Coda background blur
Coda logo
Coda
4.7
(422)
by Coda Project, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Coda?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Coda Reviews & Product Details

Coda Overview
What is Coda?

Coda is a document management solution for creating, editing, and viewing text documents and spreadsheets. , It also helps centralize all documents to ensure seamless efficiency between teams and comes with customizable templates that let organizations create personalized documents for meetings, brainstorming sessions, customer feedback, to-do lists, and market research. It features drag-and-drop functionality, which keeps functionality simple, and has numerous tools that offer role-based access.

Company Coda Project, Inc.
Year founded 2014
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Coda Categories on Findstack
Coda Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Coda Features
Task Management
Collaboration Tools
Issue Management
Milestone Tracking
Prioritization
Project Planning/Scheduling
Reporting/Project Tracking
Cost-to-Completion Tracking
Customizable Templates
Idea Management
Gantt/Timeline View
Kanban Board
Time & Expense Tracking
Coda Media
Coda 0
Coda 1
Coda 2
Coda 3
Coda 4
Coda 5
Coda 6
Coda Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Coda logo
422 Coda Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IA
Ishan A.
Share
"The only doc you'd need"
What do you like best about Coda?

Limited set of highly used features ensures you keep focus on the writing.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Nothing I can think of to be honest.....

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is helping me create and maintain documentation really well.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CA
Chiranshu A.
Strategy And Operations Manager
Share
"User friendly, structured doc making capabilities"
What do you like best about Coda?

The ability to structure the doc with pages, sub-pages, collapsible headers, etc.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Not so user friendly to format text / structure of tables. A lot of time we end up putting screenshots of excels instead of using Coda tables for data representation

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helps create easy to read docs for meetings, that can be shared in advance for more effective outcomes during the meeting

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dan M. avatar
Dan M.
Share
"Coda is quite robust and efficient for documentation and collaboration"
What do you like best about Coda?

The organization and capabilities of Coda. It makes documentation, planning, reviews and task tracking quite easy

What do you dislike about Coda?

There is nothing really to dislike about Coda

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is trying to solve issues around documentation, knowledge base and task tracking. This is really beneficial to me as it helps keep record of activities and updates.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VT
Vaiibhav T.
Content Writer
Share
"Coda: The tracking and improvement tool for my day-to-day life"
What do you like best about Coda?

What's better than having a tool for tracking each and every deed of your day to day life and keep a track of it than Coda. Coda has tons of features that has helped me in being a better version of myself. It features like To-do lists helps me in performing effectively and doing my pending tasks, its expense tracker tool has helped me in significantly decreasing unrequired expenses and save more, its focus timer has helped me in increasing my focus and sit to work for more duration. Its benefits are numerous and can't be described in a single-go. It has truly benefitted me personally.

What do you dislike about Coda?

At times when I am busy and forget to organize the documents, Coda does not automatically organize the documents as well as the content stored in the documents. Doing this would have helped me really. To improve my professional field, I decided to integrate it with other platforms like Zapier and more but the integration flexibility of the platform as for me was not up to the mark.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is truly an exceptional and useful platform not only for enterprises but also for individuals out there, who are looking to optimize their day-to-day tasks and work. Coda has tons of features and functions like to-do lists and more that helps me in keeping a track of the tasks I need to perform as well as notify my team about the pending and upcoming tasks. The expense tracker feature not only helps me in keeping a track of my personal expenses but also my operating expenses as well. I used this to calculate the expenses incurred while organizing an event, and keep it within my budget. The final outcome of the expense tracker and its analysis, and the original expenses are same and truly efficient. So overall, Coda has been a game changer for me professionally and personally.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SM
Suyash M.
Operations Head At Ms Pride Odisha Feminine Products ( Lovissa )
Share
"Coda: Day to day task management made smooth"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda has one of the best interfaces according to me in the field of task and project management. It had tons of customizable options which let me use it to optimum level for assigning each and every work to my team and manage the workflow as well.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Coda can be slightly complicated for the new users to learn and adapt as it was for me in the start. The third party integration of the platform is slightly on the lower side, I wanted to import several of my documents from other sources but was unable to.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is one of the best management platforms for the leaders out there who are in a search for creating different types of files, such as spreadsheets, database related documents and a lot more. My experience with this platform in terms of fulfilling my needs, create files and everything has been absolutely great and satisfying.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BP
Bojan P.
Ambassador
Share
"The best of the best!"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda is so much more than a Doc in an app! Every project I have worked on is like an actual small App within Coda! You can basically use it for small and large-scale projects. You can integrate it with 3rd part apps, you can connect it via the API with different stuff from Open AI to many other apps. One of the best parts would be Coda packs.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Everything (on the functional side works perfectly) although as a user I'd suggest the Coda team look into background colour changes and customisation regarding the design of pages and subpages. However, the best part: there is CodaCommunity with a Suggestion Box where users can share all of this and Coda team takes these things into consideration sooner rather than later.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is so much more than a Doc in an app! I create different types of Coda tools for nonprofits and SMEs: from business automation to building monitoring and evaluation systems for their projects. Some of the publically available Coda docs are here: https://www.augmeneo.com/portfolio-3

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Istvan P. avatar
Istvan P.
Board Member
Share
"Perfect tool for makes"
What do you like best about Coda?

The elegant way to combine wiki and database functionality combined with an easy to lean and easy to use Coda formula language. The on boardig is exeptional with use case focused newsletters and one minute videos. The Gallery is full of nice examples you can copy freely. The licencing is outstanding compared to any direct competitors (like Notion or Airtable), because you pay only for the maker. I use Coda in a project with more than 100 users an pay less than 400 USD a year.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Coda has limitless integration possibility with API and Packs, but to develop a Pack is far more difficult than to write a formula. It is still using JavaScript with no contextual help like when writing a CODA formula. The other weak area is monetization. Coda offers affiliate program, but it is buggy and the workflow is very akward.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

1. Finding information - It is a one stop shop for all information we use in the project. 2. Alwas use the correct data - by referencing to KPI, objective all information is consistant. 3. Remote work dinamics - using ingteractive tools our remote meetings become more valuable 4. see only the relevan information - with smart filters and User() function we see only what we need 5. differt user groups needs different presentation - developers use Jira with Jira pack, product managers use Kanban view, PMs use table and GANNT

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Petros D. avatar
Petros D.
Health Safety Security Environment Manager
Share
"Like a spreadsheet but soooo much better"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda is so fast to code. You can just hop in and create in mere minutes. Either its a doc, a collaborative table, or a whole app, you can do it. Add those to the connections to other apps and you've got a proper powerhouse.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Not a lot! Probably a bit better pdf support! Can also get a bit sluggish on an old and slow computer but that's most modern pages nowadays. Other than that's its great.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda helps bridge the gap between homemade business solutions and single-use specialised apps by allowing you to build something custom but also easy. I can get my clients on board in a snap and build a business ecosystem right in coda.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 04, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ben P. avatar
Ben P.
Senior Customer Support Manager
Share
"The best doc tool ever"
What do you like best about Coda?

The best thing about Coda is the flexibility and the power that it offers. That blank canvas with all of the tables and packs waiting make it head and shoulders above any other existing platform. I love using it for simple docs, but you can also build custom apps and reports for your team to give them superpowers.

What do you dislike about Coda?

I think if I had to pick a downside, it would be the functionality of the mobile apps. I'm looking forward to seeing those become better and improve over time.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've built a lot of things with Coda. I built a bug tracker to help keep tabs on issues customers are facing and also use it to power our asynchronous work since our team is global. It helps us come to agreements on how and when we move forward as a group.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LR
Lindsey R.
Web Manager
Share
"Best & Easiest Prototype Option"
What do you like best about Coda?

The most helpful thing about coda is the flexibility of the software. It's easy to test an idea, build a wiki, or share detailed reports with a simple user experience. We've used it for everything from onboarding documents to our project management system while looking for a more robust solution for our (extremely complex) project system. We've also let new users try it out for notetaking and resources (internal wikis and knowledge bases). It is easy to hand off because it behaves similarly to a Google Doc or Google Sheets. The interface is user-friendly, and the editor options are where you expect them to be. Navigation is easy as well, coda allows for multiple levels of hierarchy in folders and can create a "chapter" heading-like feel for the document. In addition, it can help us prototype applications. We've also used it to build a proof of concept for a Customer Resource Manager (CRM) and WordPress website content storage. For project management solutions, we've tied in multiple resources and used them to create various views of our data. Our project system in Coda was viewable by project managers or the staffer working on it. We've also been able to share our Coda docs with our clients and limit their access.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Some issues arise with Coda when you try to do exactly what you can in Google Sheets; the formulas and the syntax for formulas are slightly different (I mean, it's not a Google product, so...). However, the formula lookup is easy, and the devs crew at Coda are very responsive. Some integrations do not pull in all of the data that you want. Some integrations don't work exactly the way you want them to, but most of the issues I've had when first using Coda (as an early adopter) have been solved over time with new additions, new releases, packs, and through requesting updates through their portal. Some things I wish for from Coda: More header options - specifically h4 and h5. More font choices outside of serif and sans serif. And a less expensive option for their top tier if you only want document access privacy instead of the additional integrations.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had previously relied on Google Sites for a lot of our internal documentation, intranet sites, and resource wikis (knowledge bases), but then in 2020, Google retired Google sites in the previous iteration. The new Google Sites do not have a strong hierarchy, their forms are not as integrated as before, the sheets are not as integrated as before, and it is more difficult for many of our technology-avoidant staff. Coda has been a good stepping stone to figuring out what these intranet sites need before we build a new platform for their committee or sub-group. Coda docs have also provided a more efficient way for users to manage their own content, add attachments and images, and communicate asynchronously without email. As a small team that manages many websites, it's also helped us wrangle our loose ends. With our Coda wiki, we can quickly update our information, link to our resources, add troubleshooting docs and links and keep it up-to-date. (Which is a critical aspect of team information that seems to get overlooked). We also have version history in our Coda, so if something gets updated or edited, it's easy to restore and see what it was previously without needing more information.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EL
Erin L.
Account Manager
Share
"Easy to use, great interface!"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda is really easy to use with a great interface. I primarily used it for wiki purposes and it served it's function really well!

What do you dislike about Coda?

No dislikes that I've experienced at this point.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating a knowledge base wiki that is easy to manage and keep organized

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
J.T. S. avatar
J.T. S.
Manager, Solutions Consulting
Share
"JIRA, but easier :)"
What do you like best about Coda?

Big fan of the way Coda makes it easy to document product roadmaps, align PRDs and feature requests, and just overall making my life more readable.

What do you dislike about Coda?

The shortcuts/bookmarks aspects of Coda are a little barebones. Locking and unlocking docs can feel a little bit clunky at first

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is my primary hub for learning all things related to our product roadmap. It's a centralized repository for all these things, which makes me more productive.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PM
Priyanshu M.
Devops Engineer
Share
"Coda as a Document Control Tool"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda offers in doc code format, easy styling and sharing of documents, and can be integrated with Slack to have notifications.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Nothing as of now, serves all my requirements

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda personally helps to create and organize docs, on the team level we use it as a document base and knowledge base and also to track our goals.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Susie L. avatar
Susie L.
Social Media Lead
Share
"Wonderful Project Management Platform"
What do you like best about Coda?

I like how easy it is to collaborate with my team members and keep track of edits and suggestions.

What do you dislike about Coda?

I dislike that all users can edit forms and workspaces. I frequently accidentally edit the backend of the forms.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is solving the problem of having various channels of project work and conversations. It streamlines work timelines.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Erika B. avatar
Erika B.
Ceo And Chain Reaction Innovations Fellow
Share
"Customizable and Easy to Learn Document Management"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda has been an easy and affordable way for us to centralize both our documentation and project management. It was easy for our team to understand and set up a custom structure which worked for our work flow. Once that was set up, the whole team was able to use it with minimal training (a few hours, maximum).

What do you dislike about Coda?

Integration with typical microsoft office documents for collaborative editing is not as ideal as I would like. You can upload documents to the site, but we have yet to develop a way that several people can work on an office document at the same time and sync edits. There may be integrations with sharepoint that we have yet to discover which could be worth looking into if setting up a system.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is serving as a product management tool and document/data organization for our company. We have developed a custom project management segment to fit with our workflow, as well as a system to cleanly organize all company information. After struggling with consistent document management for a while, the clean workflow offered by coda has been easy for everyone to use and understand where things are stored.

Visit website