Paymo background blur
Paymo logo
Paymo
Streamlined Project Management
4.6
(585)
by Paymo
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Paymo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Paymo Reviews & Product Details

Paymo Overview
What is Paymo?

As a project management platform, Paymo has all the functionalities of similar industry-leading tools such as multiple task views, custom workflows, project templates, and tracking, monitoring, and reporting. What separates Paymo from other project management software is its extensive list of project billing features. It offers seamless invoicing from logged billable hours within the system as well as a capability to create accurate costings for new projects. It also has native integrations with top payment processing channels so you can track online payments right from the platform itself. These are all reinforced with a comprehensive list of profitability tracking benefits which include profit margin projection, employee-specific profitability metrics, and a client profitability tracker.

Company Paymo
Year founded 2008
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Social Media
Paymo Categories on Findstack
Paymo Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Paymo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Allows for real time collaboration
  • Extensive bird’s eye view of individual tasks
  • Supports multiple views
  • Features advanced filters and notifications
Cons
  • While the platform offers a free plan, it does come with a lot of limitations
Paymo Features
Role
Creation & Assignment
Electronic Payments
Reporting
Performance and Reliability
Mobile User Support
Ease of Completing Timesheets
Tracking Time to Project/Task
Billable Time Rate Management
Invoice Creation and Delivery
Time Tracking
Internationalization
Project Accounting / Revenue Recognition
APIs / Integration
Offline
Paymo Media
Paymo 0
Paymo 1
Paymo 2
Paymo 3
Paymo 4
Paymo 5
Paymo Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
Paymo logo
585 Paymo Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NB
Nilay B.
Brand Manager
Share
"Very usefull"
What do you like best about Paymo?

It makes it easier for me to make business planning by seeing the calendar of the entire team, so I find it very useful

What do you dislike about Paymo?

i would like to have a history section that shows the changes I have made, this will help me solve any problems I may encounter so that I can work more easily, also time information can be added to the application

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

i managed my team's time plan more accurately and organized my work easily, which greatly facilitated my work

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 06, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GJ
Grant J.
Director
Share
"We've been using Paymo since start of our business 5 years ago and very easy to use"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The application is very easy to use and the designs are well defined. The application caters for not only individuals but for large customers and projects as well. The flexible billing options makes it a easy business decision when deciding on a time and project management platform. They continuously roll out new features and the quality of work done is superb for the live system is bug free.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

The absence of building your own BI reports

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed a platform to enable our staff to log accurate timesheets effortlessly

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KF
Karin F.
C
Share
"Great product Great company"
What do you like best about Paymo?

This product has greatly improved our productivity, given us valuable insight into our time and product management within the company.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Would love the option to be able to add and additional percentage to the billable hours in order to create invoices directly from the system.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paymo has allowed us to see which tasks are exceeding our estimates which has helped us improve our estimates and increase our job profitability.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Mark B.
Founding Partner
Share
"Been happily using Paymo for 13 years!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

It is easy to create reports, tasks, projects and everything else we need to do to track client project billing.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Paymo meets all of our needs and I have no complaints.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

client billable time tracking is easy and efficient with the app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DA
David A.
Founder / Ceo
Share
"Amazing Business Tool for Creatives"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Design, features, integration, and support

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Team scheduling feature is slow to load.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Problems we're solving: Scheduing our team, collecting time sheets, analyzing project profitability, centralized project locations More efficient communication and faster ability to track and progress on projects.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Elizabeth K. avatar
Elizabeth K.
Share
"Finally, the perfect app."
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo is not too much, not to little. It's everything I need in one place. I can manage projects with freelancers, track everybody's time, and easily bill those hours. It's also super easy to use, so there wasn't an enormous learning curve.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I thought the in-app discussions would be a clean way to communicate with freelancers, rather than have a ton of email threads to dig through, but it turned out to be really awkward when we tried it. It might work better for larger teams, but for me it wasn't right.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I had been using a free accounting platform for years, and really liked it, but I had no time tracking or project management options within it. I didn't want to piecemeal solutions, and I had signed up for a ton of free trials before stumbling on Paymo. Once I tried Paymo, I realized it was exactly what I needed. Being able to add users (and archive and reassign users) was an invaluable benefit that wasn't even on my radar initially. It used to take me more time to itemize invoices than to complete some jobs, but Paymo does all of that for me!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Claire M. avatar
Claire M.
Conseil Et Gestion De Projet Marketing & Digital
Share
"Paymo, the companion of my day to day freelance life"
What do you like best about Paymo?

- the full integration of time tracking, tasks, projects, clients and bills - I know precisely on what I work, for whom, and which projects are the most profitable

What do you dislike about Paymo?

- If Paymo could connect to my banking account and automatically link bills and payment it would be awesome. - I would also love it if Paymo had a CRM view, with a way to manage leads, opportunities, and my sales pipeline. - The last thing : a way to plan my work in advance, with a visual view, would be great.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

At the beginning, I have tested Paymo because I was looking for a time tracking tool. I needed to know how much time I worked for each project. I quickly realized how much Paymo would be useful. I can bill my customers in a few clicks every month, based on the time spent on their project. I can send them reports if needed. I can also know, when needed, if the time spent on a project is more important than I thought. Is helps me to organize my time and to make better proposals.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Leonardo B. avatar
Leonardo B.
Sócio Gerente Webdesigner
Share
"Affordable time tracking"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I like how I can easily track my team's workload and communicate over each task.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would like to easily go from a task to its related booking, but for now I can only do the opposite way

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

The time tracking helped me make better estimates and pricing. I can also have a better understanding of the team's tasks' statuses

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JL
Justyna L.
Project Management
Share
"Great tool for Project Management"
What do you like best about Paymo?

The clear design, intuitive tool, very user friendly, has all features which are needed in Project Management work

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I wish it was a smaller plans for users, who use only one feature

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

The client can see the project progress, and I can control the budget, designers can log their hours, I can create the reports - is one place where I can follow the designers work and where the client can follow the project progress

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alexander B. avatar
Alexander B.
Project Manager
Share
"Invoicing tools are powerful"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo is leader in managing and creating invoices and time tracking. I really like these two features because it allows me to break down my work by tasks and work more easily throughout the day. Sending invoices is only a few clicks away and I like that Paymo has all my work organized by Gantt Charts, making it fast to understand all the information and get started with work easily.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I don't have any dislikes towards Paymo and I believe it keeps improving every update.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paymo is fast and intuitive and saves me a lot of time with invoices, I like that it has many features that I would otherwise use in separate apps, such as time tracking and invoices, which are the main tools I use Paymo for. For me, I feel like Paymo has helped me with all the workload and made everything easier to digest.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Leah W. avatar
Leah W.
Project Manager
Share
"A software with multiple purposes, but it's not messy"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I love Paymo's UI and its ability to track time and create and send invoices to clients. I sometimes manage my tasks there too and it's been an incredible experience to organize and work with Gantt Charts.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I would like to see the invoicing tools more expanded and implemented with new features such as adding different billing options.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I started using Paymo for its time tracker and then I found out about its invoicing options and it was amazing. Handling everything billing-related digitally has been really great for my time management and overall work environment. I sometimes work on personal taslks with the app too and it's wonderful.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 30, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jelena J. avatar
Jelena J.
Ceo
Share
"My sanity and time saver!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

I've been using Paymo for my business project management, CRM and accounting for 2 years now.  What I can say is it's been a lifesaver in many business management areas, beside project management. With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver! One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time! Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task. It's brilliant. Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis with your clients. I've previously used Asana, Trello, Basecamp, Zoho Projects, Teamwork and NONE of them were enough to cover my freelance business management needs. When I signed up for Paymo's free trial, I knew it was the one. Paymo does exactly what my freelance business needs it to do, and exactly the way it should do it and it gets even better. With even better features and improvements on their roadmap, I can bet this tool is going to beat all the competitors out there. The last but not least - my clients love it, and Paymo customer support is so easy to reach and a pleasure to deal with.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap. Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management. Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription. Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :) Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gabriella S. avatar
Gabriella S.
Managing Partner
Share
"The little App that could"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Everything. When I started using Paymo (2015) I really needed a timer since I deal with a variety of clients. It was easy to use, and very intuitive for my needs. It wasn't until I started to poke around all the other features that I realized this little app is amazing. I get to use it with my team (remoters) and am able to edit just as easily. But if I had to chose one thing I like the best, it's the price! That's a lot of awesomeness for such a little price. I hope that doesn't give these guys any ideas!

What do you dislike about Paymo?

Nothing about this app. Not sure how many words I need...

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Client management, and keeping consultants happy by giving them the ability to pick any day of the month to dock their time. It has also given us the opportunity to realize how much time is allotted for a specific project, in order to better quote the next similar project.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Krystle C. avatar
Krystle C.
Program Management Officer, Global Marketing Pmo
Share
"I finally found the one!"
What do you like best about Paymo?

After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur. Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow. A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use! Other features I love: - Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in app timer every day. - Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools). - Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view. - There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront. It’s definitely worth giving a try.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

- I would like to be able to invite users as reviewers to my account. Right now, if I want a coaching client to be able to view tasks in Paymo, I have to add them as a new, paid user. - The name! Whenever I tell people about Paymo they assume I'm talking about a financial app, not a project management tool. I would hate for this to hinder such a wonderful tool in the marketplace! - I would like to receive in-app reminders about work that is due. I have Paymo synced to my calendar and I receive email reminders, but it would be better for me if the app sent push notifications.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Paymo is so easy to use, that I actually use it! This has boosted my productivity greatly. It is easy to add work, view work, track work, track time, and more. Paymo has a timer feature that is also super intuitive when used via the mobile app and that I use every day. I love to use the timesheet for a visual representation of where my time has gone. What doesn't get measured, doesn't get improved! Also, even though I'm currently a solo operation, I have a lot of projects, and I need to be able to see a global view of my work. A lot of tools I've tried do not have this option, and if they do, it's an upgrade that is cost-prohibitive. Not only can I see all of my work at a time, but using a dropdown menu, I can easily switch between different views: list, table, board (kanban). Using Paymo allows me to stay on the work required to grow my business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 24, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AS
Alexa S.
Share
"My perfect app is Paymo"
What do you like best about Paymo?

Paymo is really a great application. I was not convinced to work with Asana or Trello to manage my personal work flow. With Paymo, I found everything I needed: a CSM to manage my leads and my clients, a to do list to put my tasks in order, a project manager to take notes during my discussions with customers. In addition, I was able to link Paymo to Quickbook to transform my quotes into an invoice. Now, I track all of my time to find out exactly how much time I spend on my customer contracts and my personal business.

What do you dislike about Paymo?

I don't like the IOS configuration. I prefer the web app. I found IOS app uncomplete.

What problems is Paymo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I' able to track all my time, billable an unbillable.