Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Paymo
What Paymo is best for?
How does Paymo compare to Asana?
What are the pros and cons of Paymo?
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 07, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"I previously used Paymo at my company."
What do you like best about Paymo?

I like that it's has an automatic time tracking app, and helps you efficiently manage different projects simultaneously. We're a small company and it allows us to all collaborate on the same project, or just have one user assigned per project dependent upon needs.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I think there could be a cheaper price for a smaller team that functions more as a startup. The timer function also restarts when you step away instead of showing you where you left off.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We need to effectively and efficiently manage several products under a small team. We could also

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Good invoice management"
What do you like best about Paymo?

We like the invoice management the best. We use Paymo to invoice our clients, and it really does a good job of keeping things organized (which invoices have been paid, have been sent, or are still in review.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I think the lack of a good iOS app that runs on iPad is a big disappointment.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're trying to track how much time we spend on projects.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 22, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Paymo: A great help"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Very easy to use. Great for organizing projects: task lists, deadlines and tine-tracking are all very straightforward.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Would like more drag and drop capability between projects and ability to export tasks lists but these are not 'show stopper' issues.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

The cloud based system means it can be accessed anywhere on different devices though I primarily use the browser version on my Mac. I find it easier to track multiple projects and manage time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Good and simple but it lacks some things"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The time tracking they have, also, the API they have so you can develop your own tools that fit your needs in order to customize Paymo and make it a unique tool for your company.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There are two things that Paymo lacks and are really needed: The first one is resource allocation. The second one is gantt for plannification. The problem is that tasks and task lists on't have a begin date, so it is very dificult to plan multiple projects.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are currently solving the need to know if our developers are working all the time we plan, and if our estimates are valid.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Using it for project & time tracking"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Integrations between website and app is seamless.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

So far I found integrations with Android App worthless. So I am not using that app.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking mainly. Also some project management.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great for sole proprietor"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I appreciate how straightforward the interface is - very easy to use, easy to drag and drop time on the calendar-style timecard, and easy to run reports.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Only 1 invoice per month for the basic subscription.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use the timer to keep myself accountable, and accurately track all of my billable time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Paymo Review"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love the style of the Kanban board and that you can both track time and create tasks for others.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The status of others on each project is hard to track and the deadlines don't show clearly on the boards.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Capacity to a degree. Also, time tracking and reporting is made very simple.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Paymo is a little confusing and can be difficult to work with"
What do you like best about Paymo?

There are different layouts on how you can view your projects. There is the list, table, board, and calendar layouts.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I dislike how confusing it is and it is difficult to use. Compared to Click-Up, it doesn't connect tasks well. I'm not sure if even that feature is available because I tried looking for it, but haven't found it yet. In Click-Up, you could see when the task before your task has been completed or not, which then it would tell you that you can start your task now. I wish it had a feature like that. If the person who created the task forgets to add in the deadline, then I would never see that task on my dashboard. I have to go searching for it among the many pages.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are using Paymo as a project management tool for everyone on our team. It's been giving us some trouble though. There aren't many benefits.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 04, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Helpful but hard to get specific information from reports"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Ability to create specific accounts and specific projects within each account

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Difficulty in getting specific information

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking work on different accounts and projects for clients.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 09, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Helpful Time Tracking Tool ... but can be somewhat challenging for large team"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love being able to edit time for every member of the team.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Coordinating use of Paymo between 15+ team members is challenging, when you don't want to expose salary data – so we always need to export data and run separate reports.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We weren't doing a good job measuring the time it takes for each step in our production process. Hubspot was too invasive. Toggl was more aesthetically pleasant but too confusing. Paymo was the least invasive tool that was easiest for the team to adopt. Since adopting Paymo we've been able to see how much time we spend in each step of the production process.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 21, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great for tracking time when juggling many projects"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The ease with which I can enter time and drill down to a project and task is wonderful! Tracking time can be cumbersome and tedious, so anything to streamline entry is super helpful. The analytics provided by Paymo is great, too. I love seeing the composition of my tracked time in my dashboard.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

When entering time as number of hours (instead of start and end times), I occasionally get annoyed by having to enter two digits (a zero and another number) for a single digit number of hours. For example, having to enter "02" for 2 hours is an extra keystroke that seems unnecessary.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our company is using Paymo to quantify how much it costs to produce the content we produce, tracking for each step of the process.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 20, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"using for time calculation"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Easy use, in work time calculation and god that you can easy find information about project.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

cant communicate with college about important question with being in some tasks.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We solving problems witch getting from building engineering and they building

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Does the job"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Easy to see project lists and tasks remaining.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Can't add bulk time for more than one week at a time. Not formatted well for mobile.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Hit and Miss"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Simple to use and available on the cloud

What do you dislike about Paymo?

There support team is dismissive. More than once I've asked to have something changed or fixed after an upgrade to have them tell me "that's the way it's always worked". I'm paying customer, and they don't want to bother to make the tool configurable to fit me. For instance: 1. A few months back they put through an update that changed the behavior of time posting in agenda mode. I used to be able to have the "weekly view" up and the posting would default to the current day & time when posting. Now it always defaults to the beginning of the week. Their solution was to use the "day" view instead. I say bullshit. I used to work the other way - I never requested a change to this nor was there any communication out that this functionality should be changing. 2. I've asked a couple times now for the default billing period to be configurable. It's set to 15 minute increments. I billing in 5 minute increments...so I'm forced to manually type in entries. Again, the development/support team is more than happy to take my $$ each month but not give me any functionality that I need.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm just trying to track time against project activities.....nothing more. I have separate accounting software for my billing. I use this because it's an online tool and I can get to it from the client site without having to VPN.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Used to be good then they destroyed it with stupid pricing. Sole Traders Avoid"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The software in its entirety is easy to use.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Paymo decided to change the pricing structure meaning small companies now have to pay for 3 use licenses to get any meaningful features. On the accounting there should be a way to only bill the client once a month for multiple complete projects. It will also be good to have a prepaid option.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paymo used to be a great bit of software as it was an all in one. This being said they decided to change the pricing meaning as a sole trader to make the software of any use ie with accounting you now have to pay for 3 user licenses. They do offer a reduced version for single users however this only allows task management to which there are plenty of free software