Squarespace background blur
Squarespace logo
Squarespace
Create Your Online Presence
4.4
(1,050)
by Squarespace, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Squarespace?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Squarespace Reviews & Product Details

Squarespace Overview
What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a versatile all-in-one platform with a long list of functionalities that enables businesses to sell products and services, showcase their portfolio, and publish content. It offers templates created by a team of professional designers that are customizable to fit any brand aesthetics, support all content types, compatible with modern browsers and all devices, and utilize up-to-date HTML, Javascript, and CSS coding practices. Fully e-commerce-ready, businesses can manage inventory, orders, and fulfillment, run discounts and promotions, sell services, subscriptions, and digital content, and collect and analyze sales data within the system. It also offers powerful integration with third-party services, social selling, automated email sequences, appointment setting and calendar syncing, and other sales and marketing capabilities. Squarespace users can also download its equivalent mobile app (both for Android and iOs) empowering them to create, update, manage, and track their website on the go.

Company Squarespace, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Squarespace Categories on Findstack
Squarespace Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Squarespace Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Great-looking templates on this platform
  • Comes with blogging features
  • You get terrific 24/7 customer support
  • Edit pages through mobile apps
  • Ready-made templates to choose from
Cons
  • It does cost more than your average site builder
  • There’s only a single sub-navigation
  • Page speed isn’t that good
  • No phone support
  • More expensive than average competitors
Squarespace Features
Templates
Drag and Drop
SEO
E-Commerce
Site Analytics
Marketing Tools
Email Integrations
Content Management
Permissions
Domain Name
Hosting
Customer Support
WordPress Tool
Squarespace Media
Squarespace 0
Squarespace 1
Squarespace 2
Squarespace 3
Squarespace Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Squarespace logo
1,050 Squarespace Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Judy B. avatar
Judy B.
Occupational Therapist
Share
"User Friendly with Great Customer & Tech Support"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Able to set up, design, modify, change on the fly, and develop a website that works for you. It is connected with Unsplash for a wide variety of images as well.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There is some limitation to font availability, and while most all the functions are user-friendly, I have had to contact tech support to figure out why some aspects were not functioning correctly.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have developed a professional website that includes blogs, resource links, marketing, and product advertising in one easily expandable website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
J'nai C. avatar
J'nai C.
Account Executive
Share
"Super easy & functional"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

How easy it is to create a nice looking, sleek, professional website

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

They have consistently taken on pricing increases

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to be my own designer and not pay someone each time i would like to make a change.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 29, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JJ
Jennifer J.
Owner
Share
"Easy Website Software"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The thing I like best with Squarespace is how easy it is to use!

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

It doesn't have all the gadgets and gizmos that Wordpress has.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Squarespace to showcase my art portfolio!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 11, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JR
Jeremy R.
Marketing And Digital Media Manager
Share
"Great for working quickly."
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love SquareSpace's interface. I chose SquareSpace because I was able to construct my website in about half the time that I could with other platforms I had previously interacted with.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The cost is a little steep, but at the same time definitely worth it. I'd highly recommend.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Designing, managing, and all other interacting with my website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Daniela E. avatar
Daniela E.
Service Designer | Co Founder
Share
"Professional web design for amateurs"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace has a drag and drop feature that makes web design easy peasy. But in order to make a good website, you should know the basics like information architecture, headings, photo labeling. Otherwise, Google won't be able to fully understand your site, and this will impact your positioning on search. Squarespace also offers a few plans for beginners, businesses, and e-commerce. I suggest that if you're not an expert and you're getting proof of concept in your business (and won't be able to hire one at the moment), start with the beginner plan, create your site and improve it as you go. When you think you have a solid foundation then switch to business because then you can add SEO features. this way, you still have a website to show to your clients but won't be charged too much at the beginning when you're still figuring out how to create the user navigation etc. Business and e-commerce have fantastic integrations like acuity for scheduling.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Sometimes it can be difficult to change the default design for each element (like padding) without going into code (only business and eCommerce plans can change code). But other than that, I think this tool is great! very easy to navigate.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I created 2 websites using Squarespace: - my personal brand (beginners plan) - my interior design studio (switching from beginners to e-commerce) These are very different business but still require an online presence. For both of them I need to schedule meetings, display my work and create content for marketing purposes. I realize that with the website templates available (that for the record the templates are beautiful), my job gets way easier because I just replace elements. Squarespace works with may tools but I find these particular two very useful: - a bank image: unsplash - a color palette generator: coolors.com so if you're uncertain of how to select a color palette for your site, what you can do is: 1. Go to unsplash to find a photo that represents what your business is about 2. Then go to Coolors and use that photo to generate that same color palette.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AW
Alaina W.
Blogger/Writer
Share
"Squarespace Is The Right Space"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

What I like best about Squarespace is I can create a seamless website and attention-getting.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I do like how I can't add my layout. I have to use the structures that Squarespace provides.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can get more views on Squarespace and add keywords to get more exposure from search engines.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jesper Z. avatar
Jesper Z.
Senior Solution Strategist
Share
"Powerful website tool for everyone"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace is easy to use and intuitive to work with

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Lacking a good multi language approach from out of box. but there are 3:rd party add ons for this such as Weglot for example.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Simplicity in creating a professional website, with very little knowledge or time spent. When it's not your core business, you just need something simple and quick to administrate.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Matthew B. avatar
Matthew B.
Part Time Lecturer
Share
"No tech skill necessary. Build quickly using nice predictable templates!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The speed at which I can create a website without involving any complex domain, email, or analytics setups is impressive. I highly recommend this to photographers and people that have highly visual products. I was able to setup a website with beautiful images and content in less than a day (including domain setup).

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

It requires a business plan to get powerful features such as custom code. As a software developer, this is quite restrictive. It would be nice to add custom module such as an event date countdown timer. This case is very essential because the number of plugins and addons are limited. This will be a deal breaker for many power-users and is not fit for purpose if you intend on adding more features other than what a CMS would already feature.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use this for my personal and my wedding website. The development was able to be done quickly using the lovely templates that they provide. I don't have to worry about the look across different form-factors of devices. The benefits were immediately verifiable by having my friends and family verify the website. The development just became more about writing good content and providing relevant supporting pictures. The content development was made even more accessible with the additional free stock image gallery that is a part of the system. Squarespace allows you to focus on what matters, and that is the content and target audience. Bundled with easy-to-understand analytics, you could quickly assess the performance of the website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chuck F. avatar
Chuck F.
Knowlege Management Lead
Share
"Wonderful alternative to WordPress"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It's a simple and easy to use system. Type and go. It really does take the guesswork out of web design. I was able to create three sites for various non-profits. The support that they give is quick and comprensive.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The cost, it is expensive. I wish they had a non-profit option.You can't do exactly what you want, but there are HTML options to get around these.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

It takes the coding out of web design, and lets you focus on text and images and design. It has turned me into a web designer, without being a coder. You can get a website up in 10 minutes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jennifer G. avatar
Jennifer G.
Small Business Owner
Share
"Easy to Build a Website with Squarespace"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love how easy it is to use! I literally went into owning a business with no knowledge of how to build a website. Squarespace made it SO easy!

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I don't feel like there are enough add-ons and extra apps for Squarespace when it comes to e-commerce. There are certain things that don't connect that I wish would.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace is allowing me to have the website I need to keep my dog treat business up and running!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KR
Kaitlyn R.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Squarespace rocks"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love the cleanliness of the templates and the variety they offer. Squarespace is so user-friendly you have to wonder why anyone would choose a different hosting platform once you've tried this. I love being able to get my domain through them as well. And now, they've added some basic motion options which take a good sight and make it great with just a few clicks.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Squarespace is missing a lot of font options, there are many, but too often, I can't find the ones that I'm looking for and have to comb through and settle for something similar. I wish the domains were a little bit cheaper. I do wish it were easier to do custom things or have the option to hire someone through Squarespace for small coding projects. I wish they offered coding classes or tutoring, actually.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm able to run my businesses through Squarespace. And I'm able to easily help others get their sites started because it was so easy for me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JK
Jeanette K.
Administration
Share
"Perfect for Blogging and Portfolio"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like how easy it is to use and the GSuite integration.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I did not find it the best solution for starting an e-commerce business.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are able to publish our monthly blogs and update our portfolio very easily with Squarespace.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kristina P. avatar
Kristina P.
Online Business Development
Share
"Love Squarespace"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It's a great place to design your own website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There is nothing that I dislike about Squarespace

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Was an easy way to design our own website, saving money rather than having to higher someone else to create it for us. We were able to bring our own vision to life and have the freedom to easily update whenever we need to add or alter content.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 09, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Law S.
D
Share
"Squarespace Is The Best Content Management System - better than Wordpress, Wix, Weebly, etc."
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace Is The Best Content Management System - better than Wordpress, Wix, Weebly, etc. The design is like Apple created it. It's a CMS I can hand off to clients once the website project is over. Squarespace's scalability is as deep as you want it to be. By far, Squarespace is the best CMS for non-tech types that will blog for SEO purposes and businesses that need Lead Generation. Don't let Wordpress developers tell you that the SEO capabilities are not as robust as Wordpress. Squarespace can handle all the SEO and developer needs.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Squarespace has e-commerce abilities, but not the greatest for a store that has a lot of products and/or variants.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

The problems I'm solving is for clients not getting gouged by website developers, website designers that charge way too much for a Wordpress website where plugins can actually cancel a Wordpress website out.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GD
Greg D.
Director, Operational Risk & Compliance
Share
"Awesome and easy to use web-design software"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

So easy to use, drag and drop, very straightforward

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Squarespace is on the expensive side vs. some of their competition.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy way to quickly get a website for a business

Visit website