Airtable background blur
Airtable logo
Airtable
Flexible Database for Teams
4.6
(2,219)
by Formagrid, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Airtable?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Airtable Reviews & Product Details

Airtable Overview
What is Airtable?

Airtable is a powerful visual project management platform that synergizes data, workflows, and execution teams on a unified dashboard. Streamlining work streams, the platform provides a synced and up-to-date information database that can be accessed by all stakeholders across different departments. Customization is at the heart of Airtable, allowing teams to create personalized apps and a tailored interface allowing easy access to relevant information and giving clear sightlines to the next steps. While customization is a key benefit, it also offers ready-to-use and pre-loaded industry-agnostic templates while extensive integrations and expandability make it scalable and agile.

Company Formagrid, Inc.
Year founded 2012
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Airtable Categories on Findstack
Airtable Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Airtable Features
Templates
Creation & Assignment
To-Do Lists
Due Dates
Task Prioritization
Drag & Drop
Planning
Views
Project Map
Calendar View
Dashboards
Airtable Media
Airtable 0
Airtable 1
Airtable 2
Airtable 3
Airtable 4
Airtable Screenshots
Airtable Expert Review

Workflow management is a critical part of any job. It’s what keeps a project moving, and a team motivated to see it through. But, how do you support effective workflow management?

You start with understanding better what tools, platforms, and software are out there that can support your team’s ability to effectively manage workflow and collaborate within their teams and beyond.

To that end, we’ve identified Airtable as a strong market leader in workflow management software. So, let’s dive into Airtable’s features, capabilities, and price points to help you better understand your options.

Airtable homepage

What Is Airtable?

Airtable is a workflow management application with highly customizable database management tools used predominantly for collaborative project management.

The focus on having accessible, easy-to-use software to help with project management is increasing, and Airtable is a top choice. It features a familiar spreadsheet interface, but unlike traditional spreadsheet software that only records data, Airtable can also help you organize, sync, and manage your data and customize exactly how you need it.

For example, let’s say you’re using Airtable to manage vendor management workflow for an event. This would entail designing the database to include fields for:

  • Vendors’ contact details
  • Links to their websites
  • Inputting key information, such as lead times, product availabilities, and prices
  • Uploading order confirmations
  • Uploading invoices
  • Important notes and comments about the vendor

The option to invite collaborators to this database is also critical so individual users can easily update data in real-time. Having all these features in a single platform means users can clearly follow the progression of a particular project and keep everyone in the team up-to-date on their tasks and next steps.

How Much is Airtable

Airtable’s interface is very flexible and is ideal for numerous industries. While it has been marketed to larger corporations, most users who have had hands-on experience with the platform say that it is just as useful for smaller businesses.

This is reflected in Airtable’s pricing, which follows a monthly subscription model. This subscription cost increases depending on the number of features and ‘seats’ you choose to purchase, making it highly scalable depending on your organization’s needs.

Airtable’s features are grouped into four levels, and the price per seat rises accordingly. A breakdown of each level can be found below:

Free

  • Designed for very small teams or individuals
  • Up to 5 editors and unlimited ‘read-only’ users
  • 1200 records per base
  • 2GB of attachments

Plus

$10 per seat – Billed annually

$12 per seat – Billed monthly

  • For small to medium-sized organizations
  • Eliminates information silos within a team by connecting applications
  • More advanced collaboration features
  • 5,000 records per base
  • 5GB of attachments

Pro

$20 per seat – Billed annually

$24 per seat – Billed monthly

  • For medium to large organizations who need to streamline and collaborate on top-priority data
  • More advanced features
  • 50,000 records per base
  • 20 GB of attachments

Enterprise

  • Price is customized to your organization’s needs
  • Enterprise-wide admin panel
  • For organizations who need a scalable product to keep up with workloads
  • Unlimited workspaces per organization
  • 250,000 records per base
  • 1,000 GB of attachments
Airtable Pricing

How Airtable Works

Airtable was built to be as customizable as possible, giving users the ability to display their data in a way that meets their specific needs—whether that means a simple presentation or a more complex one.

Getting started is simple.

You start with an empty Airtable, which is essentially your ‘base.’ From here, you just fill it with your data. You can either use a template and bring in data from another source or construct a database from scratch. Whatever the case, you can leverage Airtable’s features to tailor the platform to meet your needs. For example, you can use the Interface Design feature to visually present data in a way that makes the most sense to you and your team.

Familiarizing and understanding all of Airtable’s features and capabilities may require some effort, but the payoff is worth it. Taking the time to learn the platform will ensure users have full control over their data and workflow management.

Features

Access to Airtable’s numerous features will depend on your subscription and, subsequently, the scalability of your projects. However, all subscription options should include:

  • Unlimited bases
  • Sync integrations
  • The ability to add attachments
  • Revision and snapshot history reporting
  • Field and editing permissions
  • Extension add-ons (e.g., data visualization or reporting extensions)

Airtable also provides:

Customizable Views

With a click of a button, this feature gives users the flexibility to switch between different data views. Users can view project timelines via the Timeline View, and easily switch to managing team tasks on the collaborative Kanban View. Other viewing options are also available ensuring that you can customize your viewing experience so you can maximize the platform.

The Timeline View

Airtable Timeline View

The Kanban View

Airtable Kanban View

Automations

Airtable Automations lets users streamline their work processes and boost team efficiency by providing customization options for notifications and creating multi-step workflows. The feature is helpful in terms of tracking project timelines and helping eliminate manual, repetitive tasks. Additionally, it can also minimize the risk of user error.

Syncing

Airtable’s ability to synchronize data means users have a central repository of information that is updated in real-time across all users and departments. It’s a useful tool that promotes seamless collaboration and data integrations, allowing everyone to enjoy a comprehensive understanding of project status or workflows at the speed of need.

Reporting

To enhance your project’s reporting capabilities, Airtable’s powerful reporting tools and extensions let users create highly customized reports that visualize your data in a simple understandable way. You can choose from a variety of charts, graphs, and tables to ensure that information is presented in a way that is easy to understand.

Airtable sample report

Integrations

Airtable offers robust integration that lets you connect the platform to a wide range of software; ensuring that all the project management tools that you use operate seamlessly. Airtable’s integrations mean multiple applications can be streamlined to automatically sync data, share information between different platforms, and automate tasks so workflows can be further improved.

Airtable integrations

Templates

Airtable’s templates can be used to effectively organize every aspect of your project’s workflows. Their pre-designed databases can be used as a great starting point for your projects. Conveniently, Airtable templates are also organized into several categories and industries, which helps you save time and effort from creating a new one from scratch. As always, these pre-populated grids are highly customizable.

Airtable templates

Airtable Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Facilitates easy collaboration between teams with company-wide visibility of plans, calendars, and workflows.
  • Both Google and non-Google users can take advantage of all the features and integrations to support workflow management and collaboration
  • Highly customizable bases and effective reporting features

Cons

  • The platform’s user interface can be complicated for beginners
  • Requires a significant learning curve

Airtable Alternatives

A great way to decide whether Airtable is the right software for you is to compare it to other options in the workflow management space.

Eliminate the hassle of comparing options by choosing from your top choices below. With the ability to review features and relevant information in one place, you can utilize our comprehensive product reviews to gather the necessary data you need to make well-informed decisions.

ClickUp

An all-in-one project management application, Clickup is designed to be used across any industry. From solo users to larger organizations, Clickup focuses on task management to help teams streamline their workflow.

ClickUp offers numerous workflow features and data views, including a built-in Table View to ensure your team always has access to a condensed, actionable snapshot of your projects.

Notion

Designed for smaller teams or individuals, Notion is an all-in-one SaaS note-taking app and database for streamlined project management. Some features include:

  • A web clipper so you can easily save images and sites
  • A real-time messenger feature
  • Allows for category and page hierarchy organization

Hive

With a focus on automation tools, Hive aims to simplify overly complicated work processes through email and task automation. Boasting a user-friendly dashboard, Hive aims to help teams of all sizes automate time-consuming work tasks to give time back to a project’s creation and growth.

A Final Findstack Opinion

Overall, Airtable is a highly comprehensive and customizable workflow management application.

Airtable’s app offers flexibility by allowing you to switch views and integrate reporting extensions, ensuring your data is suitable for various applications. Additionally, its extensive list of integrations enables you to consolidate all your preferred tools and their data in one convenient location.

It’s important to keep in mind, however, that these features are only useful for those willing to take the time to learn them. Airtable’s interface can be quite overwhelming for new users so our advice is to scale to higher subscription packages only after you’ve taken the time to learn the app’s features and familiarize yourself with them.

Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
Airtable logo
2,219 Airtable Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BM
Bryan M.
Search & Reporting Lead Strategist
Share
"Airtable is Amazing"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is an incredibly flexible platform that enables me to quickly build proof-of-concept and production assets that have been able to help me at work and home.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

It is difficult to be too hard on Airtable because they're constantly building new features. The Automations that they've built in are quite nice, but lacking in a lot of depth. There is a custom scripting capability, but it is limited to JavaScript and not Python, which I'd prefer.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable solves the problem of having to meticulously build out databases just for a proof of concept - something that my company is unable to do on our own. I've built internal tools to help with giving feedback and shoutouts, a CRM to manage a small segment of our business that doesn't fit in with out standard operating procedures, and more.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Melissa H.
Managing Editor
Share
"Makes my life so much easier!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

I use Airtable to manage the production of a quarterly magazine. It makes it so incredibly easy for me to assign articles and deadlines, keep track of progress, and maintain a database of contacts.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

My only complaint about Airtable is that you can't archive bases or put them into folders. I typically create a new base for every new issue of the magazine, and it would be ideal to be able to archive them once an issue is complete.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable's ability to filter and tag team members makes it so much better than Google Sheets or similar for keeping track of projects and maintaining databases.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kat S.
Founder/Owner/Ceo
Share
"Airtable is flexible and useful to track and manage a wide variety of business information"
What do you like best about Airtable?

I love Airtable's flexibility. It's easy to learn to use for basic database construction and as an information hub, yet capable of complex relationships.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

I still struggle at times with Airtable assuming I understand certain jargon or how it names or refers to things.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable is helping me and my team keep a lot of info and links organized and handy to copy/paste or just click to access a URL.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Lucas S.
Share
"Meets All Our Small Company Coordination Needs"
What do you like best about Airtable?

High degree of customizations. I've always been able to find good resources online for customizing my databases and creating templates. I love the continuously work to make the product better and far reaching.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Starting with it can feel daunting. You need some support creating the databases that would be needed specifically for you.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

We keep all our service databases and contacts for our company. We also use it for AP and AR record tracking.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Algene D.
Customer Success Manager
Share
"Airtable is a highly recommended platform."
What do you like best about Airtable?

What I liked the most is Airtable is a friendly user and one of the standout features is its felxibility.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

None, Airtable provides a comprehensive solution for organizing, tracking, and managing data.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable is powerful filtering, sorting, and grouping capabilities enable efficient data organization and analysis.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GH
Georgie H.
Share
"Complete ease of use, extremely customisable"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is extremely easy to use for a wide range of needs. Our organisation uses it every single day. I love the option to have different views such as list, kanban, filtering by columns etc. It took less than a week to integrate into our organisation which was very appealing to me. I appreciate the option to have different projects and within that, different tables.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

I don't think there's anything I could fault about Airtable!

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed a place to easily and clearly list where different clients were at within a workflow and Airtable has been perfect for that. We have definitely saved on time since utilising Airtable. Communication has also improved.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
OB
Omer B.
Share
"The Flexible Approach is a great tool for streamlining your work."
What do you like best about Airtable?

The benefits of using Airtable in my profession are very clear. This is an all-purpose toolbox for data management which provides unmatched flexibility for various tasks. Managing projects is so simple because I have tailored the version to suit my needs. Surprisingly its user friendly interface is something that one would not expect from a digital tool.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Although, it can be said that Airtable is very flexible, when it comes to specific sectors, it may be necessary to turn to some other platforms with more refined functionalities. It might not, however, be adequate for complex data modelling in accounting when there are specialized tools which are more efficient than it.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

My work has become much easier with airtable as I effortlessly track and report tasks. It’s narrowing the divide between spreadsheets and databases. Appreciate how it has streamlined most of my activities.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DA
Daniel A.
Share
"Airtable has simplified our planning and tracking and cut on the time spent on manual updates."
What do you like best about Airtable?

I have observed that Airtable helps to custom personalize boards according to the team’s workflow. Projects have been made more orderly and systematic through the boards. Appreciate how it is always syncing in real time, keeping everyone on the team updated. Universe is a nice addition, giving numerous methodologies to use in different projects. Its integration with social media also ensures that we plan our outreach effectively.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Although Airtable has many features, its interface may not always be simple and easy to use. It was quite a patient affair during the set up, and especially in attempting to mold a template to the specific ideas and procedures.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have simplified our planning and tracking and reduced the time spent on manual updates because of Airtable. Its boards help to provide clarity on tasks and progress to keep projects on track. Consequently, we are able to work better together as a unit and achieve more productive sprints that produce the desired outcomes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NK
Nand K.
Share
"salesforce Developer"
What do you like best about Airtable?

It is more enhanced and easy to use for integration

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Not able to view the image in the full form

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is more feasible and whenver the row is added all the details are coming along with it

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mikita N. avatar
Mikita N.
Chief Executive Officer
Share
"Great backed database for our opportunities marketplace"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is a powerful and flexible tool for storing and managing opportunities. It is easy to use, affordable, and constantly evolving. Airtable is a lifesaver for managing and recieving opportunities for our marketplace. I love that it connects with softrand BOOM I have a functional subscription application.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Airtable can be overwhelming at first. There are a lot of features and options, and it can be a bit complex to learn at first, especially if you are not familiar with relational databases.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to store opportunities I've manually found for my Community. I also use Airtable to recieve opportunities from organizations who want to list their submission on our platform. Summery of use: Organize my work more efficiently Keep track of important deadlines Collaborate with others more easily Make better decisions based on data

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PJ
Pavithra J.
Share
"Airtable is our smart and reliable data management system."
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable has really changed my app development projects’ management. I especially love the automation feature since it saves life, especially for those repetitive tasks that could take much of my time. Smooth linking between different tables and ability to connect various data. The interface makes it easy for me to create custom views and dashboards, which makes my database work more efficient and streamlined.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Of course, Airtable is definitely a big learning curve when starting with it, just because of everything you can do with Airtable. Another con also that I have experienced with it is the cost it is associated with when you want to integrate advanced features or to bring large number of collaberators in a base.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable has virtually removed the manual handling of my project workflows. With my database needs being organized and automated, I can now undertake the real development. It has proven to be very good for my efficiency and shortened project lengths.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Noah B. avatar
Noah B.
Guitar Player
Share
"Airtable review"
What do you like best about Airtable?

The best thing I like about platform is that communication is effortless Easy to use and understand Mix between a spreadsheet and database Integration Automation features Tasks and notes Also can be used for business all personal Gallery view Import and export project

What do you dislike about Airtable?

It can be best platform if we're able to add calendar directly

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Great for tasks management

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WC
Wendy C.
Hr & Office Manager
Share
"Comprehensive"
What do you like best about Airtable?

I like how customizable it is. I can add drop downs to each column, change the colors of the people depending on department, I can add categories and then have all the informtion in each section. I am a beginner using Airtable but I have enjoyed working with it and continuing to learn more of the nuances of the program.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

That if you delete something, move something it is hard to get your chart to its original state. I am still learning how to use Airtable.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to allow others to put in information, change format or give suggestions that improve the table of information I have made and use with staff.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brian B. avatar
Brian B.
Campus Pastor/Associate Campus Pastor
Share
"Great tool for project management"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is a nice platform and it has great customer service It's innovative and user friendly I like that I can see all my data at one space Integration and extension are also practical

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Calendar and time line are not intuitive to setup

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Integration with others app, great customer service, easy to build database

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DC
Devin C.
Head Of Production
Share
"Amazing project management tool and data management hero!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

My favorite part about Airtable is how versatile and customizable it is. I use Airtable for a variety of professional and personal tasks including financial record keeping, project management, idea workshopping, content scheduling, and more. Airtable allows me to easily view, manage, and manipulate information in a number of different layouts, which is incredibly beneficial and convenient. I also like how clean the user interface is and how easy it is to get going with a new project. I have been using Airtable for years and have introduced a number of people to the platform, especially for project management tasks. Everyone has always been impressed with how great a tool Airtable is for organizing information in a consolidated, concise, and easy to look at format.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

There is not too much I dislike about Airtable for how I am currently using the platform. I know there are a number of paid features that you can upgrade to for a monthly fee. I have not looked too in-depth to see if some of these features, so maybe some of them would cover feature requests that I wish were readily available on the site. For example, I would love to be able to fill cells, rows, and columns with a background color similar to a spreadsheet program like Excel or Sheets. It would also be nice to be able to change fonts and font sizes/color. These are not features I would need to use all the time, so if they do exist as a premium feature, it's not worth it for me to upgrade to. The subscription upgrade model for paid features is very expensive, especially if you've invited multiple collaborators to a workspace. Essentially you will need to pay a monthly fee for each person that has access to the workspace, which adds up quickly. This is a cost that applies per workspace, so if there are multiple workspaces you want to upgrade that all have multiple people... well, you can see how things would get expensive. The model Airtable uses for its paid add-on features is pricey, which is why I'm not familiar with the features -- I don't even want to look to see what there is because it doesn't make sense for me as a small business or individual user.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I work in the live entertainment business and Airtable does an amazing job of helping keep track of information related to the event tours I am a part of. I can organize tons of information for different cities, shows, and theaters that other members of the team can reference and contribute to. It's a great tool that allows us to easily organize and sort through a lot of small details.

Visit website