Grasshopper background blur
Grasshopper logo
Grasshopper
4.0
(146)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Grasshopper?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Grasshopper Reviews & Product Details

Grasshopper Overview
What is Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is a convenient tool that empowers businesses with a complete virtual phone system. The solution helps keep costs as low as possible, which is why the platform is preferred by freelancers and solopreneurs. Grasshopper also allows users to choose from various phone number options. With Grasshopper, users can save money on communication while ensuring that you’re backed by professional and sophisticated communication technology that helps boost your brand.

Company LogMeIn, Inc.
Year founded 2003
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Boston, MA, United States
Social Media
Grasshopper Categories on Findstack
Grasshopper Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Grasshopper Features
Browser Extension
Phone Calls
VOiP Number
Individual Download
Desk-to-Desk Calls
Hold Music
Automated Attendants
Software Pairing
Grasshopper Media
Grasshopper 0
Grasshopper 1
Grasshopper 2
Grasshopper 3
Grasshopper 4
Grasshopper 5
Grasshopper Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 19, 2024
Grasshopper logo
146 Grasshopper Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 10, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
TJ
Tim J.
Share
"It's a great service for start-ups"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It's lightweight, inexpensive, and flexible.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

As we more formalize our office, there isn't a way to integrate it into physical phone for someone's desk. I have some employees who need a phone, but using their cell phone isn't an ideal solution for us. The soft-phone is an okay solution for now.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have a business line that works no matter where we are. It allows for customer service after hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 30, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Kevin F. avatar
Kevin F.
President
Share
"Great responsive people and willing to work through things if needed. "
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I've never had a call drop. The service department did an excellent job of getting a number we accidentally ported to a different system we were trying out and got it back quickly. They have an "old" interface that has some additional functionality like 4 digit extensions and additional call routing options and if you ask them about it they will swap you to the old interface. Speech to text is pretty darned good and any person in the company can be assigned any DIDs, so multiple people can be put into a single extension as either an ACD queue, round robin, or free-for-all. Also, if you ASK, they will set you up with a PC based softphone. It works great and I don't know why they don't push it. Maybe it uses more resources? I don't know. But I use it on my PC with a headset all the time. One other cool thing is that you can actually run multiple businesses with different numbers off the same account. When we first started we had 3 numbers. One was for out WISP, one for our Agent channel business, and a third for PC repair. Later we added two more numbers to the firs two companies and we were able to use one number for one type of add and another for something different and determined quite easily in a short time which was most effective. :-)

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I'm not fond of the way the mobile app works. You can make outbound calls on the app, but inbound are routed to your cell phone directly. You can configure this to show your company name so every call coming in from grasshopper shows "Your Business Name". Or you can have it pass through caller ID but then you don't know if it's a personal or business call. If they had a full-fledged mobile phone app that you could make and receive calls on it would be MUCH better. Then again, when we were setup as three separate businesses, I was able to set it to show which company they were calling for and answer appropriately. So maybe instead of having a full blown calling app, they should have both.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Started out with one person. Growing, adding DIDs, call queues, extensions, direct inward dialing, are all incredibly easy. We now have 9 people on it 5 are in a sales queue, 2 of those 5 are also on a service queue with 2 others. And one from each of those groups is with two others in a billing group. That's some nice flexibility and it was incredibly easy to setup.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 20, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
EM
Eric M.
Owner/Ceo
Share
"Wonderful, Easy to Manage Product"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper gives you the ability to manage and customize your company's phone system easily and at a great price point.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Only complaint would be the inability to distinguish a Grasshopper call from a direct call when using a cell phone, while still utilizing caller ID. If a current customer calls using our Grasshopper system, it would be nice to know that they 1. Called through Grasshopper and 2. Who exactly is calling.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

In handling product sales it has been beneficial to have the ability to easily modify company main messages and after hours messages. As well as modify forwarding options on a time frame basis per employee. This way our new and existing clients always receive a professional and timely interaction with our staff.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 12, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
ML
Michael S. L.
Owner
Share
"So far so good."
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I like that I have an 800 number to show the market that I am nationally available. I like the professionalism attached by having the 800 number. I like that the system forwards the calls to my cell phone, which is my primary phone, and allows me to not miss potential sales calls.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I dislike the pricing, but it worth it at the same time.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm able to take sales calls through the United States.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 03, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
BH
Billy H.
Search Engine Media Specialist
Share
"Great product - Little steep on the pricing for my liking"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper hosts a suite of information, features, and support for its users. They're constantly looking to provide their customers with an edge by offering valuable resources for step 1 of their process. - Even before you sign up, you're still able to use their templates and information for SMBs - The Ability to pick between Toll free numbers or Local numbers, or both! - Voicemail to text transcription & voicemail sent to your email (Both great for my usage) - You're able to text from your business number as well as call out, no need to grab 2 phones anymore for your business

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

While Grasshopper offers a host of features that are valuable to any size business, they definitely do it at a premium compared to some other providers. If money isn't your biggest factor (Which it probably is if you're reading this deep into reviews), then go ahead and grab grasshopper! They do have different plans, and most of them offer all of the same features, but it's no fun to be limited on your minutes used when you're paying $24/mo. (That's only 500 minutes)

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Grasshopper has not only made me sound far more professional by adopting it's call-center features and Toll-free numbers, but it has also increased my productivity a noticeable amount. The ability to get voicemails and direct clients through some prompts has saved me a whole load of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Matthew G. avatar
Matthew G.
Director Of Customer Experience
Share
"Great way to manage calls with a central number and look professional in sales"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

If you're in B2B sales you need to publish your phone number (and it better be toll-free), but this raises a lot of problems as your sales team scales. What happens if you fire someone, transition someone, need off-hours, etc? You will shortly realize that it's better to have a central number with extensions that you can always control, but that seems daunting to set up. Grasshopper makes all of that easy, Get up and running with an 800 number in under ten minutes. You can admin all of the extensions and messages, access voicemail, fax, etc. through the web and app. The android app (can't speak for iOS) works for making calls through the 800 number as well, which is pretty awesome (but also counts towards your minutes per month!). It's only $12 a month to start with pay as you go for the minutes, which isn't terrible. The $24 plan has 500 minutes which is more than enough for a SaaS SMB. Very simple UI you really can't mess up, too.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

No free trial kind of sucked, but I luckily had access to $100 to test it out via our company's accelerator. The problem once signed up is they try to convince you to pay for many upsells - they'll record your base message for $75, you can get transcribed voice mail for $10 a month (Really? My personal carrier does this for free), simultaneous call forward etc.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Number/agent management, voice mail, providing toll free calling for customers, directing calls to relevant employees, providing a professional experience.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
KM
Kyle M.
It Director
Share
"Grasshopper does what is says it will do."
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

The user interface is easy to navigate, listen to messages.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Extra features are confusing or hidden behind additional costs. The ability to forward calls and messages elsewhere was lacking. Disconnecting service is not nearly as easy as set-up, usually a red flag.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Community members have a manageable number to reach our organization. The set-up was quick and easy. Community members were able to reach us through the service quickly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 15, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
David Z. avatar
David Z.
Partner
Share
"Great Phone Service, with one Exception"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It's very easy to set up and use the system. Managing extensions and enabling features is straightforward. Users seem to be able to handle customizing their extensions, also.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

Two major things: 1) Their SMS support is NOT what their website claims. It's totally misleading. They only support SMS messages being delivered to Admins on the system; users can't see SMS messages coming into their personal extensions or direct numbers. They all show up in one place and the only people who can see them are Admins. This is horrble and we've complained about it for months with no sign it will be fixed (seems like something that should take a day or two toimplement). 2) Their website has some issues when administrating the system. Lots of little rendering bugs that confuse when first using the system (adding users/editing fields will not always update the screen properly so you think something didn't update when, in fact, it has. In general, I don't like that it seems there are no engineers supporting this product. I've seen no improvements or chanegs in many months and that's not right for a hosted SaaS system.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed an inexpensive service to allow our employees to have access to personal extensions while still using their mobile devices for most communications.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
JT
Janet T.
Share
"Good Phone Service"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Notification that I have a message, shortly after a voicemail is left.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

There are glitches from time to time and I don’t receive any notification.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

I’m a small business that needs an 800 number. It’s been a great service for allowing me to appear like a larger business at an affordable price. Being able to customize greetings is also great!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AB
Alicia B.
Consulting Project Manager/Agile Coach
Share
"Grasshopper for RE"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

The ability to use my phone for business without having to give out my personal number

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

There is no faxing capabilities to send documents

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Able to have a business line without the additional phone expense

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
CG
Curtis G.
S
Share
"Good System, Some Limitations"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Easy interface, no dropped calls, app ok

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

no call recording, no xfer outbound call

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

It was great for our small-medium business with 3 employees. The few limitations listed above were things we needed. They were not working to offer those anytime soon

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
BB
Bethany B.
Idx Coordinator
Share
"Serves its purpose"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

I like that I am able to use grasshopper from my desktop or cell phone. This allows me to use the software more fluidly.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

The desktop interface is visually unappealing and it;'s not easy to notice when you are getting a call from your desktop.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using my personal phone for work calls. Since I work from home; it wasn't great calling clients from a blocked number and grasshopper solves that issue. Also; international calls!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AA
Adlai A.
Ceo
Share
"Overall a good VOIP service for small businesses"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Easy, intuitive setup. Website interface was not so impressive, but the functionality was there. Mobile app is very useful. Desktop app was also useful. Great to be able to see text messages and voicemails across all users.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

I am based in Hawaii. Which apparently is not part of the United States. In order to call people in Hawaii, and forward calls to phone numbers in Hawaii I need to activate international calling and then I get charged international calling for calling someone down the street in Hawaii and get charged international calling when someone down the street calls me. I dislike that very much.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Affordable business VOIP phone system. Supports multiple users. Allows visibility to text messages and voicemails across users. Supports group texts and image transfers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AI
Anna I.
Communications Coordinator
Share
"Set It and Forget It"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

Grasshopper, once set up, is easy to use to receive calls.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

It's not the easiest to use for outgoing calls. We typically just end up making calls from our direct phone numbers instead of bothering with using Grasshopper for outbound calls.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

Grasshopper allows us to use our personal phones under the guise of a different business phone number.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
EO
Efren O.
Associate Consultant
Share
"Good so far!"
What do you like best about Grasshopper?

It allows me to paste a phone number to call rather than using a phone and dial every time I will a new contact.

What do you dislike about Grasshopper?

It doesn't allow me to mute myself while listening to the person I am calling.

What problems is Grasshopper solving and how is that benefiting you?

It gives me time to call more people in a day. Saves my time too.

Visit website