Coda background blur
Coda Logo
Coda
4.7
(422)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Coda Reviews & Product Details

Coda Overview
What is Coda?

Coda is a document management solution for creating, editing, and viewing text documents and spreadsheets. , It also helps centralize all documents to ensure seamless efficiency between teams and comes with customizable templates that let organizations create personalized documents for meetings, brainstorming sessions, customer feedback, to-do lists, and market research. It features drag-and-drop functionality, which keeps functionality simple, and has numerous tools that offer role-based access.

Company Coda Project, Inc.
Year founded 2014
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Coda Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Coda
What Coda is best for?
How does Coda compare to PandaDoc?
What are the pros and cons of Coda?
Coda Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Coda Features
API Access
Auto-save
Batch Processing
Collaboration Tools
Commenting/Notes
Content Library
Customizable Branding
Document Analytics
Document Sharing
Document Storage
Drag & Drop Editor
Electronic Signature
Export Options
File Conversion
Grammar Check
Image Insertion
Mobile Compatibility
Multi-language Support
Offline Access
Real-Time Editing
Search & Filter
Security Permissions
Spell Check
Task Management
Template Management
Text Formatting
Third-party Integrations
Version Control
Watermarking
Workflow Automation
Coda Media
Coda 0
Coda 1
Coda 2
Coda 3
Coda 4
Coda 5
Coda 6
Coda Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 20, 2024
Coda Logo
422 Coda Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David F. avatar
David F.
Founder
Share
"Incredibly powerful tool, vital to our agency."
What do you like best about Coda?

Its data capabilities and integrations with other tools makes it a key component of our agency's operations. We use it to organize projects and keep consolidate all of our systems in one place.

What do you dislike about Coda?

We need the ability to trigger webhooks and make API calls from within page elements such as buttons. It would unlock a whole new wave of power that isn't currently available.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it for everything in our agency, from project management, client portals and feature tracking. We also use it to track client payments and calculate the % payout to the team.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HH
Hilary H.
Rev Ops Analyst
Share
"Coda can do it all!"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda combines quantitative and qualitative capabilities that I couldn't find or accomplish with any one vendor before. Anything I have tried to do, has been possible in Coda.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Would love to have the ability to have filter views! As of right now, if one page is filtered by any user it is filtered for everyone - would love to have this more specific to a given person.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Coda is making it possible for us to have the needed visibility and accountability in order to hit our deadlines for annual turn when it comes to rep's books/quotas globally.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gaby V. avatar
Gaby V.
User Experience Lead
Share
"Flexible Documentation with Powerful Formulas & Automations"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda makes me feel like a genius. The tool is incredibly flexible without a huge barrier to entry. Anyone can sit down and start using a Coda doc. With just a little more effort, anyone can start building connected tables and do some really cool things. With automations and linked tables, I made a template for usability testing that automatically graphs the metrics tracked on multiple pages in the doc. One of co-workers told me they were "crying tears of joy" when they learned how easy it was to use. Coda makes me better at my job.

What do you dislike about Coda?

The mental model shift from tables to connected "views" of tables is one thing that I have to try to explain to each new person on my team who uses the tool. Once you get it, it's great, but it takes a minute to make the shift.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

We chose Coda primarily for our User Research Repository - we've built templates and automations to encourage robust, consistent documentation practices. However, as soon as Coda was available for our team to use, a ton of additional use cases have popped up. People love the organization structure, ease of use, and flexibility of the tool.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
🦠 Daniel M. avatar
🦠 Daniel M.
Chief Operating Officer
Share
"Amazing platform with great flexibity that allows you to create most of what you want"
What do you like best about Coda?

The ability to create documents that include automation which creates an easier workflow.

What do you dislike about Coda?

The learning curve was a little steep for me but with help of the forums and youtube videos I manged.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Record keeping, tracking how tasks are being performed, emailing our customers pre formated information that can be changed to their needs

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NG
Nick G.
Technical Product Manager
Share
"Product Management Made Better"
What do you like best about Coda?

The ability to design workflows based on my actual team needs vs being constrained by how software designers want me to run my team

What do you dislike about Coda?

There are some standard functions and list behaviors which are not available at the moment which require more complex workarounds. This prevents faster document creation but ultimately do not prevent workflow just creates BoH paperwork.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am performing complete Product Management through CODA now and automating task creation and dependencies. The largest benefit has been providing tracability to the entire development team.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Christian M.
Sr Egineer
Share
"Changed what was possible"
What do you like best about Coda?

How easy it is to link databases, and how quick it is to connect multiple levels in a formula

What do you dislike about Coda?

It can be hard sometimes to figure out what exactly is going on under the hood. The profiler is good but limited. The lack of comments in code is the biggest problem. Also the data input error checking could be a little more seamless

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had a commercial mrp that didn't fit the intricacies of our business structure, and it wasn't easy to make it user-friendly enough for the people managing inventory actually to use. This caused us to lose a lot of time and money trying to make it work. Coda let me build a fully custom MRP system to manage everything from production planning, a full parent-child BOM, hundreds of vendors, and thousands of unique parts, in addition to full inventory management with order fulfillment. There were some growing pains in the process but you guys kept releasing crucial features so it all worked out. The biggest thing is being able to manage all the data while building friendly and well guided dashboards for each type of user

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Himanshu G. avatar
Himanshu G.
Product Manager
Share
"Coda is one-stop destination for 80% of your Google Docs requirements"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda is a combination of a word editor, a spreadsheet and a project management software. It works smoothly without any bugs. Its clean interface is another big plus; makes it a pleasure to use Also, Coda continues to innovate, bringing new features all the time and communicating well to its users about them. I see no reason why professionals must continue with the archaic way of different software for different kind of work and not use Coda.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Coda files were stored in Google Drive. There was no way to back them up. So, if you lose the file from your Google Drive, its gone! Retrieval was not possible. I am not sure, I think this has changed now. The Print feature does not print the page correctly. Lot of formatting is lost. Coda does not support presentation features so that I can present my document in meetings.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use it to save my sales and marketing collateral and efficiently retrieve them when needed. I also use it track my project progress and other information about my projects. The use of Coda makes my work efficient and effective.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chris H. avatar
Chris H.
Ceo
Share
"Better than excel"
What do you like best about Coda?

I can create complex formulas without any program experience and knowledge. The help desk and the community are a great help.

What do you dislike about Coda?

It takes a smal time investment to under the formulas. BUT Maria's video lessons gave me the info needed.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm doing audits with complex formulas for my clients. I can use my Coda doc and then share the results in a meaningful way with the clients and it now takes much time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jim S.
Founder
Share
"An amazing tool"
What do you like best about Coda?

You can start out small and confidently grow your documents as your needs and insights into the issue being addressed become more clear. We're using Coda to organize several aspects of our consultancy including client prospecting and engagement. The documents are growing organically with our company. Having them online makes sure all members of the geographically disbursed team are all on the same page. Our documents look great online. And there's an API for tracking and manipulating documents with other tools. Coda offers very fair pricing with a very generous free tier. I cannot imagine running our company without it.

What do you dislike about Coda?

The UI is a few rough edges. For example, links can only be created in the table view.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping a centralized repository of corporate knowledge. Having all this information in a central, trusted source reduces friction and ineffciencies in the company.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Jad H.
Special Projects Manager
Share
"The no-code tool creation we were looking for!"
What do you like best about Coda?

Our entire team uses Coda on a daily basis to keep track of just about everything. We especially love being able to connect different tables to make accessing associated information easier.

What do you dislike about Coda?

Sometimes when trying to create connections to other tables, it can be a bit confusing or non-intuitive to connect information, however, the Coda team is extremely helpful when things like this occur!

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is our internal project management and central information hub for everything in our organization. Need to see a decision made 6 months ago, no problem, need to know what's in inventory, no problem. Coda is like Legos for internal tooling.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SZ
Sunbul Z.
Product Operations Manager
Share
"Pull in everything you need into one collaborative workspace"
What do you like best about Coda?

The table structure brings a familiarity to working with a Coda doc. The interface itself is quite intuitive. The instruction videos are engaging and inspire one to explore more. Plus the community forum seems to have answers for everything under the sun. The packs allow cross-platform integration with other common workspace tools, making it a breeze to automate work.

What do you dislike about Coda?

The support team's responses can be a bit obtuse at times - I wish they'd actually look at the user's work/usage history before deciding what level to respond at.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Collaborative working with multiple teams and managing/implementing the process on one platform rather than trying to coordinate the work on multiple platforms/tools.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Alexander M.
Head Of Product
Share
"organize everything!"
What do you like best about Coda?

tables, references, formulas, formatting, jira sync

What do you dislike about Coda?

poor API, no optiong to create simple tables just for displaying information - all tables are powerful for calculations and organizing stuff, but if you want do a simple inconsistent table just for better data display - it's impossible, no option to merge cells no custom domains for published docs( support works only in US timezone

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

orginize all product management processes and data

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Márcia M. avatar
Márcia M.
Head Of Operations | Founding Team
Share
"Great tool for early startups"
What do you like best about Coda?

It's cheaper and easier to deal with than other tools compared. It's very straight forward and doesn't really miss any features. I have used competitors in the past. I would stick to Coda anytime.

What do you dislike about Coda?

There's nothing that I dislike really. They launch new features all the time.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

We can document our processes, work collaboratively with the team, and write product missions among other tasks. It's easy and helps a bunch.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Bobby C. avatar
Bobby C.
Director, Brand Marketing And Product Communications
Share
"An amazing collaboration tool and project organizer"
What do you like best about Coda?

Coda has saved me hours if not days of time by being able to create centralized hubs for a project or product where all corresponding documents and materials can live. The ability to embed PDFs, Google docs, Figma screens, and other great integrations have allowed it to serve as a great landing page for any project our marketing team is working on

What do you dislike about Coda?

The learning curve for Coda is fairly substantial. While the help center is very well built out, from my experience it is very difficult to get others to use Coda natively without extensive internal training.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Organizing all releated documents, spreadsheets, and assets in one central place that is easy to find and navigate

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CA
Caio A.
Customer Success Manager
Share
"It's simply excellent!"
What do you like best about Coda?

The possibilities with Coda are great. I can easily build my whole document and add as much information as I want. Besides that, collaborating with the team is great, I can exchange information and make sure that they understand all the details without the need for synchrony communication.

What do you dislike about Coda?

That are some dangerous behaviors such as pressing cmd+A selecting all text, and not only one section as it's possible to do with Notion. Besides that, I feel that some default items like a callout would help greatly.

What problems is Coda solving and how is that benefiting you?

Sharing information with the team, ensuring all the points are clear to the whole team without the need for synchrony communication. Documentation and general team alignment are possible with Coda.

Visit website