Grasshopper background blur
Grasshopper logo
Grasshopper
Visual Programming for Designers
4.0
(146)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Grasshopper?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Grasshopper Reviews & Product Details

Grasshopper Overview
What is Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is a convenient tool that empowers businesses with a complete virtual phone system. The solution helps keep costs as low as possible, which is why the platform is preferred by freelancers and solopreneurs. Grasshopper also allows users to choose from various phone number options. With Grasshopper, users can save money on communication while ensuring that you’re backed by professional and sophisticated communication technology that helps boost your brand.

Company LogMeIn, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Boston, MA, United States
Social Media
Grasshopper Categories on Findstack
Grasshopper Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Grasshopper Features
Browser Extension
Phone Calls
VOiP Number
Individual Download
Desk-to-Desk Calls
Hold Music
Automated Attendants
Software Pairing
Grasshopper Media
Grasshopper 0
Grasshopper 1
Grasshopper 2
Grasshopper 3
Grasshopper 4
Grasshopper 5
Grasshopper Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Grasshopper logo
146 Grasshopper Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Phones for Small Business"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Helps to separate personal calls from business calls.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I don’t think there’s much that I dislike! Very easy to use.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy to track which calls are coming into your cell phone line for business vs personal calls if you don’t have a separate business cell phone.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Good solution for basic VOIP"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Simple to use for new employees and user friendly to expand users. Scalable

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Good for basic system but not enough functionality

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Support for and users to get familiar with very reliable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Clunky but gets the job done"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

We're able to make the dashboard custom to what we find important.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

The website is not lovely but it doesn't NEED to be to be an effective product.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Voicemail and statistics

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Good Service for having dual phone numbers "
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper allowed you to have a business and a personal line without the hassle of dual SIM cards.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

It does not integrate a way to text from your grasshopper number. It doesn’t always track the calls through grasshopper to return phone calls.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am helping my clients be able to reach me wherever I am. When I am not accessible I simply disconnect in the app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Switched from Grasshopper to OpenPhone"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper was functional via smartphone app and web browser.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

The Grasshopper platform was slow, visually outdated, and the smartphone app had multiple glitches while in use - it was often easier to close the app and start over when attempting to make a second or third call in a row.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Grasshopper had good security through the VOIP need to hide your personal number.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Lost ownership of our phone number"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

We used this service for almost 5 years without issue. It was reliable 99%.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

After almost 5 years, they lost ownership of our business phone number. We are now on week 2 of this issue and we don't have any solutions from them while people who call may think we are out of business. The customer service has been odd - we only speak to "level one" techs who dont know what is going on with the other levels. We told them when we called that our number appears to have been hijacked. They came up with another reason it wasnt working. Then a week later stated that the number was out of their possession.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

We realized that we need to move to another service. Their customer service doesn't seem to understand the urgency of this being out business line and what it means for our company.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Worse support I've ever experienced in my lifetime"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

They were cheap at the time but has since been out gunned by phone.com.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Their support ignores e-mails sent by paying customers.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Business Phone number

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"If you are looking for a good phone system for small business move on. This platform is not it!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Unified phone system. We are a mobile service company and it allows us to have the technicians keep using their own phones and customize our on call schedule. The call blasting is great to make sure no call gets missed.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Poor call quality. Often it takes several attempts to make an outgoing call. The voice mails do not stay on the system for more than 30 days. The name of the caller is visible on the windows app, but it does not get recorded in the call log. While the messaging system could handle pictures it seemed to be limited to that and no other file types. The worst part, in my opinion, is that when porting our numbers away from grasshopper we would be losing access to our SMS/MMS records, with the only way to retrieve them is by taking screen shots. With thousands of messages from the past few years, it is not a feasible task, so we will either lose access to our records or continue to pay a hostage fee. Some of their support staff were somewhat sympathetic to our issue, but there was nothing they could do.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

A couple of years ago I was traveling and didn't have a roaming package and I missed some calls and texts because of it. Grasshopper was a good solution, for next time I traveled, I could keep up with my texts, phone calls, voicemails.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 03, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Poor Customer Service and Trial Experience"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I liked the idea of Grasshopper - a low-cost phone system where I could get up and running right away.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

The service and execution were poor. I signed up for a trial, configured everything and then went to upgrade to paid. I could not upgrade to paid. It continued to error out. I contacted support (phone and email) and was told that my trial was broken and that I needed to create a new account. When I called, the phone service was horrible and kept breaking up. I have used Vonage business for years from this same location and never had quality issues like this. I could not create a new account using my same email. I asked that they delete the account so I could create a new account. They told me they could not delete it and that I needed to call billing/account retention to delete it. If I did that, I couldn't just move over the number. I reached out to support again, sure that this craziness was a mistake. Nope. This is how they treat you. It went from being a solution to meet my needs to being about them and their sales numbers. I had been planning to sign up for an annual plan. I am so thankful this happened - after experiencing their support I have decided it it worth the additional cost and signed up with RingCentral instead.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was solving the need to have an external non-profit phone number with two users.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 15, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Never worked, would rather have direct calls"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

The overall ability to transfer calls (if it worked) would have been a nice feature to utilize in our office.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Super obnoxious alert tones interrupt phone calls already in progress and damage sensitive hearing. I have never had a clear call through Grasshopper. I have tried to uninstall, adjust settings...etc. with zero success. Used up a lot of my mobile battery.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Purportedly, the Grasshopper app should be allowing us to transfer calls seamlessly from our main office to any extension, however, this has never worked for me, even with adequate tech support.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 14, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Grasshopper support slow and unresonsive"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Their startup rates don't appear to be bad. Options also appeared to be what I was looking for in a temporary phone system until the startup company would be in operation. If you don't like it under the 30 days, they will cancel the account. That was the only thing support did quickly, in less than three hours.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Unresponsive support. Contacted them first as phone calls did not show company name, only town which made the calls look like they were coming from a telemarketer. First contact with support asked about this problem. The response was we need your PIN number. Nothing about the problem in question, just we need your PIN number. I provided the pin number, and the response a day or two later was positive, and I provided the company name we wanted to have. No response, no correction. I followed up again, and again, two weeks later no response, no correction. If I can't get support to respond or address a problem, I don't want to entrust them with my phone service.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Needs a centralized local and 800 number for a startup. Utilizing cell & various home/office numbers to contact associates does not work.

Visit website