Squarespace background blur
Squarespace logo
Squarespace
Create Your Online Presence
4.4
(1,050)
by Squarespace, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Squarespace?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Squarespace Reviews & Product Details

Squarespace Overview
What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a versatile all-in-one platform with a long list of functionalities that enables businesses to sell products and services, showcase their portfolio, and publish content. It offers templates created by a team of professional designers that are customizable to fit any brand aesthetics, support all content types, compatible with modern browsers and all devices, and utilize up-to-date HTML, Javascript, and CSS coding practices. Fully e-commerce-ready, businesses can manage inventory, orders, and fulfillment, run discounts and promotions, sell services, subscriptions, and digital content, and collect and analyze sales data within the system. It also offers powerful integration with third-party services, social selling, automated email sequences, appointment setting and calendar syncing, and other sales and marketing capabilities. Squarespace users can also download its equivalent mobile app (both for Android and iOs) empowering them to create, update, manage, and track their website on the go.

Company Squarespace, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Squarespace Categories on Findstack
Squarespace Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Squarespace Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Great-looking templates on this platform
  • Comes with blogging features
  • You get terrific 24/7 customer support
  • Edit pages through mobile apps
  • Ready-made templates to choose from
Cons
  • It does cost more than your average site builder
  • There’s only a single sub-navigation
  • Page speed isn’t that good
  • No phone support
  • More expensive than average competitors
Squarespace Features
Templates
Drag and Drop
SEO
E-Commerce
Site Analytics
Marketing Tools
Email Integrations
Content Management
Permissions
Domain Name
Hosting
Customer Support
WordPress Tool
Squarespace Media
Squarespace 0
Squarespace 1
Squarespace 2
Squarespace 3
Squarespace Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Squarespace logo
1,050 Squarespace Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 10, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
J. Emilio F. avatar
J. Emilio F.
Photojournalist
Share
"Excellent templates for photography"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Love several templates options to built my website. I can switch templates to keep my site fresh and I’m able to display video and audio files as well

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Unable to share client galleries with basic version

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Able to create easy websites with tons of templates for video or still images

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DR
Dainelis R.
Bilingual Assistant & Promotional Assistant
Share
"The Best Platform for Your Website"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that the site always has video tutorials to guide you in creating your best website. The videos help you arrange the layout of the website to suit your needs. I am able to use three different styles of od text on my website. Additionally, there are great quality design themes for your layout. You can manage and easily access all your domains and can easily switch from domains from one to another. The service is inexpensive for the domain and monthly service. You can see how your website is doing through its analytics. You can see which pages and content get more content.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I haven't had any issues with square space. Their customer service is excellent.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am realizing the times of when to post my blogs and what content is more engaging with my audience.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 10, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AL
Ashley L.
Creative Director
Share
"Intuitive, beautiful, and streamlined"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace is intuitive, so you could pick it up and learn it without someone teaching you. There's also help available 24/7 if you run into any issues. I use Squarespace when building websites for clients, and the handoff after a project is completed is a breeze. Plus, it's pretty inexpensive! I also love that I can make the templates feel more custom with some simple CSS.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The new Squarespace 7.1 makes some things simpler, and some things more difficult. It's easier to add color themes, but customizing requires more work + code. I also wish there was a way to have more options for fonts/headlines without having to use custom code. It should be easier to upload your own font! 7.1 also got rid of parallax scrolling, which is frustrating. Fortunately, 7.0 templates are still available, so depending on the project, I will sometimes return to those.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace makes it easy to build a professional looking website quickly. Making updates takes no time, and it's easy to train my clients how to use it upon handoff. Plus, as a member of Squarespace Circle, I have access to so many more resources that are valuable to my team.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Britani W. avatar
Britani W.
Freelance Graphic Designer
Share
"Fancy, Unique & Modern Websites with Ease"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love that as a designer, I can use Squarespace to fully customize a website to my clients' brand and use, no matter the client. THEN I can hand it off to them and they can have the confidence to continue to update and maintain their website with their slick user interface and controls! Many times clients are intimidated about using something new and techy but once I sit down with them and show them the basics of Squarespace they have a renewed confidence and are able to manage their own websites without the stress or confusion that usually comes along with such a task.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

They are a little behind on some options and functions that would be nice for bigger businesses with more needs. BUT they are constantly updating, learning and building. So they do eventually catch up.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to add website design to my design services. I am a graphic designer and many potential clients used to ask "do you do websites" and I would always have to answer "not yet". With Squarespace, I had the time to learn and become fluent in using their platform pretty quickly so that I can serve my clients better. And that is without lacking on the service either. Squarespace usually has everything my client is looking for in a website plus some "wow! I didn't realize I could do that"s.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KP
Kiara P.
Share
"Perfect Portfolio Review platform"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace has various of slots to fill, places to move, and objects to change. It provides multiple domains for different businesses or topics. There are also multiple formats that provides for you for ideas and select a monotone color combination for the whole domain for consistency. I love how you can market any products or organize your business in marketing or commerce by selling or analyzing how many people visit your page.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I don't think the limited monotone color combinations given where it's harder to expressive multiple colors. Some limitation I also wish were lowered are the animations, buttons, and fonts. The price is also too pricing for one month and wish it was less.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am using Squarespace to organize all my past designs and prepare for work-in-process projects in the future. I want to use Squarespace to the fullest to express who I am, what I do, and my skills. Because I'm having full use of Squarespace, I'm considering using its marketing and commerce aspects to sell my work or offer my service for social media planning. I realized Squarespace is not own for a business or marketing, but it can be a great way to represent yourself to clients or future employers.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Lincy G. avatar
Lincy G.
Administrative Assistant Immigration
Share
"Using square space for our new website"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The features and the layouts, the GUI and everything about it is absolutely amazing and easy to use.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I don't see any downfall or really dislike about using this site

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

This is far better way of creating our revised website, as the old methods of creating each and every feature using a code or the amount of work that would go into a small feature to be embedded was really messy

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Paige R. avatar
Paige R.
Freelance Writer/Copywriter
Share
"A great alternative to WordPress"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace is so user friendly and has beautiful template designs without the extra costs. I love the fact that I don't have to purchase tons of plugins to get my blog optimized and to operate smoothly as I did for WordPress. My site gets more consistent traffic because the site is naturally mobile responsive and SEO friendly. Squarespace makes it easy for the owner of the site and readers to navigate through the site. Not only does the template designs look good from the reader's point of view, but it also looks good on the backend of the site. Squarespace allows you to see realtime edits without having to do the code and then either put your URL in a separate browser or click a preview button. This makes it easier to make sure your formatting is correct and you like the way it looks without all the extra steps. I also like that it doesn't crash! Or at least it hasn't crashed on me since I started using it last year. Overall, I think that Squarespace is a great self-hosting platform for those who hate trying to code, spend tons of extra money on plugins and template designs, and want a user-friendly drag and drop experience. Plus I like the email campaigns. It has made building templates and sending out emails much easier than using a 3rd party. I can easily bring my most recent blogs into my email and have people subscribe to my blog with ease. Squarespace offers a pop-up option for newsletter sign-ups that you would've had to pay extra for on WordPress.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I wish Squarespace had an easy way to transition from Squarespace 7.0 to version 7.1. Right now, you have to set up a completely new site to experience the new design features and transfer the domain. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with version 7.0, but I would also like to have my site be updated to the most recent software. I love the idea of having more flexibility with my template design for my blog. I know Squarespace is working on it so until they figure it out I'll be keeping the 7.0 version.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

One, I'm solving the SEO. As soon as I make tweaks here and there, it seems like my blog gets favor by Google faster than it did with WordPress. My blog looks better than ever and it gives me one less thing to worry about between trying to write high-quality content and promote it. The last thing I want to be doing or worrying about is spending hours trying to perfect my blog's aesthetic. Now, I can focus on what really matters and reach people all over the world on a regular basis! Although I pay the monthly fee, it is less expensive than WordPress self-hosting platforms in the end because Squarespace has all of the features you would need built-in to its software. It's better for my wallet and keeps things simple because everything is in one place and the features I used the most on my self-hosting platform for WordPress, I can get with Squarespace too, again, without the extra costs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Terri T. avatar
Terri T.
Owner/Graphic Designer
Share
"Squarespace Review"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love Squarespace, moving over from wordpress i have found so many benefits to squarespace and so havce my clients. I use sqaurespace as a designer i am also a personal user. Squarespace makes it so easy to build a website, it is extremely flexible and so user friendly.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The only downside is that i feel the blog section could do with some tweaks and improvements. Although as it stands at the moment i feel that it isnt a complete let down and does offer everything that i really need it to.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace allows me to offer various template themes which squarespace offer and also allows me to code themes when my client wants something more unique. I now create and design my clinets websites all on this platform and do all major changes and they are happy that they can log in and make the basic changes like opening times, body copy and new images.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 16, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MC
Merry C.
Owner
Share
"Will Recommend to Anyone Looking for an Easy But Professional Looking Website Setup."
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace gets a ton of things right with its platform. For one thing, they include the intricacy of designing your own website page-by-page without the headache (or needing the knowledge) of coding the entire thing yourself. It's the best of both worlds, because if there's something you WANT to code, you can do that too!

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The learning curve is a big one, for sure. It took me a couple of months to truly understand all of the aspects that it had to offer, so it does take some time investment (or trial by fire, i.e. me redesigning two websites with specifics on short notice) on the front end to get comfortable with.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace has unparalleled customer support, so even when there is something I don't understand, I've been able to quickly find the resources that I need (which helps me to never take excellent customer service for granted). This allows me to never have to dwell on a single problem for too long, which helps me to keep my design time efficient.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 19, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Bryan H. avatar
Bryan H.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Powerful Platform that Delivers on Its Promises"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I'm a huge fan of Squarespace. I use it as both a designer and and a personal user. Not only is it easy to build a website, it's extremely flexible. Many WordPress purists will disagree, but the level of customization is quite striking when you become well-versed in Custom CSS and engage with the Squarespace community. It's a platform I ca rely on and I love that it's constantly improving.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Blogging still has a long way to go, but I feel confident this will improve over time. Would also love to restore previous page edits.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm helping clients get powerful websites that are reaching the people they need. Despite what you hear about Squarespace's SEO functions, nearly all of my clients are ranking on the first page of Google. When you leverage the tools they have available, Squarespace delivers powerful websites that really make life easier.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Seth C. avatar
Seth C.
Server
Share
"Squarespace is easy "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that you can pick a template and then mold it to fit your needs. And its pretty self explanitory

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

It's a little pricey. But not terribly expensive

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

The benefit of having an easy formatted build your own website page.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Matt D. avatar
Matt D.
House Mentor
Share
"Simple platform for the everyday entrepreneur"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

We love that we can finish a clean design then hand it over to our client to manage after we're done.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

We would love to have a bit more customization capabilities.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our clients are small business owners, so they want a website that isn't going to continually cost them money to maintain.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 17, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michael M. avatar
Michael M.
Wedding Photographer
Share
"All-in-one website builder "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I have been using Squarespace for my photography business's website for over 7 years and have always been impressed with the platform. I wanted to build a website from scratch, but I don't know how to code, so needed a platform which would allow me to craft something beautiful without much effort. I love how easy Squarespace was to set up and update, the amount of layouts on offer, and their phenomenal customer service.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I believe that Squarespace's SEO capabilities are somewhat limited and could improve upon. Other than that, I have not found anything that I dislike. Certain style customisations require custom code.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace helps me have a web presence which in turn helps me secure more bookings for my business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 14, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Whitney T. avatar
Whitney T.
Social Media Lead
Share
"I've built 3 pages with Squarespace - love it "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The templates are very easy to adapt to fit your needs and the components are super-easy to edit. The pricing also feels like a good deal for all that you get — a beautiful website, plus with the commerce plan you can sell products and the support is fantastic. The Squarespace Commerce app is a GAME-CHANGER! It makes getting packages out the door + sending an alert to the customer really easy.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Nothing major, honestly. When building a page there isn't a way to see how it will appear on mobile, so it takes a little back and forth to get that right when they could have a mobile preview feature or something.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

The main problem solved is a very professional website that I can build myself. The integrations with G Suite and Acuity also make the other aspects of your business — getting a professional email address, making appointments — a lot easier.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KG
Kate G.
Director And Coach
Share
"Stylish and easy to use "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace is an amazing option for users to build their own website. I am not particularly tech-savvy and managed to design a really beautiful website for my small business. They have an easy to use platform with wonderful designs and graphics/photos. You also get a free two week trial, so can start building your site over that time.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I didn't dislike anything about Squarespace.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

It has allowed me to have a simple yet informative website that I can refer people to when they would like to know more about my business. It also syncs easily with google domain and Calendly, which is super helpful for booking appointments.

Visit website