Squarespace background blur
Squarespace logo
Squarespace
Create Your Online Presence
4.4
(1,050)
by Squarespace, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Squarespace?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Squarespace Reviews & Product Details

Squarespace Overview
What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a versatile all-in-one platform with a long list of functionalities that enables businesses to sell products and services, showcase their portfolio, and publish content. It offers templates created by a team of professional designers that are customizable to fit any brand aesthetics, support all content types, compatible with modern browsers and all devices, and utilize up-to-date HTML, Javascript, and CSS coding practices. Fully e-commerce-ready, businesses can manage inventory, orders, and fulfillment, run discounts and promotions, sell services, subscriptions, and digital content, and collect and analyze sales data within the system. It also offers powerful integration with third-party services, social selling, automated email sequences, appointment setting and calendar syncing, and other sales and marketing capabilities. Squarespace users can also download its equivalent mobile app (both for Android and iOs) empowering them to create, update, manage, and track their website on the go.

Company Squarespace, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Squarespace Categories on Findstack
Squarespace Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Squarespace Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Great-looking templates on this platform
  • Comes with blogging features
  • You get terrific 24/7 customer support
  • Edit pages through mobile apps
  • Ready-made templates to choose from
Cons
  • It does cost more than your average site builder
  • There’s only a single sub-navigation
  • Page speed isn’t that good
  • No phone support
  • More expensive than average competitors
Squarespace Features
Templates
Drag and Drop
SEO
E-Commerce
Site Analytics
Marketing Tools
Email Integrations
Content Management
Permissions
Domain Name
Hosting
Customer Support
WordPress Tool
Squarespace Media
Squarespace 0
Squarespace 1
Squarespace 2
Squarespace 3
Squarespace Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Squarespace logo
1,050 Squarespace Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Squarespace will drive any hardcore "blogger" crazy"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It's simple to use and easy to navigate.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There is almost NO customizability, analytics are sub-par at BEST, and the software is buggy from time to time. I'm ALWAYS contacting their support team which is SUPER annoying.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it for our blog. Right now it is more of a burden than anything- counting down the days until we no longer have to use it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Squarespace is okay, but limited"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It makes nice looking pages for low-to-medium effort. It did its job well.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The editor is unintuitive and you have pretty much zero customization with it. Even page element placement was limited and CSS changes weren't easy to implement. The load times for users were also longer because the software was bloated.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed a quick site that I didn't have time to put effort into, and it worked very well. When time opened up, I was able to move to a different CMS that allowed full flexibility and design options. But for what it was, it did its job.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 15, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Cumbersome and unreliable"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I appreciate that once configured, a website on SquareSpace stands out, and doesn't look like just any other website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

This website platform, however, is terribly cumbersome to input your data and configure it the way you like. Navigating the back end of the site as an admin is frustrating at best and requires you to jump through way too many hoops just to be certain your work has been saved.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I fail to see what SquareSpace provides that another website platform couldn't achieve more simply and reliably.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Overrated Website host"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that there exists a web hosting service for people who are not familiar with web development and would not benefit from a more cusotmizeable approach.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There are so many ads. I swear every YouTuber I follow have at least one video sponsored by them. Not at all good.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having designers, project managers and other non-web developer staff in the company be able to work on the website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Good for inexperienced users but if you can, choose something else"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Squarespace is an easy to software for web design. It is great for people who have little experience in web design but want something that looks decent. It is also nice that all your webpages are under the same login. You don't have to login to several places.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Squarespace leaves a lot to be desired when you need any advanced features. Things that we struggle with include alternate languages, lack of plugins, inability to edit gallery and shop pages, and much more. I would choose WordPress any day over Squarespace myself.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Web design. I haven't noticed a lot of benefits and would have chosen a different product if I had been involved in the initial setup.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 10, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Easy to use, but not a lot of features"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that Squarespace is easy to use and user friendly for people that aren't familiar with websites or web design, they make it very easy to put together an efficient website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

While it is easy to use, there are a lot of features lacking and it can be hard to set some easy features that you would need for a website to function.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing really, I have asked that all my clients function through wordpress.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 22, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Squarespace is annoying but ok"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

In general they have ok themes and a squarespace store can appear fairly professional with out too much fuss. There are different payment plans depending on your needs which is also a nice feature. You don't pay for hosting, but there is a monthly fee.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The squarespace back-end in theory is supposed to be simple for beginners but its glitchy and really impossible to make refinements to.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I run a small design studio and service a wide array of clients. Often, I have new businesses looking to open an online store. Squarespace is a good trial in my opinion versus spending a ton of money on a fully customized ecommerce site just to learn that you didnt become an overnight success. Its a small investment that can adapt and grow with you.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"I'd rather build my website from scratch than use Squarespace"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It's affordable and my clients can use it as it's fairly easy.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

- SEO tools not good enough - Glitchy (I spend more time working the tool and fixing bugs) - I don't have enough flexibility - Site speed is slow - Markdown editor has bugs

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not many benefits to be honest. I'd rather build out a website from scratch or use Wordpress. This service has cost me so much time, it's buggy. The editor is built for absolute beginners. It feels like the product was built by amateurs. Unfortunately, I'm tied to it as my clients are using it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 20, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Awful customer service "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The platform has good usability in terms of designing and editing the website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Abysmal customer service: There is only one way to ask for help which is to complete an online help request. After a while you receive an email which I have discovered does not address your question or resolve your problem. I have spent hours and hours trying to get answers I need and have had no luck to date. Absolutely terrible customer service. Avoid like the plague.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

None. I want to move to another platform and web host as soon as I can.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 12, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Could be much, much better"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

They make it easy to start a site from scratch and have it not look terrible. They have decent customer support, are very friendly and they were helpful getting the site up and running.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

They refuse to add new features. People have requested password protection/membership site support literally for years. Among many other features. And while they remain very friendly people, they just don't seem to listen to their customers repeated requests for features.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

They allowed me to run a simple site that with a LOT of patchwork of 3rd party solutions I was able to make work for my purposes for a while, maintaining a low level membership site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Terrible customer support with no way to contact a human!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

It sdoes the job and provides easy way to implement and maintain more interactive website capabilities.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Absolutely terrible customer support and service. There is NO WAY to reach a human. No phone support. Online chatbot does not have humans, only generate email support request. Email support response time is not at almost three weeks and counting with no contact. I've submitted four email support requests in three weeks with NO response on any of them. The problem is with payment processing on their end that I have no means to resolve and as a result my subscription has lapsed and they've suspended our companies website. This is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE practice. I will be switching to another provider.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Automates some more complex interctive and maintenance heavy aspects of website (blogs, forms, analytics, marketing integration, etc.)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"No phone support. And their email response is VERY, VERY, SLOW!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

They promote themselves well and suggest things that a customer should look for.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Very slow and bad in customer support. Not easy to navigate their tools

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

None. There is no quick way to reach anyone. Email response is sooo slow and they have no phone support.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Stay Away ... Run Away ... from SquareSpace"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Don't let this company reel you in with promises they can't keep and terrible tech support. If you want an easy, no-frills, no functionality site then SquareSpace is for you.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

My experience with SquareSpace has been horrible. Functionality limitations are all over the place. Lost a MAJOR client because of it. Tech support is useless. Can't even purchase emails without running into roadblocks. I've had the same issues repeatedly for months and months and they don't fix them. Instructions and help topics on the site are no longer relevant...not updated.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've lost a major client because of the lack of commerce functionality and tech support.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Changes plans and terms without notice, causing increased expenses."
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Beautiful, easy to use web templates and WYSIWYG editor that's easy to hand off to clients as a finished product.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Squarespace is privately held, which normally means its a good company to work with. However, in this case, it means they have no telephone support, higher pricing than the publicly held competitor (godaddy) and manipulate their product offerings and pricing plans frequently in such a way that they've become an unreliable business partner. I would flat-out not recommend doing business with Squarespace under any circumstances.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not applicable. Originally, I had begun a relationship with Squarespace as I build simple websites for clients, then hand over the logins to the client and move on. Unfortunately, Squarespace decided, without notice, to put up a pay wall, moving dozens of important features into a higher priced product tier without notice, and without care for the impact it would have on those customers. This change increases their cost by approximately 40%. Great for them, not so great for their fellow small business customers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 24, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Awful"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

this was easy to set up, and a pretty interface for customers

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Not scalable as your business grows, gets really complicated to use if you start to have multiple verticals or need to track inventory or want to migrate the data to another platform to execute another part of your business

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Need a real ERP software

Visit website