GIMP background blur
GIMP logo
GIMP
Open Source Image Editor
4.3
(1,437)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GIMP?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP Reviews & Product Details

GIMP Overview
What is GIMP?

The Gnu Image Manipulation Project, or GIMP, is a well-known alternative to Photoshop, given its affordability and similar features, including the ability to work with professional layers and fine-tune snap functionality. GIMP has a full photo editing interface available which you can customize to suit your needs. It features photo enhancement features that allow users to fix perspective distortion and explore filters. Digital retouching tools are also available, and users can save work in multiple file formats, including PNG, TIFF, and GIF. Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features as well.

Company The GIMP Development Team
Year founded 1995
Company size Myself Only employees
Headquarters The GIMP project is developed by volunteers and does not have a physical headquarters.
Social Media
GIMP Categories on Findstack
GIMP Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
GIMP Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Regular updates: Because the GIMP environment is powered by a community of developers, you can expect a lot of regular updates and new features.
  • Tons of flexibility: Aside from offering a range of file formats, GIMP also supports a host of platforms, including GNU, Linux, Microsoft, Mac, and more.
  • Community: Community support is excellent, with plenty of brushes, texture packs, and extra features to download online.
  • Free open-source software
  • Excellent digital retouching and touch-up tools
Cons
  • The adjustment layers are difficult to work with at times, and can be quite buggy
  • The interface isn’t well-suited to mac users.
  • Learning curve for beginners
GIMP Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
GIMP Media
GIMP 0
GIMP 1
GIMP 2
GIMP 3
GIMP Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
GIMP logo
1,437 GIMP Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Gimp is ok, just use Photoshop "
What do you like best about GIMP?

Gimp was the first software I used that introduced me to photo editing. Alongside with Paintshop back in 2005, it was simple enough to use. I liked how everything is very straightforward and more advanced than MS Paint. The best thing about it is that it is free.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The minimal options for photo editing in general. It is incomparable to Photoshop where their product is very user friendly and has easy to use keyboard short cuts.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Budgeting and improving photo editing therefore marketing and branding.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Codeing for kids"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The easy to use interface is perfect for beginners

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Its a bit too basic and for beginners to use

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Used to create basic codeing for animation

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Similar to adobe without the price"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The ability to use many of the same tools as adobe creative suite programs for free

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Not very user friendly, if you haven’t used similar programs you would be lost

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

Editing visuals without needing adobe software

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 19, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"No comparison to Photoshop "
What do you like best about GIMP?

I wouldn’t recommend it for heavy photo editing, but the tools work well for quick cropping and exporting. It’s also free so that’s a plus!

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The usability is poor. It can be very slow and tools are hard to find.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use it for quick photo cropping and exporting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"It's free, but clunky"
What do you like best about GIMP?

You can't beat a free photo-editing tool, and it does allow for basic edits.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The interface is pretty unintuitive, and many of the basic actions you would do in other photo editors are impossible or much more time consuming.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

This allows me to edit photos for clients, including basics like brightness and contrast, with a little more control than any built in software.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 30, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Gimp gave my computer viruses"
What do you like best about GIMP?

I love the open source and the quality of the tool that is a powerful Photoshop competitor for free. Good for kids and high school students who can't afford Photoshop to get their feet wet with digital painting and retouching.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The open source format creates a backdoor for viruses and Trojans. After a year and a half of using gimp, my computer slowed down so much I couldn't turn it on. Several hundred dollars and an uninstalled GIMP later, I switched to Photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

It does not solve problems for business as it is a free app and no business should use it. It's good for a learning tool if you can't afford Photoshop

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Gimp"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The fact that there is a huge price difference between this and PShop is a huge advantage

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The thing that I dislike the most about Gimp is that it isnt photoshop.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I tried it as a free download. Im not sure that I used it to the full potential though, and discarded it soon after returning the PShop

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 17, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Not a good substitute for Photoshop"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It was free. Photoshop is expensive so I thought this would be a good substitution. It isn't.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

This program is very difficult to use. It doesn't have the same capabilities as Photoshop, contrary to what the description says. I don't even like the way the program looks.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was hoping to use this program for photo-editing. It didn't work the way I needed, at all.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 16, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"I do not like this software"
What do you like best about GIMP?

It’s free, so of course you get what you pay for. It is also easy to download and compatible with most operating systems

What do you dislike about GIMP?

The editing options are severely limited, It would be very difficult to access certain options. If I wanted to edit a photo in a specific manner I would use other software

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was trying to find software that could help me edit graphics, but this did not succeed in helping me with this task.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"My Gimp app review"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The Gimp app is below average for me as it's quite complex to use starting from image editing down to the photo editor really frustrating to use.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Very frustrating downloading and using it on my phone and the image quality is poor.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am not getting the required results for my Photoshop work,so to me it's not solving my problems.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Excellent for the price"
What do you like best about GIMP?

The leading FOSS digital imaging software title. Opens PSDs, which is a huge benefit for people who don't have Adobe CC, but need to export delivered files to different formats and sizes, for example.

What do you dislike about GIMP?

GIMP is a great example of an open source project with a terrible name that should've been changed years ago. Getting it installed on school machines is an uphill battle, at the administrative level, strictly because of that name. It doesn't signal seriousness, and some may see it as crass. Ultimately, I stopped using GIMP because it couldn't keep up with Photoshop. Things like the AnimCouleur and AnimDessin animation extensions for Photoshop and PS's more robust support for non-destructive editing. GIMP is historically important, but at this point it feels like a bit of a relic.

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

For a long time it was a serviceable Photoshop replacement. It's still extremely useful, but in the last few years Photoshop has jumped away ahead in terms of features, especially for animation.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 03, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Didn't find software user friendly"
What do you like best about GIMP?

Its cheap Is the only thing I can say for it

What do you dislike about GIMP?

Almost everything , didn't find software user friendly

What problems is GIMP solving and how is that benefiting you?

None