and my pricing because I know I am tracking my time and billing with solid backup of how I spend the time.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 30, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AN
Amber N.
Associate Professor
Share
"Paymo Review"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Ease of use. Simple and scalable. It's perfect for my small business.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would REALLY like to be able to print a client list.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Invoicing and record keeping

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Mike B.
Senior Application Developer
Share
"Excellent time tracking and billing for my small business"
What do you like best about Paymo?

It's easy to record my time against specific tasks on my project and generate time reports and invoices to send to my client.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I can't think of anything I dislike. There have been so many new features that have improved on what has always been an easy to use product.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm an independent web application developer. Paymo has made it easy for me to prepare time reports and invoices for my customer

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DL
Drorit L.
Owner & Ceo
Share
"Working with Paymo"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I like the flexibilty Paymo allows me, as a small business, to follow my time allocation when planning and pricing new projects. I can debrief my performance and adjust for new clients. The GUI is clear and nice, and easy managed.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The fact that I cannot track mileage - some of my clients reimburse milage, and I cannot track the amount, my work-around is to add a comment for the amount.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Accurate time reports, time planning, currect pricing and the ability to grow over-time, as I can look back and see my time planning and my time actuals/

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TG
Tomasz G.
Managing Partner
Share
"Very good inexpensive time tracking solution."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Time tracking in calendar view. Amazing rates levels management (general / company, project, task), I do love it.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

No team records approval. (bla, bla, bla to cover min 40 characters ;p)

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking for customers

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BJ
Brian J.
Co Founder And Cto
Share
"An Amazing Piece of Time and Project Management Software!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Great user interface and very easy to use.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Not too much, I use it for my personal use, not as part of a team, so I'm sure there is more I can delve into.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time and project management. I've realized it's great to have an amazing timetracker software. Helps me organize and stay on track.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SR
Shawn R.
President
Share
"I rely on Paymo for myself and my employees/associates"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I am a consultant / technologist and almost all of my billing, and that of my employees & associates, is calculated by the hour. For many years, we used a manually-tracked method that was highly unreliable and inconvenient to use, and I estimated that we lost approximately 10%-15% of billable time due to poor record-keeping. I began using Paymo in 2010 and have relied on it ever since. One of the best features is the ability to track my projects in detail using the task breakdowns and the detailed reporting that becomes available as a result. By using this consistently for the past several years on a variety of projects, it has allowed me to become far more accurate at estimating what a new project will entail, and which parts of the project will require more attention.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I have some confusion with regard to managing the display of the dashboard information, but this is a minor issue and is likely to be resolved with a little research into the tutorials.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've been able to resolve my primary issue, which was putting a great deal of work into projects which was then not billed for. I'm now very clear on the status of my projects all the way through, and that allows me to make adjustments to ensure that I remain within budget while still being adequately compensated for my work.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WP
Wardell P.
Design & Media Director, Customer Service Manager
Share
"The absolute best tool for client time-tracking for the money!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've been using Paymo for many years and I find that it is excellent at easily keeping track of client hours used and preparing reports of those hours to share with the client. We need a thin and light tool to manage a variety of clients and this tool does that extremely well. I am able to share the project status live, or kick out a PDF, which is perfect.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The only thing that I don't like is due to the fact that I have contracts that are essentially the same, and each month just need the date of service changed, I'd love a way to copy a project and go in and minimally edit the DOS.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

The main business problem is, how to track a variety of workers across several projects and stay on top of their hours and report them to my clients. The benefit of Paymo is that it does exactly that, and is a reliable way to load-balance who is doing what by a quick look at the dashbord.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Jeff H.
Copywriter And Creative Director
Share
"Excellent time tracking and project tracking app for freelance work"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I like that Paymo has a timer button on my desktop menu bar (mac) that lets me track time without going to the website. Their iphone app also works well, although I don't find myself using it often just because all the work I do is on the computer anyway, so I use that.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I don't actually have any complaints about the software.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm a freelance writer. It allows me to track all my time very accurately and easily.