Semrush background blur
Semrush logo
Semrush
4.5
(1,903)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Semrush Reviews & Product Details

Semrush Overview
What is Semrush?

SEMRush is an all-in-one content marketing solution that comes with content optimization tools, an SEO writing assistant, and real-time content grade as well as a keyword research tool. The platform is a great tool for topic research, and content grading for readability, SEO, tone of voice, and originality. It can also reliably recommend keywords and track the impact of your article given the SEO improvements that were implemented. Pricing for SEMrush is more on the higher end, given the feature-rich options of tools available and the fact that it’s an all-in-one solution.

Company Semrush Inc.
Year founded 2008
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Social Media
Semrush Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Semrush
What Semrush is best for?
How does Semrush compare to Serpstat?
What are the pros and cons of Semrush?
Semrush Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Semrush Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Intensive keyword analysis
  • Reasonably priced platform
  • Offers demographic insight
  • Identifies spammy backlinks
  • It’s an all-in-one solution for keyword research and content optimization software.
Cons
  • Reports of inaccurate data on ad spend
  • Requires a steep learning curve
  • Only one user login
  • Only available via SEMrush plans
  • Asks you to pay $45/month per additional user
Semrush Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
Semrush Features
Backlink Analysis
Broken Link Checker
Competitor Analysis
Competitor Keyword Analysis
Content Ideas
Content Optimization
Crawl Diagnostics
Google Analytics Integration
Heatmaps
Keyword Research
Keyword Tracking
Link Building Tools
Local SEO
Mobile SEO
On-Page SEO
PPC Keyword Tool
Page Speed Analysis
Rank Tracking
SEO Dashboard
SEO Performance Tracking
SEO Recommendations
SEO Reporting
SERP Analysis
Schema Markup
Site Audit
Social Media Integration
Technical SEO
Voice Search Optimization
Website Analytics
XML Sitemaps
Semrush Media
Semrush 0
Semrush 1
Semrush 2
Semrush 3
Semrush Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
Semrush logo
1,903 Semrush Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alex V. avatar
Alex V.
Chief Marketing Officer
Share
"SEMRush is the Gold Standard"
What do you like best about Semrush?

Keyword Magic will take the guesswork out of which keywords have competition, which ones have enough volume to go after, and will uncover long tail nuggets like crazy!

What do you dislike about Semrush?

Literally, nothing. Been using it for 10+ years. Every update is better than before.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it to closely monitor our positions in the SERPs on both mobile and desktop for a 23+ year old webiste, representing 30 hotels (multi-property eCOMM travel site). The Organic Dashboard is where I live every single morning, seeing which ranks dropped and which positions improved, both for branded terms and unbranded.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Patrick B. avatar
Patrick B.
President And Ceo
Share
"Great Insight for our SEO Campaigns"
What do you like best about Semrush?

Seeing our daily rankings for our targeted keywords along with the historical rankings has helped us tremendously in figuring out what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong with our SEO strategies. I also love their audit tool which lets us know various improvements we can do to each of our website pages to potentially improve our rankings.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

I can't say there's anything I don't like about the software. I bounced around from a few of their competitors because I wasn't happy with their solutions. SEMrush has offered everything I needed to maintain and improve my rankings.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

SEMrush has helped us identify ranking drops after major Google algorithm updates. By making updates based on the audit pages, such as broken links and removing toxic incoming links, we have seen improvement with rankings, which has improved our bottom line.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Michael H.
Founder
Share
"A Tool No SEO Should Be Without!"
What do you like best about Semrush?

The fact that the tool is a complete all-round tool for digital marketing. We can literally do everything that our agency needs all from one tool.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

The price for the tool is a little high but is understandable for the number of tools that it contains. Sill a great investment.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use the tool to help clients get increased organic rankings in Google search results.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EK
Emma K.
Seo Specialist
Share
"Amazing Keyword Research and Content Analytics Tool"
What do you like best about Semrush?

That you can create different "Projects" for different clients or accounts. I love that each project houses a lot of different information from keyword rankings to the website health score. The keyword tools give great insights on how your current tracked keywords are doing and also highlighting what areas of opportunity you should capitalize on.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

Nothing really comes to mind except that I wish the various account levels came with many more keywords available to track without having to pay for the enterprise-level plan.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm being shown what opportunities I have to better optimize my site and in turn, increase my traffic and conversions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 12, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BERENICE M. avatar
Berenice M.
Digital Branding Specialist / Trafficker Digital
Share
"Improve your Search Engine Ranking on Google with SEMrush!"
What do you like best about Semrush?

SEMrush is a tool I recommend 100%! With this tool you can analyze your domain and know its general status. For example, you can know which are your best performing keywords that contribute to the ranking of your website even if you have PPC campaigns you can know which keywords are the ones that drive the most traffic to your website. Another thing that I like is that you can know the backlinks that are coming to your website which helps you determine if your content is of quality or not.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

There is an option that allows you to know your position vs the competition, which often doesn't relate your website well to your main competitors. Also if you are a small company the price is expensive if you to contract the semrush license but take into account that you will have more benefits.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

I used the tool to analyze the competition by consulting the keyword and backlink reports. For example, when I implemented linkbuilding, Semrush helped me with the "backlinks" function that tells you where the competitor's backlinks came from and in this way being able to promote my site through that link (article, mention or collaboration) as the competition Regarding organic research, it helped me to know what keywords they were positioning that worked well for them and in this way include some in the content optimization of my website and blog.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 24, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cathy H. avatar
Cathy H.
Seo Coordinator
Share
"A MUST for any SEO team"
What do you like best about Semrush?

very comprehensive, has all features including keyword rankings, research and competitive analysis

What do you dislike about Semrush?

limit to one user only, have to pay substantial more for additional user

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

If someone from the team wants to use the program, I'd have to log out. Sometimes the data breaks in the backend

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jessica P. avatar
Jessica P.
Freelance Graphic Design & Marketing
Share
"SEMrush -Expensive but worthwhile"
What do you like best about Semrush?

The insights you gain from SEMrush are incredible. Particularly when it comes to having a greater scope on your own company and competitor companies.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

It is very expensive. Usually works best when a dedicated marketing person/consultant buys it to use for multiple clients to then breakdown and relay the information from it to them. Or if the company has a dedicated marketing team and enough to spend on SEMrush.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

The best solution it provides is eCommerce. When people go to your website what path do they follow to complete a buy? How many people come to your website and from what platform? It's great for A/B testing what is and isn't working to streamline customer purchases.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HM
Hali M.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Share
"Amazing SEO monitoring tool that drives strategy"
What do you like best about Semrush?

Ability to create projects/dashboards to monitor different sections of our business.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

The cost of additional keywords outside of package. They only include a low amount of keywords in the Guru package then you have to pay for additional keywords.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

We launched a rebranded website while incorporating 2 other websites into ours. It helped us identify the best keywords, content readability, and now monitor our SEO growth since launch.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 01, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Marina H.
Founder
Share
"SEMRush is an excellent choice"
What do you like best about Semrush?

Semrush in its paid version has several advantages. Among the main advantages of this suite we find: The ability to create a custom project Constantly check the site audit Check the Position Tracking of your blog or website Get SEO ideas to improve site ranking The tools allow you to better position the site on Google The platform is simple to use and also features manuals and courses to learn how to make the best use of it The site can be integrated with analysis tools such as Google Analytics It can be used for better management of Social Media It presents a platform dedicated to advertising with Google ADS Features designed to adequately control your online projects

What do you dislike about Semrush?

With a minimum price of $ 99 dollars a month ($ 83 if paid annually) it is certainly not an inexpensive service. It's great for companies, but for freelancers it's too expensive

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

SEMRush is a rich toolbox that presents a large number of suggestions and details in a simple form, understandable to anyone and easy to use thanks to the SEO Ideas functionality that allows you to enter a large number of keywords and connect them to different landing pages on your site . The platform performs a quick analysis and then shows a list of suggestions to improve the performance of each of your pages.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 31, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michelle B. avatar
Michelle B.
Senior Content Marketing Specialist
Share
"Great way to track SEO"
What do you like best about Semrush?

I like the email updates that track your position daily. The free courses offered on SEMRush are also informative and well done. I like the social posting tool because it is easy to understand and shows you previews of your posts. The social posting tool also allows you to better analyze when to post because it shows you when your viewers are online.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

I dislike that the social poster does not allow tagging on Linkedin. Although, Buffer's social poster doesn't allow this either so it may be an issue with Linkedin.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

It has allowed our team to easily track our position, find broken links, find toxic links, and increase our SEO ranking overall.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Richard C. avatar
Richard C.
Lead Gen Strategist
Share
"I love the competitive analytics that SEMRush provides."
What do you like best about Semrush?

I love the GAP analysis tool. Saves hours of keyword research and looking into each competitor one-by-one (which is something we also do using SEMRush).

What do you dislike about Semrush?

Sometimes the search data doesn't align with what I see in Search Console or other competitor rools.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

Understanding the roles that keywords play among my competitors, organically and paid.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Megan B.
Marketing Specialist
Share
"Great Tool"
What do you like best about Semrush?

As an SEO novice who was charged with managing SEO for my company, this software has been a lifesaver. The intuitive interface and clear explanations of data makes it so easy for me to learn and improve the SEO of my website.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

Some explanations of metrics like competitor visibility, etc, could be better explained or explained more in depth for novices like me.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to learn about and improve the SEO rankings of my website.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 12, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gökhan T. avatar
Gökhan T.
Digital Marketing Director
Share
"One SEO tool to rule them all"
What do you like best about Semrush?

The best feature of Semrush is you can gather all the data you need in one platform, organized and tidy. It is easy to navigate and fast to export and use the result of the search when needed. SEO and SEM processes are not linear for all companies. Semrush gives the advantage to create the needed path without losing control. You can crawl websites and go on with technical SEO for one company and create keyword monitoring for 500 keywords for another customer with the same structure. This is something you cannot get with other tools. The most life saver feature of the platform is you can find solutions ideas/methods in places where a problematic point is reported.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

1 user per subscription model is really limiting. I understand that they need to charge for extra users but buying extra slots for a new account price doesn't look fair. Although exporting features are really flawless importing date to work on the platform is really limited if not absent. Another would be better but not disliked feature is not being able to display device specific data together. In Semrush you have to choose a device type for every search. It makes sense dynamics can differ dramatically for desktop or mobile. But not being able to putting same data for different platforms side by side makes it difficult to comprehend the impact of breakdown by device type.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keyword audit and competition keyword reach is really beneficial. Finding new areas of customer targeting is priceless. You can select a competition and filter out common keywords. You can see what they are doing while you are not!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chris T. avatar
Chris T.
Front End Developer
Share
"Best SEO tool to fix and improve your website"
What do you like best about Semrush?

I love SEMRush for what it is. It's giving a full list of things that you have missed on your website to improve your SEO practices and make your website follow the best SEO practices. The scores they give to the website are really useful as they give you a chance to improve it and know that your website is not lacking the best SEO practices. Scanning for competitors' keywords and performance is always useful.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

I would love to have the change to use all the tools and powers that SEMRush can offer, but I never did.

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a Front-end developer I

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Paolo G. avatar
Paolo G.
Docente
Share
"How to think doing SEO without SEMrush?"
What do you like best about Semrush?

The keywords database, the SERP history, and the rank tracker has always been the strength of this tool. Even the analysis of competitors is exact, especially in organic traffic and in paid traffic. The rank tracker is one of the best in circulation and allows for maximum flexibility in terms of device and geolocation. Even at the level of backlinks analysis, he has made significant progress over the last year.

What do you dislike about Semrush?

What I think could improve is the analysis of display ads. Unlike other specialized spy tools, I have always found the SEMrush ad search function improvable because many times, it fails to return results good as those obtainable with other specialized tools. Another point of improvement for me is the analysis of the keywords difficulty, calculated with a methodology different from the one used by the vast majority of other tools on the market (on-page and off-page signals).

What problems is Semrush solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm using SEMrush since I started my SEO profession, and it represents the primary tool in my web marketing toolset. SEMrush is more than a single tool; it represents a complete suite of everything you need to do web marketing, from the competitor's analysis to keyword research, data monitoring, social media, and much, much more. In my work now represents the first starting point of any analysis

Visit website