Squarespace background blur
Squarespace logo
Squarespace
Create Your Online Presence
4.4
(1,050)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Squarespace Reviews & Product Details

Squarespace Overview
What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a versatile all-in-one platform with a long list of functionalities that enables businesses to sell products and services, showcase their portfolio, and publish content. It offers templates created by a team of professional designers that are customizable to fit any brand aesthetics, support all content types, compatible with modern browsers and all devices, and utilize up-to-date HTML, Javascript, and CSS coding practices. Fully e-commerce-ready, businesses can manage inventory, orders, and fulfillment, run discounts and promotions, sell services, subscriptions, and digital content, and collect and analyze sales data within the system. It also offers powerful integration with third-party services, social selling, automated email sequences, appointment setting and calendar syncing, and other sales and marketing capabilities. Squarespace users can also download its equivalent mobile app (both for Android and iOs) empowering them to create, update, manage, and track their website on the go.

Company Squarespace, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Squarespace Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Squarespace
What Squarespace is best for?
How does Squarespace compare to WordPress.com?
What are the pros and cons of Squarespace?
Squarespace Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Squarespace Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Great-looking templates on this platform
  • Comes with blogging features
  • You get terrific 24/7 customer support
  • Edit pages through mobile apps
  • Ready-made templates to choose from
Cons
  • It does cost more than your average site builder
  • There’s only a single sub-navigation
  • Page speed isn’t that good
  • No phone support
  • More expensive than average competitors
Squarespace Features
24/7 Customer Support
A/B Testing
Analytics and Reporting
Blog Integration
Contact Management
Custom CSS and HTML Editing
Custom Domain Support
Customizable Templates
Drag-and-Drop Editor
E-commerce Functionality
Email Marketing Tools
Event Management
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Hosting Services
Image and Video Galleries
Live Chat Support
Membership Sites
Mobile Optimization
Multi-language Support
One-Click Publishing
Online Booking Tools
Responsive Design
SEO Tools
SSL Certification
Social Media Integration
Template Selection
Third-Party App Integrations
User Permissions
Website Backup
Squarespace Media
Squarespace 0
Squarespace 1
Squarespace 2
Squarespace 3
Squarespace Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
Squarespace logo
1,050 Squarespace Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Emily A. avatar
Emily A.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Superpowered, easy to use web host"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Point, click, and you have a pro website - without needing to know code!

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Sometimes the interface is counterintuitive, however the learning curve is low and it is easy to pick up.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating a customized personal marketing site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LR
Lia R.
Research Assistant At York U Human Pain Mechanisms Lab
Share
"Wonderfully user-friendly website builder!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

My favourite thing about Squarespace is the versatility - if you don't have a lot of coding experience, you can still create a basic website. However, if you have the knowledge, it still allows you to inject your own code so you can add some more advanced things to your website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I completely understand why this is the case, but I would say that something I dislike is the support staff's rule that they never even try to help you with a problem if it remotely involves any code that you wrote yourself.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have used Squarespace for the past three years to run my tutoring business. It has allowed me to showcase everything about my business as well as allow students to book with tutors right online!

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BR
Brian R.
Intern
Share
"An Artist Seeking A Voice In The Digital age Should Look No Further"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I love the clean presentation provided by a loose display. The design details are well engineered for such low package rates.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The lack of coding on the user’s end for their site.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

When referring your work to clientele or leads, it’s much more formal then Instagram and less serious than a domain made from scratch.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 10, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ZM
Zachary M.
Videographer
Share
"Awesome Website Builder!"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I have no background in website design, but I was able to create a decent portfolio site for my videography.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Sometimes, the settings can be hard to get to, but it's not a big problem.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm able to create a professional business website portfolio to show prospect clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DC
Douglas C.
Founder
Share
"Straight Forward and Complete Website Management"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

SquareSpace can be as simple or complex as the user wants to make it. It has a very straight forward graphical interface for layout design, but powerful analytical tools and customization abilities.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There are limited options for creating password protected parts of the website. In short, each page can be password protected but there is no ability to "stay logged in" across multiple pages or have customized logins for users.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use SquareSpace for our English and Spanish language websites, which has served as the primary point of contact for many of our clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gabriel J. avatar
Gabriel J.
Director Of Photography
Share
"Simplicity and Ease For the Small Businessperson"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I have always appreciated squarespace's user interface and quality of design templates. Squarespace has always been a cut above other website building platforms to me because of the constant updating, and variety of complex and cutting edge websites ready to be customized.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

The price is still significantly higher than some other platforms. While I have stayed with squarespace for years, the price has always been a point of disappointment. I also wish it was easier to embed video content into backgrounds across multiple templates, and the mobile previews and mobile design crossover were better integrated.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

My business needs a website. Squarespace makes it easy for a novice web designer to build a visually pleasing place to showcase art, work, and portfolio items in a flattering and modern style. With a good eye and few hours to learn all the bells and whistles anyone can make a beautiful website in a matter of hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 02, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
John S.
Co Founder
Share
"Amazing design templates to choose from"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I have built multiple sites using squarespace and all of them have been super easy to create. The Q&A help always fixes any problems that arise.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I wish there were more templates for B2B company

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Improved analytics help me see what is happeny

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 14, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EP
Elizabeth P.
Founder
Share
"Sleek and fast"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

Sleek fast FUNCTIONAL websites in hours instead of days! My clients love being able to manage their own sites without costly maintenance fees

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Wish it integrated with more mail services such as mailchimp.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Double blogs. Setting up 2 RSS feeds on the same site! Genius!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EL
Edmond L.
Senior Operations Specialist
Share
"Fantastic platform for a polished web presence "
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The assortment of designs and ease of use help me get the look of a beautiful site without hours of work or the need to hire a designer. The interface to change the design/layout is effortless to navigate. Squarespace also updates their templates on a regular basis so you can keep your page looking fresh and on point with the current trends.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

I don't have anything negative to say about Squarespace. I've been using them for about four years and don't see an end in sight. I guess the ability to generate contracts and invoices through my site, instead of just selling fix-priced items, would be nice. But that isn't a deal breaker for me by a long shot. I'm sure that would just increase the cost to use it, which I wouldn't like.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm creating an online presence to showcase my work and providing information on contacting me as well as my rates.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 15, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cameron N. avatar
Cameron N.
Associate Director Of University Communications For Social Media
Share
"Anyone can master website design with Squarespace"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The ease of use of Square is the best. As someone in a marketing and communications field, saying anyone can master design is nothing something I take lightly. Squarespace makes design easy so the world has many more interesting and visually pleasing websites– GeoCities this is not! It's important to come to Squarespace account with content in-hand. You'll likely be impressed by all of their templates and would like to have your site completed as soon as possible. Squarespace isn't a replacement for nice content, come in knowing what you want to convey and use your account to achieve that goal.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

When formatting text, Squarespace can occasionally have some issues in the user interface, it is difficult but not impossible to mirror formatting across the site. Calendar functions could use some help and some reservation options would be nice to build out options. We use our site as a source for current members and prospective members for a rowing organization, having expanded integration would help us segment our users.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Transitioned a rowing website from a lack-luster Wordpress template to Squarespace so people would actually use the site. We needed to combine a news site, blog, calendar and boat reservation system. Squarespace allowed us to bring what we needed into one central location. Our site (toledorowing.org) is nice and shiny.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RE
Richard E.
Senior Marketing Consultant
Share
"SquareSpace is the best for those looking for an inexpensive website"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

The best feature of Squarespace is the fact that anyone, even those without any web development experience whatsoever. 20 years ago, it was very considered a very desirable skill to be able to create a website. However, these days, the expected quality is much higher, and a high quality service such as Squarespace makes this possible.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

While Squarespace offers a lot of options for growth, the only problem with the service is that it can quickly become expensive if you depend on their merchant system and build your entire business off of their service. I would say the service is better for businesses looking to make a simple and clean site, not a fully fledged e-commerce experience

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Squarespace is what we used to primarily design our website for Harding Software. It has made the process dramatically easier, with the most notable benefit being that we did not have to hire a web developer to create a website. We avoided the issue of high costs by not hosting any of our transaction features on the website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 30, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JA
Jonnie A.
Founder
Share
"Squarespace for life"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I absolutely love using squarespace for our website. With not much background in web design, I have been able to create a beautiful, creative and unique website with Squarespace. It has been incredibly easy to learn and the resources available are fantastic.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Honestly I'm not sure there's much I dislike.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

When starting our business, I was nervous about the website creation because I don't have background in that field. WIth Squarespace, I've been able to create a website with minimal knowledge of how to do so.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Faith B. avatar
Faith B.
Marketing Director
Share
"Making Web Design Simple"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I appreciate that Squarespace makes web designing easy while still allowing more customization than other competitors, such as Wix and Weebly. My websites are created simply and look professional. I understand basic web coding (HTML/CSS), which is a definite bonus when using this service. However, I think it would be possible to create a Squarespace website with little to no experience or knowledge and have few problems if any. I've been using Squarespace for over 2 years, and I have never needed to reach out to customer support. Most questions I have can be answered quickly with a simple Google search.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

It does still lack some customization once you choose a template. For example, I chose a template that had the header sometimes black and sometimes white. I couldn't choose to have a black version of the logo on white headers and white logos on black headers.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to make updates and switch my entire website layout with great simplicity. In fact, I did a complete rebrand and website makeover in one weekend because of the simplicity of transfers through Squarespace.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NL
Nathan L.
Pastor
Share
"Great platform for a non-techie"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like that I can pretty simply make a website that doesn't totally suck, even though I know next-to-nothing about websites and nothing about coding. Also, the automatic mobile-friendly...I don't even know the word for it. But our site looks great on desktops, tablets, and mobile devices.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

There are bumps in the road here and there, but they're mostly due to my ineptitude and lack of knowledge and experience.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our church's prior website was a mess and not mobile friendly. Now it's not a mess and looks good on mobile devices. I also like how easy it was to set up a podcast through Squarespace and get it hooked up with Apple podcasts and Google Play as well.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 23, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KD
Kaitlin D.
Founder
Share
"Best Easy-to-Use Website system"
What do you like best about Squarespace?

I like how easy it is to start a website and add all of the elements needed. It creates a slick-looking website.

What do you dislike about Squarespace?

Sometimes it's difficult to know how to edit an element, but luckily Square Space has a great FAQ area.

What problems is Squarespace solving and how is that benefiting you?

A clean website with an easy to navigate layout.

Visit website